(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

hi leia

baby bjorn is a structured baby carrier http://www.babybjorn.com/TemplatesWeb/ProductInfo.asp?itemid=2284 v popular in the west and with ang mohs, my boy loves it

ask you gals, do your babies love the cot mobile? i have a cheapo wind up one he seems to like at the moment, am wondering if i shd invest in the Tiny Love one with the mozart music, anybody got feedback to share? it's q expensive, i don wanna buy then he don like

also, i have JUST started to store breastmilk, what sort of containers r good? and for eg, if i express out half a bottle, then 3 hours later express again, can i top up in the same bottle?

I think all PIL are alike!!! They've got a obession with the pacifier and the sarong! My MIL also insist on the pacifier and the sarong! Now my baby can;t sleep without either. Can't imagine when i bring him out and he needs to sleep and can't then he'll start howling...

And just a few weeks ago, she showed me that she burps him after a full feed by shaking him vigorously in her arms!!! *roll eyes* AND she keeps insisting he's cold at night. She doesn't allow the fan and insists that he's swaddled and then she folds a thick towel into 3 layers and puts it over him! **FAINT** Feel like screaming at her but then gotta bite my tongue!!!!

Thank goodness i've moved back to my mum's place!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Wow! I think i'm lucky to stay with my mum. Think if i'm with my PIL, they'll also give him glucose and sarong sling. hehee

Hi pups,
i've got a fisher price ocean wonder and a cheap cot mobile. My boy quite like the ocean wonder coz it'll light up at night BUT didnt use it now coz he sleep thru the night. My boy is not interested in the cheap cot mobile.
Anyway, mayb u get Mozart CDs and play him the music? Generally, juz my thoughts i think mobiles only keep small babies occupied. When they grow up, they'll prefer more sophiscated toys and wont be entertained by the mobile.

I'm currently using Avent cups and bottles for storing milk for daily consumption coz cups and bottles take quite alot of space.

Avent bags for storing milk to supply when im at work.Milk in avent bags take shorter time to thaw.Im quite ks put those bags of freeze milk in zip lock bag to prevent fish/meat containminating the milk.
Initially wanted to get a big lock n lock box but i think zip lock bags save more space.

I think a mummy mentioned b4 that to combine different timing expressed milk, the milk must be at same temperature. So its best that u put the 2 different timing expressed milk in the fridge to cool for some hrs b4 u store them togeter to freeze.

thks for the advise ningyo

ya i guess when baby is able to turn, won b interested in the mobile anymore ... ok won invest in one, i think better to invest in other toys, the la maze one's r good i feel.

about storage im not going back to work, is jus that i keep expressing to try to stock up for days i might want to go out without baby. also my hubby won a free night stay at bintan, so we'll be going soon without baby, so wanna start stocking up. how much do the avent cups vs avent bag cost?

also i jus expressed forgot to sterilise the bottle, but washed, u think i shd throw or keep?

yes, i'm using the avent liners. Save space as compared to bottles and cups. As for combining the milk, it is ok to combine both but you have to take note of the timing. Take the earlier timing. This is what i'm doing now. I did not put my milk in the freezer, it is at the lower compartment, so the BM will have to be consumed within 2 days. As for the timing, i did not do it at the same temperature. I just add on to it.

ningyo,

I wanted to get the Avent cups but it says there to throw after using for 4 times? I was wondering how come and HB say maybe the plastic structure weaken or change after repeated sterilisations!? So I wonder if it's safe for repeated use then.

Even for my Ameda breastpump, the manual says it (the plastic parts) will deteroriate after repeated sterilisation.

hi, the avent VIA cups are meant as disposable cups, but can only sterilize for a few times. the salesperson told me the plastic is not as sturdy as normal milk bottles, so can only sterilize a few times.
when i got the medela breast pump, the medela lady advised me to just pour boiling water over the pump to sterilize it instead of boiling it in a pot or sterilize using those electric sterilizers, so that it'll last longer.

hi leia, initially i wanted to get the avent cups too coz it comes in 180 and 240 ml sizes. but reusable for 4 times only. so in the end i got medela freezer pack (12 x 80ml).

im oso using ameda breastpump. i sterilise everytime after use. im using sterilising tablet.

Hi all mummies

Anyone with maid? Have you guys set any house rules? I just employed a maid and am thinking of setting some house rules for her to follow. But not sure what are they. Any advices?

hi pupsandcups, my bb is small too. he's born 2.8kg. but after discharged, he's only 2.5kg. he'll be exactly 1 mth on this thur, and he's only ard 3-3.1kg. im damn worried too.

hi pupsandcups,
kayden's born small-sized too. 2.445kg at birth. weighs 4.2kg at 4 wks. dun have to worry if baby is feeding, sleeping and pooing well. my pd says on avg, bb shd gain at least 1 kg per month in the initial stage so urs shd be fine.

hi juz_jewel,
ya lor. dat's why i chose to bring my boy back to mum's place immediately after confinement. can instruct or discuss with own mum how to bring up ur baby but can't tell our mil off rite? wow, ur baby must be really hot!

i've avent cups, manual breast pump, avent liners and pigeon disposable breast pads. in fact, i've 5 big boxes of breast pads bought from thailand. so sad i din really get to use them. if any1 wants to buy them, can get from me. also have some glass bottles from kkh. not using them at all. perhaps can pass to any1 of u during the gathering.

Hi pups,
Not sure how much the cups cost coz i got the cups together with my breast pump. The avent liners cost $16.50 for 100 pieces but i got it at a lower price from some mummy in the bulk purchase. The price is even cheaper than if bought fm Robinson at 20% discount + 5%{card holder discount)

Hi leia,
My colleague was telling me the avent cups will go out of shape after using for some time, eg like the lid will not close properly.
The instruction booklet in the avent cups also indicate to dispose after dun know how many time, like mayb 4-7 times usage?

Anyway, DO NOT use the avent cups to warm up the milk directly using stove coz the cup will melt. My hubby tried once n wasted my 100ml of milk.

i'll transfer the milk fm cup into milk bottle and heat. But i think its not very good also coz the milk bottle is made of plastic too.

smlow, edksd:

Thanks for the tip on sterilisation.
I think I should just do the hot water thingy from now. Btw, for milk bottles, safe to just pour hot water over, or die die need to boil/sterilise? I've got friends who from day 1 never sterilise. Her BB also nvr LS. :p

Btw, sterilisation tablet how to use? Nvr use before... I prolly need to use that to sterilise the pump in the office when I go back to work. We have a mommy's room in the workplace for expressing milk. Got microwave for sterilising, and fridge for storing milk before bringing home at the end of the day. However, the instruction manual says Ameda pump cannot use microwave to sterilise leh.

hi pups,
For frizer storage, I put all my BM inside storage bag and put them all inside one big locker box to seperate from Fish/meat (just feel this way cleaner). Initially I used Medela storage bag but I feel it's not as good so now I am using Pigeon storage bag.

I din know the Avent cups can only use for 4 times (just check the instruction it said 4 times), have been sterilised dunno how many times already!! jia lat. But then if throw after 4 times of use a but waste le. Anyone have better idea to store the BM (I mean to put inside fridge for use within 48 hours).

cocomo,
When i bought my Medela breastpump, it came with cooler bag plus 4 bottles. So now i store my BM in these 4 bottles. Mebbe u can go and buy those cheaper milk bottles to store? AFter use, sterilise and reuse again?

juz-jewel,
Wah, ur MIL thot it's winter ah? Ur poor bb must be so hot!

hehe... My MIL scared baby "liang". That's why bundle until liddat! Actually baby very smelly from all the sweating!!!

Mummies who are storing EBM, i have some avent bag liners that i've opened and took a few out to use and i kept them nicely in a sealed plastic box. Now i'm not breastfeeding at all so i've no use for them so thinking of giving them away. No point keeping until i have the next baby... Anybody wans? I've to search for it at my MIL's place this weekend and then i can pass it to whoever who wans. Preferably either someone staying at Jurong West or near East Coast/Bedok area then easier to pass to meet... If anyone wans can PM me k?

hi Leia,
when i was working last time, i used sterilizing tablet to sterilize the pump in the office. what i do is put everything into a big tupperware (can get those toyogo type or anyone that can fit all the pump parts), and drop a tablet into it. must wait at least half an hour b4 considered sterilized properly. when i need to pump, just take it out. one thing is that it's all wet, so i use tissue to wipe dry....
when at home i use the electric steam sterilizer, when i take it out from the sterilizer there's still some water droplets on the pump parts so i will also use tissue to wipe dry. then i think to myself, like that still considered sterilized or not? i mean the tissues are not sterilized tissues!! ??? so i prefer hot water sterilization or boiling method now, coz when water is boiling hot, pour the water away or take out the pump & bottles from the water, after a while it'll dry up quickly, like a few seconds. so i dont hv to use tissue to wipe dry.

how do mummies here do it? use tissue to wipe dry also?

Hi smlow,

No I don't use tissue. I use it dripping wet. :p Cos like you had said, the tissues are not sterilised.

Sterilising tablet no need to use hot water hor? Tap water is fine? When you say "hot water sterilisation", it must be 100 degrees celsius water? Or just hot water from some flask? Just trying to figure out how I should go about it when I get back to work. Need a method as simple as possible.

any mummies have their menses already ? i think i have the 1st one already , and there is lot n lot of blood , like 3 times more than normal menses , is that normal ? its fresh red color

cocomo,

I use Brands bottle. :p How about glass bottles from the nursery in the hospital? I understand that we need to buy the caps/cover from brands like Pigeon or Tollyjoy.

hi white lady,
mine just came a few days ago. exactly 2 months after my labour day. i stopped bfing 1 wk after delivery. ya, the flow is heavier than usual.

skyblue,
I also using Medela and have that 4 bottles as what you mentioned. Actually I used to mix these bottles together with that Avent cups. So now on I will use only the Medela one and will buy more milk bottles (but then to think about throw away the Avent cup a bit waste so will just keep them for other storage, hee. . .)

Leia,
I thrown all the Brand bottles, will keep them after use from now on. But then what did you use to cover the top?

So how huh? are we meeting? Are you guys ok this saturday or sunday?

Leia,
just use normal tap water for tablet sterilization. for hot water, i only use 100 degrees celcius hot water, i.e. water just boiled from the kettle. i dont use water from the flask.
if u use the pump dripping wet, then the milk will be mixed with water already rite?

other mummies, how do u do it? can share?

any mummies try thawing frozen express breast milk already? how does it smell/taste? i tried thawing mine, smell really horrible until i wan to puke. very very fishy smell. how come? can it be i ate too much fish? my gal dun seems to like the milk leh........i freeze so many packets, if she dun like the taste, i also dun know what to do.

i also hv a lot of frozen BM, so far no need to use them yet. was wondering if the smell comes from the fish/meat in the freezer? i hv fish/meat in the freezer, so a bit worried abt smell and contamination.

i have 20 pieces of pigeon disposable breast pads to give away... im staying at yishun... any taker?

celine,
i thawed my frozen EBM b4. there seem 2 b NO smell n i tasted e milk, it still tastes sweet, like freshly EBM.

ya, like wat smlow said, mayb e smell came fr e stuff in e freezer. i keep my EBM far far away fr such stuff.

cocomo,
how's ur boy taking 2 bottle now? y dun u suggest a date & time, post it here? i'm sure e mummies here will respond accordingly. mtg tis sat or sun, a bit last min rt?

Kelly,
Since most of the mummies still on ML so I think weekday should be ok also right? what u think?

Thank god my baby finally accepted bottle after two days of sturving (I really feel cruel that time as he cried I just cant do anything but can only pursuade him using bottle, ai. . . but then if later I go work he dun wanna bottle lagi cruel). My nipple very sole after these two days of pumping. Now everytime I pump I feel very painful even though I applied medela nipple cream after that.

Hi jokojoko

Thanks muchie.

These few days, my ger ger has been crying in the afternoon from 5+ pm onwards till 7pm. Don't know what is wrong with her. I supposed it shouldn't be colic as i heard it will normally occur when bb is 3 weeks old. Mine is already in her 7th weeks liao lei. Headache. Carry or don't carry also cry.

hi timpani,

my bb at his 6/7 wks also cried more often... even during feeding.... so i fed him ridwind 6 hourly as prescribed and he cries lesser this week... think maybe got wind in stomach... bb now coming 8 wks...

skyblue,
pai seh, forgot 2 reply 2 u abt e petpet diapers. tot of chatting wif u in MSN but didnt c u around 2day (wed).

personally i find petpet cheap & gd. i've been using it 4 gabe since he was 5mths old. e west plaza opp my plc sells very cheap petpet (even cheaper than NTUC) so me more prone 2 using petpet. i've recommended petpet 2 a few GFs (sherhino used it for sam b4 she was toilet trained) though not all fancy it. 1 GF didnt like e plasticky tape area so she switched back 2 using mamy poko & nepia (aiya, she can afford it mah...)

if u like, i can pass u a few pieces of petpet M 2 try. i switching edward 2 petpet L ASAP once i finish tis current newly opened pack (in fact i tot of juz letting edward switch right away 2 size"L" cos he's getting tight red marks on his thighs nowadays and i tik i need abt 1wk 2 finish e pack). if u can, mayb u like 2 swing round my plc 2 pick it up when u r dropping kieran at e nanny's plc. let me know via sms.

jokojoko,
thks again for e pigeon breastpads.

cocomo,
gd 2 hear tat ur son's taking e bottle again. me need 2 harden my heart soon too...i training edward 2 drink fr e bottle once he fully gets rid of e phlegm in his system.

y dun u call me 2 discuss abt e gathering? i dun mind helping u arrange everything.

Hi jokojoko

I have been always feeding her with the ridwind since her week 1. I understand that every bb has wind just feel that hers is getting worse. And whenever she is hungry, she will cry like mad but when i feed her, she hardly finishes. As mentioned by you and white_lady, she will also cry during feed. Ended up i got to throw away 1/4 of BM which is around 30ml.
I feel like stopping on BM and feed her FM instead. Seems like i'm wasting my time pumping.

Hi all mummies

do u all encountered this before? my bb normal appetite is 100ml but yesterday and today, her appetite suddenly decreased till around 50-60ml. Whenever she is crying, she will cry like mad but once feed her, she drinks till half then don't want liao. If force her to drink, she will also cry like mad. You all know why? She is not having fever lei. Headache!

Hi Timpani,
colic can start in wk 3 but not necessarily from wk 3. it can still be colic.

My baby's appetite has also decreased since wk 6. usually drinks 120ml but now always have 20 or 30ml left. also dunno why. Have changed teats but still no use. now using back the same teat. I din force him to drink lor. if he's hungry, he'll cry for milk again lor. but weight gain is not as much as the 1st month lor. He gained 1.8kg during the 1st month. then 1.4kg on the 2nd month. Hoping he will gain at least 1kg every month.

Timpani/erin,
Same for my baby too, his appetite also decrease now, even though I don't think got colic.

Kelly,
ok will call you later to discuss. Thanks! ;p