(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

Something to ask you gals... my mensus just came back ytday, first day since I preggie but the flow is very heavy and I feel very tired lo, then feel milk ss drop also. Is that normal?

SLEEPING THRU THE NIGHT?
hey mommies, lately leon has been taking a nap from 8 - 930pm, then goes to sleep at only midnight, v jialat for me, as i'm starting work tomorrow. any suggestions how to get him to sleep earlier? when we try to make him skip his 8pm nap, he is jus vvv cranky, and will sleep at the same midnight time.

CRAWLING
leon has been climbing the staircase, v cute!

KELLY
Got your msn messages, will give you my account details asap, sorry about the delay. see u on sunday

Feeling all apprehensive about going back to full time work, esp nowadays leon has learnt to be q loving and affectionate, think i'll miss him like crazy ....

BUTTER8 - CONGRADS!

pupsandcups,

can view playtex liners @ united square's mums r us.. and i hear that first few years also selling @ KKH & Paragon.

However, it will be cheaper to buy from www.drugstore.com or other US online store and ship back if people are sharing lah..

cocomo,
i think all the RL being sold iz fake one leh.. i bought from 2 separate BP, but quality varies so much and origin so suspicious... haiz..well you get what you pay for lah..but if someone sell me something that i can buy for like 10 bucks from the street markets in thailand or malaysia.. i will freak out lor.

pupsandcups
sorry didnt c ur MSN message cos husband had 2 shut down e desktop when my wireless router was giving me problems. all e best in ur new endeavour. sms me can? thks!

cocomo
ya, my menses was rather heavy for e 1st two days. i even got lumpy discharge until i was worried. as 4 ss dropping, didnt take note cos i was latching edward then so not too sure.

mummies, anyone rented anything from 'JuzRentIt before?
my jumperoo is due for collection today and i've been calling them the past 2 days & today..but noone is picking up the phone...

what is the procedure? Shouldnt they call me? Or will they just come to my place to pick up the item?

anyone can help out here....?

kelly,
hello I didn't get to log on over weekend. I transfered the funds to you earlier this morning via uob account and emailed you back the details.

Thanks I didn't know Ryan won?! So surprising, there were so many cute baby entries... and Ryan's photo was just a normal one which was not very clear ....

pupsncups,
do you think you can try to either try putting your baby to sleep earlier or try waking him a bit earlier each time, like 10-15min each time? with baby have to be gradual and they can change time...

wow do you just let leon roam all around the house? my mum is always afraid ryan will bump his head on the floor...

babyboy,
usually they will call to arrange pick-up...they dun just turn up i belive... i only rented once..

thanks butter8, finally got hold of them...they will call to schedule pick up but not actually collecting item today..so strange...

butter,

Pups,
jay schedule also change..last time he will sleep at around 9+ and i will carry him for a dream feed at around 11+ n he will sleep thru..but now he dun...sigh...he will sleep only at 11+ to 12 every nite...N if he wan to sleep at 8+ and no choice we cant distract him, then he will sleep even later at 12+..can faint..but no choice..like u say, he wont sleep means he wont...So now from 7pm onwards, my mum will kind of refused to let him sleep and distract him by playing wif him..sometimes it works and sometimes it dun...no choice leh...i am used to it liao..anyway go luck for yr job today...

jay has learn to stand...Hee hee...he has started wanting to stand on our bed and holding on to his cot rails coz his cot is beside our bed..and in his cot, he was holding to the rails and kneeling so on sat we decide to lower the cot to the 3rd level and we left him there in the cot and when we turn back, he was standing already...haha so fast somemore..now he juz wan to stand everywhere he is...tiring for us now coz on bed he will even use us as a prop to stand...here is a pic of jay standing...

746041.jpg

746042.jpg

Kelly,
I am so tired and backache too, long time never experience this liao. Very heavy flow, feel so sian.

Augbaby,
Ha. . . conglates your Jay can stand liao, very fast he will be learning to walk and run. We then lagi bz! Seems like our son just like to give us surprise!

Your Jay gain a lot of weight izit? He's quite chubby now le (compare to one mth ago)!!! Any secret to teach? My Jay still not gaining much weight le

cocomo,
for me that time when mense came, my ss did indeed drop quite a bit..heard it is normal..hmm i dun think jay gain much weight leh..juz brought him to his final hepB jab at polyclinic on sat and at 7mths 3wks, he is 8.6kg at 73cm...is it alot?? he still only taking 5oz/150ml of milk every 3hrs only too and started on cereal for lunch n porridge only leh..not much diff..maybe the angle??Hmm anyway ano pic of him..see got diff..:p

746527.jpg

babyboy,
ya jay knows how to crawl already but sometimes he still will knock his head onto the floor so i only let him crawl on either the playmat or on our bed or playpen..he will crawl awhile and then sit instead...think he dun reali like to crawl much leh..

cocomo...my flow was very heavy for the first 2 mths after getting my menses back...
felt very tired too...

but last month it was much lesser and shorter too...
Take care!!

Pups, HOWs first day at work? its like a first day at school feeling right?and you must be missing Leon like crazy...after 5mths of returning back to work, i still miss keiran like crazy, know how u feel...

wat is yr bb weight now ah? Btw all the jab r done liao..so does it mean we will only keep track of our bb weight n height at 15mths only when they need to go for jab?

help my boy now dun drink much milk

how to get him to drink more? sometimes he just push bottle away or dun suck at all.

he oso dun take his 'dreamtime' feed anymore, if we pick him up about 1am, he will only drink 30ml or so of the 150ml.

he takes only a lil cereal at 9am, maybe if good day he drinks about 120 ml b4 nap at 11am. about 1pm he has cereal and fruit puree no milk for most of day, unless he hungry maybe a bit at 5-6pm b4 a short nap..then dinner is a bit of porridge or cereal again... no milk till sleep at about 9pm (about 120-150ml). so if lucky he takes about only 300ml a day.

Lately he did wake up about 5-6am with his tummy growling really loud, then only he wan to take the milk.

hi augbaby,
jay looks so cute standing in his cot. i'm sure you'll be very bz now...hehe...eventually he'll even lean on you to stand up, that's what denise is doing now. have fun!

fiona,
jay has been using me n hubby as a prop to stand up and lean on us liao even b4 he learns how to pull to stand on his own now..haha...ya i foresee we be bz wif him wanting to stand..like today we brought him to my parents hm and once he is on the bed, he flip to crawl and crawl to the headboard and use my parents bed headboard to pull himself up to reach the fan behind...aiyo....

talking about standing..

weekend, i placed jadelle into her playpen next to my bed (i stop putting her into the cot cos she kept bumping her head on the sides!) and there she was at one corner.. i went ot wash my hands.. next second, i heard her screaming...

i RAN back to my room and there was my girl, face FLAT on my mattress on my bed, legs dangling up in the air, over the playpen rail!
i tell you all.. that incident made my hair turn white manz.. until then, i didn't know she can pull herself to standing lor!

Kaoz... babies change every week!

augbaby/jasmine,
babies seem to change daily, can have additional expression & pattern almost instant after just a nite of sleep...

yah they are now very dangerous person, must watch them closely liao...

hi augbaby,
jay indeed looks chubbier. how to increase his weight huh? kayden has been rejecting the bottle these couple of days. also din want porridge. i just started porridge these few days. sigh... should i give him cereal again?

Kayden is thinner now. His face like sharper leh.

re: standing
He's doing the same as Jay. Will pull himself up by grabbing the sides of the playpen and stand up. also pulling himself up from the sofa.

hi pups,
how's ur 1st day at work?

hi jasmine,
how's the prob with the bp? everything settled? wat happened?

erin,
hmm dun noe if jay is chubby leh..haha..i din do anything special leh...his milk feed is 9am 5oz milk feed, 12pm 3oz, 1.30pm, 1 bowl of rice cereal wif fruit then 2oz milk, 5.30pm porridge then fruit, 6.30pm top up with 3oz milk, then next feed is 10pm liao, 5oz..n 11+ b4 bedtime, abt 2-3oz...not a lot leh..dun noe leh..haha

erin00,

yah.. the lady will refund me my $$, but not before calling me names on the BP thread.. no more with this lady!

augbaby,
how much cereal you give jay to make 1 bowl? i take like 2 adult tablespoon, mix with 60 oz BM/ water, then add in like 1-2 tablespoon of puree (half a cube of carrot/ spinach/ sweet potatos etc.).. but jadelle can never finish leh..

jas,
i started out when jay is 5.5mths with 1 tablespoon of cereal, 1 scoop of FM and then juz mix the water accordingly...n slowly increase over time..so now jay is coming 8mths on friday, he is taking abt 3 adult tablespoons of cereal plus 1 cube of fruits..the tablespoon is not leveled with the cereal but like heaps..not sure if u know wat i mean..i will add in a little fruit into his cereal if he fusses n dun wan to eat already and then will feed him the reminder after he finish his cereal...or if i am feeding him something new, i will add the new veggie into his cereal and after his cereal then i feed him his 1cube of fruits lor..

augbaby,
denise can't finish her cereal nowadays leh...and after that one time of rejection, i've yet to try feeding her porridge again. but she's always interested in my food, and prefers to eat whatever i'm eating and she doesn't mind bread, and those bb finger food.

hmm try to intro slowly again ba..coz when i first started jay also not that keen..think start wif cereal will be more acceptable than porride...Well how abt u try feeding denise wif the nice fruits first and then if she likes it, mix alittle into her cereal and feed her more fruit mix wif a little cereal and then after than mouthfull, more cereal n less fruit..kind of like con her..haha..that is wat i do sometimes..plus i also realise something, for jay when he start making noises and dun wan to eat, i will feed him water straight and then he be better n i will continue..this is wat my mum taught me one coz she observe jay will get thristy when eating lor..so far i fed jay with apple, pear(his favourite), avocado, mango, brocolic(jus recently and i was surprised he finish it), pumpkin..hmm thats all ba..going to start banana this wk..so maybe u try something else ba like pear lor..coz seems most bb like it v much...megan also like it very much too...

Hi Kelly,
Thanks for providing me an extra place for birthday party. I went to search its website. Looks more fun. I've bookmarked it for future reference.

Oh yah... Prima Deli also have cute design cakes, suitable for kids.

Hi Catherine,
I also found aranda country club website. The rooms look nice. But the price is exp too. I realise that during 10/01 - 20/03, they have a promotion during off-peak period. For a 3D/2N stays, for non-members, it only costs $215. A pity, promotion over.

Fiona, since you are expecting lots of guests, Catherine's suggestion of aranda country club is good. Here's the website I searched out: http://www.arandaclub.org.sg/

You use calendula cream for wat purpose? I never use that so just wondering is it very useful.

Hi Cocomo,
When I have my first menses since preggie, it also very heavy, also got lumpy discharge. Think 2 - 3 months are heavy flow for me. Check with my mum b4. She says it's normal. Now, the flow is like b4 preggie already.

Hi Butter8,
Congrats :)

Hi AugBaby,
Jay is so fast. He looked so cute... Aden still only know how to flip only. No crawl, sit or stand yet....

apple,
dun worry, aden will come into it in his own time..dun forgot jay is born early of august so he might be faster in that sense lor..hee hee

augbaby,
thanks for the details, i'll try again

crispyapple,
thanks for the link, we've decided to have it at aloha loyang. been there a few times for friends' party, found it quite nice. think it costs btw 140-160 per nite depends on area.

re:calendula cream
i use it for denise's eczema rash, and to keep her skin moisturized. vain mummy like me also use it as a nite cream lo...hehehe

butter,
forgot to congrat you and ryan! hope you'll have fun during the photoshoot!

re: menses
i finally had my menses after such a long delay from my last one in feb! and it's such a heavy one this round maybe bcos i stopped breastfeeding??

Thanks everyone for your wishes!
It was a nice surprise to start the week, cuz Ryan and I still recovering from the flu and sore throat.
We hope to take the photos maybe in 2 weeks time
will share with you all then

Kelly,
did you go for the shoot already? how is it?

Crispyapple/babyboy/augbaby,
Thanks for sharing, as long as it's normal I feel release. Now I am better liao, hope 'ming tian hui gen hao'!

Piyo,
Have sms you few times but no reply le. Is everything ok at your side?

HELP - anyone can tell me how to effectively use the avent manual breast pump?

hi gals, thanks for all your well wishes, been v bz first day at work. i have no private plc with a powerpt in e office, hence got to use the manual pump in the office. but i dunno if i use correctly, but i feel like no suction, and could hardly get any milk out, and no let down
i'm VVV worried, cos i don wan my milk supply to drop.

need help urgently ... everyday counts in breastfeeding ...

hey pups, i was using the avent manual..if everything is fitted properly then the next thing to check is that white star-looking valve..make sure its facing upwards for the suction to work...

hope my 2cents help...

Thinking of organising a trial class with Gymboree, maybe somewhere in May or June. Any mummies interested? And, any mummies can comment on Gymboree and whether we should go to the one in Tanglin Mall or Harbourfront?

hi jasmine,
oh my gosh! so bad ah. shouldn't call u names even if she disagrees with u mah. ai yoh! now, i always try to participate in bp in which i know the organiser is more reliable. heard so many stories abt some bulk purchases.

hi augbaby,
can share how u prepare the porridge? kayden sorta rejects the porridge i prepared.
i'm short of ideas.

hi fiona and apple,
i'm also thinking of the birthday bash. dun intend to have a big celebration but perhaps invite our family members over. was thinking of aloha cos the price seems alright and the place looks big.

hi butter,

Helo Mummies,

Do you all agree that some bbs rather learn to stand and walk first THAN to crawl?
Natalie seems lazy to crawl even i tty to teach her place her in tummy. she rather keep rolling and rolling or even hold and stand up n try to walk with us holding her...

butter,
forgot to congrats u too..

erin,
actually it is my mum who prepare the porridge 1st and she taught my maid how to do it and since then its her doing it..i hav seen her doing it and its normal ba..juz cook the porridge 1st and then later add in the fish and when cooked, she will use a spoon to smash the porridge into more fine..that is all..actually for porridge, jay only tried mainly fish (nor hee) porridge, fish porride with carrots, fish porridge with potato...thats all i think only leh...the trick is i will always have a bottle of water with me when we feed him and when he fuss, we will feed him with water n its help but usually at the end, he dun reali wan already and we will add in the pear or apple puree into the porridge and kind of like bluff him to continue eating lor..n when he finish we will feed him the reminder of the apple or pear...

jus check wif u all ah, can our bb eat salmon fish ah? n how abt pork and chicken in the porridge? If can how shld the chicken n pork be cooked? thou of letting jay try something else other than everyday fish only

HI augbaby
For fish is u add later after the porridge is cooked right. As the pork or chicken dun get cooked so fast, I will add the piece of pork or chicken with the rice in the water when I start to cook the porridge. BTW, I tried cod fish and heng cai recently with baby. For 3 days to check for allergy. He poos every day after eating them. Dun know whether is it because it is a oily fish. Anyone experience the same?? My next type of fish is 'nor hee'. My MIL is still waiting for my FIL to catch it. I tried to go to cold storage, but dun seems to be fresh leh.. Where u all buy your fresh 'nor hee'?? Can share. BTW, anyone feeds their baby grapes?? I tried apple, pear, peach, banana and 'xiang li'. I know can feed mango but it is too heaty. I will forgo this fruit.

hi honeyhaven,
i also let jay tried cod fish but he dun seems to like it v much coz i guess it is more bland as compared to nor hee so he been taking nor hee all the way...i think his reaction after taking cod fish is normal lor..but poo every day is gd mah...for the nor hee, we will always go buy from the wet market one coz the freshest...so either my dad will buy in the morn or we will go to the wet market to buy during wkends lor...mango is nice, jay like it but its heaty so i only feed him for 3 days to test for allergy and next time wont feed so often...but he likes it v much...any idea if salmon fish is ok?

GYMBOREE LEVEL 2 TRIAL

Date: 21 April 2007

Venue: Tanglin Mall's Gymboree
Timing: 3pm - ? (will confirm later)
Cost: $34.00

Attendees
1)Amy + Rae
2) babyboy + ? (so sorry, i'm still a bit new to this thread so forgot your boy's name)
5)
6)

Other details to fill in late.

Hi augbaby
I also not sure abt salmon. Dun know can feed from which mth?? Have to ask other mummies. BTW when u go out and have dinner. Do u feed yr baby a bit to eat too?? Like u know baby can eat carrot right, then will u feed baby the carrot. However, the carrot already in contact with the gravy??

pupsandcups,

hugz! poor dear.. me advise you! since i very onz about pumps.. hahaha!

for avent isis, if you using the star valve, as babyboy said, it must point upwards.. if it keep popping out, muz change liaoz.. for me, i use the duckbill valve, which lasts longer.. (cos the same valve can use for the IQ UNO and DUO mah.. more convenient for me..)

You need to get used to environment of pumping, plus the new pump in order to get a letdown..
step 1:
before pump, massage your breasts and stroke breast towards nipple firmly.. then you take nipple between thumb and index finger and do nipple rolling to clear the ducts in the opening.. once you get used to it.. the steps will help to give a signal to your body to indicate a letdown..

step 2: breathe and relax and put pump to breast.. first 1 min, do a quick pumping to stimulate letdown.. if still no letdown after 2 min.. stop and massage breasts and do the nipple rolling and pulling..

step 3: once you see the milk gush out, EASY LIAOZ.. you press and hold the pump handle in a suction.. the milk will continue to gush out.. once stop gush out, you release handle and press down again to get the next gush.. and REPEAT..

for me, i tend to finish up with a hand express to clear more milk out even when no more milk comes out with the avent isis...

pupsandcups,

hugz! poor dear.. me advise you! since i very onz about pumps.. hahaha!

for <font color="0000ff">avent isis</font>, if you using the star valve, as babyboy said, it must point upwards.. if it keep popping out, muz change liaoz.. for me, i use the duckbill valve, which lasts longer.. (cos the same valve can use for the IQ UNO and DUO mah.. more convenient for me..)

You need to get used to environment of pumping, plus the new pump in order to get a letdown..

step 1:
before pump, massage your breasts and stroke breast towards nipple firmly.. then you take nipple between thumb and index finger and do nipple rolling to clear the ducts in the opening.. once you get used to it.. the steps will help to give a signal to your body to indicate a letdown..

step 2: breathe and relax and put pump to breast.. first 1 min, do a quick pumping to stimulate letdown.. if still no letdown after 2 min.. stop and massage breasts and do the nipple rolling and pulling..

step 3: once you see the milk gush out, EASY LIAOZ.. you press and hold the pump handle in a suction.. the milk will continue to gush out.. once stop gush out, you release handle and press down again to get the next gush.. and REPEAT..

for me, i tend to finish up with a hand express to clear more milk out even when no more milk comes out with the avent isis...

<font color="ff0000">GOOD LUCK!!</font>

Hi Jasmine
U really expert with the pumps and yr breast. hahahha. When the next baby comes also no problem. That time my pump also got problem, if I know u earlier.. I can ask u hor...hahahah

Aranda country club.
My frd bb gal is having 1 yr old in 26th May... so maybe when I make the survey there and let you all know how is the place.

From the website and heard from my frd believe it is not very cheap also.

cynthia,
I Have been to Chevrons and Aranda. Chevrons is cheap if you have friends working is SAF as Warrent officer i think $190 for 3 days 2 nights.

Aranda is abit expensive. esp weekends i think $200-$300+

honeyhaven,
nope i dun let bb eat anything when we r outside..not even like u say carrots that i know he can eat....coz i afraid got seasonings leh...

a mummy PM regarding the Calendula Cream that fiona recommended...she has extra tub and selling 1 tub is $11.09 and est shipping shld be ard $1.40 (need to be confirm). Total=11.09+1.40=S$12.49...mummies who use it, is the price reasonable? Any mummies interested? i can pass u her contact as well...