(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

Cat/kelly,
That's why I decided to put my SAHM plan on hold coz my life will be very difficult if need to take money from him.

kelly,

$1k i think for first six months is very little every month around 100 plus ok mah...

cocomo,

yah take $$ from hubby is like a begger i rather have my own income and spent myself.

haha...i guess most daddy is super great in $$$ ba(including me la..haha)...cos we will think how many time we use it...how long we gonna to use it...cos after awhile..the toys will be place aside liao...den waste $$ ma...
n all mummies is too generous when come to buy things for baby...tat's natural...

Dun worry kelly...i'm ok...cos sometimes i'm really "niao" oso lah...haha...

all guys are same kind..:p

I went for biz trip for 5 days, i bought 3 toys and many books for baby. But my hubby went biz trip for 3 weeks, just bought 1 toy, that is the different for dad and mum..hehe

I always think that if this world no girls like us, all shopping malls have to close down..hahahaha

Hi Kelly, yeah finally I am here. Thank you for the VCDs. My elder son love watching all children's VCDs, ranging from Baby Einstein, Barnie........

hi kelly,

hi 5! I also did not buy any toys for zac
his best toy? Gor Gor Noah

btw, congrats to you big boss...gong xi fa cai in advance

Piyo,

Zac also experiences changes in his bowel pattern. His is worst, has not pooed since sat

mommies: re walkers

I still buy the idea to let babies dev at their own pace. when it's time to roll, roll; crawl, crawl; stand, stand. IMO, babies at 6th months should be on their fours, not twos. I do not wish to skip any stages of development; hence no walker...

Cocomo - I tink hor...using ur fingertips to massage ur breast frm outer to inner in a dwnward action will help. It did for me..i rember once i went for a shopping trip wif my frens in france w/o my baby..i put breast pads hoping it will help to curb the xtra flow for a day but alias..it did not, i tahan for 10hrs+ & the milk kip coming & when i was trying out clothes in the fitting room, milk was spurting all over..so painful. So i hv to express it all out in the fitting room..making all wet..paiseh..bt desperate man takes desperate measures lor.

In regards to bb's pacifier use, herewith some interesting articles for your info. Hope it will benefiting you.

"Doctors now believe that babies should be given a pacifier at bedtime to reduce the risk of SIDS. Experts believe that the pacifier prevents the baby from sleeping too deeply - a problem with babies prone to SIDS. However, you should not reinsert your babys pacifier if it falls out during sleep, never coat the pacifier with any sweet substance, and dont force a pacifier on your baby if he or she refuses it."

kelly,

Congrats on the setting up of your online biz!

When you do come for the gathering on 11 Feb, can take this opportunity to bring some of your wares to sell to us also!

Cecelia,

I find the article a lil strange.

Yes, the pacifier does prevent bb from sleeping too soundly. So perhaps not sleeping soundly can prevent SIDS. But eventually, pacifier will slip out when bb fall asleep soundly. Then won't they be susceptible to SIDS just as well? *muse*

Maybe my understanding is wrong?

haha..same same lah..think most hubbies are like that....i also bought the playmat already then tell my hubby....haha..n he nag n nag...so most of the time, i juz buy something and dun tell him and when jay wear something new and he ask, i juz say oh bought v long liao...u din notice..haha :p

hi kelly, u're like me, except that i place Louisa on a mattress instead of ABC mat, coz didn't even buy that :p lagi cheapo rite. hahaha. sometimes lazy to change toys for her, when she gets bored and refused to look at the toys then i change for her lah. also like you, i'm a 2nd time mummy, tend to buy the BEST and LOTS of stuffs for joshua (i was still working full-time then, so can afford), but now with Louisa, i realised some of the stuffs really no need to buy. so for her, just re-use whatever toys/stuffs Josh had last time, lucky it's all in good condition, some very new, coz too many toys for Josh last time! i feel bad sometimes coz she doesn't really hv a lot of 'new' things, but kids grow very fast one lah, nevermind, i'll definately buy a new doll for her later on, since her gor-gor doesn't hv dolls. hahaha

BTW, congrats on ur business ah!

MH,
My breast engorged till quite jia lat last nite. I had done what I can liao, massage with hot towel, drink hot drinks, take hot shower etc but still cannot clear the lump. This morning pumping also painful and the BIG lump still there. Dunno what to do with it coz v v painful now.

louisa, picture taken 21jan07.
her hair doesn't grow very much ever since i took her to the hairdresser to shaved it off when she was abt 3 months old (coz hair dropping).
676905.jpg

Hi, mummies

anyone can help ... thinking of installing a camera in my mil house when i can view it via handphone? how to do abt it?

Jesline,
I have installed 3G video cameras and can view from office when login to internet. It's DLink brand. I never try to view from HP dunno if it works.

Hi, cocomo & kelly

thanks for the advice on skin problems....

cocomo
had bought the cream that u mentioned to me last night & had checked with my sis & she said can used as it is just a moisturiser... baby only got dry skin on legs, arms & cheeks... will try on her & see whether does it clear... if not then think will bring her go see doc.....

is the 3G video camera very big??? need to drill on the wall or just place it on a top?

cocomo - Ya like wat Catherine had said try putting cabbage on ur breast..will soothe a little..but put the cabbage in the fridge 1st..the feeling i tell u..'Shiok' man

Kelly - Wat e-business u doin ? Dunno if i miss looking at the post earlier bt cant find leh.

Hey comomo,
I total bf my baby as well. Do hope by the time, you read the mail, your problem is resolved.

I understand what you are going through. I was in very bad shape last 2 months bec of the block ducts and lumps. I had to visit the lactation consultations x3 for that. Just to share with you, what I know and thought would work.

1) Feed baby directly and as frequently as you can from the problematic side. You may want to pump for the other side. My poor baby was so frightened of me at that time, bec I keep feeding him. But can't be help lor.

2) vary the feeding position. Depending on where the lump is,try to position your baby's chin opposite the lump. If the lump is on the top of the breast, football hold is a good one.

3) Keep on massaging. I massaged aslong as 5-6 hours at times. It helps to keep the lump smaller (I'm very scare I'll get mastitis), but may not make the lump go away completely. Tomoroow is Sat, hope you have the luxury to do that.

Take care of yourself, and keep trying

hi cat...ur ger is allergy to heinz rice cereal??? i started one teaspoon of heinz for my ger last week..then realised two red patch on her cheeks...dunno isit food allergy or contact allergy...then after tat..i stopped lor...pd said to give after 6mths...i am quite puzzled...cos if allergy to rice...then eat wat ah???

handi,
my girl face also got two red patch on her cheeks after feeding, so was wondering if heinz rice cereal she allergy then what else can i feed. maybe as what ur pd say feed after 6mths lor

hi leia,

ur frenz so creative...

just checking...
which is better?
heinz or nestle cereal?

my coll gave heinz to her son , he also allergy to that...
so change to nestle...
as I have been feeding my gal w nestle , so thght of trying heinz...

any advise?

hi mommies!

haven't been posting for some time liao...

just an update of my gal...we finally done the skin prick test in NSC and it's been confirmed that the eczema on her face and body were due to an allergy to egg, means i have to abstained from all egg products since she's still on total breast milk...there goes my new year goodies

joko, saw that your bb's having pretty similar rash as well, the last time you consult prof giam she just said sensitive skin? she adviced me to go for the skin prick leh and met alot of babies there who are allergic to egg too, prof hugo who did the test said it's very common...

by the way, i just started on Avene product called Trixera which is a moisturiser for eczema skin, it works very well for Denise, felt that it's better than the doctor prescribed physiogel which i find too costly. you may want to try it

catherine,
try wiping your gal's face with a damp cloth after feeding cereal, it should help with the rash.

fiona,
i try wiping after cereal with a damp cloth but no use. i guess she is allergy to the rice cereal so i temp stop feeding her till cny she will be 6 mth then try feeding her again.

hi fiona,
im feeding aidan formula milk so should not be allergy... think last two weeks my maid have been cooking dinner so no one watches over him and he rubbed his saliva/milk all over his face hence the rash again... it was ok before my maid started to cook... told maid to stop cooking next week and see if his rash will get better... where can i get Trixera? no steroid hor?

re. rice cereal, my pd told me to feed nestle, never mention heinz, maybe cuz he knew might cuz allergy?? i dunno and have bot a box before that... now heard so many cases of allergy so i think i will let aidan try nestle instead... dun wanna cuz his face red red again... sigh...

Jesline,
No worries, hope your gal ok now! Soli that day forget to sms you the brand of the cream. Hm... the cameras not very big la, I just put on the table/rack lo. Never drill hole.

MH/Cat,
Really thanks, forgot can try cabbage! I buai tahan liao so went to see lactation consultant at Thomson. Now shiok shiok liao
If next time engorge again (touch wood), I will try the cabbage, save my money.

Smaurf,
Thanks for sharing your experince. But hor, I dun latch my boy when he's awake coz he will bite me. My poor breast engorged till so jia lat liao still kena bite, can bu ren du!!!

Cat/jokojoko,
You might want to try Healthy Time? Tanglin mall got sell. I saw some NTUC have also.

Jay also have two red patches on his cheek since few days ago, I also fed him Heinz cereal! I tot it was bcoz of his sliva. . . never tot of allergy! How huh?

din know heinz will cause allergy. wonder if that's the reason zac has no pooed for a week. Took him to pd last sat when he did not poo for 3 days. very reluctant to take to pd again.

cat,
ic...yah then better wait till 6 mths when stomach more matured then try

joko,
i can understand...when i see Denise puts her fist into the mouth, can't help but keeps wiping away the saliva. whereas with mil, always have to remind her to wipe, dunno why she can stand it leh...

i'm also feeding nestle rice cereal, actually wanted to try heinz but i've received some samples of the former so just try. so far, she really likes eating from the spoon hahaha...

Trixera is Avene product, should be available in Guardian pharmacy, i got mine from hosp. pharm. No steroid that's why i use, doc prescribed one got steroid so worried will make her skin thin.

cocomo,
sometimes i get engorgement and tried all those methods you mentioned but also can't clear, then i realised it's actually the ducts opening on the tip of the nipple got blocked by the dried milk. what i usually do is to pinch with my finger like what we do to remove whiteheads on our face. i'll see where is my engorged ducts and target on the nipple closer to the painful area.

think i made it sounds confusing, hope you get what i mean...

Kelly - Oh found ur link on ur biz liao...its right on top of tis thread...*cock eye*

I tink when im back in SIN i will be a SAHM for a few mths too..nid to settle dwn 1st..but i guess it will be hard for me to get working again afterall i hv been slacking in France for 2yrs liao. In fact same like u Kelly, im setting up an online biz oso when i go back...selling baby & children wear imported frm France.

fiona,

denise looks very cheerful and has very thick hair!!

yet to try the heinz which i bought earlier.
started my girl on Frisocrem rice cereal, which she's taking very well.

joko,
you're most welcome!

cheers,
thanks! this little happy gal sure got lots of hair, whenever i bring her out, alot of ppl can't resist and asked for my permission to touch her hair hahaha...

cocomo,
cos b4 feeding my girl the rice cereal her face was ok, but after feeding her face start to have rash and follow by her neck n right arm. so i suspect is the rice cereal.

fiona,
yah maybe wait till her tummy more mature then feed.

augustmum, let ur bb drink more water cos rice cereal is slightly hard to digest for bb.

joko,
maybe i will try nestle when she six month.anyway 2more weeks she will be six months just nice cny. got the time to monitor.

hi fiona,

my son also diagnose by pd to have eczema. he constantly has rashes on his chin. b4 the 'old' rash fully recover, 'new' rash will come back again. he is on partial bf, fully on milk still.

can you pls advise me the following:
1. how the prick test is carried out?
2. do we know the result immediately or need to wait for some days?
3. how much does the test cost?
4. need to make appt with NSC or can just drop by any time?

sorry to trouble you with so many qns, but really heartpain to see his chin so red. he even use his hands to rub his chin when itchy and his chin will become super red.

consulted 2 PDs and 1 GP. the cream they gave that contain steriod is effective but it just doesn't cure it completely. according to the eczema bronchure, it says most babies will outgrow it, but i don want baby to apply the steroid cream long term leh, cos donno when then will outgrow.

hi fiona,

my son also diagnose by pd to have eczema. he constantly has rashes on his chin. b4 the 'old' rash fully recover, 'new' rash will come back again. he is on partial bf, fully on milk still.

can you pls advise me the following:
1. how the prick test is carried out?
2. do we know the result immediately or need to wait for some days?
3. how much does the test cost?
4. need to make appt with NSC or can just drop by any time?

sorry to trouble you with so many qns, but really heartpain to see his chin so red. he even use his hands to rub his chin when itchy and his chin will become super red.

consulted 2 PDs and 1 GP. the cream they gave that contain steriod is effective but it just doesn't cure it completely. according to the eczema bronchure, it says most babies will outgrow it, but i don want baby to apply the steroid cream long term leh, cos donno when then will outgrow.

Eczema seems pretty common among bbs, ya?

My boy still on BM and hasn't started on semi-solids. Wonder if he'll have any adverse reaction to it (Heinz, Nestle, whatever)...

REMINDER:

Gathering cum Swim Fest on 11th February 2007!!!

For those who indicated "TENTATIVE" (erin, augbaby, honeyhaven and kelly (lunch or no lunch, kelly?), can confirm with me attendance by <u>FRIDAY 9 February</u> to facilitate preparation of food, pls? Tq!

Date: 11th February 2007 (Sunday)
Time: 10am-3pm (Makan and chit chat session from 12pm)
Venue: Leia's place (fringe of Hougang/Sengkang/Punggol - will PM addr/contact)

1. Leia, hubby & Jadon -- drinks & other bites
2. Jasmine, hubby & Jadelle
3. cheers, hubby, gwen (fish cakes)
4. babyboy, hubby, Keiran --- Old Chang Kee snacks
5. cj, hubby, Keafer ( maybe maid ) ( lunch) --- fried chicken wings
6. cocomo, hubby, Jay and maid ---- fried bee hoon
7. HoneyB, hubby, Hannah (lunch)
8. adeline, melvin, leon ---- fruits
9. augustmum, hubby, noah, zac (lunch)----cake or muffins
10.vel , jovie (lunch)
11. Shirlyn, elder son, maid
12. Encheong, mummy & Dickson
13. erin, kayden (tentative)
14. augbaby, hb, jayden, maid (tentative)
15. kelly, hubby, gabriel & edward
16. honeyhaven, kayden (tentative)