2007 sahm n bf mom

husband travelling all the time for work is not fun at all. Mine was doing that from time bb was born till dec, can u imagine he can hit krisflyer silver in those few mths, and some nights I just wanted to kill bb cos he was screaming n refusing to sleep or nurse properly.

I don't know if it's through nursing only or combined with looking after my son, but my weight is now 2-3kg less than pre-preg and I didn't do any extra exercise. Only thing is my tummy has abit of saggy skin that will protrude out after a meal but then again I've always had that problem from young. But i think losing weight thru TBF also depends on individual cos I know some ppl who are still big and never lose weight.

Re: supply when starting solids, I didn't have too much of a problem cos when you first intro solids you only give abit for the baby to get used to swallowing and the taste, it's not to replace a milk feed and my son still drinks same number of times a day.

Bena: yay happy to hear your supply has decreased and you're getting better.
I think if you wean off your Zac from bfeeding, you will prolly have to take alot of those pills to stop your supply since it's so much!!!

Amy: I live/teach in the west, too far for you la.
If your girl's swimming is tied up with a swim sch she may be getting some proper instructions but since it will prolly be a big class size, it won't be very effective la.

S@L: maybe she's going thru a growth spurt or else she wants the comfort from sucking but she doesn't know how to suck her fingers/ fist yet so she's using you as a pacifier? My boy also rejected the pacifier when I gave it to him a few mths ago but recently since he is so curious and loves to mouth everything, I gave it to him again and he takes it as his new plaything but still prefers his fingers/ thumb at the end of the day.

db,huh another donut shop at causeway pt??!!I thot they hav munchy donut there??I like Munchy's O'Shiok..not so sweet,i ate last week thomson plaza outlet soooo shiok

Bena,Gelare very shiok hor,i aalways eat when im in suntec,they us to hav an outlet at HV but close.I oso like Haegen's Belgium Choc..they use to hav Bailey's but i think discontinue so sad..
Hmmmm wish can hav some now yum yum

fiona, i never tries munchy o'shiok... hmm hmm maybe can ask hubby to drive us to thomson plaza one of these days... ya lor they are opening another donut shop in causeway point, i guess see who has the best donuts...

Sleek, my gal can suck her fist/fingers liao..sometimes even hv the 'choot choot' sound! hahaha....but i will always pull it away from her...i try to give her the paci once a while to see if she can take to tt. but no, each time she will spit out or scream her lungs out. then i will surrender and give her the real thing

do you girls go for homemade ice cream like island creamery, estivo, haato?? aiyoh all your talk about ice cream make me feel like eating some... lucky I am not a fan of donuts

s@l: haha our babies like flesh better I guess. My ILs don't like that he sucks his thumb :S

Bena,
glad tat your engorged ordeal is over. ^^

Feeding on demand is always easier.. and tbf really can slim us down cos Bf is a calorie-burning activity. more so if you direct latch on.

BF hasn't be ex for me cos I dun wear nursing wear. I just wear comfortable clothes. so when my baby want i can just "pop" and feed.

My elder daughter weaned at abt 2 1/2 when i was expecting. some how, my body just stopped producing and i get a bit uncomfortable when my elder daughter latches on, then one day my gal tell me "mummy no more milk milk." and tats the end. so sad... now you ask her if she wants breastmilk, she will say "eee... dun wan..", when she had flatly refused bottle since baby.. Kinda miss those days... sigh...

And yeah, those comfort sucking is a phase, they'll outgrow it.

For bottle feeding those that have not taken to bottles, think best way is to be consistenta dn patient ba. I can hardly take the cold-turkey treatments. Heart already so pain when babies cry when sick, can you imagine when they are crying when they need you.. and thinking to themselves "why mummy ignore me?"

Bena & fiona,
I love Haagen Daz too! Yup my fav Bailey's too! no more already.. now no fav, but my daughter fav is belgium choc.
Dun really pang for donuts thou. more of an icecream and coffee person.

The gathering sounds fantastic! but morning time is my "home-school" time for my gal. I am staying in the west. the gathering will be at?

did you gals see the maid torture the 2 mth old baby video clip? i cried after seeing the baby being treated like that. the baby is so small and innocent and most of all helpless... TT

coolmama, I saw the video when they 1st showed it on the news and then went to see more on youtube, it's horrible and that maid is heartless, make me feel so sad for the baby. but then sometimes I am very fierce to my baby, will even spank him, I wonder if there is a hidden webcam on me, will I look just as bad as her. >.<

Their gathering is in the NE (buangkok?), I am also in the west, so I won't be going cos don't drive

Hey ladies,
hav u guys sell things via WTS thread b4?I was goin to sell my kids bn designer clothes via dat thread n was goin to post last nite dan i hav an argument wif hub over mode of collection

I notice dat most esp when buying/sellin clothes always use postage,therefore was goin to do the same but hub insisted of doin self pickup!!!Who in the sane mind will come all the way to Buangkok juz to buy a Zara tshirt!! I wouldnt!!
Im sure db n sleek,u wouldnt fly here juz to buy a tshirt hor??Recently i bought a bumwear trainin pants for my gal fr another mom n she's near imm n i didnt wan to collect either,she mail me instead.Hub was worry abt damagin tshirt n hw its goin to squeeze thru mailbox!!I couldnt tahan n juz mention dat nowadays postman dun sqeeze letters thru the front like hw they use to (roll eyeballs big time).I reminded him dat they hav keys to open the back part of mailbox.
Men...sometimes so clever but sometimes soooo dumb..aiyo...

Hey coolmama,yes i saw the video on the mornin news when it was release dan dat day itself my cousin send me the youtube version.I was hoppin mad at the maid.She has no right to be so rough wif the bb.Im sure as usual they are goin to hide behind their embassy n will prop be given light sentences
We hav become a society whereby we depend on domestic help too much.
Its scary wat a human is capable of..i always believe dat no one will luv yr kids as much as yrself n maid will only do hsewk but the bb's not their own so they wont bother as much.I hope the gov will start heavy sentencin to deter future abuse,after all bbs are Spore's future.. why let 3rd world ppl abuse our future n get away wif it..

Hi ladies, finally did my cupcakes again... after wanting do it before cny. here how it looks like: introducing my nutella, strawberry and cheese frosted cup cakes... hee hee...

1256719.jpg

Fiona, i sell before at the WTS before, i allow postage and self collect. usually for postage, if any mail lost it will be the buyer responsibility not me... so i will advise registered mail but some still want normal postage so i will inform them tt if lost in the mail, not my prob.

db..wow nutella!!! looks vv yummy leh..

blueangel, I did lost preg weight. in fact, this 2nd preg did nt gain much- 10kg and lost within 2 wks after birth. Now, in total lost 15kg. ideal weight is another 5 kg to lose...looks impossible..like u said, stagnant liao..i tried to eat less carbo, more soupy stuff and sadly, not much ex yet. from 1st preg experience, after i stop bf extensively, i did gain weight fast leh..so this time, i'll try not to commit same mistake..

Coolmama,
I hope my supply will stay low
Wow you bf your girl for so long..I guess I didn't lose much weight because I eat very well.. and constantly. :p. Cuz I'm always hungry due to bf..

I didn't dare to watch the video cuz I know I'll sure be very upset after that. Just hearing what happened to the baby makes my heart pain for him..

Fiona,
Definitely postage is the way to go, esp for we SAHMs. Won't lug baby across the country just to collect a shirt lah..

db, dont tempt us le!!! haha, drooling over here liao

Fiona: I cant sell via WTS but generally when I buy postable items, will be by post lo. Only those bulky items like diapers have to do meet up. Your husband very cute le, tell him policeman used to wear shorts but not anymore... hahah

My poor son has been coughing for the past 2 weeks since before CNY, since Sunday he has been vomiting 1x or 2x after he starts coughing, been to the doc 2x and today went to the doc again. 1st 2 visits, doc say cannot see or hear anything in lungs yet but today can hear so have to start on abx. So heart pain when I see him vomiting till he is red and the tears all squeezed out

sleek,
poor thing,bb sick always very heart pain

Anyway since u stay in the west n need to bring bb to a good doc,i highly recommend Dr Goh of Carrighton Medical ctr.Its at Queens rd(farrer rd).He has 6kids fr recently turn 1yr to pri sch age..so got alot of experience when it comes to kids being sick.He oso got their own made cough n flu mixture dats very effective.I stay Buangkok but drive all the way there if my kids sick..I see downstairs's doc but takes 2round med n kids still not well.

db,did you see buangkok flood? By my saliva fr drooling haha

Btw ladies,my place is near Hougang,next to woodbridge mental hospital

sleek
poor bb hope he get well soon.
can try Eu Yang Sang's hou ning good for cough esp for children n bb.
it was recommded by another mummy from SMH, very effective.

bena,
the GP im tokin about charges $25-$30 on an average but for more serious cases wherey lab test needed,i go to my ped,Dr Tan Siew Pin of Olive Tree Clinic at Forum Shoppin Ctr.She charge bb $40++ n tod $70++.My Gp oso knws her..
I like my gp in farrer rd as he doesnt giv antibiotic easily unless no choice n he's med are effective.My son gets gummy nose n cough easily n sometimes takes awhile to recover.Dr Goh's med is ez to take as he mix all into a bottle so i dun hav to feed my son so many diff med.I dun like my kids to take med for too long as i feel is no good for their organs so once recover dan i build up health wif tmc..

Oh thanks, Fiona. Do you have Dr Goh's contacts? Could you sms me? Zac has been nursing a flu since a week before CNY and he's still not recovered despite 2 visits to the PD at The Kid's Clinic. Now he breathes heavy and I think I should bring him to another doc..

thanks fiona and sgn.

I have 2 pd's, 1 right near my place and another that is baby's birth pd. Both are equally reluctant to give ABX. The 1 near my place is more abrupt and not so friendly (but within walking distance!), whereas his birth pd is also a father of many children and very friendly and kind, but at MAH.

Fiona, gathering at ur place ah? can i join? i stay at Anchorvale Link.

got cupcakes for us or nt..hahaha...drooling...eat already then complain abt weight gain!

hi ladies... finally can sit down and surf the net. every thurs will send my gal to her mandarin class, so our normal routine get disrupted and i got to rush and rush...

thanks for your droolings.... hehehehehe....

S@L
chitchat session's open to all moms in out thread
But muz let me knw by mon on attendance so i knw whose comin..As for cupcakes muz ask db to come lah dan we all get to eat instead of drool hehe

db,
galfren,share recipe can?

sleek
my boy is seeing SBCC's Dr Chan at MAH too.
btw hou ning is suitable for adults with cough too.

Baby's birth PD is Dr Terence Tan from kinderclinic. If he's not so far and their charges so exp, I would prefer to go to him.

hi fiona,
I've PM u
will love to meet u gals. but need to see whether my baby can be awake then..she tends to nap from 9am onwards.

fiona, here is the recipe, the toppings you can change to strawberry jam, etc...

Nutella Frosted Cupcakes

10 tbsp(140 grams) butter, softened
3/4 cup white sugar
3 eggs
1/2 tsp vanilla essence
1 3/4 cups (200 grams) sifted all purpose flour
1/4 tsp salt
2 tsp baking powder
Nutella, approx. 1/3 cup

Preheat oven to 325F.
Line 12 muffin tins with paper liners.
Cream together butter and sugar until light, 2 minutes.
Add in eggs one at a time, until fully incorporated. Don't worry if the batter doesn't look smooth. Add vanilla. Stir in flour, salt and baking powder until batter is uniform and no flour remains.
Using an ice cream scoop, fill each muffin liner with batter.
They should be 3/4 full, if you're not using a scoop.
Top each cake with 1 1/2 tsp Nutella.
Swirl Nutella in with a toothpick, making sure to fold a bit of batter up over the nutella.
Bake for 20 minutes.
Remove to a wire rack to cool completely.
Makes 12.

Hey gals
got bad new
my son got gummy nose

so our chitchat session has to reconfirm on mon ok..if he dun hav anymore gummy mucus in nose dan i'll send him to sch on mon if not dan i'll hav to quarantine him at hm til he gets better..
will let you guys knw on mon..meanwhile hub will hav to sleep wif him in his room w/o aircon..

Hey Fiona,
Oh no.. hope you boy feels better soon. Zac also is still unwell. And it's been so long already. I might have to give the gathering a miss too if he doesn't get better by Tues..

Fiona &amp; Bena, hope your boys get well soon! Mine seems to be much better after seeing the doc on Wed and starting the abx.

Bena, no worries. It's a shortform for antibiotics I copied from another mummy, maybe it's not a common thing, hee. How's Zac coming along?

Hey gals
joshua's got bacteria infectn so havin gummy nose n chesty cough
We had to go Dr Goh on sun mornin n take Augmentine(abx)much as im not keen but we think its nessesary as mucus is yellow n got sexy voice oredi..My gal started yellow mucus this mornin

sigh..its goin to be a very bz few days for me..
if her nose doesnt get better in 2days,dan she oso muz take abx..
Hopefully hub can cancel his flight for work else it'll be a super long few days for me

Gotta postpone playdate to next tue ok..

Fiona.. oh no... the flu bug is really strong.

Sleek, Zac's still unwell.. but he seemed just a teeny weeny better today.. really hope that he'll recover before our playdate on Tues.. Will you join us?

hi fiona,
hope your kids will get well soon. my gal also took augmentine for few times already..what to do...so long as she gets well fast, I'll be happy. last time we delayed seeing pd..and she had pneumonia! so we learnt our lesson..

oh dear,
hope all the babies get well soon. take care mummies too. mummies must take care of yourselves too...

Hi bena, yeah, forum surfing to find have more social live. heehee....

hey Sleek, where do you stay? i stay in clementi.
a

bena, no lah..dun want to scare u mummies..but it's a lesson learnt for me and hubby lor..and that time she's coming to 3 yrs and attending childcare..sick every mth- cough and running nose. that time pnuemococal vaccine not introduced yet and did not give her..if there was such vaccine then sure make sure she has it and lessen off the scare she gave us.

i survived 1st nite wif 2 sick kids yeah....
My gal still sneezin
i woke up at 3am as i was worried she was havin fever.Kiasu so i use both digital themometer n thermascanner to take her temp..w/o aircon so she was juz warm phew
Im still givin her the med but if she doesnt improve dan no choice hav to giv abx
my son's tiny weany better tho still has chesty cough.
Thk God the weather was cool last nite so even w/o ac was ok..
Amy
hw old is yr gal?Wah hw come need to start wif such strong abx wif her?I do see my GP or Ped whenever my kids are ill but i dun give abx immediately.I let their body learn to fight the bug first 2-3days n if situation dun improve dan i give abx.My Gp has 5 criteria to issue abx, yellow/green mucus,fever,hoarse voice n been ill for 5days..we feel abx's been use too easily here therefore many times abx taken r gettin stronger.Sorry ah hope u dun mind,dats my opinion

Bena,hw's zac?Dun scared lah,if he's treated early he wont develope to pneumonia

Fiona, Amy..
Zac has taken the 1st dose of Pneumococcal jab previously. Does it mean he won't get pneumonia that easily? Actually he's due for his second dose of Pneumococcal and rotavirus, and also his third 5-in-1 jab but he hasn't been fully well since cny.
He's still not good today

bena,
i thot pneumoccocal vaccine is mainly against menigitis bac?Wah zac so many vaccine..my kids i give nomal jab at polyclinic..am not comfortable wif multiple vaccine at a go..

Fiona, actually the 4-in-1 is done at the normal clinic. As for the pneumoccocal, it's optional but we decided to let him take it as it's still much cheaper than having him be hospitalised if he's sick from the disease. Also, I think our hearts would break if he's gravely sick