(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

augbaby,
dun worry jay will be ok. maybe he catch a cold thats why sick this few days raining day must wear more clothes for jay ok

kelly,

You will be on contract first. Good at least can try out and observe first. I went straight to NIE, no contract, enjoyed my work till children came and priority changes.

Not sending noah to school yet. In the midst of flat-hunting. Wait till we got a place and have settled down, then will start sourcing for a school. btw, my current flat sold liao. However, still can't find a suitable place. Die liao, may have to rent a place or leave on the streets

augustmum, erin
i was told by my GF who works in e HR dept tat whether u r on contract or go 2 NIE depends on ur interview grade. if u get B & above, u go straight 2 NIE. if u get C & below, u go 4 contract position 1st

thks 4 e info anyway. a contract position sounds gd hor...less commitments

hi kelly,
not true also. cos it also depends on when u apply. cos if like me, i apply in aug, the intake is over liao so they will offer contract until the next intake which is in july (for my time la). but if it's based on grade during interview, i think i din score well too cos i told them during the interview that i wished to try out 1st cos not sure whether i'm suitable for the job. anyway, contract teaching will provide u on-the-job training.

will definitely try to make it for the feb gathering.

erin,
we chat more abt ur job & company next time. i not even sure if i'm getting e job. u must bring kayden 2 my mum's plc. dun come alone.

Kelly,
Applying for teaching job? Who will look after ur 2 bbs when you are working?

Augbaby,
Does the doc gv med for cough as well when you c him for fever? My gal having running nose a week ago. C her so sing ku with the blocked nose. Pd that i went to said that this season a lot of kids down with cough n running nose due to season. May be what leai said is true lor, super potent virus.

cecelia,
actually when we brought jay to see the PD he only got fever..no cough..then suddenly yest he has cough so we juz fed him the cough med we still got from the last time we bring him to see PD bec of cough too..ya i guess this season alot of pp coughing n flu...coz i am on the mrt n so many pp is coughing..scary....moreover we did brough jay out shopping last sat so maybe he caught it when he is out..

augbaby bring baby less out or dun bring baby to crowded places since baby easy to get virus.

for me i only bring my girl to market or shopping area once a while otherwise i prefer to keep her at home.

may i know when is considered the suitable time to put baby in exersaucer? thot of getting this rather than a walker...

just to share with mummies having hair loss ,

Many new moms are surprised to find themselves shedding more hair than usual in the first few months after giving birth, but it's perfectly normal. And there's no need to panic: You won't go bald. In fact, your hair should be back to normal by your baby's first birthday.

Here's what's going on. Normally, about 85 to 95 percent of the hair on your head is growing and the other 5 to 15 percent is in a resting stage. After the resting period, this hair falls out often while you're brushing or shampooing it and is replaced by new growth. An average woman sheds about 100 hairs a day.

During pregnancy, increased levels of estrogen prolong the growing stage. There are fewer hairs in the resting stage and fewer falling out each day, so you have thicker, more luxuriant tresses.

After you give birth, your estrogen levels take a tumble and a lot more hair follicles enter the resting stage. Soon you'll have more hair coming out in the shower or on the brush. This unusual shedding will taper off and your hair will be back to its pre-pregnancy thickness about six to 12 months after you give birth.

By the way, not all women notice dramatic changes in their hair during pregnancy or the postpartum period. Among those who do, it tends to be more obvious among women with longer hair.

\b[WHAT CAN I DO ?],

You won't be able to stop the hair from falling out, but you can experiment with different hairstyles or products (such as hair thickeners or mousse) to give your hair a fuller look during this transition period.

Many moms, tired of scooping hair out of shower drains or sweeping strands off the bathroom floor, find that now is a good time to go for a short cut. Plus, a short, wash-and-go hairstyle can be easier to take care of when you have a new baby in the house and you're strapped for time.

A note to new moms with long hair: Strands of hair can end up tightly wrapped around your baby's tiny appendages, including his fingers, toes, wrists, ankles, and penis. This is called a hair tourniquet, and it can be quite painful for your little one. If you find him crying for no apparent reason, check carefully for tight bands of hair.

merry x'mas everyone!

btw, got an used bumbo seat from a mummy for free today and after tested on aidan this afternoon, it seems just nice hence think aidan will outgrow it soon... luckily i din buy yesterday... saved some money!

Merry Xmas Mummies!

Haiz.. seems like lot of bb is sick.. Natalie also! So having dairrhoea & fever! It jus came too sudden... i suspect due to my ils.. COS on SUN morning, I saw mil bring Natalie downstairs as usual to find those uncles n aunties DEN i SAW one of e uncle he trying to us FRIED POPIAH N LET nat LICK N TASTE! I was v v unhappy. I went up and say she is still young.. EVEN SHE 4mth i haven start weaning her also! THEY GIVE MI FXXX face.

Den when i bring Nat home, she diarrhoea n fever! TILL 38degree! some more no PD ETC! Lucky i still got e fever med for her n fast change her milk to soya! now she getting BIT better oni.. bt fever still running. HOW HEART PAIN. DEN end up IL blame mi say all mytoys to her dirty la etc!

I even see how my mil sterlise e bottles which to my unsatisfactioN! I trying to tel her N yet i having a hb who don even bother. He jus keep quiet. I TELL HIM ITS OUR CHILD> WE seee ways which is wrong must say out! if not alot prob arise N bb is so pitiful.

Natalie suppose to have her jab on tml.. bt i think no way liao.. gotta postpone. I jus so angry n fed up.. i dono when i will shut my mouht anymore N jus raise out!

Wat to do.. let ppltake care i cant do anyting! Blame who? SOmetme blame myself not having to be a full time mum when she need mi... OR blame my hb cant afford to support us! ahaha...

Makes mi realli msut THINK THRICE whether to have another.. realli!

Hi Cynthia,
How's nat? Fever subside? IL discharging liabilities when things head wrong ways.... <haiz> me facing the same IL which use this method.

cynthia,
don't worry must be the popiah which is oily not gd for bb.
i close my eyes liao my mil also anyhow feed my girl with bread and milo. i keep quiet until my hubby scold her. yesterday morning he go breakfast with us then he saw mil feed my girl milo n he stop her. then my mil dun dare liao.

all the way i keep quiet. cos i know hubby will open his mouth.
this old ppl are never see coffine won't scare one..

hi all mommies!
haven't logged on since last thur and can't keep up with the postings liao.

hope everyone had a great xmas, we were so busy with friends and family feeling dam knocked out in the office now. luckily boss on leave so i can jus watch the clock, focus on pumping then go home.

cynthia,
oh dear!! your ILs definitely sound like a pain. sometimes we must really put our foot down, and tell them NO FEEDING BABY NONSENSE! my MIL already starting to murmur some ideas about making fish porridge for leon NOW. the other day, she was eating haagen daz n said eh leon wants to eat also, when i said cannot, she gave me the look as if im a bad mommy, i was DAM ANNOYED. n when i said no citrus fruits till he's at least one, she said don worry she'll choose the sweet oranges. SIGH, they just don't get it do they.

SIGNS OF TEETHING
leon has been a wee bit cranky the past 2 days (dunno if it is due to the excessive going out n lack of naps). i read on the net, most babies teeth round about 6-7mths, but i'm wondering if he is now. cos he is drooling super a lot, and hasnt been feeding too well the last 2 days.

do other bfeeding moms have the same prob as me? sometimes when i have a letdown, the milk spurts out and he chokes n gets v upset n doesnt wanna feed anymore. but strange thing is, this only started bothering him the past few days.. usually when he chokes, he'll cough cough a bit then ok already.

im not sure if its the letdown or his gums bothering him these days ...

any body got teething toys to recommend? has anyone started their bb on teething toys already? those gel/water filled ones that u put in the fridge first, do they help? mb i buy one after work ...

Merry Xmas everyone!
MIA for awhile cos haf been on leave so din log in so often! We brot megan for her 4th mth jab last sat then proceeded with xmas shopping... she was a bit cranky that day but so far so good... She is now 6.8kg, measuring 63cm and head circumference 40.3cm...I find her head rather small.... dunno what percentile is she in...

Augbaby and cyn,
how's jayden and natalie? better? dun feel so bad... try not to bring our babies to crowded places for now though I am guilty of it this season...

Hi cat n pups,
I would put both my feet down if both side of parents start feeding megan...we can start feeding baby with solids liao ah? megan is still on bm... am thinking of starting her on solids in the 6th mth...

hi pups,
what are the signs of teething? megan has been drooling a lot lately but when i ask PD is that a teething sign, he says no cs babies drool at this age...

But megan has been quite cranky at my breasts recently... and drink a bit pul and pluck off drink a bit then pluck off, pain ah! like same prob you facing?

I bot megan some teething toys like those with gel inside, put inside the fridge then let her chew kind... and the other is the munchkin ball twister also for teething purposes...she quite like both lei

hi piyo,
mi having problem breastfeeding too. kaefer will suck a bit n turn away n refuse to suck anymore, even though it's feeding time. in fact, he'll go about many hours without milk, until he is reaally hungry, den he will gwai gwai drink. wondering wat he's up to. And he cant seem to finish his milk many times. how much r ur babies drinking?

any mummies need to buy Ameda valves? Cos i'll be going to Infantree to get replacement valves so if anybody need i can help u to buy first. can ask my hb to pass to u if u working near tj pagar or can post to u as well. Any need pls PM me within Wednesday ok?

hi cynthia and augbaby,
how's ur babies?

hi augbaby,
jayden slept better yest? kayden did but still din want to drink much. hope he'll drink more today.

hi catherine,
u allowed ur ils to feed ur baby milo and bread? did ur baby feel unwell after that? can digest bread liao meh? i'm so afraid that my mil will feed my boy nonsense so i always tell my hb to keep an eye cos not very nice for me to tell my mil. but if he's not around, i'll still tell her lor cos we're the only ones who can protect our precious one. he's dependent on us at this moment.

re: teething
remember i mentioned that kayden might be teething cos he has a hard white spot on his lower gum and it's not removable even i've wiped it many many times. he's drooling, sucking and biting on everything he can lay his hands on. told the pd about it and she told me that it's not teething. she used a medical term which i din understand. all the symptoms are not teething symptoms but are normal for babies of their age.

re: not drinking milk
kayden has been refusing his milk again. my parents say it might be 'hong sim" cos i brought him out for two consecutive days where everybody takes turn to carry him and play with him. even though his last feed is at 12midnight, he refuses to drink until 10am and it was a miserable 60ml. just want to play and play. dunno wat to do with him leh.

erin,
actually this symptoms shows that baby is going to be ready for semi solid food. If teething baby will start to have fever. They need saliva and sucking to swollow food. this is the process every baby will go through.

Re: not drinking milk
is not "hong sim" you got to find ways to feed him, even my girl bottle feed also got lots of problem feeding her. she will suck awhile then scream then suck again. i have to shake her like riding horse then she will drink. i let her face out instead of facing me. maybe face me she dun want to drink she will smile and laugh. thats how i force feed her :X

i close one eyes lar wait i say too much she not happy so i keep quiet. if she unwell then blame them lor make them scare hehe. so far my ger ok lar. cos milo and bread not oily.

but my hubby stop my mil to feed her milo and bread liao say she still not ready wait she choke. then she stop feeding her. my PIL all scare of my hubby so i can close one eye.

piyo,

megan muz be growing izzit? milk flow not to her taste?

Think my jadelle quite small size leh only ~6.2 kg and she is 16 weeks old now. I also find her head diameter small leh.. izzit cos understimulated? Jan 3rd then will be 4 months..... oh dear, have i been underfeeding her? maybe i should give up 100% BF... especially since i keep on expressing 8 oz during office hours only..
enough for 2 feeds of 120ml..

Merry X'mas and happy new year!! Have been a while nvr post here liao. Busy at work after many days of leave. Jay is ok now, thought he still poo quite a number of times a day (ytday 3 times).

Cat,
I am still feeding Jay Soymilk, 3 feeds a day and another 4 feeds are BM. Trying to replace the soymilk with BM slowly. Hm. . . his poo become a bit waterly after BM, dunno if it's lao sai or normal BM poo lo. Coz I give BM alternate feed so most of the time after BM he will poo lo, but poo not those very waterly type. Sometime bit pasty somemore, dunno if it's bcoz he taking soymilk as well?

erin,
Ya, that's the programme, called first step shown every monday night 10:30pm.

jasmine,
6.2kg i think is 50 percentile so dun worry ur jadelle is normal. Mine girl is 7.2kg at 4 mths the nurse say she quite heavy, i was wondering did i feed her too much.

cocomo,
give jay sometime slowly he will reduce his poo from 3times a day to 1 time a day. as long as he dun feel unwell or cranky or dont want to drink his milk. i think he is doing fine.
btw what color is his poo?

Ever since I've gone back to work last Monday and my parents taking care of my boy, he's now drinking from bottle when I'm at work. We note that his intake is about 4-5 oz of EBM every 3 hrs. He'll be drinking lesser if he's sleepy when feeding.

When I latch him on, sometimes he'll pull and tug at my nipple too (PAIN!). Sometimes he'll just stop and goo-gaa at me, and then continue latching on again. If I latch him on when there're people around (ya, I latch him in front of my aunties and female cousins and nieces. buay paiseh liao :D ), he'll be "hong sim" and keep looking around at all the activity and commotion, and thereby tugging and pulling at my nipple (OUCH!).

So far no problems like milk rejection. He drools quite a bit when he sucks his hands or the occasional pacifier and toy. He'll be 4mths old this Friday and should be having his 2nd jab this weekend.

any mummies have given baby rotavirus??? how much u pay for it?

My GP charging $100 per dose...... think kkh is at $80 per dose

hmm,

there is a GP near my place charging 75sgd/ dose.. excluding consultation though..

cocomo,
so we can see our babies when on TV? this coming monday? or over liaoz and i miss it?

Hi Leia,
how is the pumping coming along? better or not now? Jadelle also drinks 4 to 5 oz every 3 hrs when i not around, but when i am around, she latch on every 2 hrs....i notice that over weekends, when i latch her on 100%, she dun poo.. does that mean my BM not enough?

been a terrible wk for me...sigh...jay is still sick and we brought him to see the PD again on sat..he is having runny nose n cough..brought him again to see the PD yest as the past 2 days he been super cranky and at night sleep a while wake up and cry n cry non stop and i have to carry him n pet him back to sleep...he has been putting everything into his mouth n been super cranky and his milk intake has decrease..he also lost weight..
i am feeling very depressed and stressed out..he was 7.1kg a wk ago n now he is 6.8kg...i am also wondering if he is teething and that is y he is cranky and crying n waking up at nite? totally lost...barely sleep much and luckily i am on leave but tom i am going bk to work and i get freak out now when he start crying..

piyo
is the munchkin ball reali good? i got him the gel pigeon flower shape thing to bite n jay does bite it but then after a while away from the fridge it is not cold anymore n he gets bored wif it and wil start to fuss...

erin,
thanks for the concern..sigh...dun noe if jay is reali teething or not...totally stress out....duno wat to do if he continue to cry at nite n dun sleep...

Jasmine,

I think goat's rue does help but I'm only taking like 2-3 capsules per day. Expensive lah... :p But there's definitely some increase in the qty of milk but I can't tell how much. :p

My first pump session in the office at 10+am is almost always a letdown, though breasts are still full. Gets better after lunch. So far enough lah. My boy not starving yet. :p

I latch my boy on at night and on weekends. He'll also feed every 2+hrly. Somehow, he can never drink as much in as short a time compared to bottle.

Jesline,

$100 for rotavirus (excluding GST) at Singapore Baby &amp; Child Clinc (Mt A) where my boy goes. I still have my receipt with me. :p

augbaby,

sorry to hear about jay's fussiness.. poor dear, you must be tired.. i was down with the cough n running nose too and was so afraid that i will pass it to Jadelle..you forgot to ask PD if he is teething?

jesline,
the place is called The Family Clinic@ towner, just outside boon keng mrt..they open until midnight, so is a bonus for me if i need to see a doc. The GP, he treated me for food poisoning before i knew i was preggie and joked that i have to miss that month to try for baby.. but i was already preggie but didn't know then..hm, seems like i can bring jadelle for rota virus (oral) there..

what about penumococcal jabs? how much it cost you all? i haven't brought jadelle for those 2 jabs yet, as not sure if really needed boh..

ROTAVIRUS
I also paid $100(excluding GST) at Singapore Baby &amp; Child Clinc(AMK).

my girl just went for her 2nd 5-in-1 jab last week, this time, she did not develop fever.. but my mom fed her "pao sheng" the day b4 the jab lah..

any idea if the 3rd one will trigger off fever?

augbaby, hv u given Jay rotavirus??

hm,

internet is down for international sites.. cos of earthquake.. boring @ work.. keke..feels like going shopping.. CK tang having 20% off and isetan have private sale tomorrow..

Hi augbaby,
i also bought the pigeon flower teether but kayden only bite on it for a while. he prefers his finger, fist or handkerchief.

jayden looks like a big boy now. can sit liao hor. he's like kayden, likes to grab his feet.

Tks for e concern. Natalie fver subsides 1 day later. Gave her plenty of water n using the KOOL FEVER on her forehead. HER fever shoot to 38.6! I was terrified!

Now looking after her till Jan 03 back to work. Lucky my boss is a v family man type he don mind mi gg away on Unpaid. Phew!

Haiz.. sometime hb even keep quiet regards in law issue. I also cant help much. Just angry n upsetting n heart pain!

Now she still having greasy n some blood loose stool. PD mention is normal, WIll have to last 3-7days. As long no fever, give more water is veri impt now! Haiz.. IM NOW 24hr cant sleep mummie.

Though she started to play again, BUT crying is like screaming! THink her abodminal must be v pain n still chunky.

Okie she is screaming.. i gotta go,
keep u all updated

Hi Jas,
ya ask the PD but she say cant say for sure but that his gums is a little inflammed...gave me some cream thing to put..

leobbsmom
ya jay got his rotavirus 1st dose that time but for his 2nd 5in1 jab n 2nd dose of rotavirus need to be postpone as he is sick

erin,
ya i also dun noe y he recently likes to grab his feet alot..he can use both hands n grab both his feet while lying on the bed...he dun reali know how to sit..we actually juz prop him on the cushions for a while coz now he likes to sit up..he dun noe how to balance yet so will topple sideways after a while...

Hi, mummies

looks like the pricing for rotaviurs is around $100....

any mummies bought any insurance for baby? can share on the type of plan?

hi jasmine
the penumococcal jabs cost $170 per jab (think need about 4 jabs) for my baby who is coming to 5mths.... think as baby gets older, the number of jab needed will be lesser lor...

me too had not let baby had both yet....i want baby to have it but hubby said dont need those optional vaccines lor.... think will go for the rotavirus on saturday... baby going for her 3rd 5in1 jab

Hi, cythnia

maybe u can try to boil some barley water for baby to drink (dont add sugar).....

Hi, augbaby &amp; erin
my baby also like to grab both her legs when lying down.... sometime she will try to pull her socks until her socks going to drop off.....