(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

hi jokojoko,

u're fast on the BPs!
hehee
anyway, i've drop a msg in her BP to ask when she closing n if she got any limit on her BP.
If she's not closing so soon & if Sarah dun have stock, we may still make it for the new BP.

hi ningyo,
cuz im at home and bb sleeping mah... so very free... this might be my last BP cuz going back to work on wed and might not have time to surf net liao... unless the BP not so hot and can wait!

Hi ningyo,
I have sms-ed firstmum2 pass augbaby's and mine to you tonight
I c if I can pick up from you tomolo, most prob can... if not then I will wait till the gathering or whichever is earlier
thanks again!

hi augbaby,
perhaps you can tell her that during weekends when you are handling jayden, she does not need to interfere, just stand and watch and only act if you ask her to? and weekdays she has to help most of the time?

hi jojokoko,
try asking your hubby to carry him more? my hubby carries megan all the time that she smiles more to him than to me.. makes me so jealous haha

joko,
my hubby also seldom see my girl, but last weekend my girl still smile to him when he carry her.

maybe try ask ur hubby to smile at ur bb more. and he will smile back. may be talking bb dun understand so cry lor..

Hi jokojoko,
No wonder u're so fast! So u're still at home.The weather these few days quite good for noon naps.
hehee

Hi Piyo & Augbaby,
What are ur books' tittles? Is it 3 books-Brainy baby bath, Left & right book for $17.00?

kao_dizzy.gif
Eeks Fio,
That sounds like silverfish!

They freak me out too when I find them amongst papers (when I was working in school).
What's more, they crawl away so quickly before I can kill them.
Don't know if insecticide works on them though.
Eee ... Gives me shudders just thinking of them.

Noe,
My menses previously on the dot 1.

Fio,
My MIL is the opposite of urs. She extreme clean until my son who is take care by her when young suffered quite alot when he go childcare.

Kelly,
Thank you for the info on 1st toothbrush. I just brought from the NTUC pharmacy n cost me $12.50 lei. Definitely have to buy from BP. Am now oso looking for cheap Similac as the price is increasing. Cant tahan lei.

Wah today many posts hor!!!

leia, Augustmum, Kelly,
Thanks for sharing with us your story and tots.
I always wish to become a SAHM but have lotso worries in mind (eg, house loan, car loan, insurance, maid etc). If only my hubby's salary to support this household sure not enough one.

Not really happy at work after returned from my ML, that causes me lagi hope to resign and be a SAHM!

Yes, mummies you are right that when you are the first to see/know your bao bei doing his first ever new thing in their life, you are so so so happy!!! When I first saw Jayden flip by his self, I was so so so happy (lucky not my maid or babysitter see first)!!!

Piyo,
You know whenever I see and hear my boy crying from the cameras, I just tot of rushing back home, especially today. When I called hm just now maid told me bebe cries coz dun wanna drink milk. Ai. . . really dunno why everytimes Jayden can finish the milk when I feed him but others feed him, he cant even finish half. So the whole drink process takes abt one hour today for all the 2 feeds just now.

I was so happy at hm with Jayden last weekend, seeing him recover from his illness and rashes, Seeing him flipping, playing, smiling. Miss him a lot now!!! And now, sitting in my office, I am getting worry and scare to leave him with them. ai how . . . really feel like crying now.

kao_sad2.gif
Cocomo,
Sayang Jayden for us please.
How's his skin now? Any improvement after you found out the cause for it?
Pleasure Erin,
I have one now. Very useful.
Jul sleeps in it in the day time.
He prefers it over the cot.

Noe,
Thanks! Doctor gave cream to apply (but then he said quite strong one so can only apply a bit and if ok liao then stop), his skin already quite ok as at this morning. Really glad and release. Thanks!

Hi Ningyo,
Mine is only the Left and right books. I did not order the Bath books.

Augbaby,
Can you confirm your books with Ningyo cos I can't find the old BP thread when i was checking your orders. Apologies!

Hi cocomo,
Sometimes with camera makes you miss him more. I understand... another 2hrs you can run home liao! think about it this way you will look forward! I am never good at feeing with bottles cos everytime I hold her, she will look for my breast so I gave up feeding her. Normally my hubby or my mum or my maid will feed. You dun latch him right?

kao_smile2.gif
Hi Augustmum,
Yeah there's an improvement for sure (so much money paid leh).
However, as atopic eczema is chronic, we have to keep our boys well-moisturised.
Should they have a flare up (as Joe recently did), we will follow a course of treatment with the medicine prescribed by our skin specialist for him.

hi cocomo,
glad to hear that jayden is recovering...

just noticed some red patches under aidan's armpit and a bit near the neck... dunno if it is due to heat or bad rashes... mummies, if bad rashes should be all over the body is it? cuz his face, legs and hands are ok leh... and i cant bring him to see gp now cuz going to rain...

kao_sad2.gif
Oh Kelly,
I should have known you earlier.
That's the only recommendation I received from my friend who's eczema herself.

I visited Dr Thiru who's in private practice which explains the cost.
<font size="-2">Specialist Skin Clinic
1 Grange Rd #06-04 Orchard Bldg</font>

Will you kindly PM me Prof Giam's contact please.
Now that I have another recommendation, I don't have to go back to Dr Thiru should I need to seek a skin specialist again.
Thanks much!

Did Prof Giam prescribe Protopic to Gabe then?

Piyo,
I am still latching him, but only middle of night when he's sleepy so that he dun bites me. I like the feeling of bfg him, like what jokojoko said. . . bonding. Just like show me that he is mine and mummy is impt to him! I like to look at him and pat pat his head when latch him on. Today I called home 3 times liao coz keep seeing him crying. xin tong. . .

Hi piyo &amp; augbaby,
Got ur books tittle. Will collect from Pauline tonite.

I'm counting down to knock off work... :D hehee

Hi, mummies interested in Tippy Toes socks

think better place orders first as BP will closed ocne reached 30 boxes... now 8 boxes already

kao_smile2.gif
Hi Leia, Augustmum, Kelly &amp; Pups,
It's great to read your sharing.

Yeah Augustmum,
I understand how you felt then.
For me, I was bonded when I had my first so I couldn't quit although I much would love to.
Heh heh Kelly,
I am somewhat like yourself.
I want to be the first one to see my boys' firsts.

cocomo,
ya, gave him another bath just now hoping he will be cooler and rashes will go away... will monitor and see if it gets betta tonight... maid said he's ok in the morning...

i didnt place another order for the socks le... maybe i can place one since erin00 is sharing with me hor... think she dun mind if end up a box each ba...

<blockquote><hr size=0><!-quote-!><font size=1>quote:</font>

there was a v good article in TODAY some weeks back on SAHMs. research has indicated it is impt for children to have ONE key caregiver with them up to the age of THREE, and i definitely plan to be the one for Leon.<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>
Amen Pups!
By the way, you may like to read Bringing Up Boys by James Dobson.
He has many insightful writings and true life cases shared in his books.
Mummies of boy(s) may like to read this book too.

Hi Cocomo,
Yeah, it most likely has steriod contents in it.
That's why Doc said it's strong.
Nonethelesss, most importantly Jayden is recovering.

hi mommies
i'm fr the sep 2006 thread n juz wondering if any of u here have circumcised your baby boys? would like to get your comments if u hv, pls PM me ok?

thks!

cocomo,
hubby just told me he had ordered polo socks for aidan too... he saw i selected some polo stuff for BP the last time so he already asked his fren in U.S to buy for us when he's coming back this xmas as the BP failed... so think i'll not place another order... might end up with too many socks...

hi piyo,
yeah sort of have everything double
lucky the cot bed at my PIL's a friend's friend gave to us. as for bouncer, only put at my PIL's. back at our own flat, we only hv weekend clothes since we stay there during weekdays, so work clothes all put there. for my boy, only put a few clothings, as long as enough for the weekend. as for steriliser, i put the electric one at my PIL's and back at our own flat, i use the boiling method. only hv 1 stroller, coz when boy was a little older, (think abt 8 or 9 months old onwards), we took the mrt to save on cost, so need the stroller. by the time we got ready on fridays to go home, it's abt like 8.30 or 9pm, after the mrt ride, usually arrive nearly 9.30pm 0r 10pm, but my boy enjoyed those mrt rides. milk bottles - 2 sets. lucky my boy can use any kind of bottles, so the avent ones were at my PILs, and back at our own flat, i just bought some cheapo ones for him to use. hehehe.

it's not easy to be SAHM. not easy to be FTWM too. b4 i became piano teacher, i was in the IT industry. i lazy to type everything here..... :p when we next meet we can chat.

noe &amp; augustmum,
i booked gabe's 1st appt wif Nat'l Skin Centre over e phone. Subsequent appts were booked thru e website. www.nsc.gov.sg

if u r a civil servant, if i not wrong, u get govt rates. i paid $69 for 1st time consultation and the total bill was <$110 for consultation, medication &amp; creams. Subsequent consultation within 6mths is $40+. when i brought an 18mths old gabe 2 c Prof Giam, i paid only $80+ (consultation &amp; creams).

when u r calling NSC 2 make appt, request for Prof Giam. u need 2wks in adv for an appt.

Noe,
i was also recommended tat book by a frien. Heard it's quite gd. me reading other parenting books now. will move onto tat book when i can.

Hi, kelly

got any good parenting books to recommend?

So far, i had read the following
The Contented Little Baby Book
Secrets of The Baby Whisperer by Tracy Hogg
The Attachment Parenting Book by Martha Sears

also thinking of getting books by Glenn Doman

Hi Jesline &amp; cocomo &amp; ninygo,
me just finished pumping milk.. can go home liao hehe
I miss my bb...

cocomo,
me also enjoyed latching megan... she will look up at me nowadays... last time she just close eyes and just suckle away...

ningyo,
Thanks for helping us collect!

jesline, piyo
i'm reading "children r from heaven" and "becoming the parent u want to be". i bought the "Secrets of The Baby Whisperer" and "wat to expect the toddler yrs" but dun really fancy them.

http://www.amazon.com/Children-Are-Heaven-Cooperative-Compassionate/dp/0060930993/sr=1-1/qid=1164022385/ref=pd_bbs_sr_1/102-3049706-2348169?ie=UTF8&amp;s=books

http://www.amazon.com/Becoming-Parent-You-Want-Sourcebook/dp/0553067508/sr=1-1/qid=1164022422/ref=pd_bbs_sr_1/102-3049706-2348169?ie=UTF8&amp;s=books

the 1st book shares wif u how u shld parent ur child wif love &amp; no scolding &amp; punishment. e author also shared wif how u shld parent children wif different temperaments. i like tis book cos easier 2 read.

the 2nd book is my FAV book 4 e moment. it's very different fr "secrets of the baby whisperer" and "wat to expect the toddler years" cos it's a book tat offers u guidelines on how 2 b a parent based on ur own values &amp; morals &amp; NOT 2 b a textbook parent (cos there's no right or wrong method). at e end of each segment in a chapter, there r always questions, asking u "how u did/handle tis issue, wat other ways u could hv done it, etc"

augbb, piyo, ningyo
i didnt know u all r collecting books fr firstmum. i collected e books fr her yesterday so could hv picked it up 4 u gals.

erin,
u asked abt giving juice 2 kayden now? how abt trying e bottled Heinz fruit juice? if i not wrong, there's apple juice which is ok 2 give. not sweet &amp; not too much.

noe,
too bad u not joining us 4 e gatherings. i love 2 chat wif u on how u handled ur boys and i tik we can 'click' cos we possessive mummies...want to see our bbs' FIRSTS...

cocomo, piyo
for e past few wks, hard 2 latch edward too cos e cheeky fellow will smile at me, give me a look b4 continuing 2 drink. it's tat look/action of his tat melts ur heart.

smlow
must share ur becoming-SAHM story when we meet on 3dec ya...

thks for sharing your thoughts and views.
i've not been working since i was a couple of mths pregnant, so have since been living on my savings. however i do not want to stay too long a day away from my gal, hence i've decided to work part time instead starting from dec. i believe every mommy wants the best for her child, so as long as we do not compromise our child's happiness, the rest is history...;)

hi Noe,
So it's called "sliverfish", gonna check it out from the web...thks!

hi augbaby,
i agree with piyo that explaining to your maid about not interfering when you're handling jay, rather you need her help more with the housework and stuff...

talking about you taking the back seat while your maid sit in front, me and my hubby got a shock bcos we naturally looked at the front passenger the other day...hahaha...

wah, mummies reading books ah..... i very lazy leh. always cannot read page by page, no matter what book i read. i will read a few pages, then skip and skip.... :p

hubby just told me that we need to start looking for childcare centres (18mths) cuz good ones usually got long waiting list... any advice?

jokojoko,
wat ur husband said is true but i wont recommend u 2 place aidan in cc unless there's really NO other options. i did tik of putting gabe in a cc but after my mum works in a chain of childcare centres, she came home 1 day (after working there for 2-3days), instructing me 2 NEVER put her grandson in cc. will share e stories wif u when we meet up.

goodnight mommies,

sigh i'm so bothered by my ameda pump. thing is, i cant even identify what the problem is except that its not as good as b4 ...

sobs

jokojoko

i've heard horror stories about CCs too, but if you have to, the small housed ones are better i think, altho much more expensive, choose one near your home?

re: books, the books kelly/Noe recommended sound good, KELLY, do you know if they are available at the national library? i've been borrowing a lot of books from the library on baby, the selection is not too bad, tho i haven't seen those titles.

Hi piyo &amp; augbaby,
Collected the books already.

Piyo,
i brought ur books to the office, so if u intend to collect them today, juz drop me an sms b4 5pm. Else i wont be bringing them to meet my gfs at PS.

Hi Kelly,
Wow! U really read up alot! Ur baby's gonna be like u, widely read. hehee
Thanks for ur list of to-read books for us mummies.I've been thinking of getting books to read up but kinda lazy. hehee, only got books for my mum to read. My mum only know how to read chinese. Will check out those books over the weekend.

Thanks for offering to collect the books too. Anyway, my mum is staying at BB, so its quite convenient for me to pick them up.

HI jojokoko,
Do you intend to put your baby there the whole day? In that case, would you still need the maid after 18 mths? Me planning to put megan there for half day and most prob in the afternoon when no one is at home. YOu sure the waiting list is THAT long?

hi Kelly,
tell me about the CC stories too.. cos I plan to put megan in there for half a day so that she can learn something instead if stayig at home with the maid doing NOTHING. Wouldn't it be better than putting her with the maid the whole day?

Hi Ningyo,
Thanks!!! Would you be at PS any earlier than 7 pm?

hi pupsandcups,
I did hear that the ameda pump's power may deterioriate after some time of usage too...I am thinking of trying out the avent manual pump. Heard it can empty the breasts better than electric pumps.. is that true mummies?

Hi, piyo

You can click on the link below to take a look at the content for the Baby Whisperer
http://www.amazon.com/gp/reader/0345440900/ref=sib_dp_pt/103-9122597-5870237#reader-link

Basically, this book teaches u how to communicate, calm &amp; connect with your baby &amp; also putting baby on a routine. The important point is to treat baby with Respect. Quite a easy to read book

normally when buying books, i will go to Amazon website &amp; key in the book titles &amp; bought those with 5 or 4.5 star rating.....

had also order another 2 books from Kinokuniya...
1)How Smart is Your Baby? by Glenn &amp; Janet Doman
2)Baby Massage

Last night abt 10:30pm I rushed to KK hospital coz one of my good fren's daughter who was borned 2 weeks ago was hospitalised. Initially doctor said it was due to lung infection but now says no and they dunno what's the cause so they stop the antibiotic. My fren is having serious cough and flu so she cant breastfeed her. Thus I offer her my BM at least got some antibody that hopefully can help her little. The gal so poor thing, little body with so many tubes on her. I saw already so 'xin shuan' wanna cry but cannot coz my fren need support, if I cry then she will also. Doctor said the bebe's critical time will be Sunday, ytday and today. So if can go thru will be safe but still need to be hospitalised for quite sometime. Really wish both can get well soon.