(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

thanx sweethalo, i read up and it says braxton hicks are practice contractions which may be caused by dehydration or full bladder or just nature. after it goes away, it will totally slip my mind until nxt morning when i wake up again. so wondering if this is the miss braxton or is it something else i need to worry about. hmmm . . .

createjoy,ya,i'm thinking of join too,or want to attend some classes.. so want to get some idea from you.. after feb my mum will not able to company me until May liao.. so i need to find something to do so will not feel boring.. xixi...

Shelisa,thanks,currently i visit my gynae @ KKH TPS so she said the price almost the same as TMC & MT A.. I'm thinking go there and check after my detailed scan..will share will you if any useful info.

Ling,good luck to you and your BB!don't know whether they allow us to take a video or not..

Mika Rei, is the cramp very very painful after peeing? I get that sometimes after my morning pee too but usually only because I refused to wakey in the middle of the night to empty once before morning. So now I try to go halfway and then again in the morning so not so bad.

sweethalo, it's just slight pain, uncomfy, but after empty bladder, it will go away. i dun wake up during the night, so it's all the way till morning then i wake up and feel the pain. or maybe cos i'm carrying low and it easily gets irritated by my bladder.

stickymouse, agreed wif u lo...aft hv bb we still muz look good to attract our hb...if not later hb c us till no appetite liow go out fool ard...hahaha!

hahaha... already bad enough that we get stretchmarks and lose our figure.... all the more we must da ban!

got back from my 3D scan.. pretty cool, i was given a dvd of my baby's video clip

stickymouse,
wow!

video clip i tink is 4-D, 3-D only pictures...btw is it at ur usual gynae clinic? how much did u pay? must we be a certain no. of wks before can do 3/4-D scans?

u can google for 19week 3D scans and get some image results, it's pretty much what you'd see there... not extremely clear lah, but okay. i reckon he looks like his daddy though...

i didn't pay for the ultrasound... there was a lady who posted in this thread about siemens providing training to doctors and they needed models, so i just signed myself up.

i don't think there is any criteria to satisfy for 3/4D scans, it's only a matter of how developed you want to see your baby in.

Hi MTBs, can i ask whether any of you went for OB scan?

I've heard of FA (Fetal Anomaly) scan, but not OB scan. OB scan costs $100+ whereas FA scan costs $200+ Im told. Is this the detailed scan? Btw my gynae is at ESH so send me there to do the scan. Im supposed to go in Week 21/22 but need some advice first before I go for the wrong scan!

stickymouse, you went for the free scan? do you have to wait long? how long was the 3D scan?

i think u are right. 3D scans are available anytime you want it, it's just 3D instead of the 2D we see during our normal scans, but come at a higher price. we can do our 2D scans anytime we want also. but just tat we must do at least one 3D scans among all our 2D scans to ensure organs and most other things are in order.

hi caramelle, fr wat i know, the detailed scan/3D scan tat cost $100+ is the basic and is scanned by an assistant, or some scan specialist, but not a doctor. if abnormalities are discovered, then will need to go for the more detailed and more expensive FA scan by a doctor.

stickymouse
it ur scan a detail scan or it such a normal scan which u just done for fun??

Just wondering whether during our detail scan for 20wks which arrange by our gynea will they do a 3D scan or just a normal scan..

hi, kikismom, the detailed is going to be a 3D scan, which enables the 'scanner' to see the internal organs like the 4 chambers of the heart (which can only be done at week 18-22 when the heart is fully formed), or the 2 sides of the brains etc..., and the overall physical features of the bb. on a normal scan we can only see the outline & some part of the bones.

mika rei, the whole thing took me about an hour as arranged over the phone with the co-ordinator.

kikismom, it's for fun. free mah...

i think 20-week detailed scans are 2D by default, unless they find anything wrong then they'll probably go into 3D or most cases probably suggest amnio?

Mika Rei
Thanks.. which mean stickymouse scan should be a 4D scan since she's able to see the bb features & have a video clip..

Hi little_eye and other mums

As promised here is the promotional code to enjoy 10% off discount in www.coozfashion.com.
Code: cooz2009

They only give out to return customers and friends, so I thought is a good idea to share with you.

hi mummies, any1 going to cater confinment food huh?? my fren is asking mi abt caterer f confinment food but i hv no idea leh!

mika, tks leh...mi oso helping my fren to find..tink cater f confiment food realli not cheap wo! like dat beter engage CL!

creamer & Shelisa... so cute! Girl cows. I went to a wedding last weekend and there was a little chubby toddler girl in a white dress with brown spots and (green?) leggings. Really look like a New Zealand milk cow. I grinned to see her.

Sweethalo, congrats on blobbing! =)

stickymouse, agree with the thud-thudding completely. Now wherever I rest my hand, I feel a pulsating under my arm. Today I even felt it on my lower back!!

Mika Rei, you're right. It starts earlier but most MTBs only feel it in 3rd tri. I've felt a moderate cramping sensation just below tummy area since about Wk 16, especially when I'm raising up from sitting on the toilet bowl. I hold on to my tummy now when standing up. I'm guessing maybe mine are triggered by full bladder. I think Braxton Hicks contractions are sharper than this..? Mention it to your gynae at the next visit and see what (s)he has to say..

Detailed scan is NOT = 3D scan

Mika Rei, like stickymouse said, detailed scan is still a regular 2D ultrasound scan, NOT a 3D scan by default. The scans have greater clarity and are taken with machines that are able to take measurements and images with greater precision. You can see organs, not just outline, with 2D ultrasound, just like you can see the white/black pulsating of baby's heart at your gynae's.

As far as I know, 3D scan is an option mum can choose take up, but not a default at any stage during the pregnancy. Some ppl want that scan to see baby's facial features to prepare them better for meeting the child after delivery.

stickymouse, envious!! I saw the post too late. By that time all the spaces already taken up.
So fascinating to see what the little babe is doing in there in 'real' images. =)

Now that you've experienced it, would you recommend the rest of us mums forking out $ to get one done?

caramelle, detailed scan is the Fetal Anomaly scan; aka 20-week scan too.
Most just call it detailed scan for easier understanding ba.

caramelle, detailed scan = fetal anomaly scan = 20-week scan...

they're all referred to differently but it's the same test that uses 2D ultrasound to check for physical/chromosomal defects

Kaypo me wiki'ed 3D vs 4D scans. Basically 3D scans are like camera images. 4D scans are like video images.

Quote from Wiki:
3D ultrasound is a medical ultrasound technique used during pregnancy, providing three dimensional images of the fetus. Often these images are captured rapidly and animated to produce a "4D ultrasound".

hmmm... i'm confused as well. mayb i misunderstood my dr fren abt detailed scan and 3D scan. so it's not FA scan as this scan is done by doctors right? or did I understand wrongly again.

alamak i just repeated myself after cassey without knowing...

well as for 3D/4D scans.... it's really for fun and not much else hehehe so i think if eager beaver parents can't wait to see their precious, they could do so. but if i were really to recommend... i'd say do it at later stage... 19 weeks for me (today) is not as developed yet... the basic form is there, but baby is still storing fats so he's a bit skinny when i saw him.

well at least i know our baby has complete limbs, fingers, toes, and no cleft lip!!

mika rei, the FA scan (or detailed scan or 20 week scan) MUST be performed by a professional doctor. it's a pre-test that would possibly lead to further tests that are actually diagnostic if they find anything wrong.

otherwise, 3D scans can be performed by sonographer or any assistant.

Mika~,
Detailed / FA / 20-week scan is done by an experience sonographer who is medically trained to conduct the fetal anomaly checks.

For mine at NUH, there was a dr (professor) on the other side of the curtain who was looking at the same screen we were all looking at. The name and title of the sonographer who did the scanning was indicated at the end of the medical report prepared for my gynae. But the professor was the one who prepared and signed off on it.

Oh! and Mika~, the professor was also the one who came through to explain to us the findings and answer some enquiries that we had.

Just a bo liao afterthought, Mika Rei, your nick reminds of MICA (spelt correctly?) the singer/songwriter (?). I like his psychedelic songs! They're such a refreshing change from the other stuff on radio. =)

hmmm... so detailed scan = FA scan = 20week scan but not = 3D/4D scan, and the formers are all signed off by a doctor. this sounds easy enough, how come my fren explained to me in such details with differences.

hehe, cassey, is it the guy that you are mentioning? mica/mika both refer to him i think, his long name is michael.

thanks for your advice.

Cassey, my OB scan is not FA scan (because there was another option for FA scan and pricing was diff), is conducted in week 20/21 as long as not over week 23 and costs $100+. It's done by a sonographer (because I have to make appt at the Xray dept). So I conclude it's a detailed scan but not detailed enough I guess.

However, I will call the clinic tomorrow to confirm if I can just do the FA scan which should cover both needs for just $100 more...

Clarification after I checked my report again.
Both sonographer and consultant's names were at end of report, without any penned signature.
Sonographer also has 'dr' title. Books all refer to person conducting scan as a sonographer, so while they have the title dr, I'm not sure if they're 'doctor' doctors, or if they're doctors as in possessing a doctorate in their field of medicine. (i.e. a title denoting their qualifications) Do I make sense?!

I think we're talking about the same person, it's a crazy guy. I quite like his songs. He sounds like a crazy fella making all these strange noises but the final effect is surprisingly pleasant..

thnx Cassey... Cheers to Blob-ing.. hehee...

Yeah my previous gynae also left the scanning to what I thought was a nurse. But I saw her title was Dr on my case file. So maybe they really do have a Doctorate in Nursing or something?

New gynae does all the scanning himself and is very very meticulous. Scanned for more than 10mins plus taking all the measurements and even doing some charting of the baby's growth.

Wondering if anyone has done a Triple Test before? Does it only involve taking blood from the arms? If so why is an ultra sound scan also necessary?

i have this protective sleep area that helps limit baby sleep movement on the bed..take look here for bigger pic
http://picasaweb.google.com/shopstuffs4/BabyItems#5284702278812938866

there are other baby items too (click on "shop4stuffs" beside the word "BabyItem"

Interested please email to [email protected]
2087321.jpg

Didn't login just for a day and I have to read through the archive, you gals really moving fast hey

Shelisa, went for the detailed scan today, almost the same as the NT scan, more detailed too as they need to scan and go through baby's features one by one to make sure everything is in order.. thing is it takes much much longer as bb was quite active this morning, so during the scan, bb is sleeping! one hand curled to the chest and the other is stretched up high..
very cute.. for the measurement it's quite ok, except for the heart and the gender check, we couldn't see properly due to bb's position.. sonographer asked me to roll left, roll right, tilted a bit, we poke poke a bit here and there, and bb only yawned.. *haiz*..

but the good news is.. finally we knew, we're having a little Princess here! hooray..!

Cassey, I took chocolates just before I went in for the scan, it didn't work, she just slept right through.. as we went home, I bought some cold sweet drinks, then bb start to 'action' liao.. should've taken the OJ as u said.. I forgot abt it as we sneak out for hospital tour before that..

jam75, I still got mani & pedi (my gynae said it's safe..), put on make up hehe.. very vain.. now that I'm havin bb gal.. my hb said, hope she won't b as vain as me.. hehe..

FirstMum, thanks! u read my mind.. I just bought an Elle bb set for bb.. hehee..

JessMa, thanks! They dun allow taking video or picture inside.. but she did helped to print some shots for us before leaving..

Re.: hospital wards, I dunno if it's just me, but the hospital tour at TMC seems to be more organized, and the wards also looks nicer and more comfortable.. some of them really just like hotel room.. for Mt.A, maybe it was just so unlucky the old lady who brought us around couldn't answer any of our questions, and she's very very unfriendly.. will try to go for another hospital tour at Mt.A before we make final decision..

Re.: FBI (First Born Incentive), I asked abt it too, they said, not necessarily for mothers who deliver at TMC, but.. it will benefits more for mothers who do deliver at TMC, the membership for FBI itself is quite ex, $140 plus, it can get u disc for your pre natal scans, and total hospital bills at TMC.. hope this info helped you all who wonders what this FBI is about..

Re.: 3D/4D scan, like Cassey said, 3D is still image, while 4D they'll give you a couple minutes of video images, however, they suggested to have this done between 27-32 weeks of pregnancy, as by then the features would be clearer and better for the scan..

sweethalo, triple screening test is a blood test.

It calculates your RISK of having a child with Down's syndrome, Edwards syndrome or spina bifida based on the levels of 3 different chemicals in your blood. It's a screening test not a diagnostic test - i.e. results are "baby MAY have"/"there is a high/low chance of baby having..." and not a definite "baby has" or "baby does not have". Further to screening tests, the next step to verify any strange results will be diagnostic - usually an amniocentesis.

Dr suggested Triple Test and so we gong gong blur blur just went with it. It came back with worrying results, causing us some concern. Prof at NUH told me actually since we do not intend to terminate pregnancy no matter what the fetal abnormality, then we shouldn't have done a triple test.

Fetal Anomaly scan (aka detailed / 20-week) scans for structural (physical) abnormalities. These include but are not limited to:
- position and size of organs (incldg but not only heart, lungs, kidneys, stomach...),
- each vertebrae of the spine,
- chambers of heart,
- position of placenta,
- blood flow thru umbilical cord,
- blood flow to and from heart
- amt of amniotic fluid...

Chromosomal (such as DNA/intellectual) abnormalities will not surface on an FA scan. I hope this clarifies things somewhat.

Ling,
congrats on your little princess! fwah, u can lay ur hands on those sweet pastel coloured clothes already. oh, OJ works on you too? tt's good to hear tt.. my sil's bb was a sleeping beauty, so it works on her bb.

jesssma & createjoy,
i wish to join you gals too..am also looking into some activities to do..heheh

sweethalo,
my gynae does all the scanning(incl. detailed scan) by herself too.

Ling, congrats on the news of a much coveted little girl!!! How long did your scan end up taking?
I'm still keeping up with my pedicures too. There's something irresistible about groomed feet!

I enjoyed both Mt A and TMC tours. Of course TMC's newly renovated rooms are HEAPS more appealing, but I've heard about lots of feedback that while TMC's "hardware" may be more attractive, Mt A's "software" wins many over with the nurturing local nurses, rather than brisk foreign ones.

When asked, my gynae's shared his view that larger hospital are more capable of coping with any medical emergencies in the event of complications arising. So I'm definitely taking that into consideration when deciding my delivery hosp.

while intellectual abnormalities do not show on an ultrasound, chromosomal defects show up as physically abnormal appearances.

e.g. thick liquid collecting at neck/lack of nasal bone (Down's), small head/abnormal eyes (Patau's).

my close friends had their daughter diagnosed with Fallot+DiGeorge's syndrome through a detailed ultrasound. it was initially thought to be hole-in-the-heart but it turned out worse to be congenital + chromosomal defect.

yup, stickymouse!

Structural abnormalities should be check'able at the detailed FA scan - resulting from chromosomal defects or otherwise.

Has anyone here gone for or does anyone have info about pre-natal massage to help with tailbone ache?
My butt hurts tho bump isn't big yet.

hey Cassey, thanks for sharing abt the Triple Test.

I rejected Amnio as we also will not termintate no matter what the results were. But were still advised to go for Triple Test. I am supposed to go tmr but I don't really feel comfy doing it... *sianz*

haha I am also dying for a pre-natal massage but heard from the ladies here that the massage co only does for ladies above certain number of weeks.

nozomi- yeah I think I sort of prefer the gyane to do it...