(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

arisz, my hb aso no do housework one! hee. at best, he helps out with the washing and hanging of clothes. else he has no clothes to wear leh!!!! hee!!!!

I guess I have to be more hardworking these few weeks. Back to the days of maidless when I just moved in to my place. Just that now I also have to clear up the mess make by my boy.

I will SURVIVE!

Arisz:

Actually my current maid is the best so far lah ... she is smart and very steady. Usually does work w/o supervising. She takes good care of Jordan and does everything actually (I have never bath Jordan before since his birth ... and usually she's the one who changes his diapers unless she's not around or busy then I change ... feeding also by her unless she's busy). She has a son back home and has worked in Spore for 2 years before we employed her. So seeing that she does everything well, I just leave her to do whatever lor. I also didn't blame her when she wakes up late sometimes ... give and take.

Most times she's ok lah ... but sometimes when we say certain thing she does wrong (never scold), she will give black face lor. Then she will also request for this and that. If not too much, we will usually grant her requests.

We also let her call whenever she wants to. Usually she can talk on the phone for 25-35 mins each time ... she calls back about 2-3 times a month.

Hi Arisz,
For part-time helper, there is not much stress.. cos they only do housework.. they don't stay with you... I used to employ a part-time helper from Sri Lanka when I was preggie.. She is very good in cleaning, even better than my current maid..

BTMum, yah lo. Like what Blue and EMily said, lucky now school holiday, if not I will be even more pissed with her.

I guess man who do housework are rare these days. I just have to learn to survive somehow. Hee

arisz, my first maid asked to go home on week 9 in term 2 leh! wah, that's like during the busiest time!!! i aso survived it! we all can!!! super moms mah!!! =D

i aso have a great MIL la. she and FIL really did a lot of housework cos now i stay with them. rarely goes home as maid new. now june holls then i come home to stay 1/2 weeks.

emily, u lucky gal leh. =D how i wish 50-50...

Blue, your current maid is really good already. Guess I will also give in somehow if my maid can be as good. No wonder you give in to some of her requests.

Emily, I don't mind part time helper also. But to find good and trustworhty one not easy leh. My hubby likes to leave his valuables around and also leave his coins everywhere in the house. So actually to steal lots of coins from my house is super easy one. I used to employ one just before I had my boy but that auntie said she old liao can't work anymore. =(

I guess at the end of the day, there is no PERFECT maid in this world lah. Many times it's whether your maid is satisfactory overall.

To me, I regard honesty, respect, attitude and love towards my kids more important than anything else. If a maid is honest, respects employers, loves my kids and has good working attitude, I don't mind hiring her even if she's slow or not thorough enough in her work (unless it's really really very very slow lah).

Emily, before I had my boy, the housework between me and hubby is 85% - 15%. Think you can guess who is doing the 85%! Haha

My hubby also cooks but he hates to wash up after that coz he will make a big big mess!

Buzz you ah...can lend me your maid for a few hours? Heehee...just kidding!

Arisz: I wanna entice her to renew her contract and work for me at least another year when D goes P1 mah. At least by then Jordan also 3 years old liao ... if she goes back and I don't get another maid, still can survive. Haha! Anyway, I even offered to increase her salary by 10% after her renewal, and pay her a 1 month bonus upon completion of her 1 year renewal (she only wanna renew 1 year instead of 2 years).

BTMUm, your maid really also one kind! Choose that kind of period to tell you! Yah, we are super moms! We can survive one!

arisz, at first when she told me, she say i choose date to let her go. then 3 hours later, she said she forgot, my mil (when they were disagreeing) said she must go the next day (saturday). wah! i machiam that weekend like siao char bo. go online check tickets, check how to cancel work permit, check how to get new maid. sighs

now i think back, quite okay leh. not so siao! haahahah

Blue, good maid are hard to come by. So can understand why you prefer her and want to try to keep her also. How I wish I have the luck also, coz really getting a good maid is pure luck.

By the way is yours a Fillipino also?

BTMum: Verbally agreed lah ... but I dare not take her word for it. Cos her husband keep asking her to go back. She's now torn between wanting to renew and defying her husband. She said if she don't renew, not enough money cos her husband wanna open bakery. Her money earned so far all sent back to "build house". I keep "brainwashing" her to work 1 more year then go back cos if she goes back and after that no money, still have to come and work again ... that time still have to borrow from agent and repay loan etc. ... bo hua.

BTMum, yah ...we will somehow survive one right! Coz in the first place I also don't have maid and I also survive, so I don't see why now I can't.

lol. blue, why her hb keep asking her go back if not enough money? hmm...weird leh. maybe he miss her lo. good for her la. a lot of hb back where they come from, got another 'wife' while the wife is working here leh. so sad....

Arisz: Yah, mine Fillipino. Actually do you want my maid to recommend her friend to you? She mentioned to me before that if I wanna get maid should she not renew, she can recommend good one to me. How good I don't know lah.

Blue, yah lo. Somemore she knows how your family works and should be used to the lifestyle already. Scare her a bit also, coz some other family may not be so nice to her also. And the loan from agent will 'eat' up huge part of her pay leh!

BLue, thanks for the offer! But think cannot take your recommended one right as I need to go through agency?

My current agency gives me 2 free replacements so I actually took a new one from them already, but gotta wait for 4 wks!

Arisz: Not that I am trying to scare her but it's the facts mah. I always tell her ... I may not be the best employer around but at least I never abuse her, never scold her and always talks to her (even on personal stuff) which not every employer will do. Afterall I told her ... she is my "best friend" at home since now I am not working, I see her more hours than my hubby!

Lol true, you do see her more than you see your hubby. REally not easy to get one that you can get along with especially you see each other so often, actually everyday!

Yah lor, that's why I very scared to find another one ... don't know can get along or not.

Hey I gtg liao ... tonight going pator with hubby since the kids are with my in-laws today. Talk again tomorrow!

Those mummies without maid, give me some tips on how to survive! Hehe!

The first thing I did just now was to remove the steriliser. Actually I heard that after 1 yr old, sterilising of bottles is not so impt. I delayed coz I got maid and was lazy to tell my maid to keep the steriliser. But now without maid, don't think I want to continue to sterilise my boy's bottles. Will use hot water to rinse instead. Hee...lazy mummy!

second thing u could do is to schedule everyone down to do his / her part in cleaning up the house. =D this i think more difficult. when i was maidless, i had to do my hb's share in my MIL's place. he will only do it after much grumbling. sighs.

but i think the most troublesome part of housework is ironing. the washing part is quite easily solved. i find it worst cos i hate ironing. some people actually found it theraputic! hee....

Haha BTMum, guess what, my maid left tonnes of ironing for me before she ran off. Now I got lots of clothes washed liao but all not iron!!!

Hi arisz,
We can help to babysit Tristan... haha! send him here, and he can play with Edison..

Aiyo, dun worrie about the ironing.. just iron the one u need to wear urgently.. or send them to laundry shop...

Sterilizing bottles are not needed anymore.. dun worrie abt it..

Hi arisz,

Ai yoh so drama! You must be very stressed. Idiotic maid...want to come and work then run away!

Are you considering sending tristan to childcare so that you don't need to have a maid? When I still had Jade only, and I had to send my phil maid back, I realised I can handle without a maid. It was tiring but still manageable. My hubby travels frequently too (he's gone like 2 weeks in a month) and its abit tiring when he's gone. And I was pregnant then too so everyday super tired. But I was sooooooo happy without a maid again - the freedom and privacy is so nice to have. Got a part time maid to come every week for 4 hours. Then when I had #2, got a new indo maid to help my MIL take care of him. Now I find that with the maid again, my conversations with my hubby always revolve around the maid lor..very sian. And she gives me so much stress..wish I dun need to have a maid.

Jade started childcare last month and initially I was so worried about how she would adjust, but now I have no regrets at all! She is enjoying herself so much in school and the teachers there dote on her and she's got so many friends now its so cute to see them together. She's developed so fast since she started school also - she can feed herself, will sit down at the small table and finish her meal and even bring her bowl back to the kitchen when she finish! And she has started talking so much more and speaking in sentences now. I'm amazed everyday by the new words she says! So I am glad I sent her to childcare, anyway its sooner or later she has to go to school. And its so much more than a maid can offer. So maybe you can consider sending Tristan to childcare...much less stress I can tell you

Emily, hehe, thanks for the offer!

Angel, thanks for the advice! Ya, really drama leh! I intend to send Tristan to child care also. But I thought of holding it till after he is 2 years old. Currently, he is well taken care of by my pil. After this saga, i'm also thinking whether should we send him earlier.

After yesterday and today, I realise simple household chores I can still manage. So back to the point, I can Survive! REally so much more privacy like what angel mentioned. But I am also lucky la, my mil came in the morning to help me bring Tristan to her place as usual. So in the afternoon I can do some housework.

aiyoh arisz, ur maid really hor. nothing to say le. =(

angel, arisz, actually we can handle the housework de. just that we would all love to spend more time with our little ones. i mean that is why we got maids in the first place isnt it? so that we wont be bogged down by the numerous nitty gritties. yet not so lucky all the time.

Arisz: Can survive one lah! Now you only have one sure can! I also intend to do without maid after current one goes ... will probably hire part time ones to do weekly cleaning lor. Hubby even suggested paying me to do the job ... haha!

Wow ... busy busy inside the thread today. All about maids I see.

Arisz : I am also considering to putting hazel into childcare after my philipino maid goes home in nov after her 2 years with us. still thinking whether to get a new maid or not.

Sengkang mummies : anyone have any feedbacks for amazing stars childcare? formerly gingerbread house. thinking to put keith and hazel in for full day childcare if i decide to not employ a new maid!

Take it from me, aka the maid of the house, its pretty ok to do the chores, nice fulfilling feeling after that.
Of course i dont cook la, if that one also i do sure pengsan. Mummy dearest to the rescue!
And im full time maid only during school hols. Other times, i am part time maid.

Hi Arisz,

Initially I also intended to send Jade after she turned 2...but I moved back to my house so I didn't want to ferry Jade to my SIL's place anymore. And after speaking to a few principles/supervisors of the childcare centres I visited, they all told me actually between 18-24 months not much difference. Some 18 month olds only cry for 1 day, and then there are 2-3 year olds that cry for months. They all said the same thing - children adjust very fast and they are very adaptable beings. And how fast they adjust depends on the individual rather than age. So hubby and I decided to bite the bullet and send her to cc..that was in April. She cried for 2 weeks...everyday when I send her I'll also cry. She'll cry and hug me so tight don't want to let go. But now I'm the one hugging her don't want to let go and she happily go inside!

If you can, will be good to start with half day first..can get PIL to pick him from school.

Thanks all for your advice! Was telling hubby that it's time to look for a good childcare around our area. Not easy to find one good one I guess.

Tell u all eh....juz found out....haiz...

that b***h aka my maid (pardon me for using such word) most probably have stolen my sil's extra sim card and make calls back to phillipines before she ran off. Anyway it is either she stole and gave her friends or she used it herself. But then we were still thinking how she used it for herself since she has no hp. Most calls were made in the morning around 7+am.

Anyway, juz found out today coz my sil check her hp bill then realise that her extra sim card is missing and the bill got calls to phillipines.

Never-ending problem. We are thinking of making police report ....but don't know useful or not.

faintz. arisz, ur maid har....really clever leh! even know about sim card???? she has such good friends har? to lend her a handphone somemore. really wow man!

atinarin, i got the maid mostly is for my PIL when they are looking after ben. they not young anymore. their house (mansionnette) so big for the 2 of them to clean. but cleaning not the biggest headache la. its the ironing that we find it most tough to cope with. wanted to send the clothes to laundry to iron at first but never got down to it. anyway, had 2 free replacements. cooking is my mil's fav. so that one she will settle. my current maid seems ok for now. see how things go.

childcare:
am thinking of sending ben to a 2 hour play group and see how he responds to other kids. lol. quite looking forward to seeing him in uniform! hahaha

btmum: i feelguilty also. should get a maid for mum. she has very bad pains from her arthritis but we all dont like a maidaround so i help with housework on school days and do more during the hols.mum still does way too much.

arisz (arisz) : hehe you should start now as good childcare has long waiting list.
like amazing star has waiting list till next year.
*Faint* unless some mummies register but cant wait and went to other schools le then i might have chance!

atinarin, i think if i am able to get a house big enough for all of us to stay together, i may not even need a maid! hee. now cos their house is so big and they so old. i feel obligated to get them a maid. they aso prefer their privacy de. but they have to admit that looking after ben is really a full time job. they actually WATCH him all the time!!!! really faintz le.

arisz,hope things will only get better.
i just went to 5 agencies with my sisters to look for indon maid for my mum. it's really tough finding a suitable one. all the agents promise us this and that but we feel 'fishy' when they are so nice. really headache. about sterelizing bottles, I am still doing 'boiling' method leh. But when overseas, we just use hot water and rinse thru. so far so good.

angel, i agree. a lot of freedom and peace w/o maid around. I'm also enjoying that right now. it's tiring though but i just learnt to 'clsoe eyes' on a lot of things. HUbby helps a lot and that's a blessing. He's also not keen on having maid in the house.

florence, the childcare is the one beside MMI? I saw many kids there and heard it's not bad. I went to see cherie hearts at the sports complex and learnt it's full hse..i may just fall back on MMI again cos too lazy to source around. actually i can place nynke at my workplace c/c- it's also cherie hearts and after saf and govt subsidy, pay $280 for full day. the price is just so 'tempting' lor but my poor gal will have to wake up as early as 6.30am and lve home with me for a 45mins drive to gombak... hubby said 'no way' so i have to give up that idea.

arisz,
Wah your maid really 'da dan'...steal your sis sim card!? I think you must count your blessings that this maid ran away...otherwise she is so sneaky and if she continue, you never know what else she is capable of!

You should get MOM to put her on blacklist so that she can't come back to Spore to work anymore! That's what I did to my previous maid. Just call the MOM hotline. Don't Make police report no use..coz they can't do anything once the maid goes home.