(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

honeyB,
yes yes...i love that as well...so sweet and nice wif all the little flowers....i was like wow...these clothes r so nice and i also like the white gap one too...heehee...so excited that i called my hubby after i saw the clothes u pass to me...:p

Cecelia,
So you steam it before serving, you don't add it together with the porridge to cook for a while? I usually boil it for a while cos I lazy mum, one cooker to boil and the other cooker to steam the fish, then I'll mesh them up before mixing with the porridge, save time hee

augbaby,
don't get too excited hee, your due date is next month yah. next time I can still pass on to you. Both my sister-in-laws' babies are Jan babies, about 5 months younger than Hannah but I realized that they are catching up with her in terms of size and most clothes that I passed to them they can only wear for a month at most...

honeyb,

i lagi more lazy, i use a 2 tier electric steamer and i 'll put the fish to steam in the lower tier for 15 min, and add the vegey (broccoli or spinach + cauliflower + + green pea + tofu) to steam in the top tier when 5 min has passed so by the time 15 min is up, everything is ready to be meshed and served.

For the harder ones like carrot, pumpkin or swett potato, i'll throw into the slow cooker 1 hr before meal time so it'll be soft and can be mashed when served.

Then I'll mix all the steam foods above into the porridge just b4 serving.

HoneyB,
hee hee...nah my edd is actually 22 oct but doc say bb will arrive earlier maybe early oct as jay is born 2wks+ earlier lor..haha...but pp all say my tummy super big leh..sob sob..like going to deliver anytime...

honeyB, you dun use slow cooker for the porridge meh? i usually boil the rice on stove until it's expanded, then i out it into the slow cooker. then add the ikan bilis powder for flavoring.

then add brocoli when almost time to feed. the stem will go down much earlier la.. for meat tat i add, sometimes it's lean meat, sometimes it's fish..

our bbs is old enuff to explore more food now, so happy for them!

any mommies can share wat type or brand if cereal for bb? i wanna go and get, maybe shld start adding flavors to my girl's menu... =P

augbb, i'm gonna try avacado on my girl, see if she likes it too.

leobbsmom,
how is yr girl?? Ya try avocado...it one of the 1st food i tried wif jay and he loves it lor...been eating avocado for a long time liao he...

Racoon,
Haa I'll probably do that too if I have a multi tier steamer...

Augbaby,
yes, your tummy sure looks big, like almost due already, they say second pregnancy will have bigger tummy maybe thats why.

Leobbsmom,
Yes I do have a slow cooker, I put the rice into the cooker from the start leh and after about 2 hours (the rice soft & expanded already), I will add in the veg and fish. If its carrot or pumpkin, sometimes I throw in together with the uncook rice and let them cook slowly if I'm busy.

mummies who letting yr bb try avocado...unless u buy those already ripe one hor, if not think the avocado will take a few days to ripen leh...so if u wan to feed straight, rem to buy those whose skin is very dark brown kind or almost black..but see that it does not hav bruises..coz those bright green colour one means not ripe n cant be feed..also to test if it is ripe, use yr whole hand n squeeze gently and u r kind of feel the flesh separating from the skin n it shld feel soft...hope this helps...

honeyB
ya lor...i also heard 2nd pregnancy tummy bigger..but my gynae say my tummy not too big leh n bb at 27wks is slightly over 1kg only..average weight lor...

augbb, my Shervonn is 1 day older than Jay. rmb tat u checked in TMC 1 day after me? =P

honeyB, i prefer to cook the rice on stove first, it's faster tat way. and i tot slow cooker is supposed to simmer food, rite? =P coz i also put brown rice in, so must cook it first lor.. =)

leobbsmom,
yes, if add in brown rice will take longer unless you soak the brown rice first. What my mum do is she will wash the whole pack of brown rice first, then sun them to dry before grinding them into smaller pieces and store, this way it will cook faster and also easier to prepare.

whitelady,
mylar are those "foil" balloons.
helium is the gas used to fill the balloons (to make them float).

leia,
it's not frm The Pattisier.
i'll PM you the contact.

honeyb,
the lollies are actually Marshmellows...all snapped up by my cousins/gf...cos there were only 3 toddlers (including gwen).

hi piyo,
i thnk it's the same baker...pls send me the pics cos i remember her taking so many shots.
mine was 2kg, delivery separate charges.
i had 43 guests, in the end, there were leftover cake to bring back.
anyway, i dun like such cakes cos it's dry and there's no filling. i ordered only for its aesthetic value!!

Cecelia,
yes..i bot frm there. they're the local distributor...anyway it's frm m'sia.

augbb, hahahaha!!! think i read too fast! =P her fever is gone, so no more fear abt dengue. running nose and cough still quite serious, so still cranky! >_<

honeyB, oh u ground the brown rice? i dunno how to grind to smaller pieces leh, grind means powder form liao ma, rite?

hi everyone..
oooh the topic now is food! yummy..
i have to admit now i am been not working for almost 1 over month, i havent been a good mummy to prepare all sorts of diff food for my boy.
i think u al working mums are very onz!
i was even going to ask if its ok to substitute one meal with cereal esp when going out, cuz i find its hard to pack porridge :p
infact on days when i cant do marketing i really worry what to put in his meals, cuz porridge dun seem as nutritious as some of the cereals and fruits i can give him.

hi butter8,

during weekday lunch, my girl will have her porridge (with diff ingredients everyday).

u dun have to feel bad abt not preparing meals when u're out, cos i'm also lazy to do that on weekends when we're out.
since my girl turned 10mths, we've introduced many adult food to her. so whenever we bring her out..and even for weekday dinner at home, she'll get to eat most of the food that we're eating.
1) rice + soup (seafood, fish, bittergourd, black chicken, BakKutTeh, miso, etc)
2) beehoon, mee tai mak, kway teow
3) chawanmushi, durian, cheese, yoghurt
4) chee cheong fun, chwee kueh (w/o chai-po)
5) steamed fish, tofu, scrambled eggs
and many many others.
besides these, we still give her 180ml milk 4 times daily.

augustmum,
Lollipop deco - I oso saw from my hubby minimart, some disney character lollipop like tigger, mickey n minnie mouse. Going to ask him to bring home some so that can match with the 1 i bought from BIY.
That day only bought come deco for my gal only as for her bday will deco myself. Bt cos me oso look look n c c what other thing that they have take me abt 1 hr ke..ke..

Mrs Chng,
For me, I soak brocolli with salt water for abt 10-15 min thereafter wash it few times with water before i steam.

HoneyB,
My way is the same lazy way as racoon.

Racoon,
HIGH5.... Not lazy lar we efficient mah...

Cereal,
D u use special cereal for bb? what brand?

Sian lei... i dun think i be able to get the butterfly lollipop on time cos new stocks only come aft my gal bday.... sob... sob..

cecelia,

I also saw the disney character lollipops at NTUC Bishan. Was wondering why so cheap.

So, when can we see pics of the birthday cake? Very curious. Really admire those who bake their own birthday cakes.

hi hi.. mummys.. sorry to interup abit..

i was wondering if someone can help me to buy something from kidzloft.. cos baby's 1st birthday have 50% discount.

Anyone going there?!

Thanks a zillion

another questions leh..

Cheers.. where did you order the cake har?! is so nice! tot of ordering for my baby coming 2nd birthday in sept

cecelia,
i give my girl all sorts of cereals, esp nestle the have different ingrediant chicken, fruits ikan bills flavours. i even mix with heiz cereal

Hi leobbsmom,
Happy belated 1st birthday to Shervonn! Din realise that she was born on the same day as kayden. Hope she enjoyed her day.

Hi augbaby,
Happy birthday to Jayden! Wishing him that he'll be happy and healthy all the time. Guess he must have a great birthday celebration yesterday.

augustmum,
I din bake my gal bdae cake. Got it from the vegetarian cake shop. Ask them to do it plain (only with icing). Thereafter deco myself. Much more exp lei. We got no choice cos MIL vegetarian. We oredy order non veg buffet. If everything non veg, i predict there will be WW III on my DD birthday

Went for 2hr foto shoot at Foto U with David Lim as photographer last Saturday. His skills is excellent and he knows just what to do to trigger Jadon to laugh and cackle for the shots and he taught that to us. Very innovative!

We also took some family shots and somehow, I find that it's easier to smile -naturally- this time round compared to when I was taking my wedding shots.

Overall, it was a very fun but tiring experience. We were laughing and singing like crazy people who've just escaped from mad house. Total madness!

Anyway, the 2hr foto shoot is just about right cos by the end of the session, Jadon was tired out and slept through while we were having lunch in a somewhat stuffy coffeshop at Katong - rare! I think babies can only tahan high key activities for about 2hrs+. So no point having a half a day session. We have about 130+ fotos from the shoot, and some very nice pics of the boy in the buff.

leia,
I went yesterday too.
Have lots of fun. He really have excellent skills. My girl likes to play with him and he carry her my girl wont let go of him haha so funny... even we try to tell my girl mummy bao bao she also dun want.

she was exhausted and sleep in the taxi on the way back to my mum's plc.

I also got 130+ photos hehe...show u all one of the pic taken very nice and sweet
911917.jpg

Hi leobbsmom & erin00

Happy Belated Birthday to Shervonn & Kayden.

Hi Augbaby

Happy Birthday to Jayden.

Hi Catherine

The pic taken is so nice and sweet.

good day mommies, thanks for your well-wishes! =)
Shervonn had a great time at the party thou she was still feeling under weather. =P

i managed to get the alphabet pasta, babybel cheese and organic apple cinnamon cheerios all at storage after her party ended! she loves the cheerios!! i brought some to church for her, and shared with other bbs there. it was very popular! =P

as for the babybel cheese, it looks like this...
LAUGHING COW, MINI BABYBEL 5Pieces, 110G
912073.jpg

i understood there is a red layer of wax after u peel off the wrapping. there is a string tat can help cut open half the cheese.

hope this helps..

any mummies going to kidzloft this month to be entitled for 50% discounts on bb items? i need to buy two safety gates, my gal always makes me worried, especially she loves to enter bathroom and washing area. any mummies can help me?

hi leobbsmom,
mine's just the opposite. kayden was full of energy yesterday. wanted to play cos his cousins were there. i was the one who's not feeling well. was sick since friday and the medicine made me so drowsy. luckily, i din invite a lot of ppl.

hi catherine,
ur gal looks so sweet.

hi leia,
do post some of jadon's photos. am sure he'll look adorable.

hi whitelady,
Raygen seemed to have a wonderful time at his birthday. He looks so cute with the cream on his cheek. did he enjoy the cake? kayden din. took one mouth and reject the rest. he sure had a lot of presents.

hi handi,
i din get a 2-tier cake. i ordered 1 from prima deli and the other from swensons cos i had his birthday celebrations at separate places (one at my own place and the other at my mum's place).

my little princess on Sat...with cream on her face, courtesy of her daDDy!
912463.jpg

she opened up all her gifts yesterday, her actual b'day! and she loves this McQueen sports car!
912464.jpg

catherine,

Saw the fotos you put up in your blog. Nice!

My boy absolutely hates it in the blue Ikea chair. He felt v enclosed and just want to get out of it. Din take any pics in that one though I really like that chair. :D

erin,

Will post a pic or two tonight.

erin00 ,

i didnt let him try alot of the cake ... what is on his face is the masmallow , ha ha ....

Crisann ,

the cake nice ah ? i was expecting something nicer .. so sad to see the cake when it arrive ! ha ha