(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

sweethalo,
i oso didnt noe for my 1st pregnancy but got to know through another mummy. so i asked my gynae and she said YES. i was quite upset she didnt inform me ealier.

for 2nd pregnancy, the instruction was printed clearly on the label of the vits. i asked gynae again what is the minimum time lag between the 2 and she told me at least 3 hrs.

First mum, !!! I read it too... Oops. Haha...

BUT, if memory serves correctly, I think milk blocks absorption of iron. So if u take high iron foods, avoid taking milk at same time.

bing, huh? Are there different kinds? Mine's a gold box, tuna oil. from my gynae. I can also get my 'fish oil' from my salmon sashimi!

Whoa. very ma fan... So much to eat, so little time! Hahaha...

bing, look at ingredients lor! I go fridge to check what mine is, ah.
Whoa. mine only Natal Care Plus... no TRIplus... but more expensive? *growl*

Hmm... bing and ahnetsan's the same, abt same price also..

caramelle, I imagine circumcision is like the male version of episiotomy.
both involving cuts of the highly sensitive erotic regions of the body. *OUCH*

we crazy bunch. TWO archives within ONE DAY!!

I m knocking off and gg to enjoy my weekend! Yipee!!

Happy chatting and have a great weekend ahead!

Cassey, glad you're not taking iron pills because i read that milk prevents the absorption of iron fully, that's why not encouraged to take it with dairy.

i eat my pills mid-day bcos i have this idea that after 9pm cannot eat, so train bb what time is breakfast, lunch and dinner. i don't think bb even knows (or cares!) but makes me feel good that im disciplining myself.

cassey, wa. the ingredients didnt say it's what oil lei. sian. i will type it here:

each softgel capsule contains:
1. concentrated fish oil, rich in omega 3 acids 625mg
2. providing omega 3-marine triglycerides
- DHA 312.5mg
- EPA 62.5mg
3. Arachidonic acid 18mg
4. Oleic acid 15mg
5. D-alpha-tocopherol 4mg

ahnetsan, haha. my colleague flying to australia. i am asking them to help me check if it's sold cheaper there. if yes, then can help me buy. hee. u interested?

first mum, really leh.. this thread like msn. you all chatting away like instant messenging.

my pills are 1 x multi vits + iron + folate, 1 x fish oil and 1 x calcium everyday.

caramelle, $45 for 60 tablets is still ok i think. mine is neurogainS $35 for only 30 tablets. i think many of us have the 30tabs/bottle size.

cassey, thanx for sharing ur story. i like to handle things the peaceful way as well. tell someone off 'wittily' can shame othrs to change while making a scene may shame urself too, while u try to shame othrs. tat was wat i had been trying to tell my hubby about. ok, i'll let him read your story.

Re : 'disgusting' habits of FIL/MIL
phew... i do not stay with my MIL, nor do I eat at her place often, nor do I care abt wat disgusting habits she has cos I don't stay with her, and luckily, she doesn't have such gross habits/hygiene in the kitchen. it's shocking. how did ur hubbys grow up living there, sorry to be so mean. as for toilet habits of FIL, err... my case isn't so bad, but there surely is much room for improvement. I'm jus glad I do not stay with them, esp in my 1st tri. can't imagine already feeling nauseous, and still hv to throw up with a toilet bowl tat only induce more puke than i wan to have. and i'm training my hubby to improve in his toilet manners and graciousness although he is already much better than his dad.

Cassey, can ask your pd how long it take bb to heal after circumcise? Me thinking to do it for my bb cos it is difficult to ask boy to clean their foreskin as they shower 1 min come out.

ahnetsan, i got some sample milk packs from my gynae, think it's enfamum. but my mum said better to take actual food than supplements like this. cos the milk is not fresh, like formula milk. so if you eat healthy meals containing red and white meat + vege and fruits, you are fine! my mum say i so kiasu bcos i drink a lot of low-fat milk and soya bean milk, cos i want bb to have smooth fair skin
. but i dont seem to eat enough fish, and i really must cut down on my fast food.

must also watch out that you don't take too much milk because bb can grow very fast and you may be told in the later months by gynae to minimise your milk intake so bb wont be so big at birth.

talk abt food poisoning i'm worried too. new yr eve ate steamboat all the leftover mil keep in freezer dunno when she will cook for me eat. sometime she will tk out thaw then wn i tell her i going out she will keep back in fridge... dunno hw to tell her about the rethaw danger...unfortunately my hb nt eating at home except sun so i got no shield sigh... what i hate most is she always leave her slipper at the kitchen entrance i'm so afraid i'll trip on them. y do she need 3 pairs??? iused to like her house clean but since fil pass away she's always not at home so always got ants and sometime expired food in fridge but not rotten smelly luckily. but . her food very delicious lor. but she no sense of balance diet. often no veg and very spicy food.still must thank her for washing my hb clothes and iron all our clothes... i hate to iron lor... i also dont know whether i like or dun like to stay with her anyway no choice what live with it at least she doesnt nag me but also felt lack of concern...my parents treat me like princess when i go home these days so i really miss my own parent's hse.

i only tking calcium (60tb $31), fish oil (60tab $90+), iron with time released vit b (forgot the price).i dont tk iron & calcium every day heaty mah.on days where i eat fish i sometimes skip fish oil.

hey last wk i just ask my hb abt circumcise, he say no need cos pri sch got checkup then they will advise those who need to do it. but same lor i was thinking bb do less pain less memory of it but then putting a bb thru such ordeal seems horrible as well so i think i will just leave it to my hb to decide.

My goodness, I was only gone for one afternoon, and there are 2 archives to read through already! You ladies are FAST!

ILs:
I feel super fortunate. My ILs don't live in Sin, so I see them maybe once every 1.5-2 years. When they visit, they stay in our house, but they don't visit for more than 2 weeks at a time so far. When staying in our house, they are super respectful of our privacy and space, very polite, and very careful not to overstep their boundaries. So when we visit them, I try to give them back the same courtesy they extend to us. I really like my ILs a lot, but I'm sure living thousands of miles apart eliminates any form of possible friction.

Supplements:
My doc gives me Pramilet multivit, ProLacta DHA, and CaVit calcium (or some name like that). I like my diary products, but I still take the calcium supplements in case I didn't take enough cheese or milk for the day. My routine is multivit+DHA in morning or afternoon after meal, and calcium at night. This is the procedure my doc advised me to follow.

Yes, if your multivit contains iron, don't take milk with it, or your calcium pill with it, as calcium inhibits iron absorption (any form of iron, pill or from food). My mum's doctor once told her that taking calcium at night helps with sleep, so I happily go along with my doc's instructions to also take the calcium at night, hopefully that helps me sleep better (hey, I can always hope). My blood count is also low, but my doc doesn't want to prescribe me additional iron supplements, saying that food sources of any vit/mineral is the most readily absorbed by the body, so told me to increase my intake of red meat, spinach etc. So now, I try to eat red meat everyday, at least at one meal.

Epidural:
All my natural birth friends say DEFINITELY go for it. Just because you suffer through the labour pains all the way doesn't make you more brave, more mother-like, more woman-like than others, so no point putting yourself through the suffering. My spine doc told me that epidural has nothing to do with spine damage etc, and on his handheld spine dummy, he showed me specifically where the epidural will be administered, so even people like me with slipped disc can take epidural, no problem. The epidural is not injected into the area where a prolapsed disc would be. So if I confirm going for c-sec, I will be using epi too, cos I won't want to use general anaesthesia. I was on GA before, and for the whole 24hrs after surgery, I was completely woozy, weak, and generally feeling only semi-human. I don't want to be like that after giving birth, I wanna hold my baby and feed her!

Hi all june mummy,
i am giving birth on 2 June at KKH.
have seen quite a number of posts saying husband is not allowed to stay with wife during delivery at KKH, is it true?

Sorry to interrupt mtbs/mummies..

i bought a obuba nursing wrap www.obuba.com
before CNY, but baby dont like to be covered when bf, thus decided to sell it. used only twice in the car...bought at $37 selling at $28 self collect at sembawang...if posting need to top up $2 wait for a week.

then also giving away my confinement warming shampoo and body wash that bought from littledreamers...used less than 5 times, still got alot. self collect at sembawang pls.

Please PM me if interested.

hi hwee ling, i'm giving birth at kkh too. not sure if husband can accompany wife during delivery.. i never ask gynae. maybe can ask this thurs when i go for check up. dunno if my husband dare to do go in too cos he's very faint hearted. see a bit of blood and slime also feel disgusted.

for ladies with experience, how many pieces of diapers do newborns use per day?? any brands to recommend?

BlueDream,
I'm only seeing him 13 Feb but I'll ask him and if I come across any articles before then that answers your question, I'll post info here k. I'm also thinking yeah, smoother, easier to clean... but seems more exposed, the poor litle 'elephant'.

ahnetsan,
I enjoy fresh milk but when I'm in a rush and don't have to time wait for chilled one to warm up, I have ANMUM. It's the only pregnant/nursing mum milk powder I know of so far that is NOT vanilla flavoured. I HATE vanilla flavoured milk. So I say ANMUM!!! It's more pricey though.

caramelle,
is that right?! I've never heard of mum's being told to cut down milk intake due to bb's size. All the articles I've read affirm that milk intake for pregnant mum is for calcium more than for bb to grow. Bb will absorb calcium from mummy whether we have enough of not, so if you don't take enough, the consequence is osteoperosis as we get older. That's the reason why more women suffer from osteoperosis/osteo-arthritis - due to insufficient calcium intake during pregnancy.

createjoy,
I agree. For me, it's either do it at birth (first 2 days bb doesn't know pain, says my gynae), or else forever hold my peace. Haha. It's excruciating and I really wouldn't want to subject any kid to it from toddler years onwards, much less at primary school age.

Tubbymummy,
haha! I'd be overwhelmed if I were you, so I try to check in every now and then to read the posts even if I don't respond. Except yesterday of course, when I was lazing in bed. The thought of being cut up while I'm conscious is really daunting. So I hope I don't need to make a decision for C-sec with epidural. I wouldn't want GA cos I want to nurse my bb within the first few hours... Are you feeling better today?

HweeLing,
seriously!?!?! I've heard of hubbies not being allowed to stay OVERNIGHT in double/4-bedded wards but I've NEVER heard of hubbies not being allowed in delivery room. It seems absurd to me. Do check with your dr or just call KKH's main line and enquire?

amk_gal, I'd want my husband with me cos to me, queasiness at these things is not a valid reason to be MIA at the delivery. If he doesn't want to be near the action, just stay by my head and stroke me while I go through the ordeal. After all, I'm a pain-phobic, but I'm delivering our baby, aren't I?!

*Just to bring home the pain-phobic point, I've NEVER broken in a single pair of shoes in my life - cos I CAN'T TAKE EVEN BLISTERS. Anything that gives me blisters or even just pre-blister soreness gets retired until I try it on again like 5 mths later. If it does the same thing, then it gets retired again until I throw it out/drop it off at Salvos. I'm really a wimp when it comes to pain.

amk_gal, have read that a breastfed bb can have up to 8-10 wet diapers a day. Formula-fed 6-8. Cos breastmilk has much higher water content. As for recommendations, my sister's confinement lady says first month really just need to get cheapest unless bb's skin reacts or something. She suggests Drypers so that'll be what my sis and I will both be getting. I think a pack of 28 for only $7+...? If i'm not mistaken, that is.

Just went for my normal appt with gynae, finally booked the detailed scan appt on 9 Feb @ Mt A. Got to know the gender of my bb too, is a boy

bitch abt MIL. DH just came back and said that MIL told my DH he will never be a better dad than his younget brother. I am so pissed! She is very bias, only dotes on the younger one. I hate it when she said something like this. No matter what my DH did, he is never better than his younger brother. So angry! And I can be for sure my son will never be as exclusive as the other baby. I felt so sad for DH cos he still tries to be nice and filial to my MIL. To me, he is truly wonderful and great. Just that my MIL can't see! Cos my DH don't brag what he does at home! Poor DH! Anyway, thank goodness I only go back once a week. WIll tell my bb to be good to daddy in future and don't bother abt his granny!

Hi Mummies, talking abt supplements, just to share, my own gynae at Mt E had only prescribed calcium and iron pills. Before this I was on multivitamins and vitamin B. She does not believe in fish oil or DHA cos in her understanding, whether the baby is clever or not depends on the genes, and nt by taking DHA supplements.. sigh, and she encourages me to eat a whole range of healthy food and not relying on supplements. I can however get those supplements myself tho she does not endorse her patients into it.. Not only this, she dont believe in preggies drinking milk made for mummies too cos essentially those are made from cows and human absorption towards this is limited, and unless the mummies really needs it,she dun encourage me to take those milk powder supplements cos this milk powder worsen pregnancy sickness symptoms at times.

I sticked with her cos she was my surgeon who removed a HUGE dermoid cyst in August 08 which literally ate away my left ovary as well..miraclously, i managed to conceive 1 month later even after such a major surgery. Plus, my colleague spoke well of her and her baby came out v healthy too..=)

But Im just thinking if I should start taking dha pills too.. hmm, anyone can suggest whr and which brand I shld get? I will be doing my detailed scan on Monday,perhaps I will check with the gyane again then.

My baby had been kicking away more and more everyday... Blissful! =) but IRRIATATing when i am trying to sleep,heh.

Oooh, btw, I had just signed myself up for package for postnatal massage under origins Jamu Massage. Read that the services are not bad, the package for 5 sessions cost $398,and can top up to 7 or 10 sessions subsequently if you are satisfied.

Have you guys arranged the post natal massages? Its good to book early =)

MILK POWDER FOR MTBs
last pregnancy i put on heaps of wt in a short time. then once i told gynae im drinking enfamama, and she said STOP! those milk powder formulas are very fattening! even though some of them are supposedly "low-fat". so mummies who are more self-conscious, u may wana consider fresh milk instead.

abt cold milk/ drinks, gynae also say no prob. no need to let it stand for some time before consuming, cos by the time it reaches the womb/ foetus, our bodies wld have heated it up already. so ive been taking cold fresh milk all these time. and last pregnancy as well.

capriho,
congrats on ur lil boy!

abit surprised by the stats in this thread. seems like 80% are having boys!

Congrats capriho88 in getting a prince.

Ox Year quite a fair bit of boys, both my cousin and colleague r also giving birth to boys in May

First Mum, I let my fresh milk stand for a while cos I have sensitive teeth and the cold really stings! =)
*Have yet to hear from you. Pls check email for PM!*
Eh?! Are we still mostly having boys? I thought recently several little princesses have announced their existence?!

LFB,
poor you. Poor hubby. Chill... chill... Our parents' generation typically say things without thinking. Although I have admittedly lovely parents, I still frequently get upset with my relatives for some of the hare-brained things that pass their lips without going via the brain first.

As today's parents, many of us know the importance of positive reinforcement, encouragement and motivation. However, I have counseled many parents who feel that children should be "goaded" to motivate them to improve/do well. So their way of doing this is, sadly, to criticise and ridicule or belittle. Frankly, I think it's really dumb. But I guess that's how they were brought up and perhaps it worked for them.

Keep encouraging your hubby and just make sure you do your best possible by MIL so that you remain blameless for your conduct. I'm sure he'll treasure you all the more as you build him up in love and honour. CHILL!!! Go drink OJ and sayang bb!

cassey,
oops, ok will check PM.

yea, there are a few princesses but still mostly princes i seem to gather. for other threads, i tink its more 50-50 or 60-40? my own inference only though.

My goodness LFB! I think it's really too much for your MIL to say those insensitive things to your hubby. Baby isn't even born yet and she's already making unfair assumptions, what was she thinking??! Guess maybe she wasn't thinking, that's the problem. Like Cassey say, just keep encouraging your hubby, and reassure him that he will make a great dad. You don't get too upset with her remarks also ok? One ear in, other ear out.

Cassey, thanks for asking, my neck/shoulder pain has gone down by a lot, but I'm still limiting my laptop time to maybe this post (or one more if I can't stand it haha).

FirstMum, I love cold milk too! I can't come to terms with room temp milk haha, dunno why. Thankfully I don't have sensitive teeth now (poor Cassey).

MummyAsh, actually I do agree that whatever nutrients that we need for a healthy baby should be in our diet, and nutrients derived from food is in its best form for our body's absorption. However, I'm also of the opinion that almost no one eats balanced meals anymore, myself inclusive. So, taking the supplements just gives me peace of mind, if not for anything else haha. I'm not sure if DHA and all that are actually useful, but hey, as long as it doesn't do harm, I'd rather better my odds by taking them
That's my take on this whole thing anyway. I'm taking ProLacta DHA, which I think may be presciption-only, as I've not seen it on the shelves. Think some mummies here take Neurogain, which I think can be bought from Guardian (thought I read this somewhere on the forum).

Congrats capriho88 on your baby boy!

Dear Cassey and Tubbymummy,

she told my hubby he is not as good cos my bil will make tonic for his wife. My hubby then said that's bcos his wife dunno how to do and I know! My mil is actually frust bcos she wanted my bil to marry someone that can take care of him, but in the end, the wife doesn't! To be honest, she likes me, but just not happy why her fav son cannot married someone like me! I am not flattered, cos of the way she treated my hubby! When we are courting, hubby told my mil abt me and she retorted,"you sure she wants you, since she is so good?" Faint! I am sad not bcos of her words, but for my hubby. So now I keep telling him he is the best! Will definitely not do that to my children.

Harros Ladies! hmmz... not many posts today...

Me went shopping late afternoon... kena chingay crowd but luckily the shops were rather empty...hehee...

LFB- wah your MIL so mean to tell her son that! Although my hubby thinks he is not the fav son/ kid, he doesn't get treated poorly or badly. Thank God. So far we have a pretty good relationship with ILs. Actually I do quite miss my FIL, he passed away 4yrs ago. I know he wld be so happy if he knew we were having a kid at last.

capriho88- congrats on bb boy