(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

Hi, racoon

sure.... looking forward to our lunch next fri

piyo..

yah lah.. gymboree.. i sotong.. dunno u blur about me typing gymB.. so sorry!

jesline,
still can join lah! i come from orchard leh!!

Piyo,
The PD did a blood test during 9 mth accessment coz she said at young age some babies do not absorb the Hep B vacc well so not enough, like Jay. Therefore has to take one more at 12mth.

kRis,
So far Jay's ok with Shicida just that he can't really sit still sometimes lo, esp towards the end of the lesson. Will continue this class.

BJG mummies,
I am still consider if want to continue or not? Jay enjoys a lot during BJG class. Next term started will be little walker, any difference in the activities? Piyo, JG billingual started 18mth right?! So seems like in btw can still let them join BJG for a term?

Hi jasmine,
can pm me the add of the gals in our ttc grp so i can add to msn messenger? if not, can ask them to add mine ([email protected]) in if u happen to chat with them? dun have any of theirs since i changed my hotmail account. thanks a lot.

hi everyone...

read about your babies looking for pacifier and soothing themselves to sleep - so cute! my boy dunno how to use... since birth just cry and cry.. not easy to sooth...

now his sleeping pattern is ok by my standards, cuz at least i dun need to carry for long to sleep... and touch wood, so far less middle of the nite wakings unless he is hungry - that is ate lousy dinner.. kekeke

he is one strange boy, has to roll around on my mattress for about 15-25 mins with me nearby.. then he will fall asleep.. he will need a few pillows, bolster and a toy...
must have mummy around, just lying there not saying or doing anything...
strange baby ya?

Jasmine,
we go to gymboree at camden every sunday! when do u go? have we met?

Working mummies,
i may be joining the force again ( after my short stay at home stint
..... so any ladies working in Changi Business Park???? Aiyo i dunno if i can get used to it.. from RP to far far away....

Lunch at RP next Friday, wish I could join in but its my last day of work with my current company and my usual lunch kakis have planned a farewell lunch for me, if its Wednesday then I can join hee...me moving on to another job too after staying for 5.5yrs...wonder how long I can stay in my next job hee...

BJG mummies,
Guess I will let Hannah continue with another term. She's beginning to get used to the style and seems like she is also enjoying it so might as well let her continue till she's 18mths old then will look at other options. Will be fun if all of you stay on as well.

Cocomo,
Hannah seems to like your Jay leh, everytime she sees Jay she gets very excited and will want to go and touch him and sayang him hee, I told Hannah "but Jay likes Megan you know" and she gave me this funny look haa... :")

Butter8,
My girl is also the same as your boy. Was just telling hubby that its amazing how her sleeping pattern changes.

For the first 4 mths, I have to rock Hannah to sleep in the sarong every night and waited till she is sound asleep before transferring her to her cot. After her 4th mth, she suddenly rejected the sarong at night so I would feed her and she will just fall asleep by herself on my lap while I watched TV - that was easy life then. When she's about 9mths old, that period was bad cos she will NOT want to sleep and I will have to rock her to sleep every night by carrying her (or rather by forcing her to sleep). Now at 1yr old, she refused to be rocked to sleep and instead prefers to roll around the bed with me beside her and will fall asleep herself after 10 mins and I will then carry her to her cot. Good thing is she is learning to sleep on her own now, bad thing is I always ended up sleeping early as well with all my chores undone haa...

hi Racoon, Cocomo, Jesline, Augbb and Erin,
since Honeyb's moving on to another job, ok to change to Wed lunch for HoneyB's sake?

HI HoneyB,
whr would be your new office? not in RP huh?
Megan is opposite from Hannah and butter8, she used to roll ard on the bed till she falls asleep but after awhile change style, wanna sleep in sarong then can fall asleep fast... hmm.. maybe I should try back the old style see if it works?

I think Hannah enjoys the class, same for Jay...I think both of you shd continue.. Megan should "tui4 chu1" hahaa.. cos she has been here for 3 terms liao... but on the other hand, I do wanna see what they are doing for little walkers...

Butter8,
whr in RP are you working now?

Jas,
so you meant Gymboree la! you go for weekly class or the freeplay? I keep forgetting there is a gymB at Vivo near my place!

Cocomo,
ya JG bilingual playclub starts 18mths... meantime you can also join JG playnest like Jas during the weekday? I contemplated letting my maid or my mum go with her if I do join...then will take the 9am timeslot.. but hubby shakes head.. then again, JG dun use Zoophonics which I really want Megan to be exposed to 1st b4 we moved her to Brighton when she hits 18mths? so how? you din reply my sms!hymph!

anyone reading bedtime stories to your babies already?

Hi honeyb and butter,
ya, guess their sleep pattern changes liao. Kayden used to want us to carry him until he sleeps. however, he'll want to lie on the bed with his bolster, turn here and there until he sleeps. takes quite a while though. however, if we want him to sleep earlier, my hb will carry him (also provided if he wants) haha...

Hi piyo,
i'm fine with the change in the date. good for me too cos after that have to go kkh for annual check-up.

u going to sign megan for GUG?

i used to read bedtime stories for Kayden. Then just read an article recently that although it's good to soothe young children to bed, it's not really advisable when it comes to encouraging reading cos some kids would associate reading with sleep.

piyo,
I am not in RP
i used to be in TP before quiting... now if i go back to work, the choices so far are Changi Biz park or Jurong :p argh!!!

Any mummies there???? or bugis? i better find some kaki b4 i start work...

erin,
okie! let's c what the other ladies say

thinking of signing after BJG ends? if I wanna go for weekend classes cos like what jokojoko says, not many places haf classes for >12mths...my colliq also sign her dotter up this term.. commented not bad...

so how do we encourage reading? I tried reading at night some time ago but the warm lighting like not very good for eyes...

same! megan takes us and the window grills like ladders2!

piyo,
me fine wif wed as well...
Jay now cant sit still hearing me read stories and like u say our room has those yellow lighting n hence seems like not so ideal for eyes leh...haha

Piyo & Jes,

Ya floor wth mattress seems more safer.. now she is sleeping mattress lo. So was thinking if the bed do better or not. Nat love to shift all over the bed 360! Recently she learn somersault.. so dangerous! Recent she really do it and show to me I was so afraid she might twist her neck! Scold also wont listen... think I m more like dad fierce and hubby was the soft one.

I not at RP too.. used to be at TP but going to move on at Jurong East (near my hse & future to place natalie childcare easier).

Piyo,
I haven start her on reading as she still prefer to watch ELMO (VCD i bought) before her sleep. Its more like singing to relax her. She prefer her book reading (as if really reading hahaha!) when I was with her weekend morning before bring her go Jalan.

Seems now our toddlers are showing more and more style & pattern to us! Standing, climbing on us etc!!! Is it ok to let toddlers take any food after 1yo? OF cos not deep fried etc. Like FISH, can we opt for other "brand"?, All sorts of vege instead just a few?
Have all start giving ur toddlers rice?

Thanks for accomodating to my timing next week, let's see if the rest of the mummies can join.

Piyo,
My new office is at Novena Sq, quite convenient, can hop around to scout for classes for Hannah to attend during lunch hee...any mummies currently working at or around Novena Sq?

Butter8,
I almost accepted a job offer at Changi Business Park but after consideration, think its too far from where I stay...prefer to stick to town area for the convenience.

Erin,
I was initially comtemplating whether to read to Hannah before she sleeps but on one hand I want to create a soft environment to induce her to sleep and on the other hand the soft light is not good for our eyes so now confirmed I will not do it already haa..

Cynthia,
Nat is so clever, can do somersault, how did you'll teach her to do that?

Talking about food, any mummies mix Marmite to your child's porridge? My mum has been doing that and I'm quite worried, not sure if its ok.

honeyb,
what is marmite

Cynthia,
Nat so cute know how to do somersault.

Piyo,
I also havent start reading to charlotte, only sing rythems to her. she will lie on my arms and listen to what i sing. If she dun like the songs she will move away...she like she will stay in my arms.
reading she won't listen leh she will move around how to read to her i also don't know.

Charlotte now know how to speak a few things,
like orange, mum mum (Food), Mei Mei (pretty)
Hat, H, F, Apple. She happy happy she will call papa mama.

Show her the cards she will take apple and orange. then i tell her orange she will say orange.

HoneyB, Cat

I also not sure how she do it! From a start she keep like to see us from upside down from her knees and one day I saw she do it! I only worry will hurt her neck cos too fragile n too young. The more tell her not to do it SHE DO IT on purposely! Gosh don't know what is in their brain!

Charlotte speak so fast? She walking more now?That is real fast. Nat only start to say PAPA, MIMI not mama! Funny.. maybe inlaw and everyone in the family keep saying mummie here mummie etc so she say mimi instead.. She seems to prefer B when I flash card to her. Other than that nothing else.. except keep pointing disturbing my dog la, scream at home, stand herself very long, cruise ard using furniture again. I think all these is the most basic she can do liao. Still waiting for her teeth to be out! ONLY 2 bottom.. no sign from top leh haiz.

HoneyB,
Marmit? Is it those bottle type outside? I didnt try that. Nat porridge very simple, fish & vege OR pork/chicken vege. I make sure she has 3 meals a day, 3 milk a day too... and at least 2 serving of fruits & vege. She seems v slow in poo.. only alt days & sometime hard. SHE HATE WATER! Force her and try all ways. Nw try give her own boil barley water too lo. She also don't lik Gripe water! This is a strange toddler

Cat, Cynthia
Marmite is this mix vege black substance that they use to mix in babies' porridge. They also have Vegemite (which I supposed is the same thing) and Bouvil ( I think its this spelling) with the beef extract, supposed to be good stuffs for kids (but honestly I hate to eat that when I was young). When mixed with porridge, it becomes very tasty but I'm not sure if its really that good.

okie,
since majority can make it, pending cocomo, let's change to next wed, for Honeyb's sake

<font color="ff0000">RP lunch next wed 5Sep</font>
1. Piyo
2. Racoon
<font color="0000ff">3. Cocomo ??</font>
4. Jesline
5. Augbb
6. Erin
<font color="119911">7. HoneyB</font>

Honeyb, touched not?:p

hi honeyb,
I hate marmite too! my mummy failed in giving me that
I dun intend to gif Megan yet... heard somewhr like not good?

Hi cat,
Charlotte is so clever! teach her more things then she can babble more words to you!

Hi augbb,
same for my room lights..if I switch on white lights, then defeat the purpose of lulling her to sleep right?

Hi Honeyb,
when would you be thr? maybe in time to help me chk and register for GUG classes... joking ah

hi cyn,
Megan LOVES water but HATES juices... prob too

i thought marmite is very salty? I had that when i was young but back at that time we were already exposed to sauces from young (at least for me lah). So ever since I had porridge, my ah gong who takes care of me already add light soya sauce, marmite and give me food with seasoning. Not like now when we are more careful of what we give our babies and avoid salty stuff.

Now u ask me, i won;t give that to Justin becos i think its very salty and the taste very strong.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Marmite

Read above,Marmite has salt/sodium etc, not something I will give.

I'm thinking our parents and our grandparents used to give us because they have less resources to buy a many different types vegetables for us to make the porriage taste better thus they resort to using Marmite.

gtg for lunch..

Kelly,Amy,Racoon
I also think Marmite taste abit salty thats why don't really want to give, not sure about the nutritious part thou, maybe I should go back and remove the marmite from my mum's house.

hi piyo..

which brand of smoother u giving to Megan?? any intension to stop her from having it?? Zorian have it in his mouth every second during weekdays.. for weekends, when we bring him out, seldom give him unless he scream at the top of his lungs..

I used to read bedtime stories to Zorian when he is about 4 months old.. so everynight he will want his bedtime story before going to bed.. nowaday, he will grab and throw it on the floor.. so naughty... so no more bedtime stories.. keekee

Hi HoneyB & Cocomo..

if you are continuing BJG, see if we are able to form a class.. Zorian loves Jay also.. Jay is the popular baby..

Hi Butter8 & Cynthia..

Me working at Jurong area.. Lunch at JP.. if you mommies want to meet for lunch, no prob for me.. keekee.. tot i m the only one working at Jurong area.. envy those in town.. can meet for lunch...

Mommies..

I just bought the Youngparents mag.. It has a list of "World's best Preschool" list in there.. those who are keen, can go grab a copy..

augbaby,

no no.. it is "YoungParents".. this one think for toddlers.. the youngparents baby are articles on pregnancy and baby..

I read the Web that amy pasted. Marmita seems to have lots of nutritions, thats why older generations they will give it to the kids.
but our bb are too young so many wait till 2-3yrs old then give not now.

Kris,
icic...so other than that, any useful articles inside for us...coz sometimes i find this magazine r more suitable for other kids thou our bb r now consider toddlers..hee hee

Hi Kris,
it's the monthly young parents mag right?
Megan is not addicted to pacifier. She only ask for it when she is sleepy and at night when she sleeps.. I gif her NUK.. what about Zorian?

Hi Amy, Kelly and HoneyB,
Fortunately my parents never intro marmite..but my mum asked me to gif megan RIBENA

Hi augbaby..

there are some family financing planning in there as well.. keekee.. Sept issues have articles on helping 1 yr old babies on their speech.. so i buy and read lor..

hi piyo..

yap yap.. the monthly young parents.. Zorian also taking NUK.. his milk bottle is pigeon so pacificer use NUK.. dun want him to get used to one teats..

so nice of Megan.. only ask for it when sleepy.. zorian also stucking his pacificer.. cant stand him.. think will be very very difficult to ask him to quit...

i recently bought a small haversack bag for jay..keke..actually its juz for me to put his snacks n waterbottle inside one coz sometimes he drink his milk liao n dun need to bring the whole diaper bag out coz we eating etc so i can juz bring his snacks..here the pic of him carrying his bag...heehee...he seems to like it leh n size seems juz nice...keke

946246.jpg

946247.jpg

piyo,
Dun give ribena until megan is 2yrs, its not advise to give them sweet things or drinks until they are 2yrs.

Maybe u want to get those without sugar one

Hi Honeyb and other BJG mummies,

I dun think i will continue with BJG... it is too far from my home.. about 30mins ride.

Getting tire about the journey after 6mths lor..

So will be giving up. I will let Reina rest for awhile then send her to half day day care when she is 18th mth.

BTW, any good childcare centre to recommend?
I am sending her either to punggol or AMK childcare. If anyone can recommend any good and cheap centres?

Learning wise, I find that Jadon learns v fast when I show him the real thing than if I show him flashcards.

Brought him to the Underwater World yes'day (his birthday) to look at the fishes. And there was this pool full of rays... and they were like flapping and splashing around while the staff feed them sotong. You can also touch them. V kewl! I was as amazed as he was and keep telling him to "Look at the rays!". We were at the Underwater World for about an hour, and before we left, bought a toy ray for him. I made the toy ray swim like the way we saw them swim in the pool to try to create that association/link between what we had seen earlier, and this toy we're getting. On the way home, the toy ray was sitting in the car and when I asked him where the ray is, he can pick out the toy for me without hesitation!

I never quite point out balloons to him until his birthday celebration last Saturday. We have some leftover balloons that's lying around at home. I gave him a balloon to hold and feel and play. This morning, I asked him where the balloon is, and he can look in the direction of the ballon.

By seeing the real thing, you actually get to "experience" it in a way which you wouldn't if you had just watch it on tv or in a picture card. I feel that he won't be able to learn as fast if I had shown him a flashcard of a balloon instead of the real thing. The next step would then be to make him recognise the written word "balloon".

What I cannot quite agree is showing flashcards of words without them having made the association between the word and the object. That's not really meaningful learning to me. Just some thoughts and observations I've made on a rainy Thursday afternoon...

leia,
i totally agree....if we tell him the name of the object a few times, they will be able to associate it wif it and can point the object to us..like for me, jay for an ernie toy and over then i will show him "wat is ernie" and then now when i ask him, where is ernie, he can pick up the correct toy from all the other toys he has in his playpen and give it to me...n i know its not a concidence coz we tried it many times...same also for objects like lights n fan...even when we r at resturants, n i ask him where is the fan, he can even use his finger to point it out to me...at first when he dun noe how to use his finger to point, he will look in the direction of the object...

Hi augbaby..

Jay so cute!!! love the way he walk around with his bag...

Hi leia & augbaby..

totally agreed with you mommies.. zorian also recognize lights and fan.. whenever we go out, he will even pointed at them and made noise.. like telling us that is light / fan..

Kris,
haha..ya lor...thou there is nothing inside so maybe still light eno for him to walk around wif it and open cupboards....cheap lah the bag..cost only $3.50 plus its small eno for him now..coz those bags i usually see all like rather big...haha...

hi Leia, Kris, Augbaby,

Yes, the flashing of just words alone will not work as "fast" for the kids to make the association, compared to showing them the real object.

A suggestion:
if this week you are flashing say, words on sea creatures (dory, stingray, cuttlefish, squid, jellyfish etc).. and you are planning a trip to underwater world, try to point & say the same words that you flash.. THe babies really pick up very fast, cos the association between the words and the pictures will be made cos of 1 linking point: THE SOUND OF THE WORDS BEING PRONOUNCED!!

I try to let jadelle see the items in real life and i change it accordingly week by week when we go out.. is really fun actually! You get to see things from your baby's eyes!