(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

leobbsmom,
jay also haven taken it yet..will be bringing him for his 1st one either next wkends or the following...btw mummies who brought their bb for this jab, does it cause fever ah?? did yr PD say might hav fever? so i know wat to expect lor...

aug baby

I use Lock Lock to put snacks for Jordan

Hi Leobbsmom/Augbaby,
Jay taken his 3rd pneumo jap last month, no fever. He just taken his Hep A and Hep B one week ago. He need to take Hep B now coz during his 9mth accessment that time, PD discovered his antibody for Hep B was insufficient so need to have additional jap. My poor Jay taken one at the right arm and another one at left arm at the same time!!!

Hi, augbaby

doc said may cause fever but depends on baby lor.... Jia Hui had fever from the 2nd jab & the 3rd jab lor... what the doc told me is that after the jab, once reached home, give baby the medicine first

leobbsmom,

Yes, cupcakes are like the IN thing these days. The baker I go to also do soft cream cheese icing besides the regular buttercream. Have ordered some for tomorrow. :p~~

Jadon hasn't taken his last pnemococcal jab. Will be taking it next month cos his 2nd jab was delayed due to bronchitis.

cocomo,

Thanks. Bought Jadon's tie for some time already but no occasion to wear it. He's like the most overdressed person on his birthday. Ha ha ha!

augbaby,

My PD say to give him fever medicine after the jab, regardless of whether he gets fever or not.

babyboy,

My sympathies. My nose is still hurting even till today. Wash face also cannot wash too hard. It has been about 1+ week already!!! Sheesh!!!

<font color="ff0000">pnemococcal jab</font>
um, i haven't bring jadelle for the jab.. cos everytime i want to bring her.. she will come down with something like running nose.. so PD dun allow her to jab.. drag until now..

I waiting for after her B-day celebration and will drag her downstairs for the jab @ GP @ 167 SGD per jab.

can we still bring our bb for assessment ah? think they r over the age liao rite..coz i see the health book like next assessment is 16-18mths or so ba...

So busy lately with work and Crisann. Crisann is sick again. Having fever since Sat. Think is due to teething. She is so cranky. Crying most of the time.

Hi Piyo

The sarong that I brought was sew on both end 1 leh.

Hi Augbaby

Crisann don't have fever after the jab for a bit cranky.

Hi Mrs Chng

I paid $170 for the jab. I also went GP for the jab.

Can I know what's your baby's sleepy schedule? My Jay normally sleep at around 10-11pm and wake up around 8-9am. He used to sleep at 10am-11am for 1 hour, 1-2pm for one hour, 5-6pm for 1 hour. But now he refuses to sleep in the morning and only sleep once in the afternoon for 1.5-2hours. So total he will sleep approx 11-12hours per day only. Is that normal?

Hi augbaby,
kayden has fever on the 2nd day. pd said that fever can occur anyday from day 1 to 5. the pd did ask me some questions regarding his development and checked his reflexes. height, weight and head circumference are taken.

we paid $150 for the jab.

hi cocomo,
Kayden also doesn't sleep a lot nowsadays. he'll usually sleep after his bath in the morning and sleep at abt 9+pm till 7+am the next day. now refuse to take the afternoon nap. think when they grow older, they tend to sleep less.

Hi Leia..

Jadon soo handsome... he must have enjoyed his birthday party.. The cup cakes looked so delicious.. yummy... Well done!!

Hi mommies..

have not brought Zorian to have his pneumococcal jab yet.. wen do we need to bring him for his last jab? also what other jabs to give hah??

hi augbaby..

zorian kena fever for his first two pneumococcal jab.. so he very cranky and sticky to us..

hi cocomo..

is Jay ok after the jab?? sayang him for me okie.. *hugs & kisses*

zorian also dun really sleep.. usually he sleeps from 10pm - 8am.. he only naps in the afternoon for 1-2 hours.. if we go out, he simply naps in the car.. once we reached a new place, he dun sleep lor.. when he has insufficient sleep, will be very cranky and sticky lor..

Hi Crisann..

take care okie.. how is Crisann now?? lots of water and the fever will subside soon.. hugs & kisses for Crisann too..

Mommies...

do you still switch on the night light when babies sleep?? zorian dun seem to be able to sleep without the light.. any good suggestions to train him to sleep without light?? thanks..

think i must be the last one preparing for 1st birthday celebration?

The good thing about being last?? lots of advice! Thanks Piyo, HoneyB!!

sleeping
Jadelle is also sleeping lesser. She used to sleep @ 10-11am, 2-3pm, 6-7pm and bedtime @ 9-10pm.

Now? She sleeps 12-1/2pm (sometimes 2 hrs nap!) and 5-6/7pm. and bedtime can drag until 10pm, though i try to put her on the bedtime routine by 9pm.

So, i guess, the no. of naps are decreasing across board then?

Augbaby,

Normally taking Pneu jab wont have fever but just in case if you worried, standby your thermometer & fever med.

Natalie finish her 1st 3 Pneu by 1 yr old. She had another 1 after 1yo recently which is the 4th. She done at usual PD, $171.

Need to check with All Mummies. Piyo & Mine PD is the same. Funny is Pneu Jab need to be taken as follow the PD told me..

6mth-1yr = 3 Jab
1-2yr = 2 Jab
2yr = 1 Jab.

Piyo ask PD and he say not necessary to contd after finishing 1st 3 jab. I very confuse. Is it necessary to complete the whole course or just for 1st 3 jab? Any different comments from each of your PD or GP mummies?

R U all giving your toddler Chicken Pox(optional) jab? Lets have a poll start rolling kekekeke.And maybe share with us the comments or opinion.. Hope the list wont be empty

Chicken Pox
-------------
1) Cynthia - No.

Jasmine & Cocomo
Natalie she sleeping lessr too. At this stage they can stay awake longer and will prefer to play more. Most impt they sleep through the night for about 10hrs which is recommended. Natalie usually wake up about 7plus, Nap (11-1230pm), 2nd nap(430-515/530pm). By 930pm her last milk feed, she will knock off & sleep through the night. Usually they can be awake for about 3-4hrs MAX to fully utilise their energy and OURS! Gosh!!

Jasmine, u can see from her party she very very tired but die die stay awake at least 4hrs plus from her previous nap. Too excited! Think this sat Jadelle too excited too!!

Kris,
Maybe you try to get those small table lamp as dim as possible. After he fully deep sleep, switch off see how react? Give zorian some time to adjust to it.

Hi Cynthia..

My PD advise the same as per yours.. He said after the buffer jab after 1 yr old, no need to inject anymore.. He said the older babies will need to take less jabs.. So we decide to let Zorian take the jab since baby lor..

I dun know what are the rest of the jabs to give.. what are they hah?

Hi, cynthia

what my doc said if that if baby take the penumoccocal jab before 6mths, will need to take 4 jabs... if baby start at abt 8mths plus, only need 3 jabs...

Jasmine, cocomo & cynthia
Jia Hui also sleeps very less lor.... she usually wakes up at 6am (cos need to bring her mil house, when reached there, sometime she sleeps sometime dont)if sleep, will be abt 1hrs.... then in the afternoon, she will sleeps @12++ & wake up at 2-3... & then she will play & play until 10pm++ in the night before she sleeps... think she is not getting enough sleep

R U all giving your toddler Chicken Pox(optional) jab? Lets have a poll start rolling kekekeke.And maybe share with us the comments or opinion.. Hope the list wont be empty

Chicken Pox
-------------
1) Cynthia - No.
2) jesline - yes... taken her jab when she turns one

ryan oso sleeping much less...
no more morning nap, maybe a noon nap, and sometimes after that he can tahan till bed time!!!! but at times he still takes the 5-6pm one too.
its really tiring to keep up with him.

Re:penumoccocal jab

I was think only to let charlotte take the jab when she is 2 don't want her to go through so many jabs.

Chicken Pox
-------------
1) Cynthia - No.
3) Catherine- No, I will let her chicken pox come out fully instead of stopping it. If not when she old she will also suffer from chicken pox.

Re: Sleeping

Charlotte also sleep lesser, Morning she weak up at 9-10 am then she can last until after then take a nap for 2-3hours, then can last her till at night 10-11pm then she sleep.

megan has never been sleeping ALOT ever since she was born, in that
1. most babies sleep with eyes completely shut. She sleeps with her eyes half closed since birth. She sleeps from 8.30am till latest about 6.30am?
2. most babies sleep for 2-3hrs for naps in mornings and afternoons... mine hardly exceeds an hr... anything >30mins is a bonus

right now, as she grows older, her napping time is curtailed more! morning about half hr most, about 11-11.30am (after going out play play, swim etc with her ah ma and ah gong, sim huang huang).. even her usual nap time like 8-8.30am is almost gone now cos she sim huang huang waiting for ah ma and ah gong fetch her go play! afternoon only maybe max50mins? only time she sleeps>1hr is when she was on antibiotics last week...

Like just last night, she woke up 3plus in the morning and wanna play till 5plus then sleep then 6plus she is up liao till now still outside playing... fainted

I dun bother so much on her sleeping liao cos she is growing happily, healthly... the only thing I am worried about is maybe that's y her head is not growing as much? a mummy friend of mine whose boy is 10yrs old now has the same sleeping pattern like megan and he is fine.. just very active...so dun worry so much k.. your babies are definately much better than mine...

Hi kris,
what did Zorian take the day b4 the diarrhoea? any mishandling of food? toys washed properly?

re: Pneu jab
All along, I have the notion that once they take the number of jabs as per their gae, it's completed! Dun u think it's crazy to take pneu jabs all the way till 2yrs? Dr Yip told me after this last jab at 1 yrs(this is her 3rd jab as she took from 6mths), that's it! I should be bringing megan for her last pneu jab in 1-2 weeks time.. monitoring her flu, make sure it's totally cleared then will go...

btw, cost me $160 for jab at PD... excluding consultation

re:fever after jabs
so far so good for Megan...and I dun let her take the fever medicine b4 or after jabs (unless fever arises)My PD advise to take the medicine only if fever arise...

Kris - What does your PD mean by buffer jab?

Chicken Pox
-------------
1) Cynthia - No.
3) Catherine- No, I will let her chicken pox come out fully instead of stopping it. If not when she old she will also suffer from chicken pox.
4) Piyo - No. same as cat, I prefer to let chicken pox come naturally then suppress it.. let her build up immunity against it...

p/s: btw, taking chicken pox jab is not permanent, may be infected still, only chance is lower then come P1 or something must take another booster jab..

Hi piyo...

zorian same as megan.. dun sleep much since birth.. only when he gets older, think around 6 months, his nap is > 1 hour.. if not only 30 minutes and less!! my mom even comment that it is strange how come he is not sleeping much during his first month.. haahaa.. now i know why zorian's head is also very small.. his head is smaller than the rest of his body.. keekee..

how is megan now?? has she recovered?? take care.. *hugs & kisses* for megan..

zorian dun take anything special before his diarrhoea.. his usual morning cereal and porridges.. dun even take fruits on sun and these few days.. sigh..

sorry typo error.. PD say the last jab is the booster jab.. after tat no more..

hi Jas,
Welcome! I would expect Jadelle's birthday party to be the BEST among our lot cos you gathered lots of advice and inspiration!!! Looking fwd to it this weekend!

Hi Amberlyn,
Got your PM... Thanks! log in more often to post k

Hi Amy and Racoon,
Ignore me! I always do research b4 I decide on things, small or big...friends always say I am too perfectionist haha..

For playschool, I just wanna make sure I make aninformed decision for her "stay away from home" for that few hours in the morning without any familiar faces ard..

Hi mommies..

Just called my PD and confirm the jabs to be taken for babies after 1 year old :-

3rd booster jab for Pneu
Chicken box (optional)
MMR (at 15th & 18th month)

after tat no more lor.. they also say if want, can take the booster jab for Pneu together with MMR..

Kris,
meaning the last jab (i.e. 3rd jab for pneu jabs taken after 6mths) is booster jab?

Who prepares the food for Zorian?

My mum also says last time I sleep for 3hrs flat.. not like this fellow, no sleep... very notti..My megan's head also small (to me)...wait dun grow big enuf to store stuff haaa...

Thanks!Her runny nose gone liao.. now monitoring...

Hi mummies morning,

Chicken Pox
-------------
1) Cynthia - No.
4) Piyo - No. same as cat, I prefer to let chicken pox come naturally then suppress it.. let her build up immunity against it...
5) Yes, will take when she has cleared her runny nose

Hannah has yet to go for her penumoccocal jab, will let her take it maybe next month. She also took the Influenza jab before I brought her to Hong Kong in July. I always believe that we should take whatever vaccine that is available out there to reduce the risk of getting it full blown if one ever caught the bug. Maybe painful for the little one but that second of pain will bring them good for a long time. :")

Hi cocomo,
how did PD detect that Jay does not haf enuf immunisation for Hep a and B?

Hi Kris,
Thanks for the info! Think after the 3rd pneu jab for Megan within these 2 weeks...I won't bring her for anymore jabs till 15mths?

As for sleeping pattern, Hannah sleeps around 10pm to 7am and her morning nap is usually from 10am to about 1pm, she will then nap in the afternoon from 4pm to 6.30pm. My mum says nowadays Hannah seems to take like only 2 hrs for each nap period, guess as she grows older, she will sleep less.

Piyo,
Charlotte also can dun sleep like megan, but i force her to sleep when she keep cry and not happy is either she sleep or go out for walk.

So normally i time her the most she can last for 4-5 hours staying awake during the day time, then i will make her take afternoon nap.. after which i just let her stay awake until at nite she tired then sleep.

I read previously from a magazine its shows a chart that how much bb sleep when they grow older. and its true that as they grow older they will sleep less.
maybe at night from 9pm-6am then maybe morning 7am-9am then afternoon nap for 1-2 hrs and thats all. and slowly they can sleep at 9pm-7am and only take a afternoon nap for 1-2hrs .

HOneyB,
You are wrong, I believe in letting our baby build up their own immune system instead of having so many jabs. Jabs also have no Garentee that it will prevent our bb from Sickness.

I prefer to let my bb to fight against it instead of preventing it. so that whatever sickness her body can fight with it. Too many medicine may cause harm to the body instead of helping to fight the diseases, so that when she grow old her body is strong enough to fight with all kinds of sickness.

Piyo,
The funny thing is when Hannah was born till around 2 months old,she hardly sleep and she made all of us so worried but don't know why when she reached 3 months of age, she falls into this routine of sleeping 2-3 hrs for each nap, trying to catch up with what she lost I supposed haa...

seems like the topic for today is on jabs and sleep routine.

re: penumoccocal jab
Kayden has taken the 1st jab after he turned 1. will be taking the 2nd and last jab a couple of months later. it's just like insurance for me as my family has history of pneumonia. grandfather passed away bcos of that and grandma very very sick due to it. was so worried that she'll never recover at that time. see liao so heartache.

re: chicken pox jab
-------------
1) Cynthia - No.
5) Yes, will take when she has cleared her runny nose
6) Most prob yes. Still thinking abt it cos the supervisor at the childcare centre advised me to let Kayden have the jab. says even if he has it, he'll recover faster. Somemore, dun have to worry abt shingles.

hi piyo,
Kayden also never closes his eyes fully when he sleeps. I was quite worried initially until my hb told me that there are such cases so after that I'm not so worried.

Catherine,
Vaccine is not medicine, its actually strand of the actual virus to give the body a wake up call so that the body is able to produce some immunity under a controlled situation. That explains why some babies developed fever after taking their jab cos their body detected unfamilar visitors and put up a fight against it. In the event where the body actually contracted the virus, the body is all prepared and able to fight against it with minimal effort. Vaccine is not intended to block out these virus, its to prevent the worst case scenario from happening.

That explains why certain jabs are made compulsory by the government. They might as well leave it to the babies to fight for themselves but since a controlled 'cure' is available, might as well make full use of it. However, this is always left to the discretion of the parents cos vaccines are expensive (and there's a reason why its so expensive) and they don't want their children to suffer now, so its up to individual. For me I prefer to have my girl vaccinated now :")

honeyb,

its like running the body thru fire drill huh..hehehe. I also heard the vaccine is the virus but not so strong so that's why the symptoms are milder than the rela attack is it?

Hi HoneyB..

So nice.. hannah can sleep so long.. i hardly get to sleep once zorian is out.. haahaa..

hi piyo..

yap.. that is what zorian's PD say.. booster jab.. the next compulsory jab is the MMR at 15th & 18th month.. after that will be 7 years old for the booster jab for MMR..

Hi erin..

so sorry to hear that.. dun worry too much.. all will turn out fine..

Racoon,
I like your analogy haa..fire drill, yes, the virus injected is mild so that its controllable, like I mentioned, more of just to wake up the body's natural immune system...

Erin & Piyo,
Not to worry if megan & kayden sleep like eyes are not close completely. last time Natalie used to be that too. What I do is when Natalie sleep I will use my fingers too soothing her forehead and ard eyes area and this will relax herself. Some bbs played very hard and wont be really relaxing that is y their reflex is like this. This is normal.

Jabs.
------
I think up to each preference bah. Some may preferred to try prevent when young inorder to reduce complications and others may prefer to let it fight. Maybe for my side I felt Jab which are realli necessary. Optional like chicken pox & flu for mi i will opt out UNLESS will keep bring Nat out for overseas bah. Don't forget we are bbs too in the past. We also get by to all the illness we have & chicken pox etc bah.

MMR
-----
Hmm MMR is taken both 15&18mth? Isn't it just 1 jab @ 15mth only?????

good morning mommies, sorry, didnt hv a chance to log in to check yesterday i posted. coz started to get busy.. =P

i paid $171.20 for the last jab too, same as Cynthia. think erin paid the least for the same jab ar? =P where's the PD?

my girl has been going to SG baby n child at AMK since few mths-old. she sees dr koh there. any bb see the same clinic or PD ?

i heard tat most bb will kenna fever after the jab, but my girl is still ok now.. thank God!

wat's the next jab after this ah? are we supposed to hv the same jab for our bb?

i think i will let my girl take the chkn pox jab... =) since the vaccination is avail. why not? rather than to let them suffer.. this is my thot la.. =)

HoneyB,

We've brought Justin to see a osteopath when he was abt 5mths old just for general consultation. Cos hubby's colleague highly recommended him and he can actually help to correct any skeletal structure misplacement from birth. During Justin's consultation, the osteopath will feel his skull and tell us where is blocked and he'll just feel feel here and there and somehow correct it. Why I bring him up is this guy is very against vaccinations and he said vaccinations affect the baby's development, he even said the worst is the MMR jab.

Of course, we listened but still went ahead with the compulsory ones cos we'll just let Justin have the necessary or compulsory ones. Regarding the Pneu jab, have yet to bring him but will soon cos this sickness can be fatal.

oops, just saw it's chkn pox n MMR. @__@|||

wah, time really flies, our babies are entering into toddler's phase now.. no more "the little one"...

piyo,

me lazy mummy leh.. too much brain cells to think of original birthday ideas.. haha, so i will combine the best of the birthday ideas yah?

Sigh,
i envy you all for your babies who sleep through the night. Jadelle will wake up to scream if she is sleeping in her playpen, cos she want to sleep next to me. And if she sleep next to me, she insist to latch alittle when she wakes up which is like 3-4x at night.. I am so sleep deprived siah.. Realised i am not ready to stop the latching on, as enjoying it now is so far for me to come by with the immense difficulty i faced in breastfeeding her.. But i wish i can sleep more! And i can't have her depending on my breast as a sleep aid!

Jasmine,

Tell me abt it, I'm also like Justin's human pacifier. Sometimes I wake up in the morning with my pyjamas half buttoned cos forget to button up after Justin's last latch. He also wake up a few times at night and only latching on will soothe him back.

hi Cynthia..

yap yap.. MMR at both 15th & 18th month.. think can check their health booklet.. usually the compulsory ones will be listed there..

hi leobbsmom..

i used to bring zorian to see dr koh.. queeue is terrible.. but dun really like the way he handle zorian.. so stop going to see him..

hi jasmine..

same here.. zorian dun really sleep through.. cry till eyes come out if he sleeps in his cot.. he wants to sleep between me and hubby.. even in our bed, he will still cry like got nightmare.. so still got up a few times..

re: chicken pox jab
-------------
1) Cynthia - No.
5)HoneyB - Yes, will take when she has cleared her runny nose
6)Erin - Most prob yes. Still thinking abt it cos the supervisor at the childcare centre advised me to let Kayden have the jab. says even if he has it, he'll recover faster. Somemore, dun have to worry abt shingles.
7)Amy - No unless putting her in playgroup next year.

Racoon,
Yes I also heard that the MMR vaccine is not so good but no choice leh, this one is complusory, but imagine what the full blown could bring about..

Anyway vaccination is really up to individual huh, mummies, no stress no stress :")