(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

See u all fretting over the child care arrangements, I also feel fan. I am praying hard that my MIL dun say she wants to move over n help to take care. If so, I rather quit my job n stay home to take care of BB on my own. Despite us making arrangements on different things, I m still so fan about telling her about my pregnancy this Friday. Too much horror experiences during my wedding that even my frens are worrying for me.

I will be drafting a list of items that is SAFE for her to buy for BB even though it's cheaper for me to buy at Toa Payoh. Better this way than to have her buying nonsense and I have to open garage sale to sell them. Just talking to her on the phone last nite oredi brought my BP up until I cannot sleep.

kikismom, understand if hv to look aft nite will b v siong since we still hv to work the nx day...so tink shall try out 1st & c how things goes lo!

chidori, but by 7pm will u b able to mk it in time to fetch yr bb ma?? like dat if go back during peak hr abit mafan to carry a bb leh...sometime ppl no heart wan leh nv give up seat de...if rain oso sian lo!

shelisa, tink the most will hv 2...i tell hb le even hv boy or not shall juz stop at max 2...

bbjun,
dun fan k? not good for your bb leh...if she say wan to move over, then you just say you going to be SAHM
yah its better to write out a list if you are worried abt unwanted items.. for me, my MIL buys me funny looking maternity clothes.. my hubby keep teasing and say that she is adding on to my pyjamas collection and never save me

bbpotato,
if can pay by credit card, I dun mind paying first then you fund transfer to me.. but if paypal, I dun have leh..

jam75,
yah lor.. that is also my concern..7pm should not be a problem for me.. taxi cost abt $20 during peak hour.. think I go recee those near my place then decide..
heehee.. me also max 2.. one little cow and hopefully one little rabbit..

chidori,
tks. My hb screamed at her once when she cannot stop buying those obi taiwanese clothes for me in the past. Cos I told him she buy one size big (keep thinking I can still grow taller n fatter when I am forever this petite) n then so obi, I dunno how to wear. And we told her nicely until we lost count. One day, he was the one who lost his temper n screamed at her to stop. She was so ridiculous to even give me her clothes just before our customary wedding n say I can wear as maternity wear when I m pregnant. All these clothes, new ones with tag on, I just give to salvation army after I keep for one year. It took her 8 years to realize that I have not worn even one pc of the clothes she bought. She oso bought for my sis and she say can just use as rag!

My hb knows I cannot tahan her more during pregnancy cos patience shorter liao. So he said just tell him n he will call her to stop her nonsense. Else I face her alone here in Sgp sure will go mad one.

chidori, f mi if 7pm sure cannot mk it...mi & hb oso plan if we wan 2 we wanna a rabbit...cos bth mi & hb is rabbit lo....heheh

bbjun, if MIL move over to look aft tink will realli hv more friction....so u will rather b SAHM than yr MIl to mover over huh...

jam75, yes, I wld rather be a SAHM more for BB's sake. I cannot tahan her spoiling the child and also her weird "health" habits.

If I give way too much to her, she starts to do even more ridiculous things. That's what happened during wedding preps and then I end up screaming at her to stop it. She just think she can get away with forcing ppl to do things or manipulate others to listen to her. If u see how she can lie to make u be nice to her and do the things she wants, u really will want to slap her one. Last time use her health to scare me n hb n we found out it's just a lie. make us run here n there for nothing. after that time, she knows I dun trust her words at all. Too bad.

bbjun, yr IL seems to b v childish leh....to lie abt her abt her health...sometime is not DIL not xiao shun MIL...some MIL realli too much...if DIL give in too much will jump over yr head! now we not like those little nonya time...nu ren nv ren meng liow...hehe....if i not happi wif IL i will not tok back but show them black color face...hahaha

fwah, this thread is moving so fast..

createjoy,
Thanks for the doppler link.. am more panaroid during last trimester..so it would be good for me to get one. Is the product working well so far? Did you get a clear fetal heartbeat?

rosel,
i've been eating non-stop, whatever my eyes have on..with no ms during 1st trimester, am gobbling almost every hr..omg

Ling,
r you feeling better today?

doglefox,
welcome

Re:childcare arrangements
my mil + mum both working..during my last preg..both do not want to take care..my mil pushed to my mum, my mum also dun wan..haiz..got nothing in the end..this time rd, no one dare to make any comments on either gender, nor ask any qns (as i was having lots of stress last rd). i will take care of my baby if no one helps out(though it's tough, will try it out 1st).

mika rei/ chidori,
day time CL is available. usu they are sporeans or msians wiv children staying in spore. alternatively, agencies and TMC oso provide daytime nannies.

jam 75,
nope..ended up empty arms, empty cradle during last trimester(no reason)..i guessed i was too stressed up and unhappy.. but am looking forward to this pregnancy, though it's a challenge, will be brave.

Sharon,

heard e review quite good.

think worthwhile to buy lor, cos u use it for 6mths, each day less than a dollar.

u can resell it next time also.

sg resellers selling at 288, we are paying abt 1/2 e price.

Hi BbPotato

Yeah.....read the reviews and was very impressed. Btw, when are you planning to place the order? Can i get back to you this evening after i discuss with hubby?

sure, most probably will order tmr.

let me finalise the details with e seller, c whether we can get better offer, cos total getting 4 sets, cos another mummy interested.

Hi BbPotato

Yes, i am carrying a pair of twins.
Great, will check with hubby tonight and email you if i am keen to tag along your order.

Hi BbPotato

We just pray for the babies to be healthy and happy. Will PM you once i discussed with hubby.
Btw, what's the estimated cost for the set inclusive of overseas delivery charges?

ladies, any idea how fetal movement feels like?? just now got some throbbing feeling in lower abdomen, dun feel like stomach upset...

amk gal, mayb tat's the fetal movement yea!! feeling excited? before i can feel the bb, i wasn't feeling that excited. but after i can feel the bb, reality started to set in. and i think when i can feel bb everyday, definitely will be very attached to it.

Firstmom, thanx. i'll chk out the agencies website, see if there's any info about day CL on it. it's an additional option when i start planning on how to do my confinement.

bbjun, your mil sound like those very drama kind. so does she scream back at u when u shouted at her?

Mika Rei, the last time I raised voice at her is to force her to listen to me, else I never get to say my piece (like I younger, means I cannot say anythg sensible). But after she kept quiet, I just said in very assertive voice on facts that she was doing and she knew it was the truth so she kept quiet for a long time n listen. The next thing she did was to deny everything in this pitiful manner that we all know it was not what she thought, felt and intended to do. But oredi sianz liao & let her be to let her keep her face which is so impt to her. As long as I said it, I meant it. Just that some times we really need to be so fierce to her to make her realize that we are serious. Else, everytime nicely say to her, she takes it as never listen n ask u to do whatever that thing she mentions for the next few days or even weeks and months. By then, we oredi no patience cos listen to the same reasons, same stories, and increasing incredible stories over time. We can only reason with her with very cold facts. If not, cannot win her long drama stories. all these small case liao. What she did to my SIL is super taiwan drama until I nearly fell off my chair when my SIL told me. All my frens end up in shock n super scared of my MIL after they heard this. Cos they thot only happen on TV. LOL.

amk_gal, I also trying to find out what is fetal movement. The only thing I am very sure is that my BB likes the right side of the tummy better than the left. Most of the time dunno why BB pushes towards the right until right side more round than left side. Once in a while, BB will move to the left and the right side end up flatter (BB did this for one hour today in the afternoon). I find this very funny. I only realised this after remembering that when I go for my last two scans, the gynae and the doctor doing oscar, all scan towards the right side to see BB. Left side & centre cannot see v well.

Hi BbPotato

Have PM you. Please check your email. We have decided to go ahead with the purchase. Please include us in your order placement.

Hi nozomi, ok quite clear lah but not easy to count cos bb heartbeat too fast very vague. like horse gallop lor. once u know where the bb is then very easy to detect heartbeat. i think it's a fair deal for that price.

Haha i expecting a prince too...today just scan wow lau so 4D, got cd to keep. see bb wave at us like hi-five to us, we so happy. bluedream pls update for me. thank you! was abit disappointed lah though half hope it's boy half hope it's girl but abit wish more it's girl closer to me and more cute... so i told my hb no choice liao gotta try a mei mei later... did tot to stop at one kid. sigh so funny some of us hope for girl but have boy some other way round. god must have plans for us lah just accept fate... i just saw many nice pink clothes online the other day luckily i didnt buy. feel like telling everyone my bb is a boy! finally know the sex lor feel the reality, hope to feel fetal movement soon! so envy u all can feel movement. today while scanning saw bb moving also didnt felt anything.

jam75, yup. same too. wish to stop at 2 at most. but time being stop at 1. unless my hubby really wish to try for boy + econ allow then maybe lor.

sorry, SAHM means?

createjoy, where u do the scan? at ur gynae clinic or? ur gynae offer to give u cd or? is there any extra charge? i also want!! i also wish to keep such cd, next time when bb is big i can show to her.

bbjun, i rem last time u told us before abt ur MIL. that is nightmare!! when u talk abt her, i imagine her as taiwan drama inside that type of MIL. try to avoid her, or not u can ask ur hubby to tell her ur gynae said u cannot be irrtated. so for her grandchildren, i think she dare not irritated u ba.

Hi all, me new here. June 09 MTB too.

Enjoyed reading the past threads; many interesting things. I was reading about comments that children tend to be closer to our own mothers and it sets me thinking. I am living with my in laws and prior to my pregnancy, my SIL is first in the family to get pregnant and the whole family including relatives were very excited cos the first to have the new generation. Subsequently few weeks later, i discovered I am pregnant too. They were all happy for us of course.

I asked my hubby whether my MIL will dote on my SIL child more or ours since she is her daughter mah and will care more for her. My hubby was saying cannot do comparison like that. Our child is in the family line whereas my SIL's child is the other family line. I am not sure leh. Although we are living together and my MIL will be helping to take care of me during confinement and the baby after i go back to work. I still feel that she probably will be closer to my SIL and her child. Anyone has similar experience to share?

Although my MIL mentioned that she does not mind girl or boy, I still feel that I should give the family a boy at least I have done my 'duty'. Haiz..I know old fashion thinking. My hubby also said I should not give myself pressure over nothing. As long as the baby is healthy, it doesn't matter boy or girl. haiz...

shelisa,
SAHM - Stay At Home Mum.

Want to siam MIL oso cannot siam forever. She is still my HB's mother (also my BB's grandmother, sighz) even though we do not like her ways. I can oredi imagine her reaction - I showing concern, what's there to feel frustrated and irritated?

welcome goldiepooh, for yuor case, i feel ur MIL will dote ur bb more as ur bb carry ur hubby surname. As ur SIL bb is carry other ppl surname. But still both bb are ur MIL grandchildren, so very hard to compare. Don't think so much now, u shld concentrate on ur bb now. As ur emtion will affect bb.

bbjun, that true! u can't forever siam her. so u can avoid how much then try to avoid. Or not it really will affect u alot.

goldiepooh, welcome!! i agree wif shelisa... but this should b the least of your worry, as long as your MIL dotes on your little one, so what if she dotes on your SIL's kid more?

so quiet in office today... not many ppl working... feel like sleeping... *YAWN*

welcome goldiepooh.

If your MIL is those modern/enlightened ones, I am sure she will treat both grandchildren well. Cos both her grandchildren ma! My mother treats my hb better than my brother sometimes lor. Cos she said he oso her son liao. Cos my hb always away, she takes more effort to prepare his fave food when he is back.. my brother & sister will joke on her change of favortism. But it's all in a jest for fun.

My MIL oso treats my SIL better (cos my SIL very docile, dun talk back one) but I m glad it is that way cos my SIL is so smothered and "manipulated" by her that she hates coming back to Sgp, even though she wants to visit me n hb.

Some people say preggie together is fun at least got people to talk bb together. But I just felt a bit pressuring. What if SIL gives boy I gives girl ah? Just can't help to compare leh. Aiyo. Though my MIL is the modern type but I just can't help to think she will like to have a boy to carry on the family line. Better to give one now to release any pressure. I know all these thoughs are just my expectation of myself. Have been telling myself as long as bb is healthy is ok liao. Next month then know the gender.

Have to wait for one month and don't know how's the bb doing also caused me some worries. At least 1st trimester, go for checks every 2 weeks not so bad now have to wait 4 weeks wor.

bbjun, usually own daughter will talk back more to own mother one wor. Thats the case for me, I talk to my own mother sometimes can be bu nai fan. I won't dare to do that to my MIL. haha. Your SIL sure have a lot of patience.

mika rei,
daytime CL is a gd idea, but im not sure what is the diff in charges between that and fulltime CL. personally for my 1st born, she wakes up at intervals in the nite other than for milk, so the CL was useful in the sense that she can help to carry and soothe the baby back to slp. all i had to do was feed then can rest. if u do confinement alone, u may end up not being able to rest properly at nite. just my personal experience.

amkgal,
fetal movements just feel like baby moving about in the tummy loh. it can feel like baby moving from 1side to another, baby kicking and just movements in the tummy. in the 3rd trimester, u can even SEE the tummy "moving" and baby's leg literally "poking out" at the tummy!

First Mum, I know my bb has moved from one side to the other when I check my tummy by feel but I cannot feel BB's movements at all. Sighz. Trying very hard to feel BB's movements.

goldiepooh, can understand why u want a boy. Sometimes I felt that way cos my hb is only son. interestingly, my hb wants a gal. But Bbs are god's gifts and regardless of their gender, they will be a bundle of joy to the family. All the more u shd not give urself unnec pressure when ur MIL is modern.

bbjun,
dont be anxious, i only felt baby in 5th mth for 1st pregnancy. not yet for this pregnancy too. so i guess its still early days. very soon, u'll be able to feel it everyday =)!

bbjun, strongly agree with u. bb gender is God's gifts. So most impt is the health.

goldiepooh, you are giving yourself too much stress!! you are thinking too much. Such thing u cannot decide one!! So what you can do is accept regardless is boy or girl as it is your own flesh. So please look on the bright side. Cheers!!

you are right, i always talk back to my mommy n grandma. But they always remind me cannot talk back to my MIL. Don't let ppl say i 'no manner or no parents teach' but sometimes my MIL really too much must said back 1 lor. Or not she tok she win!!

Dovey, alot of ppl take long weekend or clear leave. So this few days take bus can seat to sit. yeah!!

hi MTBs,
just went for gynae visit but baby legs closed up tightly hence cannot see gender at all.. now got to wait til my detailed scan after CNY..

my baby is 11.2cm at 16week 4d.. my appetite increase alot this week.. anyone of you also like that? wonder if its me or my baby eating more..

shelisa,
when I told my mom I talked back to my MIL, she oso bo chup one. LOL... cos she herself also cannot tahan my MIL during the wedding stuff. Made so many calls, unnec remarks and do things to irritate my mother. Last time my mother kena quite bad from her in-laws family (including the aunts and what's nots) so she prefers if I can hold my own ground without showing disrespect. She oso dun wan me to marry liao kena bully ma. she even told my MIL to let me n hb make our own decisions cos we adults liao, my MIL still cannot accept it.

chidori, my appetite on some days are super good while on some other days, normal. But when super good, I also try to moderate not to over eat. I always bring one apple to work, just in case I really start to eat nonsense. Even then, oredi start to put on weight liao.

Shelisa, my scan is done at camden medical centre. $260. very detailed. checking all the fingers, hand, leg, foot, mouth, eyes, heart.. got snap shot of bb in cd. moves abit, very short video lah i dont think it's worth to spend extra unless it's part of your doc's checkup requirement. my doc send me to 2 specialist clinic to scan lor KS is good lah i reassured but pocket no good lor.

goldiepooh, i think ur MIL will be clser to ur child next time. all pple are like that mah, watch ur bb grow everyday spend time together sure clser.

chidori, my appetite didnt grow much but less vomit can finish more food.