(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

Hi Catherine24

My mum brought the rice specially to cook porridge 1. She depend on mood 1. We do add ikan bilis also leh.

racoon,
Guess we should only worry if our babies are eating all these stuffs and not growing. I also mashed green peas for my girl once but I think it taste horrible. My girl didn't complain, she gave me a funny look and finished up and when I tried it, I almost wanted to throw up haa... :")

re: food
kayden loves porridge with pumpkin as well. he also likes apples, bread, biscuits and plain white rice.

re: porridge making
i'll prepare stock 1st. then dump in the stock with the rice, pumpkin, potato (or any other veg) and meat/fish. how much he takes will depend on his mood.

racoon,
me same as you leh, I also cook the rice in the slow cooker first sometimes together with pork then around an hour before serving, I will throw in whatever veg or fish that needs to go in. For broccoli, what I did is to boil it for about 3 mins then cut it up before throwing into the slow cooker, comes out quite ok, won't turn dark green.

My pasta recipe

* 1 fresh tomato
(you can puree it if you have a blender, but since i don't, i normally just use the centre portions of the tomato which is softer and easier to chop up into v tiny pieces/juice. i don't use can tomato puree cos more salt and preservatives)

* pasta 15-20g

* cheese (i use normal grated parmesan. nvr quite bother abt salt content cos only use sparingly)

* 2 brocolli florets

Boil pasta in saucepan for 1/2hr till it's real soft. Separately boil/steam brocolli florets and chop pieces after cooked. When pasta nearly cooked, heat up tomato in saucepan. Add brocolli, pasta and cheese. Stir till cheese melt (which is v fast) and serve.

Leia,
Does that mean you serve the pasta dry? I supposed you feed the tomato with the seeds too right? I heard babies at this stage won't be able to digest seeds so I actually digged them out before serving my girl, is it ok to give them?

Leia,
thks for the recipe will go try out during weekend. You used ABC pasta? and big or small tomato?

honeyb,
I gif minced pork and chicken so far..

augbb,
snow peas not those frozen peas.. it looks a bit like those peas we eat in jap rest but not exactly like that.. see can find pic show you

racoon,
I cook almost the same way as you.. egg yolk also mash b4 serving..i think their diet quite balanced liao lah

happy 1st birthday to crisann & jayden!!!

and all august babies...wishing all of you great health and happiness!

celebrated gwen's last sunday, the cake pictures taken under 2 lightings (top-tier purple, bottom-tier pink)

907917.jpg
907918.jpg

some pix taken during the celebration

enjoying the lollypop
907934.jpg

clapping along when singing bday song
907935.jpg

decorated the place with helium balloons,buntings,spirals
907936.jpg

Augbaby,

I give General Mills Cheerios (yellow box) . You could give yr baby when he knows how to chew.

See their site:

http://www.cheerios.com

BTW, that's the only one I give. Other brands, I boycott. It's a very big box so you could actually share with other mommies who live or work near you. Could be found in cold storage and marketplace, the more upmarket supermart. Sold out very fast.

HoneyB,

I never dig the seeds out from the tomato. I guess you can do it if you want to. Kiwi also have seeds and I give him kiwi. So far so good.

The pasta is not dry cos the tomato "puree" acts as a bit of a sauce. Since I don't put a lot of tomato, it's not v saucy. It just coats the pasta nicely and makes it damp and not so dry.

piyo,

I don't use ABC pasta cos I can't find it. Anyway, there's a lot of tiny pasta in the market. Eg. couscous and those little star shaped pasta purchased from Jasons or Cold Storage. Do a google or wikipedia search and you'll know.

I use normal tomato. I think any kind shld be fine lah.

On pasta recipe...

If your bbs have started on minced pork (mine haven't..), can add that to your tomato too to make bolognaise. Shiok! :D

cheers,

Your cake is v pretty and sweet (literally... looking at the amt of lollipops on the cake
)! From the Pattisier?

Leia,
I see, will try out your recipe this weekend and feed her the seeds, tomato is abit sour and my girl likes it very much.

I love that cake very pretty, can I check is the lollipop like those normal hard candy or the soft type?

HI cheers,
Nice cake! so qiao! I think we both used the same baker cos she sent me a pic of this birthday cake just early this week! so it's yours!! is yours 3kg? $150? does it include delivery? btw, how many pax did your cake serve? gwen looks so happy clapping her hands!

Do you want another pic of your cake to keep? I can fwd to you

Hi leia,
Thanks! will go try one of the weekends

Hi augustmum,
do you serve the cheerios as snacks or as breakfast? do you add milk or serve plain? any reasons you boycott other brands?

piyo,

I serve cheerios as snack, without milk. Can be heaty due to the iron component so must give water and fruits to baby too.

Comparing to other baby snacks available, cheerios is healthier.

The other brand of cheerios is from Nestle. I boycott Nestle due to their history. Go and find out their history.

piyo,
thanks dearie for finding the pics for me for the snow peas...so i suppose u cook the entire thing by steaming n then blend or maybe in yr case, juz throw it into the slow cooker? or do u juz use the seeds alone? how abt long beans? its similiar to french beans hor, juz longer rite?

can we now give our babies french beans too ah?

Augustmum,
how do we know if our bb can reali chew already? coz normal biscuits, jay bite n happily eat but if i give him apple which he bite off himself, sometimes i still seeing the small apple bit in his mouth n i worry if he will choke on it n usually take it out..but while the apple is in his mouth, i can see him like making the chewing motion but the apple bit still like same size leh...

leia,
wow..sounds yummy yr pasta dish..okie i will try it 1 of the wkends coz this wkends be bz...haha....so u juz buy those normal big ripe tomatoes rite? N the cheese u use is those packaged one n not those fresh one sold in the eg cold storage rite?

augbaby,

Yes, I use normal tomato. I use the normal packaged cheese but of cos, if you're very concerned about salt content, etc etc, you can use whatever cheese appropriate lor.

augbb,

one of my fren recommended the "babybel" cheese for babies. Its red in packaging and shaped like a flat round cushion, can be found at cold storage

anyone also noe if we can sautee meat in olive oil etc to cook like spaghetti for our bb ah? how abt a little onion?? saw a friend friend cooking it this way...

augbb,

I thought frenh bean (the short and firm) and the long chinese bean (used in our curry mixed vegey) all belong to the category of green bean?

racoon,
haha..ya lor...i feel that jay porridge is like very boring as compared to u all one leh...feel so bad...so time to do something abt it and maybe generate a menu for my maid to cook for jay lor..keke..surf wholesomebb food website n it seems after 1 yr old most veggies n fruits our bb can eat liao...like blueberries, kiwi etc..so going to let jay try different fruits n morer veggies..coz he hardly take veggies unless i do frozen brocolic puree for him leh...
sigh...yr maid cook for justin?

Darn...it is time like this that i wish i am SAHM or at least work part time..then i can prepare food for jay and give him more variety...
sigh..the woes of a FTWM...my mum n miad dun noe how to give variety one..

augbb,

I gave my maid some basic instructions to cook lor, like alternate the different categories of food by day according to the availability in the fridge, and steam this, puree that. She quite smart so no prob. Once Justin never poo for 1 day,s he got worried and add a lot of sweet potato for his porridge the next day adn he pooed more. SHe even know how to add 1/4 tspoon of flaxseed to his bfast porridge. She also now can tell me Justin's poos stinks if he eat egg that day so i think i can rest assured liao.

I shd try not to add too much pattern if not scared she confused. But when i want to try new things, i'll be in the kitchen instead of her.

My MIL dun know how to give variety leh. She also cook all the vegey very long until no nutrients liao. So its easier to give maid instructions than to give MIL.

I'm like u, wish to be a SAHM sometimes so i can be in charge of his meals. It feels good to know u r feeding ur baby all the nutritious food. Altho my maid can do it, but it feels good to do it personally for ur baby cos we'll add in that additional teaspoon of love in it....hehe

<blockquote><hr size=0><!-quote-!><font size=1>quote:</font>

Anyone so bo liao as to create email account/s for your babies with their names?
I've "choped" 3 for my boy on gmail and yahoo liao :p<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>
<font face="Verdana">Wah ha ha Leia ... Me too!!!
Initially it was with gmail but when Jul came along, his name was used by a French so now I created the accounts over at Hotmail since they allow fullstop as one of the characters now.</font>

honeyB,
the bb clothes u pass to me for my bb girl are so cute n nice...Hee hee...tks dearie!!!! Muacks...where do u usually shop for hannah clothes ah...so i know where to go next time...*wink wink*...

HoneyB,

Actually, I'm still new into baking. Too paiseh to share recipes. Anyway, you could try the following site...

http://www.cupcakefun.com/

Augbaby,

yeap, it's the toasted whole grain oat cereals. The babies at the moment are chewing using their gums so biscuits, cereals, soft fruits like papaya, kiwi, banana etc should be fine for teaching them to chew. Think apple is still a bit hard, unless you cook it.

augbaby,
Glad you like those baby clothes, the little white flower dress very pretty hor, I love that so much but was thinking no point keeping cos white will turn yellow, my niece cannot fit hopefully your girl can fit else I'll be very sim tia :")

Ha, I don't have a particular place to shop lah, most of the time its my sister who will buy clothes for Hannah, she adores her little niece and is a shopaholic herself plus she travels around the world thus my girl's clothes is from everywhere, I'm happy for my sister to buy more clothes back hee.

Augustmum,
Thanks for the link, will check it out. I like to bake too. I make pineapple tarts and butter cookies for CNY and occasionally cakes but don't know why I always fail at muffins. The 1st time I baked muffins they turned out like rocks, 2nd time they turned out like huat keuh haa, thought maybe I'll try my luck with cupcakes.

Augustmum,
I was at Cold Storage during lunch time and I bought the Cheerios, wah, its really a very big pack huh :")

Sat BJG mummies, if you are going to class tomorrow and you would like to have some of the cheerios for your baby, let me know, I'll be happy to give you some cos its really a very big pack.

Augustmum,
U on baking now... BTW U can buy the decorating from BIY, last saturday went there spend abt 1 hr choosing deco for cake deco ke.. ke... lucky hubby nt with me

Wah, I've learnt a lot just reading about the stuff everyone feeds their babies!
I'm SAHM so sometimes I'm so tired to cook so many different varieties! But the slow cooker idea is very good, tx! - But do I have to steam the veges first before throwing in the cooker? Will it be soft enough if I throw in raw?

Leia - thanks heaps for your pasta recipe! It sure looks like a great, fuss free meal to have.

Cheerios : I love it! Big pack also never mind - I also eat! Sometimes I mix it with the Yoplait baby yogurt, which my girl loves!

Er, what is BIY??

piyo,

replying to ur comment on Justin's blog, i just submit justin's photo using the Adobe Photoshop album and select 1 of the templates available, then fill in the text for the card, they'll allow u to preview the completed design which is when i save as jpg.

Hi Sk,
if you are throwing in green leafy veg, just need to chop it up and mix it with the rice, I normally throw in about 40 mins before serving so that its cooked but not overcooked. If its Brocolli florets, then I'll normally boil it first.

BIY stands for Bake It Yourself :")

HoneyB,
ya the little white dress is very victorian...so nice...cant wait for my little girl to be able to wear it..:p

augbaby,
you can find more of these flowery dresses at Raffles City, I bought that from this little push cart outside the Fox baby shop. :") actually I like the little wachoal dress too, so sexy loh haa...

HoneyB,
For brocolli i just steam cos I find using steam brocolli will b v soft liao.

Leai,
Ur pasta idea good can try on dd this weekend liao.