(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

wah so happening the thread today.

Blue, Ibs,
so notty you 2 ah...i don't wish to be in bloody and smelly drama lah...choi! haha....now everytime sarah latched on, my tummy starts to have cramps...super kancheong...

angel,
we have a name in mind but hubby wish to announce to everyone only upon birth. =P don't want to allow lots of comments. and hehe..it's my preference and choice. Just like "Sarah".

Irene,
yeah lah, heard many said subsequent births earlier...just hope not preemie...

ibs, blue,
botanic garden?? i dread the tot of going outdoors these days...just want to be in aircon room. super hot and in my condition, I really prefer to be in birthday suit if no one at home..muahahahaha.

Hi Justme,

En En was 3kg when she was born. I guess #2 will be slightly less than 3kg..But En En was born on edd. So if #2 comes out b4 edd, then she may be 2.5kg only. A little worried abt her small size.

10pkts Huggies Pull up pamts

Unopened, expiry 2012

L size, 12pcs/pkt

S$5.00/pkt

Self collect: Jalan Bukit Merah Blk 135, after 6.30pm,

Self collect my work place: Odeon Towers 9am to 5.30pm, City Hall MRT or Raffles City lunch time 12pm to 1.15pm or after 5.30pm, Bugis MRT, Parco, lunch time 12pm to 1.15pm.

Pls pm me.

blue
Ray doesnt like stroller & Hb arms will break carrying a 18kg all the way!

Justme
hahaa....can lah when sarah goes CC, u pull all the curtains loh..

Poohwei
Dont worry too much. Yan born on 39th week+ & she was 2.8kg only. Gynae also commented her small size each of the visits..

Ibs,
my house got curtains liao lah.

re: enggaging a maid

My mum recently had a heart-related surgery and now my siblings had decided to place a maid dedicated to care for her.
During my confinement, my mum and the maid would be living with me for awhile ~ to put my mum's mind at ease; so worried i can't handle things myself.
THing is, I have never have a maid and wonder if there are any suggestions and tips that experience mums here can share.
My mum prefers Filipinos but will definitely have language barrier as she is a Malay speaking lady.
The maid will be dedicated to my mum so I still be handling the kids myself. Probably can get her to do housework and help with prep for cooking? I will prob be cooking not mum. After abt 1-2 months, my mum and the maid will go back to mum's place.

Btw, my mum is not bed-ridden; we just don't want her to do housework anymore cos she's too week now. ALso, we need someone to remind and give her medicines. She's always procrastinating and sometimes forget at the medicine. Guess that's why she landed in hospital.

Really long time no post liao....Can't surf n post in the office nw coz nw my company is trying to find fault wif us employees liao...so got to be careful... At hm oso difficult cos Summer always tries ways n means to disturb mi when I am surfing net.... terrible...And recently I am oso too tire to surf net...juz wan to rest more at hm... Dun be reading the previous posts so will miss wat is gg on...Hope all are well...

Low family sms mi...

So another 1 more to join us at T3 gathering... Wld be really fun... tat time wif Summer wif Jerald n Clara( Last min thingy at T3) was really fun...Laugh until I almost roll on the flr...Kids really make ur day.....hahaha...

Gathering at Changi Airport T3 at 12 noon
Wang Cafe/Coffee Bean at Level 2
=========================================
1. funny76+hb+Summer
2. Irene+hb+Jerald
3. Janice+hb+Jade+bb
4. Peapod+hb+Caelen
5. baby_piglet + ayden
6. TiNyVoIcE+hb+Samuel
7. rxsti+hb+Ariel
8. Justme + hb + Sarah (if haven't pop)
9. Low family+HB+Charlene+Charlotte

Hope more will join us soon...

i think i have to go ahead now as havent submit bbk leave yet. wahaha

1. funny76+hb+Summer
2. Irene+hb+Jerald
3. Janice+hb+Jade+bb
4. Peapod+hb+Caelen
5. baby_piglet + ayden
6. TiNyVoIcE+hb+Samuel
7. rxsti+hb+Ariel
10. Florence + keith + Hazel + Helper

yeah low family!
when did charlotte join the family? hehe.
knew you were preggie...but forgot when was the due date.
anyway, congrats!! think you are still under confinement.

think another sept 07 mummy ~ jme has popped.

Good morning mummies.
Time flies it's Monday again

angel,
Great to hear tat u r moving back. No she's not joining us as she has an appointment liao. Sure, we shall plan a playdate with her b4 she move.

Congrats to low & jme.

oink1526,
Do join us, the more the merrier

Hi JustMe,
It takes about 6-8 weeks to get a new maid... If you are looking for a maid agency, I can recommend you my agent.. She is quite good...

In order to avoid any communication breakdown between your mum and your maid, I would suggest that you hire an Indon maid...

Hi Low Family, Jme,
Congrats on yr no. 2!

Hi Justme,
Re maid, besides them speaking diff language, filipinos and indos and myanmars, to me really not alot of difference. They are all foreigners and will need time to adjust to our culture and hygiene levels. Some agencies told me filipinos are smarter and better at looking after kids, indos better for old folks, etc. but I think its really its the individual's character, experience and attitude that matters. Just like we can't generalize that all Singaporeans are kiasu or hardworking. My ex-filipino maid who had 7 years working experience here was very good at taking care of Jade, everything very auto-pilot, but keep lying to me, using my cosmetics, had multiple boyfriends outside, always on her handphone, come back 3-4 hours late on her off-days, etc. until I couldnt take her nonsense and changed her after 6 mths. Changed to a new indo maid and she's better than my previous maid, very hardworking and takes initiative. She doesn't have off-days so I don't need to worry abt her extra-curricular activities. But I have to be very patient with her, teach her every single thing from washing hands to folding laundry. Initially she didn't know much English also but she's a fast learner and now very fluent, even know some mandarin words!

But ultimately, looking for a maid is really like lucky draw! The bio-data at the agency may not be true as no one vets it, they may lie abt their past working experience in their own countries, etc. so really you're just looking at the person's face and see whether you like her or not. Even their age also may be falsified in their fake passports! My friend's indo maid admitted to her she was only 19 whereas her passport said 23. Coz our govt impose a min age of 22 to work in Spore. According to my maid, very easy to get fake passport in Indo :/

Think in yr case, agree with Em that Indo maid is better since communication is key. If your mum is there to supervise the maid, you may consider getting a new maid and train her from scratch. Those experienced ones have old habits that die hard. But if you're leaving her at home alone, especially with babies or bed-ridden old folks, an experienced one would be better.

Sometimes you are lucky and get a really good one. But there are bad apples as well. Must be prepared to change if even after a few months you find that she's giving you more trouble than help. Some agencies allow you to change unlimited times for free so go for those better so you're not stuck by the agency contract if your maid is lousy. If you're looking for an agency, alot of mummies on this forum recommended Crislo at Bukit Timah Shopping Centre...their rates are comparable and they allow unlimited changes. I signed up with them for my new indo maid, their service was good.

Wah write so much liao...I can go on abt maid topic forever..better stop now...hope this helps you!

Hi Angel,
Who will be taking care of your new baby when you start working after your ML? After the previous incident, I don't think you hire another maid, right?

I agree with you. Finding a maid is a matter of luck.

Hi Em,
No choice lah, have to rely on maids. I hired an indo maid to take care of Ryan. But I will be sending them to MIL's place every morning so that there's someone supervising her at all times.

I read something <font size="+2">NEW</font>!!!

When was low pregnant??? Wow, she's really good at "keeping secret" until baby #2 come out all of us still don't know ... haha! But anyway, congrats!!!

Low, congrates. Why you keep #2 hush hush eh, anyway...rejoice with u on your 2nd princess!! Look foward to meeting Charlotte.

I thot Charlotte is Charlene's cousin or what, haahaa! No wonder you hire a maid recently to help manage your household chores.

hi emily, angel,
thanks alot on the tips and suggestions.
wah really scary just the tot of getting started on this.
But no choice, my mum is too week to do housework now.

angel,
I think we generalise Indon. We fear they use "black magic" on my mum.

Like you said communication is key but luck plays a more impt part here. Just hope I can help my mum get a good one. Will prob work with my cousin who has lots of experience since she had engaged maids for more than 15 years.

My cousin told me to check out transfer cases ~ sometimes they are really good. just rejected for ridiculous reasons. Her long-term maids are mostly transfer cases. But I guess its all boiled down to luck.

Anyway, I will check out the agencies you ladies had mentioned. Thanks!!

justme,

i really agree on the 'luck' part when it comes to domestic helper.

re : language
some maids can pick up other languages fast as well....

re : transfer maid
my current burmese maid was transferred from another employee. simply for the reason of being slow. but she has been doing a very good job for the past 1 year, and i am grateful to have her around.

if you need my agency's contact, let me noe ya.
i wish u best of luck in getting a good helper!

Congrats to Low and jme!!!

Likewise, I didn't know about Low's pregnancy either.

angel,
nice to see you back in the thread.

PLs share your experience on how u handle your child: natalie is getting more and more disobedient, i am at my wits end.
1. Told her not to pour the water on the floor, from her water bottle, she pour. I have been saying "dont", a million times a day:
2. Dont take out the food from your mouth, she take it out.
3. Dont climb the chair, she climb.
4. Dont put your legs on the highchair table, she put her legs up high.
5. dont play with the rice cooker,
6. dont open the dustbin,
7.dont take things from the floor to eat,
8. dont stand on the sofa
9. Dont put your hand in the diaper,.....dont...dont...dont

She simply dont listen. Is this the defiant stage? how should i handle the situation?

She is very sweet at other times, hugs me, wants me to read story books or play with her.

cookie monster (cookie_monster) : try another aproach. Don't use the word "Don't" Kids register all the words but "don't"

Try :
1. Please finish drinking ur water. When you are done drinking, pass to mummy.
2. Chew your food and swallow them.
3. We Sit on chairs , must careful or you might fall ...

Something like that le ... hehe

Hopes this helps!

Congrats to Low! Am looking forward to seeing baby charlotte

Hi cookie, me too! I'm worse, I would 'blackmail' Caelen. The first time he does something, I would issue a warning eg. "you throw again, no more __(whatever he is throwing)". After a few times and he knows I am for real, he heeds the warnings rather well. One warning and he stops. But that's for things which he can feel the pain. Things like climb on chair... unless you can carry her away from the sofa?

Thanks to all mummies for the well wishes
Well, too many things happened last year.. after my mil passed away, i got pregnant and got to deal with a notti charlene who seems to be so awary and constantly want attention I never really pay attention abit bo chap during my second preg and hence did not really announce to lots of people hee..hee..

Charlotte EOD is 3rd March but popped up on 23rd feb so she is 1mth plus a few days now.. having headache taking care of 2 of them.. maid only help with housework, charlene seems to be jealous.. when i feed mei mei milk she insist to be feed too and u would see me like a super woman feeding both at the same time elder on my lap and the other hand feeding charlotte..

when i tell the maid to prepare water to bath charlotte, charlene insist to be bath first sign... hardly have time for myself.. getting taxing well just hope is just the beginning

thanks once again for the well wishes mummies

Good morning mummies.

cookie monster,
I agree with florence. Try to use soft approach on Natalie. I did tat to jerald &amp; it works though sometimes he still chu pattern but i'll talk to him nicely &amp; he really listens.

oink1526,
We dun hv so call itinerary for the gathering lei. Just a catch up with all the mummies, daddies &amp; toddlers. We'll first meet up either at Wang cafe/Coffee bean. Shall chit chat there &amp; let the kids roam &amp; run about. If the cafes are full as it's a public holiday then we may just walk around since T3 is so big.

low,
I guess Charlene is still jealous over Charlotte but i believe she'll slowly get used to it. Try to talk to her nicely. At the meantime try to rest more during ur confinement &amp; take care.

hi cookie monster,
with maegan, we usu try the soft approach 1st. if she still show resistance, we will then talk to her with a firm tone + stern face. we try not to use -ve words like, don't, no, naughty etc. but it is very difficult.
if she still does not listen, the toy/spoon will be taken away from her. she may tend to scream but 'pretend' to ignore. after some time, she will stop.
we did this a couple of times then she finally understood when she's served the firm tone, she needs to be watchful otherwise things will start disappearing from her hands. haha.. so far it works. being consistent is the key, the child tend to get confused if they can get away with wat they are doing one day and some times dont.

i hope it helps.

low,
nice to hear from you. dun worry, sibling rivarly is normal. mayb you can get her to 'help' but letting her put her hand on the bottle to help feed charlotte. for my #1, we engage him in the routine even for diaper changing. asking him to help pick up diaper and wet tissues etc. it kinda distracted him and puts him in the mode that we are doing a 'family activity'.
i hope it helps in your case.

meanwhile, try to take more rest like what irene has mentioned. impt to get more rest and eat well during ur confinement.

Mag,
Kok ur head lah never concentrate

1. funny76+hb+Summer
2. Irene+hb+Jerald
3. Janice+hb+Jade+bb
4. Peapod+hb+Caelen
5. baby_piglet + ayden
6. TiNyVoIcE+hb+Samuel
7. rxsti+hb+Ariel

Any more mummies joining us??

Irene,
Very pain leh..

Oh.. I saw liao.. is 12pm!!

Darmae,
I d not do anything to my blog leh..hee..
I check again.
Btw, do u know tat the Right brain network moving out from their present place?

Gathering at Changi Airport T3 at 12 noon on 1 May 2009. (PUBLIC HOLIDAY)
1. funny76+hb+Summer
2. Irene+hb+Jerald
3. Janice+hb+Jade+bb
4. Peapod+hb+Caelen
5. baby_piglet + ayden
6. TiNyVoIcE+hb+Samuel
7. rxsti+hb+Ariel

mag,
right brain network moving? i didn't noe. where to? maybe they didnt mentioned to me cos maegan finishing her last term there. She had her last class on Sat. Started her on GUG last sun.

irene,
i'll can only confirm my availability on the gathering at a later date.

dArmAe,

Oh!! u removed maegan from there le huh?
I still let Ayden continues there..
I heard from my sister tat the present place the contract expired and they r still looking for a nearby place to move to..
We only got to know they r shifting after I paid for next term fee..

Magoo: Yes, they are shifting to a commercial building but still within Bishan ... the last I heard of was, they are still looking for the place. I don't think will be too far off Bishan lah ... the teachers are staying nearby too.

Darmae: Thought Maegan liked the class? How come stop?

Btw Jordan also started his JG Billingual Playclub last Sun. Aiyoh he damm bo si diam ... he kept wrestling and struggling whenever I tried to pin him down from "escaping" out of the classroom.

cookiemonster,
we need to show actions not just words. Very frustrating when sarah stands right in front of my tv set. Told her many times, carry her off the area to sit her on sofa many times. Still she prefers to stand in front of tv. But at least, they know, that it is not right.

So maybe, try to tell her nicely and show some actions. She'll get it someday. Be v patient, k?

Blue,
So u knw abt it long ago liao huh?
If I knw that they are shifting, I might not let Ayden continues..haiz..
Actually, I m thinking of letting Ayden joins the playgroup at my sis' pl void deck. Just to keep him occupied for 1 to 2 hrs per day until he attend Marymount..

irene,
we hv plans to go on a short trip.. but nothing finalise. hope to join in the fun at T3 too!

mag, blue,
maegan used to 'behave' well in the class, tat is, sitting throughout the lesson. but 4 weeks ago, she started to move down from the chair halfway thru the class. she was walking around the class and refused to sit back on the chair. when we tried to get her back on the chair, she would fuss.
i felt it create alot of distractions to the other children which is unfair. hence we decided to switch her over to GUG where she has more 'freedom' to display her 'independence' lor

Magoo: I only knew when I read about it in this forum ... also quite recently lah ... think last month. I asked the teachers before I confirm that it's true.

Darmae: Oic ... so my ex-boss's daughter still in the class?

blue,
not sure if she is still attending shichida but i didn't see her after her 1st term. maegan seems to be the 'old bird' in the class. her classmates are forever changing.
there was 1 boy who need to coax with biscuits to sit down.. ended up, all the children were so distracted by the biscuits.