(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

Hi, catherine

i also poke hole but she will drink some & then refues to lie down to drink, will crawl abt.. need mummy to chase after her & feed her milk while she playing.... so tired

now wat i am worried abt is how to teach our babies not to do something when we say no...coz jay will throw temper when i say no to him...eg he wan to stand up on our bed and go touch the bed frame and its dirty etc...so i will scold him in a firm and "angry" voice and he will look at me and then try again in a while...i beat his hands etc and scold him again, he will start crying and i juz ignore him and he will crawl to his daddy and wants his daddy to carry him...i will juz stare hard at him and he will cry harder..sigh...sometimes when he start this in the car when i tell him not to do something, the crying can be rather frustrating when his daddy is driving...or when i beat him n say no, he will still continue trying n trying n doing the things i say cant till i beat him till he cry or i use angry voice on him n then finally he will stop n cry n cry...aiyo, really dun noe wat to do abt it leh...

kelly,
ya man!! tell me abt it...he will walk to the study room and start pulling his books from the shelf onto the floor and when he gets bored, he will move on to ano place and start pulling heavier items...so scare the item will fall onto him n hurt him...n when we refuse to let him g down and walk, he will struggle and fuss and fuss....distract him wif toys only work for a while...now i am more concern abt how to teach him to understand when i say no...he is super stubborn...

hi, augbaby

me too also worried how to teach baby on things that they should not do..... Jia Hui loves to play with switch.... loves to poke her finger on the switch.... said no in a harsh voice but she just ignore... spank her hand very hands but she still continue to do it.... realy dont know what to do.... she also loves to stand up on bed & touch the bed frame ... no matter how i scold or spank, she will not cry one lei....think she is too thick skinned... but one sound from daddy, she will stop.... so think she scared of daddy but sometime effective sometime dont....

recently, she keeps putting her hand into mouth, asked her not to do it, she more she does it lor... think she purposely one lor....haiz

think I'm more relaxed than my MIL when it comes to discipline. My MIL everything also won't let Justin touch and he will fuss. Maybe I was tired of pulling his hands aways and have him repeatedly doing it again, I turn it into a learning session with him instead.

E.g/ He likes to press the switch to on the lights, i will let him try and see the effect of the lights turning on as a result of his pressing the switch. He will look amazed. Now when i'm home and I carry him, he will help me switch on the lights for the bathroom for me cos he knows I want to bathe.

He likes to turn the knobs on his daddy's hi-fi, i will let him feel the shape of the knob and say its "circle". When he press the turn on button and u see the word "Loading" flashing by, he gets excited and I'll tell him that he has switched on the hi-fi and he can now play his CD. In a way teaching him cause and effect.

He love to meddle with the remote control, i let him to fiddle till he knows which button turns on the TV and I will test him which one is for the fan, which one is for the TV, he somehow knows lor.

Maybe I really tired of banning him from this and that and have him cry the hearts out cos I know he is just curious and not being naughty, I join in the fun...hehehehe

Only things like touching the fan and the powerpoint and going into the kitchen, I will pull his hands away and say with a firm "No".

racoon,
ya if things that dun reali harm him, i dun mind he doing it and will actually teach him like the way u do..but it is those things he shld not that he still wants to that i will say no and beat his hands...like using his legs to kick the aircon in the car when we r sitting behind in the seats...he will like slide down halfway, half lying on the seat n wif his backside dangling off n use his legs to kick the aircon...n its dangerous coz how to hold on to him properly when we r in the car coz we haven gotten a car seat yet for him...i smack his legs, he still try n try again till i use a harsh tone on him n smack his legs that he started crying n crying... i dun wan him to become a spolited brat next time n throw temper when he cant get his ways..

jesline,
jay also like his skin very thick one..beat him till his skin reddish sometimes n he will still try it again n again..reali headache...

So many pics to see..guess all the mummies here hv been busy with the babies Bday Bash.

Am on MC today..hope i can recover in time for Gen party this Sun.

White_lady - Hw much did u pay for the cake ? I wanted something like dat..but not cheap so in the end ended up choosing Polar sesame street cake since we got lobang.

Erin / Leia - finally hv time to upload the pic of the bday bash. You may want to see it in http://preciousgen.multiply.com

MH,
Hee hee...i think u got leia boy name wrong...his name is jadon...not kayden...in 1 of the pic wif Gen and jadon in strollers...

mrs chng, sorry for late response, coz i was on MC yesterday..

for the cheese, i hv not tried it yet, coz never hv the chance, and mom is quite skeptical abt ang moh food.. i wanted her to cook pasta, she dowan.. maybe i will do it once for her to see.. =)

happy hols tomomo to all! hv a good rest n bonding time esp those FTWM like me!

Augbaby/erin/kRis/HoneyB/cecelia,
Thanks! I like that bike also. I bot it from Toys r us at $99. In fact I am looking one for Megan's BD but too bad no gal gal one. This one too boyish for her liao!

Erin,
Jay can walk but not very steady yet. Now he can walk from one end of the living hall to the other end and to bedroom. But sometimes he likes to walk fast fast lo, so easily fall down. So I still put my hand at the side standby in case he fall lo.

augbaby/Jesline,
YES, my Jay also like to throw things! He will throw all the things out of his playyard. So nowdays I will not pick up the toys if he thrown out, will tell him 'no more' if you throw, but yet. . . HE STILL THROW!!! ai. . . dunno how to deal with him also. Nowdays, when he wants a thing he will just cry till he has it. Damn jialat. Hard to teach le. He also likes to put his fingers into his mouth, ask not to he lagi do!!! I beat his palm till my hand so painful but he still like no rasa one. sign. . .

Jesline/Catherine,
you can buy pigeon's mug mug cup which come with straw. Jay also refuse to drink or drink lesser milk nowadays.

Anyone know where can we buy the teats hole maker?

cocomo,
dun buy the hole maker the hole make holes is much bigger the the baby normal holes my girl not use to it and she will get choke. i just use needle and poke

Hi, cocomo/catherine

U can buy the teats hole maker from Kiddy Palace.. the brand is Farlin....

i tried to poke with needle but still cannot so used the teat maker... the hole quite big... so when hold bottle upside down, the water will drip very fast... but so far, baby is ok with it.....

augbaby - Ya i realised that..i hv changed it soon after i post it up..guess u r pretty fast in viewing it. Tink Kayden is Erin's baby hehe...

white_lady - Dats is qte cheap leh...wasted i hv placed my order liao

Cocomo,
I also used needles to poke holes on the teats, no point buying the teats hole maker cos our babies will be outgrowing the drinking from milk bottle soon...I used the needle to poke serveral small holes, quite effective.

Recently I noticed that my girl likes to dig her nose, any babies also digging nose? Not sure where she learnt that from since we don't dig our nose in public. Seems to me that she has discovered she can poke her little fingers into her nose and she enjoys doing that but look ugly loh...

HoneyB,
not to worry...jay also does that for a period of time..not reali digging his nose but more like putting his finger into his nose...n the more we tell him not to do it, the more he does it...so wat we do is ignore it and then after a while he gets bored of it n dun do it anymore liao...he does a lot of funny things one lah...n if we laugh n give him attention, the more he will repeat it...

Happy national day to all mummies n babies..haha..will be bringing jay for a swim tom since its a hol...yeah...

Jesline, Catherine,
DD oso drink lesser n lesser milk. In the end i change her milk to gain (currently she is on similac follow on). She polish off v fast. I was thinking is it bcos follow on milk is kinda bland for her.

Cat, Jesline, Handy,
Aiyoh me so ku...ku... din noe there was the teat hole maker. Usually i use the traditional tool... needle.

Cecelia,
My DD last week also dunnoe why drink lesser milk she drink like 4oz the she push away then i try to force her have even put in her mouth she make noise and cry like the milk is killing her.

But after tat i poke the holes with the needle i think she is ok liao and manage to drink 180ml of milk.

You are not kuku lar cause the hole maker still not up to standard thats why not every brand have it only farlin have it. but the hold make the smallest hole also quite big so i felt no point having it. i bought it when my girl is 3-4mths old. till now we keep trying to let her get use to bigger hole but she dun like she will throw away the bottle.

hi jesline/cocomo/augbaby,

Zorian also enjoys throwing things out from his cot, high chair and baby tub.. then he will scream non stop till someone pick it up for him again.. for me, usually i only pick up once.. then i dun bother and tell him that once he throw, no more.. but he still throw.. cant stand him.. sometimes i will just simply ignore him and tahan his screaming.. after a while, he forget about it and throw other things.. sigh..

Hi honeyB..

zorian is not poking his nose but he love to use his fingers to poke our nose holes.. cant stand him.. think he find that very funny cos he will always laugh after poking a few times..

Hi mommies..

Zorian happens to be the opposite.. he start drinking lots of milk for the past one week..

Happy National Day to all mommies & babies.... enjoy yourself..

Hi Augbaby

Crisann also the same. Throw and wanted us to pick up for her. Think this is normal for them leh.

Hi HoneyB

Was busy too so have no time to download. Will send to u once I download. Ya lor so touch. The einvite is so nice leh.

MH ,

ya , the price is ok , from pine garden , a 4kg cake....

Today is my son birthday , waiting for my hubby to come home and bring us go dinner ... haha

Hi racoon,
I've tried wat u did with the switches and he's amazed with the effects. he'll want to switch on and off the lights, lift button and ceiling fan. He also love to meddle with the remote control. typical male species. kept changing the channels and refused to let go off the remote.

My problem is that it's difficult to get him to stop doing certain acts (e.g. pressing the lift button & dropping things on the floor and getting me to pick it up). Can advise me?

Hi White lady,
Happy Birthday to Raygen.

Hi MH,
thanks for posting the pics. hope u manage to get Gen something she likes with the voucher. so sorry abt not being able to buy the gift that Gen likes.

Hi augbaby,
Kayden also doesn't cry even though i'll smack his hand and tell him sternly not to do it. i dun want him to be a spoiled brat too. how ah?

hi all mummies,
guess we all encounter the same problem..Augbaby, my girl too... walk everywhere she can...even a tiny space behind the sofa also wan to try to squeeze in, like to take out one piece by one piece(paper,book,toy,clothing) frm the drawer .. *faint*..she on seeing me keeping her toys nicely in her toy box, she will walk towards the box and took every toy out..after that still can grin at me.. sometimes give her a 'stern NO', she will very auto walk fast twds me and drop her head on me... then pat pat me.. aiyo aiyo, dunno how to teach ley.. haha...

hi handi,
u wanna buy shoo shoos? piyo was telling me that it's good so i bought a pair from mothercare the week before and realised that the quality is good. was flipping through the kkjuniorsclub newsletter just now and realised that i can get 15% off for the shoes from tykesntots.com. if u r interested, can pm me by tmr cos i want to get another pair.

Hi Jesline..

saw Jia Hui's pacificer chain.. same as Zorian's one.. but his is yellow in color instead... bought by his grandfather.. both love to play balls and have the same pacificer chain.. keeke...

honeyb & catherine,
about poking holes, about how many small holes u add on?
my boy oso started to drink less. i got the hole puncher as part of the gifts from my friends, and yes, the hole is very huge! my boy couldnt drink. the milk spilt all over. so i spoilt 2 teats like this. sigh

augbaby & doris,
wow i have been waiting and waiting for my boy to start walking :p but i guess i can wait a little longer... already all the crawling around is tiring me hahaha

erin,
my boy oso not much reaction when i raise my voice and beat his hand.. he will stop sit back, look around and try again - hiaz

i like shoo shoos alot, they are very good! my boy has 2 pairs now. i heard they can where for pretty long...

Justin is also very stubborn, his Daddy says he got "character"....faint. He does drop things on the floor, but he will pick it up if he's interested, if not he will move on and I'll pick up later. But I will still repeat to him each time "pick it up". He's more into the standing up while in his feeding chair which is making his feeding more and more challenging for us. Somebody always have to stand by and make him sit back when he stands up.

He just started to walk unassissted so he's been busy walking around the house the whole day. Sometimes we hold one if his hand, sometimes we just let go. Like Augbaby, I also scared he fall down so have to follow him with hands anytime ready to catch him if he does fall. Its very tiring indeed esepcially for our backs. Yesterday, he was walking round and round the dining table and playing hide and seek with us.

erin,
ya i juz received the shoo shoo shoes i bought brand new from the want to sell forum and let jay wore it yest and its reali gd n comfy...gd buy...he can walk comfortably in it...but think i juz stick to 1 first coz i scare his feet grow v fast coz the size i bought for him is XL which i think is the largest liao...after wearing socks, think there is juz nice space infront of the shoes so guess XL is just nice for him...dunno where his feet size is so large too...

Justin owns a pair of shoo shoes b4 but I found it too tight around the ankles for him, maybe Justin got thick ankles. He takes bobux better which is more comfy around the ankles and that was his first pair. But i like shoo shoes design better than bobux.

But now, I buy him bubblegummers which is cheaper cos he has big feet too and outgrow his shoes very fast.

I also having problem feeding Crisann during her meal now. She won't want to sit and wanted to walk around. How I scold her she just don't care. Force her to sit she will just cry. Really don't know how to teach her. Mummies any advise.

Brought her a pair of shoe from Colette for her 1st birthday. But is too big for her. So brought her a pair of Osh Gosh. Cos she already started to walk so think is gd to have a pair of walking shoe.

Hi, Kriz

hee hee.... looks like both Jia Hui & Zorian had similar likes....

i bought the pacifer chain for her cos she likes to put her piyo piyo chain into her mouth... think quite dangerous as the clip is a metal one & scared it will come off one day .... so bought the blue kolar bear one......

Hi crisann,
thanks. will go and get it later as i'm not working today. still not feeling well. headache and bodyaches came back yesterday. haiz... luckily, my parents are helping to look after Kayden today.

i also bought colette but it's too big for him presently. me into buying shoes for K recently even though he can't walk yet.

saw the osh kosh shoes for girls. so sweet. told my hb i would buy if i have a girl.

crisann,
osh kosh shoes where did u buy them for yr girl ah? i dun noe if i shld invest in a harder soles shoes coz my SIL bought a pair of proper adidas shoes for jay for his bday and when we let him wear them, he like dunno how to lift his legs n walk..i think the soles are a little too hard....

got any recommendations for brands that is suitable for our bb who are learning to walk now ah? coz still not totally steady but can walk..coz i wan to get ano pair that is not too exp...

Hi erin00

No problem. So gd hor long wkend. better rest more. That time i also like that. Take 3 wks to recover. Hope u get well soon.

Hehehe. I also brought a total of 3 pairs liao. But only Osh Gosh can wear now. Other are too big for her.

Crisann is also sick. Having flu and cough. Every month she will be sick once leh. How to improve her immune system. Any idea?

Hi crisann,
not flu leh but more of bodyache. hope will recover soon. can't really rest cos still have to mark. haiz... if i dun mark today, then have to do over the weekend.

augbaby,

I got a pair of something like sneakers from bubblegummers abt $19+ for Justin, very flexible soles and he can walk well in it. Problem is its very easy for Justin to rub it off so it kept falling out.

I bought his earlier shoes by Happy Kids from the BP at abt $13 a pair, like those Robeez or bobuz kind, very soft soles, but now his legs outgrew them liao.

Erin,
Planning for 2nd 1???

Crisann,
Usually i play with her while makan cos its the way to entertain n bonding with her. Of course, after that got lots of things to wash lor (eating utensils n whatever toys that we play).

Racoon,
ur boy oso gt thick ankle, my gal oso got. Aiyoh so troublesome finding shoe for her....

Hi Jesline..

Yeah lor.. haahaa.. with this, zorian still loves to bite his kolar bear sometimes.. but at least it is plastic.. end up his top will be wet...

Hi mommies..

look like lots of babies have started to walk.. that is nice..

Hi erin..

take care and rest well... remember to take med so can recover fast fast and play with Kayden..

Hi Crisann..

same same here.. zorian also fall sick at least once a month.. see doc and eat med till he scare.. sigh..

Hi Augbaby

Brought from Vivo city. Think he stil not use to wearing shoe. Just take sometime for him to get use.

Hi Cecilia

She don't want to play. She just want to walk around the kitchen or living hall. She can't sit for 10 mins.

Hi Kris

Don't know why they like that hor.