(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

a BIG WELCOME to all the new mummies & a daddy. it's nice 2 hv a daddy around so as 2 get a male's opinion abt parenting.

superdad
me also anti-paci so i scared i cant help my boy kick e habit. went 2 compass point few wks ago n saw a boy (abt 4-5yrs) still sucking on a paci in public. me & my husband was like "jaw dropped".

catherine
i guess there r always different school of tots when it comes 2 bb stuff & parenting. 4 me, i wont give paci cos i find it alright 4 my boys 2 suck their fingers. mayb i'm a 2nd time mummy n i've seen so many bbs who either sucked fingers or took pacifiers. bbs who sucked fingers, stopped sucking after a while (most stopped b4 1yrs old) but i've seen a few bbs who r on paci n didnt stop until 2yrs (when my friens had 2 let their bbs go cold turkey - very cham cos e bbs cried & fussed A LOT when they 1 their pacis).

when my elder boy gabe started sucking his fingers, i also worried like u abt getting bacteria/germs into his mouth so i was going around cleaning his fingers everytime. then i learned fr gabe's fellow friens' mummies (in e other thread) tat it's DEVELOPMENTAL APPROPRIATE for bbs 2 suck their fingers at tat stage. so i let him b. i do come across strangers/relatives who frowned on gabe when they c him suck fingers n they even took gabe's fingers out (without asking me). i kept telling these pp, "it's fine. let him b". again their concern was sucking fingers becoming a habit, blah blah blah

now, gabe's 27mths n stopped sucking fingers when he was abt 9-10mths old. edward's now sucking his fingers n i let him b.

FYI, i hv a GF who gives paci 2 her son n was concerned abt her son's vocalisation. the bb could b making noises, trying 2 vocalise but wif a paci (which caregivers, be it nannies, grannies, aunties, mothers will shuff into e bbs' mouths when they start making noise, tiking they 1 their paci), it's hard 4 e bb 2 'make noise' (vocalise)

pupsandcups
i also tik an exersaucer is somewhat like a walker so wont consider it. gabe is very fascinated wif an exersaucer now (esp when he sees e display set at taka bb section). whenever he sees it, he plays wif e toys on it but never asks 2 sit in it. if he asks 2 sit in it, i'll tell him 2 walk around & play wif e toys. betta for fine/gross motor skills development

shirlynn
finally i c u here. do join us at e gatherings if u can. u hv 2boys like me rt?

piyo,
jayden also only drink 150ml now too...
anyway how much did u spend for the 2nd hand flash cards and u got them from the forum?

Seems like alot of yr babies can sleep thru the nite...jay had his last feed at 12.30pm yest nite n he woke up again at 3pm to drink but only 3.5oz...could it be a habit thing that he wakes up n he is not reali hungry??

cj
kaefer is very advanced 2 b crawling at tis stage. cant wait 2 c him. is he still making those "bird noises"?

oh, u did ask if bbs flap like a gorilla when they r happy. edward does it too. flapping arms & legs n giving us his biggest grin. very cute 2 c him tis way.

piyo
where did u get ur GD cards n how much? wat kinda GD cards did u get?

e homebased class is at my blk, juz upstairs. very very convenient n dirt cheap so i not complaining. me not so kut-lat 2 travel 2 jurong 4 gabe's classes. :p

erin
if u r keen, kayden can only start my neighbour's homebased class in 2009 (3yrs old). i chope 1 plc for edward liao. me KS mummy!

SLEEPING THRU
edward has been sleeping thru e nite since 2.5mths old n still does most of the times. i guess now when he wakes up 4 milk, it could b growth spurt so i juz nurse him. edward sleeps between 7-8pm til 7am. if hes does wake up 4 milk, it'll b either at 1-2am or 4-5am.

when i shared wif friens tat he slept thru, e 1st thing they said was, "he drinking FM? drink FM can sleep thru" i said, "no BM". i too never believed tat bbs on BM can sleep thru cos my elder boy gabe didnt sleep thru until 15mths old (he was on BM til 14mths old). so edward proved me wrong.

cheers,

I never bring my boy for swim other than at home. But if outside, suffice to just rinse off the chlorine.

Anyway, I believe there's hot water in the swimming pool shower at my place. I'll bring down a bathtub and Johnson's top to toe wash so that we can take turns to rinse/bathe our bbs after the swim.

674983.jpg

juz took it tis morn...edward sits on his cheapo ABC mat. no $120 playmat (cos mummy stingy), no bumbo (i doubt his thunder thighs can take it), no exersaucer (i strew his toys everywhere 4 him 2 reach out) n toys which i change everyday (more variety 4 him)

hi kelly,
congrats on being a "lao ban". kayden has started flapping recently but he hits us very hard when he's excited or happy. my parents says it's because i let him bang on the table when he's sitting on my lap while i do work. so it's not true right. it's a developmental stage?

regarding the home-based class, can share more details? is the teacher experienced in teaching young kids? what does she cover? me quite interested. am thinking of sending kayden to 1 or 2 hr playgroup when he's around 2 yrs old. heard must chop place rite cos the waiting list for some good schs are very long. i want him to socialise lah cos no cousins or neighbours around that age for him to mix with leh.

kayden also doesn't drink much. he only drinks a lot when he's dozing off (like the mid-nite feed when we get him up to drink). he's too busy playing during the day and drinks very little.

i'm going to start him on cereal this weekend. 2 days prior to 6 months cos his actual 6 months will be on Monday and I won't get a chance to feed him. so i start off with 1 teasppon of cereal. can tell me must mix with how much milk and how often do we feed him? when do we increase his cereal? thanks.

erin
tis neighbour's a super mummy (she has 3boys aged 5, 3 & 3mths old n her elder boy went 2 shichida for 2.5yrs, GUG & many others). i like her enrichment prog very much (e price lagi more attractive). we share more when we meet. after all, our boys can only attend in late 2008 or 2009. mai kan cheong. let's juz say gabe has picked up lotsa gd stuff after attending her class for abt 1mth.

hey, u can collect e VCDs fr my mum's plc. i sms u e add ok?

thks for ur well wishes. do check it out if u fancy any pieces.

hi kelly,
will check out the website later. can collect at the gathering (either at leia's place or urs) later. no hurry cos kayden doesn't fancy tv a lot. will watch for a while then bored liao. i bought baby einstein vcds but he doesn't like to watch leh. waste my $. now hoping that he will want to watch when he's older. he prefers reading and playing with his toys more. guess will start him on tv closer to 1 yr.

augbaby,
i read in this book "Touchpoints" (by Tony Brazelton) that if baby wake up at night, it could be coz he can't get back to sleep on his own, so perhaps rather than giving him a feed, maybe try just patting / cuddling him and see if he sleeps? i tried it with emma coz she also drinks very little when she wakes up at night, and realised it's true, she just wans a cuddle

catherine,
saw your pic on sleeping. my mum suggests doing the same with pillows and stuff too, but my hsbd wun allow it as he's worried about SIDS. i too got quite concerned when emma starts rolling over and doing circles around the cot, scared that she will flop head down on pillow and can't get up. so paranoid hor.

kelly,
re: yur pic and comments on edward. i get wat u mean about not having expensive stuff. i had spent quite a bit getting toys for emma to play with and realised that she has no interest at all in the toys. instead, she likes playing with the pigeon wet wipes box (i kept opening and closing the flap), hitting the table with her hands and she laughs the loudest when we do superman flying with her! she doesn't even give the toys or playmat a second look!

sharon
i guess it's bcos i'm a 2nd time mummy so i know. i was like some mummies here when i had gabriel. wah...everything buy buy buy. now my hse can b like toys r us wif lotsa white elephants (husband complaining lor). i also dun 1 2 dampen every1's spirits by saying no need 2 buy tis, cos every bb is different n every bb is the MOST precious in their parents' eyes. even my boys r the MOST precious things in my life...tat's y i ever ready 2 splurge on things 4 them. but now being a 2nd time mum, u'll realise tat it's e insignificant things tat our bbs like...

u wait n c...ur girl will start 2 like remote control stuff like ur tv control, aircon control, ur HP, etc. my edward will fiddle wif e toys in front of him but when gabe gor gor plays wif his toys, edward dun like his present-moment-suitable-for-him toys. he heads for gor gor's toys like lego, megabloks, cooking set, etc. also when i read papers or mags, he wanna grab it. which is y up 2 now, edward hasnt gotten a new toy fr us yet. new clothes & books, yes but toys - no! i feel very bad cos i wanna get edward his FIRST own toy n not play wif hands-me-down fr gor gor but i constantly pinched myself 2 remind tat he grows up so fast m i shldnt add 2 e white elephants

kelly,
me too...not buying alot of toys for my boy..but i'm e 1st time daddy onli lah..very stingy hor..
but anyway..i just bought e 1st toys tat hang on his baby cot...sometime he will use his hand to turn or play wif it..sometime wif his leg..
He too..like it very much when I "throw" him up and catch him back...he will laugh loudly..

hi leia,

it's very kind of you to bring along the tub and J&J wash.
let me knw if you need me to bring any other stuff.

re: sucking fingers
Kelly, megan sucks her fingers most of the time and it's always me who is anal about it cos I am really worried it takes longer to wean that off than pacifier. And megan does not take to pacifier much esp IF I AM AROUND... she will puke out the pacifier and cry very loud and will only quieten down if she latches on me... I so worried next time dunno how to wean off.

re: sleeping thru
I think what Sharon says it's true. Megan woke up last night and after latching on, she still wriggles here and there till her daddy patted her and b4 long she fell asleep... so sometimes they really just wan a cuddle

Hi Cat and Augbaby,
150ml is her max somemore and she only reaches that amount recently and it's not every feed somemore

re: toys
superdad and kelly, although I am a 1st time mum, I am a practical mum hehe! I never get many toys for her. Most of her toys are given by friends and relatives. Come to think of it, most of her clothes are hand me downs or given by people. I only buy a few as she progresses. Playmat yes cos it's something she needs to lie on for long long time and for no.2. I also realised after the man yue that my megan dun seem to like toys leh, esp expensive or branded ones like FP etc... she like to play with remote control and house things she can catch hold of.. so i think good! let these act as toys then haha! me super giam on these! But I willing to spend on other aspect such as educational stuff hahaha..super practical

Hi Kelly,
Wow so convenient leh! just upstairs! and I think the mum should have sufficient shichida materials to start the playgroup! Any idea when she started her elder boy on Shichida and why she stopped after 2.5 yrs?

Btw, what is that square big toy that I saw in the pic?

edward looks different liao leh! looks so grown up compared to the last time I saw him!

Hi Kelly and Augbaby,
I bot the GD English and Maths dot cards from another mum when I was preggie... at about $400 for both I think. Cheap to me cos each set of original GD cards would have set me back $400+... so if I were to get both from GD, that would be like $800? I sim tia! also I can use it on No. 2
Plus I know we need to make additional cards on our own when we finished flashing the cards..

Hi CJ,
My baby also flaps her hands and occasionally will jerk herself up by kicking or pushing her legs to show signs of happiness, sometimes also letting out a chuckle... that really warms our hearts

Hi Erin,
I started introducing the rice cereal to Megan last weekend so that I can personally do it. I pour about 30ml of EBM to 1 tablespoon of rice cereal while another time, I poured 20ml of EBM to 1 teaspoon of cereal... you try aga aga... dun worry about putting too little cos after a while of feeding, the rice cereal wil turn watery..

re: pooing
Any of you encounter a change in pooing patterns after we intro semi solids to our babies? Megan did not poo for 1 or 2 days or poo very little after I intro only a few teaspoons or 1 tablespoon of rice cereal with EBM to her for breaskfast or lunch over the weekend. Any one has same encounter as me?

I missed monday's first step 'baobei yi bu yi bu lai", anyone can share with me on what's in this program huh? coz I know it was about baby from 6 mths onwards. Or is anyone have recorded it and can lent me the copy? Thanks!

MH,
I dunno how to hand express actually. Just anyhow squeeze lo coz no place for me to use my pump so die die must express some out as it already engorged and very painful. My technic definately not right coz I only can get a bit out and by the time I was back to hotel my breast already engorged like a rock.

hi kelly,
ha.. kaefer seems to be over the 'birdie' sound making phase and i actually miss it. he still does the arms n legs flabbing wen super happy though. makes me realise that we should enjoy our every moments of our babies, cos very soon they will grow out of it.
hmm.. he can crawl a bit, but totally cant sit at all. no so sure whether he's really advanced bah.

piyo,
actually kaefer also drinking 150 ml. i feel its very little but if i give more, he wont finish it. he also poos less frequently since taking cereal and in fact, poo is harder/ very sticky type.

cocomo,
oh, so u r not the one who hav the DVD of the first steps baby show ah?

leia,
ok. i will try to remember to bring the stickers along.

Hi, catherine

re:hair
baby Jia Hui hair is much more longer & thicker on the top of the head rather than on the side.... looks quite ugly... prefer her hair when it was not cut

Hi, piyo & cj
Jia Hui also drinking 150ml but sometime cant even finish that only abt 120ml.. but as long as baby is growing well.. is ok

Re: poo poo
Jia Hui tends to poo poo 2-3 days when she is 1-3mths old but as she gets older, she poo poo every day....

when feeding her cereal, her poo poo will be abit hard so had been letting her to drink more water .....

cj/Leia,
I have not receive the DVD yet le. once I receive will let you guys know k. Pups has the DVD also, think her fren recorded for her.

cj,
I missed monday baobei yi bu yi bu lai (29.01.06 one, not last week one) so dunno what's the topic they discussed this week
ai. . . hope mummies who have watched can share with me.

Hi, cocomo & cj

Monday Baobei yi bu yi bu lai got talk abt the use of walker... the PD interviewed said that alot of parents did asked him whether will the use of walker affect baby's spine, back, hinder the development in walker but the PD said no but just that when using the walker, must keep an eye on the baby & not to let baby be alone as baby tend to grab stuffs.... cos sometime baby will grab stuff & things may fall on them & this will results in injury on babies....

also got talk abt weaning .... PD did mentioned that BM is still the best for baby.... not to introduce eggs, honey to baby below 1yrs old...

teething is also a topic... PD said that old generation pple tend to linked teething with fever together... but this is not the cause & teething will not cause fever.... babies may get sick cos parents tends to bring them out more often when babies is bigger & may be exposed to germs outside....

these r all i can remember.... got short-term memories... hee hee hee

hello gals

jus a quick note, kinda busy (surprisingly since i'm always so eng in the office)

DVD:
Yep I have a copy, but i don't have DVD to duplicate copies leh .. anyone has? I will bring the DVD at Leia's gathering

Cocomo
Ya I watched on Monday, it was q interesting. they shared on walker, doc actually said it is ok as long as someone is watching so accidents won happen. i was surprised cos KK website says no-no to walkers. then wat else they talk about.. lemme think. oh they say around this time, baby should learn to sleep on their own, hmm, that's all i remb leh ...

pups,
No wonder this week thread topic on sleeping. I normally carry and pat Jay le, I like to carry him. hee. . . Why have to sleep on their own? suggested by the doctor?

You can pass me the DVD and I try to duplicate for those mummies who needs it. Where you stay ya?

Jesline,
Thanks! Really wasted I missed it coz of travelling. *&##@*%

ARTICLE ON KK's WEBSITE:

Baby Walkers
The myth: Baby walkers help babies to learn how to walk.

The truth: Prolonged use of baby walkers can slow down baby's ability to walk.

Babies go through many stages of development. As the infant grows, the central nervous system matures and muscle bulk increases in size gradually. This allows the infant to move from a lying down to an upright position.

There have been no studies to prove that an infant will walk at an earlier age if he is put in a walker.

Putting an infant in a walker allows him to move around and explore his surroundings. It encourages the child to extend his legs, allowing weight bearing to occur. At the same time, the muscle groups in the legs of the baby are strengthened.

In addition, the infant should be about 5 to 6 months old before being put in a walker. This is to ensure that he has developed adequate head and upper body control in an upright position.

When the infant further develops and starts to crawl or pull himself into the standing position, other muscle groups are developed in these activities. Putting the infant in a walker then might not allow development of these other muscle groups.

As the child grows stronger, a single push on the walker might propel the infant in the walker far ahead. This may lead to headlong collisions with furniture, or falls down a flight of unbarred steps.

Baby walkers have been responsible for many injuries and deaths in children as:

Babies in walkers move faster and reach higher than are appropriate for their age, putting them at risk of injuries
Babies in walkers cannot see where they are going or what they are running over well
Walkers tip over easily
With the `aid `of walkers, toddlers can run into hidden dangers, bump into furniture, pull on hanging appliance cords, topple over, and fall down stairs

hi cocomo
i stay in Holland V, if we don meet before leia's, i can pass u the dvd at leia's..

ya, the show was saying at this stage, babies should be learning how to sleep on their own, as at this stage, they need to learn to be independent. they show the baby crying away in the playpen and eventually falling asleep on her own.

but like JASMINE, i also feel my leon can cry until like q 'siao' and can't bear to, his cry is not like the baby in the show leh, his really like until breathless and sweat like mad, so i still bao bao him to sleep, altho the time he needs baobao is getting less n less

hi pups,
can i get a copy of the dvd too? missed the show cos i fell asleep. will pay for the dvd and the postage cost. thanks.

Hi Piyo,

My gal is opposite as your Megan, since semi-solid, she poo more often like at least 2 times a day. In the past, she poo once a day or every 2 days.She's been taking, cereal, pear, apple, carrot and sweet potatoes.

My sister bought the original GD cards (English & Chinese) and share with me. Indeed, expensive, cost S$ 370 per set. (After 10% discount from $420). DIY maths set so save a little.

toys
So far, only buy smallsmallworld playmat, the rest of the toys are gifts and hand me downs. However, spent a bit more on books. In fact, may be buying all the Eric Carle board books.

Have not log on for awhile. Max is born on 31 July so I join both July and August.

poo poo: max also poo less once he started on cereal and the poo is also harder, especially when I also switch to Stage Two formula milk.

Max still drink ony maximum 120 ml per feeding...so piyo, don't worry. Every baby is different.

Kelly: wow. Edward is really ahead in terms of development.

julie,
tat's bcos my edward's born on 13jul. my EDD was 4aug n i know i would pop in jul but i grew 2 love tis aug06 mummies so stayed on here.

675478.jpg

juz took tis pic of edward watching baby einstein tis afternoon. he was fussing n i had 2 feed gabe his lunch so placed him in front of e tv. very bad of me but bo pian

edward's back is definitely more upright lately, compared 2 initially when he started sitting upright. now he can sit tis way for 15-20mins n play wif his toys or gabe gor gor (i timed him 2day fr 1145-1205pm b4 he started fussing).

erin
gd tat kayden dun fancy watching tv. edward also not so into watching tv now but u never know, bbs change very fast.

he watched barely 5mins of e baby einstein then sian liao...

Pups,
I stay very near you. I get from you tomolo say at 4-5pm can? Or you prefer I take from you on Sat morning say 9-10am? If ok sms me your address pls.

Anyone wants a copy pls email/PM me. Will try to duplicate this weekend so can pass to you all next week's gathering. If you are not going to the gathering pls PM/email me your address as well.

kelly,
can see from the pic that ed is so engross in the tv...so cute..i had tried letting jay watch the dvd u burn for us but he is like not interested..maybe that time he wanted to sleep..haha...anyway ed looks different now ah from the pic...he is v cute and has a lovely cheeky smile..btw is that the high chair from ikea that he is sitting on??

hi kelly,
edward is really very advanced. can sit very steadily liao. he looks big and fair.
so adorable and so cheerful. where u get the hat? i'm looking for a hat for kayden too cos every morning have to walk to my mum's place. afraid it will be very hot especially during june.

ya, baby changes very fast. will see if he likes to watch it at a later date.

Would bring some Teo Chew Kuey over..

Looking forward to it liao..hehe

Gathering cum Swim Fest on 11th February 2007!!!

Date: 11th February 2007 (Sunday)
Time: 10am-3pm (Makan and chit chat session from 12pm)
Venue: Leia's place (fringe of Hougang/Sengkang/Punggol - will PM addr/contact)

1. Leia, hubby & Jadon -- drinks & other bites
2. Jasmine, hubby & Jadelle
3. cheers, hubby, gwen (fish cakes)
4. babyboy, hubby, Keiran --- Old Chang Kee snacks
5. cj, hubby, Keafer ( maybe maid ) ( lunch) --- fried chicken wings
6. cocomo, hubby, Jay and maid ---- fried bee hoon
7. HoneyB, hubby, Hannah (lunch)
8. adeline, melvin, leon ---- fruits
9. augustmum, hubby, noah, zac (lunch)----cake or muffins
10.vel , jovie (lunch)
11. Shirlyn, elder son, maid
12. Encheong, mummy & Dickson (bring some Teo Chew Kuey)
13. erin, kayden (tentative)
14. augbaby, hb, jayden, maid (tentative)
15. kelly, hubby, gabriel & edward
16. honeyhaven, kayden (tentative)

superdad,
hahahaha, it's known tat daddies r more 'niao' (stingy) when it comes 2 buying stuff 4 their bbs, b it 1st bb or 2nd bb. my husband also. wait 4 him 2 approve a purchase hor...can wait until cows fly so i always buy 1st then tell him.

piyo
my neighbour stopped bcos she felt tat after 2.5yrs, it was a lot of $$ spent (imagine abt $800+ for 1 term n her son attended abt 10terms) n there were reptitions liao.

e square thingy is 1 of my fav toys...it's Bruin Activity Table. u can place it on e flr like wat i doing now or support it up wif 4legs. gabe was playing wif it nonstop when he was able 2 stand so when edward can stand, i'll put in on e 4 legs 4 him.

augbb
yup it's an ikea highchair. i bought tgt wif e tray. very gd, cheap & easy 2 use. when dirty, juz bring e whole thing into e toilet, wash, scrub & let it dry.

i dun let edward watch tv when he's due 2 sleep or eat. no point cos sure cant concentrate. anyway edward dun watch a lot of tv, mayb 15-20mins max in a day.

erin
it's not a hat. it's an bandana fr baby supplies (not baby but u know wat i mean rt?).

Wah...how can said most daddy is very "niao"...
I onli "niao" when wife buy "bag & shoes" lah..cos already got a lot at home liao and wanna buy somemore..hehe..
I do buy for my boy if the toys is suitable lah...but onli things tat he got alot from e 1st month celebration lor..fr frenz & relative lor...
but some soft toys e wools inside would came out easily..tat's y i stop let him play wif soft toys now..

kelly, superdad,

my hubby also niao hahaha i also the same as kelly buy liao then let hubby know. I cannot go shopping with hubby for baby stuff he will say wah so expensive.

Kelly/cat/superdad,
My hb also very very niao! Go shopping cannot go with him also. Else buy clothes for Jay he will nag and nag says Jay already got so many clothes liao still buy la, bb will grow fast dun buy la... walau lao I cant stand him! So nowadays I just ask him to keep his mouth shut if wanna go shopping with me for bb stuff. ha. . .

haha cocomo,
my hubby complaint to his colleague that i every month sure buy something for charlotte.

I tell him baby growing too fast i can't catch up with her every mth she is growing and need to meet new things.

catherine/cocomo
so our husbands can shake hands. hahahahaha!
in gabe's 1st 6mths, i spent abt $1K on clothes, toys & books 4 him n husband almost hit e roof. i didnt literally spent $1K in 1 go but everything accumulated. husband did e sums n was shocked. n of course nagged & nagged nonstop lor