(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

Mag....aiyah, this afternoon i'm not free, if not, I would have chat with you.

How are you?
These thread is getting so quiet....

arisz,
So late u still not in dreamland??

I very busy and sian lor.. haha..
U leh?
School holiday soon liao hor..
Hey, I wanna see Tristan?

justme, how are you doing with the 2?

yah ... this thread rather quiet nowadays ... all busy running after the little ones ba ..

Hi mag, yah, slept late that night.

Me ok la...school holiday coming soon. We try to meet during mid of june? Coz I want to see Ayden also!

can i chk wat type of cheese can we gv to our toddler? my son is rejecting milk n i'm worried tat will affect his health. he's already drinking very little milk and recently he drink even lesser. he is still taking well on his lunch and dinner. tks

star07,
i give dahlia the laughing cow cheese, spread on bread. or you can look for a low sodium type of cheese at the supermarkets.

giving him cereal with full cream milk for breakfast may also help

I'm back to work and finally had the time to sort thru my pics. Here's a pic of my little laughing buddha =)

Yes he is FAT and yes he's only 4 months old.

2509125.jpg

arisz, mag,
lemme noe when u planning to meet...

star,
you can let Theo try the Arla Kids' Stick Cheese, a pdt fm Denmark. It comes in a handy stick size, gd for self feeding. my kids luv them.
the laughing cow chees that fau suggest is yummy too!
you can also try to include calcium rich food like toufu, spinach, broccoli, soybean milk or calcium fortified cereal / oat milk.

dun worry too much, could be juz a passing phase. my missy had few milk strikes before...

angel,
little laughing buddha is really apt to describe Ryan. so chubby n cute!

Hi mummmies,

I have FINALLY delivered my gal!! Water bag burst!

My birth story
8.30pm: Came back from Zhou's kitchen buffet dinner (evil me hoh..)
9.45pm: Took a bath after i finished the show on starhub channel 55 ( Yuan lai Ai Shang Zei)
10pm: Tried to settle my #1 to bed and felt trickles of water. Thought that i had urinary incontinence initially but cant be that i kept leaking.
10.30pm: Checked with some mummies and they said that water bag has burst!
11pm: Called my mum to come to my place and finally settled #1 to bed.
11.30pm: Left for hospital
12.30am: Midwives confirmed water bag burst, administer enema and shaved me. 2 cm dilated
1am: Transferred to delivery suite Rm 5. Contractions started at 2am.
5am: Requested for laughing gas but never really use it.
7am: Requested for pethidine jab. 5 cm dilated.
7.30am: Gynae came and wanted to break my water bag. Then i told her that water bag already burst long ago..Thats why i am in the ward. Chit Chat with gynae for a while.
830am: Midwives came and i am 8-9cm dilated. Asked me to press the button when i have the urge to push. 2min later after they left, i felt the urge to push. Asked my hubby to press the bell and he blur blur dunno what to do. I had to tell him 3 times before i succeeded. Waited for gynae to arrive although i already have the urge to push. Gynae came and in 1 push, baby was out. There wasn't even time for episomy! Had natural tears instead and was given 4-5 stitches.
9.30am: Latched baby and was sent back to room. Had breakfast while smsing pple.

Thanks to blueskye and gingerleaf for responding to me!!

A big big congrats to Poohwei! You are really 'zhai' during this birth. No epi somemore! Bravo!

RE: Cheese
Discovered this brand of cheese called Emmi from Switzerland. Very very tasty and not salty at all! They come in nice individual packs so not messy. Caelen kept asking for more. Even hubby who doesn't like cheese in general like this
They have nice yogurt too.

Hi Pooh Wei,
Congrats to you... Your birth story is so amusing.. It's like giving birth is as easy as ABC... You r a brave mummy!

Looking forward to see your #2..

Rest well and enjoy your confinement... I miss the smell of a newborn baby.. kekeke...

Poohwei

Congrats once again.
Reading your birth story really felt like delivery was very easy leh! Just one push and that's it!! :) Well done and have a good confinement.

Thanks all. We just came back home today. Trying to adjust to having 2 kiddos at home. #2 is quite a good latcher so far. And En En gave me the amazing look when i was trying to latch on #2! Now pumping away and surfing at the same time..If not my confinement lady will nag at me again for not resting..hahaha.

Re: 2nd delivery
This 2nd delivery was really very easy. Not much pain. In fact, i would say that it is less painful then the pain that i experienced when baby was pressing on my nerve. The pushing part was definitely as easy as ABC. Even my gynae commented that i was very lucky. Such an easy delivery. My hubby was also surprised at the speed that baby came out. If i have #3, i am told to go to the hospital immediately once i experience contractions..if not i may really deliver at home..hahaha.

Hi Funny76,

It will be your turn soon!

This morning, i was looking at en en and suddenly i feel that she has grown so much in my 2 days absence..She seemed to be more matured also. Its really sweet to have 2 darlings!

Poohwei & Florence,

Yeah...Another Sept BB... Might be same BD as Summer...most likely almost same BD lah...Heehee... Nw oredi veri buay tahan liao...feel heavy...

Hi funny, wow congrats! They are exactly 2 yrs apart then, very nice age gap! Gal or boy??

All these new babies are making me yearn to try for another... but I'm worried about if we would be able to cope. Will probably have to get a maid and a new place (my current 4-room too small with my PILs staying with me) if I really get preggie again. Hee... will try to convince hubby to try after July

Topic: Bargaining with kids
Caelen has always been a fussy eater so every meal is a struggle and a battle of will. Last time when he was small, it was worse - short of forcing his mouth open, we couldn't make him eat when he doesn't want to
But once he past the 1yr old, we are now able to bargain with him to eat. Eg. "you eat finish your rice, mummy bring you to sit MRT" or "you eat rice, I give you fried chicken" (he loves fried stuff so we give him a little).

To be honest, I am rather uncomfortable with this mtd. I am worried that caelen would grow up to not do anything unless he gets something else in return. We try not to bargain with him too often and only resort to this to get him to eat. Still, i feel that is an unhealthy habit.

Can advise? Do you bargain with your kids too? Is it a normal stage of terrible twos? How do you get them to do what you ask them?

Bargaining with kids

We normally don't bargain with En En cos we know what she likes. For meal times, she likes to watch her fav DVD or selected programmes from Disney Channel. If not, we will give her some toys to play or fidget with. I think they still do not understand what is bargaining at this stage.

peapod,
i'm also with Poohwei on this. i make sure dahlia is slightly distracted during mealtimes. i make her sit in her high chair and play her fave dvd. i also have a playlist of her favourite vids on youtube; animals, nursery rhymes, some cartoons.. sometimes i whip out her box of crayons and drawing block and let her doodle.

if all else fails i get the vacuum on standby, give her the spoon and let her feed herself (and the floor). ;)

Peapod,
Thks! Is a gal!

My mum give Summer some fruits or tibits to go wif her meal if she dun wan to eat...usually is during the last few portion of her feed. Nvr tell her " if u eat tis n tat, I give u tis n tat...only use it accassionally bah... Sometime oso use TV programs method to distract her...

Hi poohwei and fau

The DVD works last time but for the last few months he has kind of lost interest in them and we could not find new DVDs that he likes (bought quite a few and ended up he didn't even look for more than 5mins
) What titles do your kids like? I have bought lots of Barneys, and Gracie lous, and sesame streets and baby genius VCDs liao. Is Hi-5 suitable for this age?

We have to bring out so so many toys but his attention span for each is like less than 3 mins so we are always in a fluster trying to find ways to distract him. Like 2 crazy parents fusing over this kid - one distracting him, the other spooning food into mouth hahaa.... don't talk about self-feeding. He would prob rather throw everything on the floor hee... sometimes my PILs would take him outside to the playground and feed him while he plays. Aiyo, so pai sei.

Suggestions of good ways of distracting kids are very welcome please

Re:Bargaining
Err... seems like bargaining is really not something the mummies here recommends. Hmm... i better try to stop.

Our 'bargaining' is simple one-way type. And Caelen seemed to understand so far. Just last nite he was spitting out his rice, so I told him sternly "you pui pui rice one more time and mummy don't bring you to sit train". After that, he still spat out a mouthful, and he like suddenly remembered and quickly pick up the rice from the floor and put back into mouth. I dunno to laugh or cry

Peapod,
My gal luv hi-5 and sesame street 123&ABC to bits. She luv to dance(& imitate their action) n sing along wif those DVDs...Other sesame street nt interested. Barney okie nia...wheel on the bus oso okie...Baby genius, only certain disc okie nia...

En En likes to watch Wheels on the bus, Mother Goose DVD and Brainy baby.

Re: Feeding without high chair.

Its a NO NO for me. No high chair, NO food. The only time she was fed without high chair was when i was at the hospital last week. She finished her class and was brought to the hospital for her dinner. So no choice, sat on my bed for feeding.

hi peapod,

i avoid bargaining with the kids as i fear it might lead to a more demanding and fussy behaviour.
we adopted the 'distraction method' as well. before putting her on the high chair, we will ask her to pick some accompanying toys herself.
she will be fiddling/playing with them while getting her food served. on some occasions, we gave her a spoon and bowl to self feed.

if that doesnt work, then comes the DVD distractions. her fav is still Dora the explorer, and she is getting more interested in Hi-5 and wheels on the bus. I noticed that her attention span on barney, baby genius is passable.
we found it more effective if she gets to select the title herself before pressing the play button.

we try to be consistent in who should be serving the meals, like helper during weekdays and mummy during weekends. such that she will get less confused and more adaptable. We also avoid 'moving' the child around during mealtime as they will tend to attempt the unexpected each time (chun pattern).

feeding #1 was a breeze, #2 slightly more challenging. i guess child's character plays a part as well.

hmmm ... nate is the type cannot bargain one esp with food. if he don't want means don't want, if forced, he'll spit out the food. what i do is try to get him in good mood when eating (like watching adverts or sing songs) and also wait till he's more hungry before feeding to save myself the headache.

congrats poohwei!!!
u are really brave on ur second delivery. =D so fast!

congrats to funny76 too on your no. 2! =D

ssmummy, remember me or not? =D

re: bargaining with kids
i dun openly say "if u do this this this, I will this this this" but sometimes it seems understood. like e.g. before he can go upstairs to bathe and sleep, i will get him to sya 'nite nite' to his ah gong and ah ma and hug and kiss them on cheeks. then he will very excitedly climb upstairs. even go out aso the same, must say 'bye bye' to ah gong and ah ma first and hug and kiss them before going out.

considered bargaining? hmm... not sure aso leh...

I am very envious of mummies able to feed your kids on high chairs. My PILs do not enforce this so Caelen has developed a bad habit of running around liao
Hmm... in mid-june I will be taking one-week leave to baby sit and I will be using this week to 'break' some bad habits since my PILs are not around. eg. pacifier. Shall try to make him sit on high chair too. Sigh, it is very hard to ask my PILs to adopt my parenting style

Hi BTMum, that's good bargaining haha..

Hi peapod,

We go to my pil's place for dinner every sat and sun w/o fail. Initially, they said that kids do not need high chair also.But we insisted. We even bought 2 highchair, one for ourselves, and one for my sil. So since then, the 2 kiddos have sat on the highchair for meals. No running for them.

poohwei and justme: CONGRATS!
having 2 in the hse is more than 'handful' hor..

angel: your buddha is really vvv cute. so smiley and happy baby

I've not been active for a long while, since i went back to work and yes, many things have happened too..eg sending my philipino helper back for good in early april. it was a 24 hr thingy and being maidless for 2 mths now, things are getting in-place. tough on my MIL though cos she looks after Nynke and still helps out in hse work. I do have a part time cleaner coming once a week but MIL is super-good and will still do some hse work daily. Being back at work does give me some 'sanity'. I'm lucky that new workplace is great and I'm enjoying my work, and yes, the $$ too.

re: bargaining
i do not bargain with both kids. since young has started training them to eat sitting on high chair. Elder one does not give me any problem for 1st 4 yrs until she started 'complaining'about certain food that she does not like. She started this bad habbit of saying she only eats this or that and we gathered it could be peer influence in school. What we did was to ignore her 'complaints' and tell her straight to the face: you eat what we give/cook for you. We will show her pics of hungry kids in under developed country and explain to her how lucky she is to have food.
For Younger one..sometimes I need to 'distract' her with other food like biscuits, bread, gerber puffs etc. when she attempts to put in the 'snacks', I quickly feed her 1 spoon of porridge. No TV for them at meal times too.

Really need some help here.

Wonder if any mummies here bought the small shuttle chef. I bought one quite some time ago but still had not used the shuttle chef. was just thinking of using it yesterday when I realised I lost the instructions sheet on how to clean the shuttle chef the first time before using.

Can any mummy be kind enough to share the instructions with me?

My maid just ran away! She took all her belongings and ran away in the middle of the night. What should I do now?

I already called the agent and informed them.
I also called Philippines embassy to check whether she is there, they said she is not there.
My agent told me to wait for a while for them to try to locate her. So now I'm just waiting till evening if still can't find her, then I will lodged a police report.

Never do anything to her and so nice to her but she backstabbed me like tat...so upset!

Arisz, that's shocking news!!! Did she steal any of your valuables? Was she behaving normal before she left? No letter left behind?

Blue, i nvr check la....but i think she nvr steal my valuable...but my mil complained before that she suspected her of stealing about 100 in total from my sil.

She was behaving normal....no signs of running away. She did left a not say she very tired and sick so she wants to go home.

Actually she already complained of homesick after she came less than 1 month. She cried badly when she called home and she insisted her parents to pay her loan for her to go home.

I also intend to send her back already. But i told her she had to work for me till end of this month then I let her go back coz my new maid is arriving end of this month. She agreed to it leh....who knows suddenly she juz ran away!

Haizzzzzzzzzzz

Hi arisz,
So shocked to hear that.. have you cancelled her work permit? if not, pls do so... what abt her passport? Still with you? If you r still keeping her passport, she can't go anywhere but to return to your house...

gosh. arisz, does she have the key to your house then? is there anyone she knows here?

hopefully she goes back to the agency and they can settle. did u get the $5k insurance?