(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

Emily,
U r most welcome

magoo,
I'm interested lei can i join??

Hi Blue,
Oh.. I was asking
1) if we are celebrating any event for this MEGA party?
2) What is this JWT?
3) How much is this?

So nice of you to organise this for all of us.
Thanks! Hafnt met you b4. Looking fwd.

Re: SAHM. Think it really depends on what each ind. wants in life cos at the end of the day we're answerable to ourself. Nothing is perfect and its not possible to meet every needs and wants.

Hi Bean,
With what you've posted, showing such intense feelings about SAHM, am glad cos I know you're ok now from the earlier saga with Zac..

Irene,
Can.. Y not?

Meko,
Anytime.. if hv then we all consolidate together..
I just want to get pyjamas for my kids...

lbs,
Nope, no offense at all. But nope I dont mean it that way. When I mention that "SAHMs might be self sacrificial..." I don't mean that the reverse is true, that is, FTWM are not self sacrificial! In fact, both FTWM and SAHM sacrifice. One sacrifice her career for her family, and one sacrifice her time with her baby to bring back the bacon. I hope what I post will not make any mummies think that one kind of mummy is superior to the other. To set the record straight, this isn't what I meant at all. What I meant was it is less likely for a woman who wants to build her own career and status and climb the corporate ladder to be a SAHM. And people work for different reasons. Either way, it is a personal choice and I am also definitely not saying that is wrong to want to have a career or to chase after status. It is just a matter of choice.

And what I mean by, the child's self worth is modelled on mummy's self worth, I mean, we will generally bring up our kids based on our own set of values. For example, some families value education as more important and will focus on that whilst some value spiritual growths as more important and will focus on that. We will teach impart our values to our kids. How they turn out, depends on how effective we are in doing that, not withstanding the power of the world out there. Of course external influence plays a part. In fact, within a family, father and mother may already have different value system, not to mention external factors.

Amy,
No worries lah.. I talk so much, but I also haven't done much for zac in terms of education wahahahaha...

Miraclecraz,
How have you been? When I read your " . Nothing is perfect and its not possible to meet every needs and wants", I suddenly thought of an sms from a friend yesterday that says:

There is beauty in imperfection. We just need to know where to look.

Back from my trip to Port Dickson with the little monster...wah tiring vacation man...supposed to be a relaxing trip but end up hubby and I so tired. Lucky we have the weekend to rest. But it was great fun for all of us...we brought her swimming everyday coz she loves it so much and for the first time we brought her to the beach coz it was so irresistable with white fluffy sand..she loved playing with the sand and the waves. The car ride there was abt 4 hours including our makan and toilet stops. Surprisingly Jade was ok most of the time...didn't complain much and slept through most of the ride.

MEGA PARTY @ JWT-KIDS, KALLANG
Date: Sat 14 Jun 2008
Time: 4.30 pm - 6.30 pm

PAID PARTICIPANTS:
1. Blueskye + Jordan (Organiser)
4. Btmum + Benedict
5. Peapod + Caelen
6. Arisz + Tristan
7. corrine + angelynn (maybe daddy)
8. wiselyn+clara
10. magoo + Ayden (n jie jie)
13. Poohwei + En En + Daddy
14. Snowangel + Travis
19. Irene + Jerald
22. gingerleaf + aralyn
24. Row + Shayne + hb + jie jie + kor kor

UNPAID PARTICIPANTS:
2. phoebe + Ryann
3. bb_piglet + Ayden + Daddy
9. darmae + maegan (daddy + gor gor)
11. Funny76 + Summer + Daddy
12. Low + Charlene
15. Florence + Hazel ( + helper and kor kor)
16. CM + Carlson (+ helper & jie jie)
17. natem + nate
18. totoro_bb + Kelly + hb
20. Elaine + Chloe
21. rxsti + Ariel
23. star + theo + HB
25. Tiffany + Andrea + korkor, helper

p.s. Pls remember to transfer $5 to my POSB Savings A/c 539-10927-8 by today if possible ... if not latest by Sun!

Wait List:
1. Voice + Sam
2. Miraclecraz + BB Zorian + Hubby Dave
3. Angel2baby + BB Jade + hubby

Blue

I transfer $5 to ur acc just now. Pls check.

Thanks very much, blue

To Account POSB Savings
539-10927-8 Blueskye
Amount S$5.00
Transaction Reference 1731249352

Miraclecraz, I think I have answered to these questions before leh ... but can't recall who asked. Anyway, here's the answers again:

1) if we are celebrating any event for this MEGA party?
Ans: It's kinda a birthday bash for all our babies since it will the time when all turn 1 year old or going to turn 1 year old.

2) What is this JWT?
Ans: JWT-Kids is a play gym like Gymboree. They have classes too, which I have also organised a trial class for us to try out.

3) How much is this?
Ans: I've posted info on the 2 packages - standard and deluxe packages. Depending on how many pax and which package we are taking ... price differs. But should be below $30 per baby.

Hi Bean,

I'm great!
Life is wonderful! Every extra day is such a bless..

Hi Angel,

Wow.. I also wann abring Zorian overseas . to somewhere cold. other than Oz.. I wonder where. n wonder if he can tahan the flight... keke

PAID PARTICIPANTS:

4. Btmum + Benedict
5. Peapod + Caelen
6. Arisz + Tristan
8. wiselyn+clara
12. Low + Charlene
14. Snowangel + Travis
19. Irene + Jerald
22. gingerleaf + aralyn

UNPAID PARTICIPANTS:
2. phoebe + Ryann
17. natem + nate
20. Elaine + Chloe
21. rxsti + Ariel
23. star + theo + HB

p.s. Pls remember to transfer $5 to my POSB Savings A/c 539-10927-8 by today if possible ... if not latest by Sun!

Wait List:
1. Voice + Sam
2. miraclecraz + zorian
3. angelbaby + jade

Miraclecraz: Haha, yah lor ... heeee.

Any mummies interested to join us for Kindermusik Trial Class this Sun at 4pm - 4.45pm? Cos JustMe just sms me to say she can't make it last minute ... hoping someone can take over her slot.

If you are keen, pls let me know. You can arrange to transfer JustMe the trial fee as she already paid.

JWT-Kids Trial Class
Time: 1.15 pm - 2 pm

ATTENTION ATTENTION

Yoki and nateM: Your payment is still pending. Pls make payment of $19.50 to me latest by 3pm today (nateM: pls pls remember hor!). If not, cookiemonster and angel2baby will be the next 2 on wait list to take over the slots.

Cookiemonster / Angel:
Pls standby and check this forum for updates after 3 pm to see if you are taking over the slots.

Angel,
Wow the beach sounds so fun.. Jade must have had a hell of a good time there! I haven'r brought Zac to the beach before. I wonder if he'll like it, but I half suspect that he will be scared of the waves

Miraclecraz,
Good to hear that you feel great. I think that feeling is contagious.. I seemed to be slowly feeling it too!

HOT topic we have today...

FTWM or SAHM.. i believe everyone has the best interest of their kids to heart. Not all FTWM work juz to bring the bacon back home, nor to simply chase after status...

each and everyone of us has our own priorities in life, whether is it by choice or by default...
it is really hard to decifer who is doing it right or better. but i strongly believe everythg n issues have their own course of action and the reasons behind each actions.

it takes alot of courage and commitment, regardless of FTWM or SAHM.

i wasnt a good FTWM to begin with, when my 1st child is born. i didnt realised that the attachment/bonding is so strong especially after birth. situation starts to change as the day passes and yes i regretted the decision to be posted away. however i am still not giving up being a FTWM for the passion i hv for work...
many may read or even laugh with disbelief.... is there such a thing call passion for work??? its a yes for me. i'm fortunate to have the understanding from my hubby although we re-visit the plan for me acceptin to be a SAHM on few occasions. like blue, i do hv monetary offers from him... but that does not tempt me, to be frank.

i brought my boy to work lately since he's on holiday. i involved him in the experiments i was doing... he sits at the corner n my office, figuring out the small experiments i set up for him while i attend to business calls.

it was a rewarding experience for both of us... we engaged in exciting discussions when i come home from work now. we never had them before...
before it was like 'mummy, you are back'
now its 'mummy, what special magic did you do at work tdy... i tried making my own bubbles tdy etc'
before, i thot i can only be bonded and close to him only if i become a SAHM.. but i realised that it may not be the case. it is the involvement, quality time spend together...

mayb some FTWM n SAHM see different light in the tunnel but we all do what we feel its best for the family and situation per se... its a learning curve for all, even for 2nd time mummy like me. approaches do change over time with different demands in life and kids with different character.

i may hv steered out of track in my post.. but i juz wanna share my views n experience

on the lighter side.. hee, hw abt FTWD and SAHD.... hee

blue, pls see trsf details below:-

To : blue_kindermusik 539109278
Amount : SGD5.00
Transfer Date : 30/05/2008 (Immediate)
Transaction Reference : 100000998182701

RE: SAHM
Blue you very lucky can have the option to become 1. I would love to be a SAHM but I cant. All the points listed is not an issue as I believe your husband is comfortable to solely provide for the family. It will be very beneficial for both your kids that you are able to grow with them, the bonding you get its a lifetime thing, which you cant earn from anywhere and its priceless. Enjoy it !!

JustME Sarah wears bbleggs at home too? Not hot ah?

bean I like your post. And yes whether we are SAHM or FTWM, we sacrifice all the time and mummies are great no matter whether we work or not.

darmae Remmebered u are in the food industry right? Are carrageenans safe? saw it on the ingredients list on the koniyaku jelly.

hot topic about SAHM and FTWM

I think there is no good or bad in which to choose. Each have its pros and cons.
For me i have to stay a FTWM as we are still paying for the house and other expenses. However, i would love to be able to witness Ryann's first attempt of everything. I also agree with darmae about having passion in work is also important as the things you able to learn from work are experiences you will not learn from school. For me i guess if financially my hubby is able to give me 4K a month i would have stop working and be a SAHM but will still teach freelance so that i wont lost touch with the world. SAHM should have a life too. Sometimes, it is good that you take out a couple of hours a week to spent time for urself, be it go spa, exercise or learn something new. This will stike a balance in mental health.FTWM also work 24/hrs, SAHM also work 24/7. All the same la. I guess it depends on each individual family. For me financially, i still cant afford to be SAHM. It is so good that you have a choice. Tml i must ask my hubby buy 4D big big le. Wish me luck hor =p

Hi Blue,

I am interested in the KIndermusik trial this sun!! Seems like i cant get 12 babies for next sun!

How? msg Justme directly?

hi angel, nice to see u today at LJS.
didnt knoe it was u until i saw a bb who look like Jade...
i wanted to go over n say hi, but afraid i got the wrong pax since i've nvr seen u before onli pics of jade ..
she was mking alot of noise n i was tinking u must be hving a hard time njoying ur meal...was she sleepy or bored?
it' tough to brg bb out alone. diff to hv a proper meal.

btw, jade very cute..but haha i agree she kinda cranky when i saw her =)she wants to go jalan jalan ?

Hey gals, after reading so much on SAHM vs FTWM, I got alot to write but don't think I have the time to put my thoughts into writing as I have to rush for a report now.

Wait for my post later ...

Poohwei: I will sms JustMe to say you are keen to take up her slot. Eh, I don't have your details ... can PM me? I get her to contact you on the transfer thingie ...

Will updated on payment status on JWT-Kids Trial and Mega Party later (after 3pm) ... in the meantime, those who have not paid, pls do so asap ... thanks!

atinarin,

carrageenans are polysaccharides extracted from algae/mosses, seaweeds. it is commonly used in food processing for its gelling, stabilising, thickening properties, which is the reason why u see it on the ingredient list of koniyaku jelly.
it is also used worldwide in custard, ice cream, protein drinks and other confectionary.

we have read and heard abt the gastrointestinal issues that associates with carrageenans. however, WHO and food additives association has declared that there is no concerns/hazard for consumption.

hey Bean
Thks for clarifying your posts. Like what Darmae has pointed out, it is really subjective what is wrong/right decision cos there is always many sides to look at

Darmae
I totally agree with you on the quality time & involvement part. No matter how tired I am after a day work, I will spend some quality time with my kids before bedtime..we can just roll on the bed (which we all love!), chatting abt everything under my room ceiling with my boy, tickling Yan etc. I may have missed many of their firsts, but to me the bonding we shared is priceless.

And of course, I value a lot on SAHD & FTWD...

Phoebe
4D big big also not that big than tio TOTO big big wor..hahaa

darmae boy am i glad to know someone so knowledgeable on these topics. Ok i will go and get the jelly mould later and make jelly! I dont cook so this is like fwah very good already.

phoebe I hope you win!

RE:JWT-Kids Trial Class:

ATTENTION TO YOKI, COOKIEMONSTER & ANGEL:

yoki: So sorry, I have to take you out of the list as to-date, I have not heard nor receive any payment from you.

cookiemonster: You are next on the wait list ... pls transfer $19.50 to my POSB Savings A/c 539-10927-8 (latest by Sun) to take over yoki's slot. Also, pls PM me your details (i.e. your name, contact no., baby's name and DOB).

angel: Can you PM me your no. so that should I not receive cookiemonster's transfer by Sun, you will be the next in line.

REally hot topic and very interesting and insightful!

ecookie, i'm exactly like you, can't pass the stage of being totally dependant on hubby financially. I also can't face my boy for the whole day, i will be very tired by evening time, coz he dun really nap in the afternoon!

Sometime actually i come to work having the thought of being away from him for a short while to recharge myself. *Bad mummy*
So i really salute mothers who can face their baby for 24/7.

Yoki: Since cookiemonster hasn't made payment, if you can still make payment within the next 15 mins, will make an exception. Let me know.

blueskye,
i have tried PM u but no reply from you.

I have added u to msn but couldnt get the chance to see you online

If my slot mt taken up, can you please PM ur account number and what details do i need to submit to you as this thread is running too fast for me to catch up at times.

Apologise for the delay in replying coz been busy handling my spree order.

thx

Yoki: I did not receive any PM from you. Could you have PM to the wrong person? My a/c no. has been repeated so many times on this thread ... just scroll up a little and you can see. Pls do so before 4pm latest ... pls understand that this is an exception given ... hence, after 4pm if no transfer, strictly no more negotiation as this is to be fair to the rest. Hope you understand.

bean,
yes.. not many ppl can LUV their job. i dread my previous job.. and oso the new marketing position offered which i rejected liao. i prefer to continue the passion in the lab experimenting....
really count myself lucky

atinarin,
wow.. u are making up some jellies.. hee NICE!!!

lbs,
yeah... priceless!!

hv u started Yan with FM. Maegan has her share of FM for the 1st time yesterday. Hubby fed her.. while i stay out of the room. in case she can 'smell' me...hee
as she is used to taking EBM.. so no problem when hubby tries to put teat in her mouth. she suckle once and gave hubby a weird look... hubby say machiam like asking 'wat r u giving me?'
but still she wasnt fussy... not too bad for the 1st time.

phoebe,
yeah.. tio toto beta. hahaha

blue, tf $5 to u liao

Update as per my DBS Internet Banking record now ... so some of you transferring via other banks may have your status as "unpaid" cos funds are not in yet.

Date: Sat 16 Aug 2008

PAID PARTICIPANTS:

4. Btmum + Benedict
5. Peapod + Caelen
6. Arisz + Tristan
8. wiselyn+clara
12. Low + Charlene
14. Snowangel + Travis
17. natem + nate
19. Irene + Jerald
22. gingerleaf + aralyn

UNPAID PARTICIPANTS:
2. phoebe + Ryann
20. Elaine + Chloe
21. rxsti + Ariel
23. star + theo + HB

Wait List:
1. Voice + Sam
2. miraclecraz + zorian
3. angelbaby + jade

Darmae
I have pmed you my contact. Need to ask you smthing..

btw, have you started supplementing FM to Missy Maegan? I am wondering when I shld start "training" Missy Yan...