(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

bbjun, jia you.. dun bother the nonsense from ur mil, it's important for u to stay happy..

neeciel, I went for Mt A tour.. I was trying to ask the lady who host the tour abt the diff btw parentcraft class & childbirth education, and she asked us to check website or call the hotline.. if like that, no need to go for tour and go all the way there mah.. I couldn't take photos either as some of the room was being cleaned and the tour was quite rush.. the only consolation was when we saw the newborn babies, they're so tiny yet so amazingly adorable..

true.. mothers usually the one who take the blame, y can't give bb boy etc.. but dun care liao, if it's bb gal and they dun like, then it's not my prob.. this bb gonna be close to me and not to them.. sometimes so angry to think abt all these expectation lor..

Mika, thanks.. I love salmon too, and kajiki but can't eat all, kajiki is swordfish, actually shark also cannot rite.. but I'll see how lor.. it's difficult to ask so much dun cook this dun cook that from my mil.. so if they still have shark fin, either I'll just eat a little, or I'll skip..

tulips, me too it's second time, but I think the first time didn't really recover, now this.. it's really too heaty for me, with all the vitamins and milk and shi san tai bao, then whatever my mil cook I usually just eat, too heaty liao now.. trying to compensate with eating fruits and drinkin lots of water now..

Anyone living with their in laws here ? How to prepare for the baby..? Can share ideas or experiences ? I dun have additional space for baby nursery, so just gonna put the bb cot in our room, also living with others is not always easy, we can't have things as neat n clean as we wish.. our room is almost no space liao, how to manage ? Thanks

Hi Blue Dream, it's amazing efforts you've put in there to consolidate this table!!!! I've kinda missed out alot of discussion here since my last time here!

Would you add me too??

EDD: 20/6/09
Gynae: Dr Patricia Sim
Hospital: Mt E / Mt A
Expecting: #1

Btw, has anyone signed up for antenatal classes already? I've just signed up myself for the one conducted by Wong Boi Boi in TMC! I heard from my colleague that she's really good, and provides good lactation advice even after giving birth! I am going for the slot from Mar 21 to Apr 21, every sat, 2-4pm.
Do let me know if anyone is joining in!

Btw, I was thinking if we should start hunting for a post-natal massage lady soon...

have you guys started yet? Experienced mummies, any advice for firs-time mummies?

Thanks to all who have given input on the diapers. I also afraid that I am not persistent in using the cloth diapers. So would like to know how many would use that and it seems like most prefer to use disposable diapers.

just turned 14 wks last fri.. and i've got ms today and last fri.. my appetite is still not as good yet..

how's the rest of you getting on?

Spree for maxi cosi tori car seat good for 0-4 years old @ bulk purchase price, also on still spree for capella s705 stroller closing soon..pls PM for info

morning ladies,

I'm gg on to my 16 wk ... but still got very bad bloatedness & at times vomit leh ... sigh .. wonder when all these will end leh ... How is every1 doing now ? when can we know the gender liao huh ?

morning!

GG to my 15 week... have been feeling very normal like pre-preg since wk 11/12. Only discomfort is the constipation I am having.

ling, i went for the Mt A tour last sat too... yours was 12pm, rite? i went for the 10am tour... we managed to visit the delivery suite, single room, 2-bedded and 4-bedded. guess we were lucky, cos the person who brought us ard says discharge is at 12 noon, so we might only b able to take a quick peek... for the antenatal class, i signed up that day, cos i told her i called many times during office hours, but no one answered... so she brought me to register with Ms Vasantha, she is responsible for the classes... i signed for the mar classes...

take care ladies... i heard "shi san tai bao" is suitable after childbirth leh... have u ladies already started birds nest? i was told to start only after 4 months, now in my 14th week...

anyone got rashes after using palmers? i found little red spots yday morning and decided to stop using it... now need to find alternative... wat r u ladies using? except clarins, too oily for me...

Dovey, i use clarins oil as well as body shop's cocoa butter. why not try the clarins cream instead? i heard it's not so oily.....

do you all apply only on the stomach? or all over including buttocks, hips, tighs?

anybody started buying baby stuff? come to think of it, time will fly cos soon it will be jan... then i heard some, hardly go shopping in 3rd tri cos of tiredness.....

lovelytulips,

me ordered 4 bodysuits from GAP and old navy. the rest can wear gor gor de cos last time still got quite alot of new clothings unworn.

Morning ladies, my gynae confirm that i have a little princess. i nearly broke into tear in the clinic.

Ling, then i think i will not join the hospital tour liao. so far you and your hubby intend to take which room?

so u feeling better today? have ur fever and phlegme getting better?

Regard boy or girl;
Actually my hubby and i only thought to have 1 bb. and we wish to have a girl and now i finally got a girl. But, my mommy is not happy. As she said my hubby is the eldest son, she scare no ppl carry my hubby surname (but my hubby bro have 3 sons) so we feel it is ok. But my mommy say next time we die we have no son to do our funeral thing. But me myself feel son in law is also the same lor. As now son in law is better then daughter in law. but my hubby after hearing what my mommy say he feel kinda disappointed, he feel what my mommy said is true. But he said most impt bb is healthy n safe. So boy or girl is still the same.
Lucky my MIL have 3 grandson so she is quite happy that i have a girl.

Congrats, Shelisa.

How I wish mine is a ger too.

Chidori,

I can drop e seller an email to check if we order more units, is it e same shipping, if so, we can share together.

U staying in the west also right?

Shelisa,
understand how you feel.. my hubby is only son with 1 younger sister.. my MIL also gives pressure.. also say terrible things like no son for my funeral etc.. I was quite pissed off coz my mum got only 5 daughters lor.. but her 5 daughters much more filial than any son IMO.. in your case, you MIL is ok abt it so dun give yourself pressure k? and daughters will be very close to daddy one..

bbpotato,
yup,I stay in JW.. thanks alot..

bbPotato, Thanks.. we can exchange.. haha.. fainted. my 2 SIL ask me wanna exchange anot as they have boys.

chidori, i also like that console myself. As i feel now Son in law is much more better then Daughter in law. Plus if in future any ppl woo/married my daughter he will know he need to spend more time with his gf/wife parents as she is the only child. so i feel great now!!

But im curious y my bb always sleeping when i go for checkup. is she a US bb?? haha. gynae say it is normal for bb to slp opp our timing. That y this pass 1 mth i cant slp well in night as bb is awake in my tummy, playing inside.

Chidori,

sent liao, will update once I hv e reply.

Shelisa,

:p, can't bear to do it, afterall, they will b in our body for 9mths, e bond is there

haha.. that's true..my hubby spend more time with my parents, talk more to them than to his own parents..
bb cannot tell day and night one.. mine also US baby.. I go gynae in day, baby sleeping, if I go night clinic, baby will be dancing..
have you feel bb's movement already? me still waiting for mine..

bbPotato, same same. So i tell them 'welcome to invest in my daughter' u can help me to dress her up pretty too.

chidori, ohh.. we have US bb. but sometime i scare my bb will be affected leh. As im working at construction site, so will have loud noises. So i scare bb will be scare or disturbed. but in future thing we cant say yet but for now we knew son in law is better. :0

shelisa
congrats! having a girl is really great. my #1 brings me lots of joy and happiness. and the best part is the dressing up. haha! i used to hope to expect a boy and was quite sad when i know it was a girl cuz my hb is the eldest grandchild (zhang zi di sun). but i soon got over and am so happy that i have my #1 for a girl. so for this time round, i don mind having a girl again even though i guess hb hopes for a boy. heehee.

going for my blood test and scan this fri which is my 17wks +. hopefully also can know my bb gender too.

hi gals, abt gal or boy....hmm my PIL oso ask hb whether mi expecting gal or boy....bth mi & hb wish to hv a gal....but my family memebers & frens all say my hb is the onli son....so is beter to hv a boy instead of gal....i asked hb did yr parents say they prefer gal or boy....he said tot they din say la feel dat they wanna mi to hv a boy...

tink hb abit got influence by them liow...he say if gal wanna to try f 2nd wan....intiali he say ok to stop at 1...

crystal, yup. girl in the best part is dressing up. and when she act cute that time is will be so so sweet. Pls keep us posted if u know the gender. most impt is bb healthy.

jam75. my hubby also same pattern with ur hubby. listen more liao start to change his mind. but i think ur hb special case as he is the only son. as for my hubby he still have 2 bros. but most impt u must discuss well with ur hubby

guess.. even though 21st century, ppl still got old thinking sia.. crystal, my hubby also eldest son, eldest grandson and our baby will the the first great grandchild in his family

chidori
yup me too. my #1 is the first great grandchild in the family but only the fact she is a girl. anyway i don bother much now alrdy. most impt is bb healthy and we have smooth delivery. though it's 21st century, my hb family is super old thinking. super old hokkien type of family. sighs!!!!!!!! it's not my mil who is old thinking. it's the grandmother-in-law. terrible!

crystal,
for me grandmother-in-law 80 year-old already.. so no energy to chap.. only my MIL gives me headache.. haha.. but I blessed to have my own home no need to face her everyday..

<font color="119911">Wau~~~So many posts liao~
Hehe..

Hi BlueDream~
Wah..really salute to you into consolidate all mummies info to this table.
Please update mine:
Nick: Sharon Tan
EDD Estimated: 08 June
Gynae: DR. Low Tech Siew
Del Hospital: Kluang Specialist Maternity Center (in Johor, Malaysia)[I'm Msian, but SG PR]
Expecting #: 2
Current child: 2 Year old Girl(DOB:03-Apr-2006).
^_^</font>

jam,shelisa,crystal,chidori

same same.. but my hb &amp; I all along wanted a gal..during our #1 we expected to have a gal cos around us are having gals so when my gynea say we are going to have a boy we felt a bit disappointed... this time round when my gynea told us we r going to have a princess, we r so happy...

Shelisa, u oso feel dat since my hb is the onli son so impact will b stronger to hv a boy for no. 1 huh??

actuali i feel dat nowadays daughter is beter than son lo....i was tinking if no 1 is gal can stop but if no 1 is boy will try f no. 2 f gal...hee

kikismom, u just said what I am afraid of if I have a boy lor (though I have no preference). Hb is eldest son n only son. His sister oredi married to US liao. If really boy, my PIL will spoil him till no end!

Thread is so active today =)

Mikha, dun give up u try again u'll be able to see bb's gender =)

lovelytulips, u din book earlier ah? I still get 7 Feb leh even i called in late cos the first time i called in, they din register for me.

Ling, maybe you do a tour later again? Think lots of pple gave birth in dec, maybe near to CNY u tour again, should be able to see more rooms?

actually pretty surprised nowadays most daddy wants a baby gal instead of boy as 1st kid =) some even dun mind having 1 gal and close shop like me haha...

hey gals, hv u'll discuss wif hb who shall help to look aft yr bb huh?? f mi bth my mom &amp; MIL offer to take care...so we headache lo...i stay nearer to my mom...so if my mom take care will bring home everyday....but if IL take care will onli bring home 1/wk cos we stay v far away wo...tink my IL will b unhappi if i let my mom take care lo....got ppl help to look aft oso headache nobody help oso headache...sigh!!

<font color="119911">Hi Selisa,

Hmmm..first one girl is better than boy.
Like mine, I hope for boy during my 1st preg, it's my hubby who dun mind as long as healthy BB. End up my gynae(same gynae this time round) told us, it's girl..aiyo..i feel upset le..cos my #1 is the first grandchild in my hubby family..Although my hubby is 2nd son(he got 2 more brothers),I still hope the first one is a boy. However, now i never feel upset that my #1 is girl, cos she is indeed a cute baby with big eyes.

Most important thing is I feel that #1 is girl is much more manageable than having boy..Boy is much naughtier and tough to handle. Unlike girl, as long as mummy sayang, she will be alright.

^_^</font>

jam75,
at least you got mum and mil fighting to take care..
my mum working (plus stay far away) and my mil says she busy with housework and 10-year-old nephew and will help look after my baby from 7am to 2pm.. then suggest nanny from 2 to 7pm.. I will be bringing my baby home at night
I probably look for a babysitter near my place or infant care near my office..

chidori, like i said got ppl to fight to help oso headache...give mother mayb IL not happi...tink my mom is ok to let my IL take care...but i prefer to let my mom lo....since stay nearer ma...

huh yr IL timing so weird hv u tot of having a maid &amp; bring over to yr IL plc so dat at least got maid to help up tink babysitter nowadays oso not cheap leh!

i think for the benefit of you and baby, should let your mum take care and you can bring your baby home..
yah lor, I proposed the maid thing, but she said even if I get maid she will do her own housework and let the maid take care of my baby which is what I dun wan..

crystal, my case the same as urs, hb is eldest on &amp; worse is he is the only son in his generation. although nobody is verbally giving me stress, i know they have thoughts abt it though bits &amp; pcs of their conversation throughout the yrs. mayb that's why i'm so eager to know the gender.

i think i may not be getting much help fr both my mom &amp; my mil, if i breastfeed, do you all (esp. moms with experience of 1st bb already) think i can just get a day CL to help out? anyway night feeds will also need me if i bf right?

chidori
i also heng, finally got a house of my own! if not die liao. the grandmother-in-law is abt 70yrs old. but like those drama serials, she is those meanie in laws. mahjong everyday and go tour every now and then. so hard to handle lor. she so yaya is cuz my fil they all run own business ma. so i feel my hb side really drama type one. sighs!!!!!

mika rei
i don tink there is day CL available lei. you try to search ?

jam75
it's better to bring bb home everyday cuz got more bonding. and you sure cant bear to leave bb at ILs place after first 3 mths of caring for your bb during your ML. and also, bringing home everyday could ensure the way how you want your bb to be brought up and put to sleep every night. and you wont miss any of your bb developmental milestones. no doubt it's very tiring but it's worth it. i travelled to and fro from my mom's place ever since i went back to work after my ML but it's definitely worth it. but sometimes once in awhile like once in every 2 wks, i would put bb to stay over for the weekend. now my mom's place abit further cuz we both moved houses, so i only managed to bring back on weekends. plus abit tough as i am preg now. last time my mom only stayed 2 bus stops away from me. now is abit of distance so no choice thus the arrangement. only relief thing is that bb is older now so easier to take care and she knows every weekend is going home time.

chidori &amp; crystal, mi too feel the same thing is beter to let my mom take care so dat i can bring home everday....hv been telling my hb the same thing too but he say his mom hv been offering a few time to take care so he dunno how to reject...scared his mom not happi....

mika rei,
me thinking of getting day confinement but quite difficult to find.. coz i intend to breastfeed too.. coz most CL are misans and will need a place to stay overnight..

jam75,
maybe your MIL dunno you got intention to bring baby home every night? my MIL was shocked when she heard that I plan to bring baby home every night coz she says that it will be too tough for us if we cannot have a good night sleep.. so maybe get your hubby to explain to her bah..

i just went to recee learning vision at republic poly infantcare.. environment is good.. costs abt $600 after subsidy

chidori, dunno wat my MIL tinking leh...cos my sil oso let MIL to take care of her girl every night even now pri school le...still staying at my MIL plc...SIL onli bring her girl back in wkend onli...

hmm so aft subsidy $600 still consider reasonable ba cos if u ask nanny oso tink ard dat prc ba?? but u hv to bring back by wat time??

bbjun
he is getting out of hands now..dunno how to teach him sigh....
maybe we give in to him to often..

jam75
I let my mum take care of my boi cos I bring him home every nite.. It tiring cos my boi is very active he used to get up every 2, 3 times at night to have his feeds so u muz prepared for tat...the advantage is that the bond btw u &amp; ur bb are closer unlike those who only bring back their bb once a week...

chidori
i dun think there is any day CL.. usually is a month CL..even if u intend u BF no harm having a CL around cos u need plenty of rest ..she can jagar around during the night..

jam75
by 7pm.. yup nanny also abt that price.. now thinking whether put infantcare near my home or workplace.. coz my hubby can only send me and baby to my workplace in the morning.. knock off time, most of the time, I got to make my way home.. woodlands to jurong not that near too..

kikismom, congrate to you.

Jam75, no.. no.. pls don't get the wrong ideas. what i meant is at least shld have 1 boy. no need to be #1 or #2. at least there is a boy ba. it is how i feel. but now ppl very modern, they dun feel it is a must.

you are so fortunate, i now headache no ppl help me take care. then infrant care so so ex.

Sharon Tan, indeed girl more easy to manage. i did meet before girl who is 100 x times naughter then boy leh. but althought she naughter, she still cute lor.