2007 sahm n bf mom

Wow, the thread is moving fast today. I was reading all the advice given to newer mums/mtbs and can't help but feel very appreciative of the mummies who gave such sound advice

Jacelyn,
Like you, I also worry that I will have low supply before I gave birth to my son. In fact, I also went through alot to establish my milk supply. Both my mum and mil were not supportive of my bf efforts and my mum even called me to scold me, cried and hang up the phone on me over this bf issue. I also suffered from under supply, engorgement twice, blocked ducts and most recently over supply. I think having a supportive hubby will be half the battle won. So if you have read and are convinced that you want to do total breastfeeding, you need to transfer that knowledge to your hubby so that two of you can work hand in hand to make it work. By the way. below are some tips that I can offer to help you :

a) Try to latch baby within 4 hours of delivery, as baby is most alert during that time since the adrenalin is still high from the birth. After that, generally, babies will be sleepy and may not want to latch on.

b) Get a good lactation consultant to help you with your first latch. A wrong first latch may cause you to have sore nipples and destroy your desire/ ability to breastfeed baby due to the pain. You also lose precious time establishing your milk supply since baby can't latch on and pumping may not be as good as latching if you, like me, don't respond to pumps that well.

c) Do not give baby bottles before 6 weeks after delivery. Babies might have nipple confusion if bottles are introduced too early. This is because bottles are actually easier to suckle and also the way to retrieve milk from a bottle is different from the way milk is retrieved from breast. Baby might get used to the way of sucking from bottle and reject the breasts. Alot of my friends' babies refuse to latch on for this reason. If you suspect that you have low supply and need to supplement baby with formula milk, do use cup feed or syringe feed. Nurses can do cup/syringe feed for you if you are still in the hospital. You just need to instruct them. But I do not recommend that you supplement baby with fm if possible, but to keep latching baby, and your body will know that there is a demand.

d) Do introduce bottles after 6 weeks or babies might totally reject bottle in preference for breast.

e) Feed baby on demand or 3 hourly, whichever comes earlier. Initial days will be very tough because you also need to wake up to feed baby. And very young babies feed for very long, ie at least 20 mins on each breast so the feeding time might come up to 1 hour(with burping). So if you feed 3 hourly, it will be feed 1 hour rest 2 hours round the clock. To save you some sanity, demand feed baby at nite. That means if baby doesn't wake up for feed (if so, your baby must be an angel
, don't wake him up for feed too..

f) Learn to breastfeed lying down. It will save you some sanity when you are deadbeat and zombie-like from lack of sleep.

g) Learn to ignore unfriendly comments/ remarks/ advice. There will bound to be alot of naysayers to breastfeeding, and taking them too seriously will cause you to be very stress and might even affect your milk supply. It is not true that if baby wants to feed hourly, you have low supply. It is normal for newborns to want to feed very often. See this link on what constitute low supply http://www.kellymom.com/bf/supply/low-supply.html#supply.

h) This last point is my personal opinion : Sleep with baby at nite. This is my saving grace - I would have quit breastfeeding long ago if not for the fact that I managed to catch alot of sleep just sleeping with baby and dream latching (latching baby without really waking up) him at nite. But some mummies here might not agree as co-sleeping has always been a controversial issue linked to SIDs (Sudden Infant Death Syndrome). So do make sure you follow the rules on co-sleeping to prevent SIDs.

Hope the above helps. Pm me or call me ( you have to pm me your number) when you have difficulties and I'll try to help you wherever I can. Btw, my baby is now 3 months old and is on total latch on. I sleep 10-12 hours a day

Sgn,

I think the child is a very young baby..so maybe your milk is not suitable. I'll check it out

Dryperbaby,
I really salute you that you latch baby hourly for 3 months...*clap hands*..I'm reading your website now

S@L,
I did try part of Gina Ford's method and found it quite useful. Now my baby feeds approx 3 hourly. I think Gina also proposes using the pacifier to lengthen the time to the next feed. She also mentioned abt feeding baby the day's milk requirement so that she doesn't need to wake up for nite feeds. Also she mentioned that if baby wakes up for nite feed, to let her have a dream feed so that she doesn't really wake up, and also to reduce the milk intake of the nite feed slowly till she doesn't require that feed. I didn't follow her advice on eliminating nite feeds as I still think it's not too good for baby, esp very young ones, to go 6-8 hours without food, plus it doesn't really take too much from me to latch baby in the middle of the nite, so I'm still feeding him happily at nite.
Hope your babe's feeding schedule will stabalise soon.

Lin,
I saw on the positive focus curriculum that there's a topic on sgn language. Just want to share with you that a friend of mine's two year old son refuses to talk till now as he prefers to use sign languages.. so do be careful on that

Dryperbaby,
Do you know where I can get nice and affordable nursing dresses? I need one that's nice and casual but dunno where to buy it..

Bena/ dryperbaby
i think we all went thru difficult time starting of BF but after all bb benifit from it rite?

Bena
how about Spring? i love their clothes but pants a bit ex.

bena, i never use nursing clothing. i find it difficult to aim my breast at the hole in the clothing (sorry to be so crude, paiseh)... so i just wear my normal clothing. so i nvr wear dresses for so long because how to bf right wearing dress... hee hee... bena i almost give up on bf-ing because of my gal's hrly feeding pattern for 3 months. but i really wanna bf so I continue. thanks for reading my website...

Thank you all for the advise. Will difinetly try to TBF when my BB is born. COs i heard from mi sil she has low milk supply and her son doesn't wan to be latched on so eventually she gave up. She even told me that her breast shrink after BF.... Am afraid this will happen to me as well as before pregnancy am already 70A if shrink will be flat alrady!!!

Jacelyn,
I don't know abt the shrinking of breasts yet.. but my breasts ballooned from 75A to 85C now that I'm breastfeeding. I should think that once I stop breastfeeding, breast size should go back to before.

Dryperbaby, you are funny.. hahaha. How to you breastfeed in public discreetly using normal clothes? Lift from below?

sgn, I tried Spring, but they have very limited selection of nursing wear, and even more limited nursing dresses

bena, hee hee...i usually go to nursing room to bf. otherwise, if really no nursing room, will bf using nursing shawl but abit troublesome...

Bena, me too dun wear nursing tops all the time cos obviously nt much choice in the market n most looks so mumsie...

i wear normal top sometimes those with front button...i use a normal shawl/ scarf or bb blanket to cover cos i dun like to feed in nursing room, boring n cold...hahHAHAHA..

Dryperbaby,
Oh I see.. how long does your baby nurse each time? I find it very boring and disrupting to nurse baby in nursing room leh.. and I'm sure you know..some nursing rooms are very dirty and vandalised.

S@L,
I find it tough handling a struggling baby and the shawl.. My boy is very strong and sometimes I really gotta wrestle with him to stay in position when nursing. Do you have this problem? I remember there was once he pulled down the shawl I was using and I was really caught off guard..

bena, my boy now will nurse ard 10-15 minutes. last time longer ard 30 minutes... so not so bad lah now... yup, i agree that some nursing rooms are really dirty... so usually i will go out where the nursing room is alright, like parkway parade, tangs, causeway point, taka, cannot really remember alr...

Bena, nt so bad yet cos my gal only 6 week old...maybe when she is older like ur son then i will hv problem/. but what i do now to prevent my shawl from slipping off is to tied the 2 diagonal ends together so it looks jus like those special nursing shawls. but she does unlatch sometimes when i let down...so can be messy as i need to catch the dripping milk, bb and keep the shawl on..hahaha...i guess tt why women are born multi-taskers

i like the baby room at united sq...very clean and spacious....each nursing room has a door, nt like some bb room only a bench and a big room, for all mummies to share....

Merry Xmas to all!!! Wow!! The thread's really super fast this few days!Glad dat we moms r chating n helping each other out

S@L
ive tried gina ford 3yrs ago wif my boy but couldnt deal wif the strict timing.Plus my boy feeds every 3hrly so i could still function.As for my gal i juz went wif the flow..Wat to do,2 kids n no help....Hav you intro bottle to yr gal?
Ive spoke to mrs wong fr TMC,its ok to intro bottle to bb after full mth....

drperbaby,
i saw your link. u mentioned PCOS. would like to ask u if u know for tbfing mummy with PCOS, how to start family planning again?

hui, wow tt is a tough question. depends if your menses is regular or irregular. usually after you wean bb solids, your menses will be back. from there you see if your menses is regular or not. if your menses is regular then you can try for another bb. because some women suffering from PCOS has no prob having kids. but those tt have irregular menses and difficulty in tracking when they are fertile, best to seek gynae help on this, they may suggest some hormone treatments...

Fiona, yes i already intro 1st btl when she had jaundice i pumped out to feed her cos hb say to keep her under the light as much as possible as i was spending too much time latching her.

HI Ladies

super bz clearing toys fr all the xmas pressents my kids got
I hav to hide most of it else my hse will look like its been burgled!!
Hey S@L,
both my kids oso needed to do phototherapy..n i felt so heartpain see her crying in it.Well its still better dan in hospital.Why don't u get a sling?I find it easier as i dun hav to find nursing all the time.I even nurse whenn in supermart n nobody except hub knows..
Hi Jacelyn
Welcome to the wonderful world of motherhood.It brings out the best n of cos the worst in u!!Dun worry so much on bf,let yr maternal instinct guide u.I nurse both my kids without any help,no maid no confinemt nanny no mil.Juz me n my hub.It was ez wif 1st kid as it was juz me n him but i was exhausted when i had my gal as i still hav to look after my son,Thank God for my wonderful hub who did the cooking n playing wif my son.Dun listen to too much horror stories n scare yrself.When i put my kids to nap,i'll share my experience wif u..

fionaO, you also with 2 kids and without help. me too... how old ur kids now? my first one is a gal 2 1/2 yrs old and second one is a boy now 7 mths plus...

Hi dryperbaby!!
MY boy juz turn 3 n my gal is 9mth..time flies!! Hub flies every other wk so sometimes im alone wif my kids..U thinking of getting help?

fiona, dun think wanna get any help. if get maid, sometimes, it is like taking care of another child, i rather do things on my own. my hb work dun require him to travel, so he is ard at night. but by the time he is back ard 7 plus, my kids are all asleep... sometimes, my mum will come over to visit the kids... so i got sometime for myself... otherwise the only time i have for myself is when the kids are asleep.

good! got mummies who can show us how to handle the kids without maid
My parents keep asking to hire a maid to help since finances currently allow, but i hate the idea of a stranger in my home. Having CL for one month is weird already, let alone maid for at least 2 years. FionaO, dryperbaby, pls do let us know how you managed yeah!

ankh, it is time management plus how your children behave. My kids are well behave in the morning when they just woke up, so usually I will plan my day as below:

Morning
(1)Give my gal breakfast.
(2)Wash clothes in washing machine if any
(3)I prepare ingredients for the kids lunch.
(4)Bath/dress up my gal
(5)Bath/dress up my boy
(6)Cook lunch for both kids
(7)Vacuum & mop the floor
(8)Pump milk for preparation of my boy's food (extra give to my gal)

Noon Time
(9)Feed my boy lunch
(10)Feed my gal lunch
(11)Play with the kids
(12)Put them for afternoon sleep
(13)I bathe (finally)

Afternoon
(14) Prepare to cook dinner for my gal (my boy eat cereal for now)
(15)Feed both dinner at the same time.
(16)Bathe my boy
(17)Bathe my gal
(18)Finally rest and play with the kids.

Evening/Night
(19)I either put them to sleep for the night or get them ready to go out with daddy.

That is what I do everyday...

To all moms n moms to be who wants to give the best to their bb

Like all new moms i was worry abt low supply when my son was born.It didnt help wif anti-bf mil n aunts who sent over tins of fm n of cos first among frenz to hav kids.I try to remember wat i call a bf slogan "Demand=Supply". no demand=no supply so i juz let him latch on n feed n feed n of cos i call TMC parentcraft to get advice fr their LC n oso spore bf support gp. My son was hospitalise for a wk in TMC for severe jauntice n i had to stop bf but afraid my supply will dip,i express all the time n put in my milo.Luckily,he lactch on easily when we resume bf n it was a breeze after dat...
Then came my gal,now dats a total different story altoghter!!
I drank alot of soup n milo after i gave birth n my milk came when i was still at the hospital. When she was a wk old,i had my first major engormt.I had to hav painful massage treatment at parentcraft.I realise my old pump wasnt good enough so we got a avent isis(got money of cos prefer medela dual lah).All seems ok,till 1 morning my left boob was so pain dat i couldnt move.I had an infected block duct,my nursing pad was green in col!!If you think engorgemt is painful,you havent experience the real pain.This is the ultimate pain of all pains!I had to see a breast surgeon at MT E n had to be on antibiotic dat cost $4 each($40) n others but luckily she oso juz had bb so gav me med dats safe to eat n i could continue bf.My supply was alot n my duct kept gettin block,i was loosing faith.When my gal was 2mth,i had a really bad case of infected duct.I had a 39'c fever wif bodyache n chill.We didnt hav any help so i had to look after my bb myself eventhough i was very sick.I was in so much pain fr the bodyache n fever.I thot i had dengue fever.Hub had to drive to petrol kiosk at 3am to buy panadol for me while i was shivering at hm wif kidsFor the first time i thot of giving up.I had spent so much money seeing the surgeon n sick n tired of being sick(i had 3 mastitis altogether).I rather be spending time bonding wif my bb n not forgetting my 2yr son.After 1hr of crying n self pity,i decide to persevere n PRAY very hard to continue.My gal is oredi 9mths n thriving very well,im proud to say she's never tasted fm..im grateful for my hub's care n support during those trying time n my fren in her encouragmt rooting for me to try my best.Its never ez being a mom n nobody is born to be 1.We learn everyday not to make other ppl's mistakes or repeat ours.I was determine to give my best to my kids n i made it.Im still tbf my gal n ny son taking my ebm in the morning n fm at nite.I hope i can encourage you moms out there to try n try.Nobody can do alone,dats why we hav this forum right

Hey dryperbaby,
yr routine r quite similar to mine except my morning r really tight n crazy.I cook my soup for dinner on charcoal so muz prepare early.We stay by ourselves so go dating muz bring kids along
well we juz make do for now n hav more family time.Maybe when my gal's older we can dump all of them at grandma's.

Hey ankh,
maid or not is individual.I find dat 1 kid can go w/o maid but when no.2 comes,its double the work n if yr hub is very hands on wif the hse dan you can get away.I dun deny its been really hard on our marriage.Hub comes hm after a long day of work still hav to do the washing after dinner n oso bath my 3yr son while i bath my 9mth gal n nurse her.He sometimes gets fustrated n we'll end up argue over silly things.Hwever this doesnt happen all the time,most nites we do pretty good teamwork

FionaO
tks for sharing n ur support.
i also feel very tired feel like stopping BF, i think now i will continue to BF as long as i can!

i had mastitis 2 months ago too, saw surgeon n he wants me to take med to stop my milk n i refused so i went home with high fever n just took panadol. i can only pump 3 hrly to relief the pain when mil advice not to latch as she scared i might pass my fever to my son, which i was so sick that i dun know who to listen to. luckily it's over n i made to correct choice not to listen to the surgeon.

i had block duct for pass 2 days, trying hard to latch n pump on the affected side. now getting lesser supply cos i also trying to pump less as my son now taking less as he started solid.

btw does ur gal sleeps thru the nite?

Hi sgn,
I was lucky,i got a good recommendation fr tmc parentcraft for the surgeon n she was very encouraging n advice me to continue nursing so i can pass antibodies to bb.

It muz be hard for you
while u pump,u can oso massage to make sure there's no clog at all.I saw them doing it at tmc so i oso copy

my gal has slept thru!!yeah!!!
After she turns 8mth,i realise she wakes yp purely to comfort suck so when hub was away,i let her cry out..
She cry for 10mins on 1st nite n shorter on 2nd nite n by 3rd nite for a min then 4th nite she gav up n juz slept thru..hehe,she prob too tired to cry!!!Hw old is yr bb?

Fiona, i dun cook my food, usually ta pao so not so bad... same lah, go out will bring the kiddos out together... actually to think abt it, we will hv our dating time when the kids start to go school... even before we know it, they will be all grow up... so i also dun mind spending all my time with them now... next time when they are bigger, they rather spend their time with their frens...

its the weekend yeah!!!!
jacelyn,i wanted to share wif u to encourage u or maybe any moms dat read this thread
the journey may or may not be ez,call spore bf support gp if its urgent if not u hav us 'supermommy'here;) Which hospital will u b in?

Bena
now we knw why they celebrate mother's day in such big way hehe;)

Sgn
wah you wake up so early!!!
you can try after he turns 8mth but you hav to tahan the crying..It was ez only when hub not in as he needs to work next day.Im good at ignoring so i guess my gal got tired on trying to get my attention thru crying....Hw's his solid intake

FionaO, i have slings in fact have 2 types. but i dun BF my bb in slings...nt easy to do tt. i have no problem BF in public. was jus mentioning abt the bb room which i came across last weekend.

ya same here i went thru quite a bit of problem with BF for my elder son too. this time with my gal i could say its really alot easier cos i had a good start and build up the ss from hospital.

hey dryperbaby,

haha...tot u might know something abt PCOS so no harm asking.. but agree with u too. mine's irregular menses, so most likely must see gynae for help if really want to.

Heard that when menses come back, supply will drop drastically? for me, no sign of menses yet, as usual.

dryperbaby, u took NPL or u totally resigned from teaching? me resigned long ago. now SAHM, sometimes really envy the bonuses and the pay increase i've missed out....

hui, i am not too sure abt PCOS also... hee hee... yes when menses coming your supply will drop then when your menses come, your supply will slowly regain back...

i just took NPL... still comtemplating whether to quit or not... agree with you that the pay increment and bonuses are great... can never get such pay outside... but the job is also very tiring and draining....

hui/ druperbaby
what's PCOS? i also haven had my menses since confinement. i like the feeling ley no need to wear pad hee hee.

Jacelyn
must enjoin the last few days bb still inside ur tummy cos after delivery u will miss the feel of bb inside u.

Hi gals!
juz got back fr visiting my galfren n new bb at TMC..so cute!Hmmm...brings back those nice memories with the little one when they r cute n cuddly

Jacelyn,i heard Mt A is not bad..my cousin is a catholic n chose dat hospital too.Both mine was fr TMC.They gav me double boil soup every meal at no extra charge when i opt to TBF my gal.Another reason to bf;)Btw,my sil did not bf at all when her gal was born(influence by her mom,my mil)Her booby oso strink by 1cup so bf is not to be blame.Our body changes when we hav bb unfortunately not always the way or place we want!!

Dryperbaby,I feel the same way as u,my kids will grow up eventually n will want to hang out wif frenz so for now i'll enjoy my time wif them first.Yr hub dun mind u dun cook?

Ladies,my menses juz came(my gal is 9mth) but i didnt see any dip in my supply tho...now i hav to add playtex tampon in my mthly groccery n waxing too

Wat is everybody's plan for NY eve?Wif kids this young quite tricky to plan much...

sgn, PCOS is polycystics ovary syndrome, it causes the woman's hormones to be imbalance...

fiona, my hb is ok if i dun cook. but he dun like the hse to be messy or dirty, so my priority is cleaning the hse... weekends then i will cook...

NY eve, i guess stay home.... because most road are close for the ny countdown... so most prob will go out on ny itself... :)

Dryperbaby,
my hub oso dun like messy hm plus my mil keeps hse super clean n neat.BUUUUT im not domesticated so my hm is decent but not 'showrm' style hehe.I always tell my fren,my hm is very cozy
Im a gd mom n not too bad cook but a terrible hsekeeper.I hav p/t cleaner comes in every other wk n i'll maintain fr there.She helps me wif the ironin esp..My hub gav up naggin so he decided to juz close 1 eye n my inlaw juz dun come...
We r quite torn abt getting maid.All our frenz seems to hav maid n leading a decent marriage life.We oso dun fancy the idea of being responsible for another adult.Maid problems can be big headache....

Dryperbaby,

I am at 38 weeks now. Ya, now feeling kinda anxious to see how my prince look like. Think this is the normal reaction for all MTBs. Nowadays always having braxton hicks...

fiona, i love to clean the hse, i love baking more than cooking... and i hate ironing but no choicelah go to do it..what is stopping you from getting a maid? for me, i just dun like/trust stranger in the hse so tt is why dun want any maid...

jacelyn, wow time is coming real soon for you to meet your prince... at this time braxton hicks will keep on coming... practising for labour... but the feeling not the same as the real contraction... you opt for normal or c-sect?

Jacelyn,
I think your time is coming very soon with the Braxton Hicks.

Fiona/ Drperbaby,
How abt engaging part-time maids that come clean the house every week for a few hours? That way, your privacy will only be intruded in that few hours and all the ironing, washing toilets, vacuuming and moping can be done while you rest or spend quality time with your family? I don't do much housework as I have a Singaporean auntie who comes in every week to clean up my house. My house is pretty clean as baby is still young and not crawling yet. I'm hoping to learn baking and making Sushi. I'm always envious of mummies who can do these two

hi ladies, <font color="ff0000">HAPPY NEW YEAR IN ADVANCE</font>

bena, i did hv part time cleaner... but they only come once a week... i need the hse to be cleaned every day, so i end up doing the cleaning... so since i already clean the hse everyday, part time cleaner is not really necessary unless for spring cleaning once or twice a year... :)

Ladies HAPPY NEW YEAR

Jacelyn,wow..b4 u knw it u'll be craddling yr little in yr arm n overflowing wif maternal love
They all look so fragile n u juz wana protect them n fr all harm n hug them all the time

Dryperbaby,hey i oso like baking!!!I baked my son's bday cake n did my own icing when he had his little party in school.He helped me wif the deco,we put baking m&amp;m on it.I use to bake more b4 my gal,hub n son luv my baked chick pie
I want to try baking cheesecake but can't stand waiting for it to chill for 6hrs.I always like to attack my cake or cookies right fr the oven hehe,esp banana bread or butter cake hmm yumyum
As for the maid,hub may join an MNC next yr n we'll be more fianancially sound to get a maid.We can still afford 1 now but i prefer to set aside money first for rainy days.I still wan my holidays.We r plannin to go aus b4 hub starts new job in mar.Hopefully we can go melbourne,but i can stand the heat.I only go aust during winter.We went to perth previous june when my son was 18mth.It was nice n cold n dan came back pregnant wif my gal hehe!!

Bena,i do hav p/t cleaner but wif a tod n bb crawling n drooling,i still need maintainance..n plus my hse has alot of toys.My hm looklike a play school actually.My kids r bless wif alot of doting aunts n grandaunts n godparents...

<font color="0000ff">Hi mummies n babies</font>
<font color="aa00aa">HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!!</font>