(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

wow kelly, do u mean edward sleeps fr 930-5am straight? aidan can only sleep 4 hours the most... and only happens once in the night... most of the time is 2-hourly feeding...

hi pupsandcups,

Dun worry about the weight of baby. My gal also borned about 2.7kg, now coming week 8, about 4.3kg. She is on total EBM, so i know how much she is drinking.Drinking quite well, but weight increase not much. I guess its in the genes. both me and my hubby quite small size.

Hi all mummies

My bb also have red patches on her face. I went to see PD last thurs for her 2nd heb b jab and asked her about the face. She said it is due to allergy. My bb got sensitive skin. she gave me Mustela Stelatria cream and it is without steriod. I have applied on her face these few days and it is getting better. Perhaps if your bb has it, you can try. But im not sure if you can get it in any of the pharm.

As for the weight, all mummies do not need to worry as long as your bb is growing and is active and alert. Mine is only 4.6kg at 6 weeks and my PD said it is ok. So do not need to worry. If mothers worry or too stress up, these will affect our BM supply. Try to relax!

breastfeeding mommies

do u guys really avoid chilli, peanut butter and all that stuff they say we must avoid? my bb ddnt sleep whole night once im not sure if its due to the spicy dinner i had then. also they say must avoid citrus fruits, leafy veg too??

jokojoko,
yup, edward has been sleeping 5-6hrs stretches in e past wk. at 1st, i tot it was due 2 his medication tat made him drowsy and slept longer but he hasnt been taking any western medication since last wed and he's still sleeping 5-6hrs stretches.

actually i measure his sleeping stretches wkly. so in e past wk, his longest stretch is tis morn (930pm last nite - 5am tis morn). on average it's 5-6hrs stretches. a few nites ago, he slept for 4hrs b4 waking up 4 milk. so if i sum it up, it's 4-7hrs stretches so far.

in e daytime, it's 2.5-3hrs stretches. sometimes he can also nap for 1hr then he wakes up 4 milk liao...bcos it's 3hrs since he last fed (eg he drank milk at 9am, played til 11am, then napped so woke up at 12pm 4 milk again BUT after he drank at 12pm, he napped til 2-3pm).

jokojoko,
i dunno cos i TBF, feed on demand. he rejected bottle almost 1mth ago so i've been nursing him direct. b4 he rejected bottle, he can drink abt 3-3.5oz ever 2.5-3hrs.

hi kelly,

lucky u r SAHM so can nurse bb... aidan's feeding is ok at night.. like 2-4 hours.. but day time is bad... most of the time less than 2 hours must feed already.. hence i dunno whether to increase to 150ml... most of the time he finishes his 120ml.. any advice?

kelly,
Wah, envy u dat Ed can nap for long. Kayden wakes easily. He seems to sleep betta at my aunt's place. So far, there's only once in a day where he can zzz for 4-5 hrs b4 he wakes for milk.

pupsandcup n celine,
My #1 was oso born small. Like wat Timpani mentioned, as long as ur bb is healthy, alert and gaining weight, no cause for concern.

Cannot compare with other bbies cos must take into consideration birth weight, genes etc. My #2 now is 6.7 kg at wk 8. He's born bigger than his elder bro and size wise oso bigger. Tink he takes after my hubby while my #1 takes after me.

pupsandcup,
I oso read the same things abt u on the food to avoid. I do take peanut butter, but not alot. I take curry oso. Leafy veg cannot eat? hmm...then how to have balanced diet? I heard dat cannot eat brocolli cos will cause wind.
I drank coffee a few times, but once i really finished 1 cup myself n dunno if it's coincidental or wat, my bb was rather wakeful n fussing alot. So till now, i take alittle, jus in case.

skyblue,
i considered myself lucky cos gabe NEVER naps/sleeps for so long in e day or nite. he's forever nursing very 2hrs.

wow, kayden's BIG! edward's only 6.5kg at 11wks. our boys' birth weight r almost the same. if we put our boys tgt, they shld b of the same size despite being 1mth apart.

but like wat u said, weight not a concern 2 me anymore. u saw how big/chubby my gabriel was in his 1st yr (compared 2 kieran), now he's so scrawny & small (he hasnt gained weight for in e past 6-7mths). for me, i juz want my boys (esp edward) 2 b healthy & happy.

kayden took e 6-in-1 jab? any fever for him?

does your bb perspire when he sleeps in air con room with you? cuz mine perspires and hubby is asking if this is normal... aidan's back always feels a bit "damp" when carried him from cot... Cud it be due to the rubber mat i placed below?

skyblue,
i was juz tiking tat we r having the reverse situations now. LOL! back then, my gabe was bigger than kieran despite being younger than kieran 1mth. now kayden's bigger than edward who is 1mth older than kayden.

at e rate kayden's going, he's also bigger than medusa's irvin. b4 ur ML finishes, we shld meet up ya...all e yr end mummies' 2nd bbs...

my gal's sleep pattern is still erratic, everyday change!
last week on friday, she slept through the whole day, like marathon sleeping. from 12 midnight on thursday night slept till friday 8.30am!! then sleep again and milk at 11am, then sleep, milk at 1pm, sleep, milk at 5pm, then sleep, milk at 9pm then sleep, milk at 12midnight again then sleep. even when my son was noisy she didn't wake up. but on sat, eyes big big the whole day... only naps abt 15 - 30 mins at most during the day for 2 times only!!! after her first month, she rarely sleep for 2-3 hrs straight during the day. sometimes get waken up by the slightest noise.
i avoid nuts since my bb had some rashes on her face some time ago, and since then i've stopped drinking fresh milk as well and stopped dairy products. really miss my fresh milk....
wanna ask you all, which breast pump are u all using? i had the avent manual pump, and usually can get abt 3-4oz on 1 breast, hv been using this when i had my son 3 years ago, and pumped for 8 months, but towards the end my right hand fingers started to go numb and hv tingling sensation. (FYI, i had a friend who pumped using the manual pump for 4 months and end up with stiff fingers and hv to spend abt $400 on medical fees !!!) with my 2nd child, after pumping for 2 weeks, i had the numb feeling again so my girlfriends bought me the medela mini electric as bday present. but i feel that with the medela, i'm not able to get as much milk, usually only 20-30ml.... this morning i used back the avent manual pump again and i got back my 4oz of milk! but of course, my fingers hurt lah!! anyone had this experience? or maybe my breasts are still not used to the medela yet!!!

kelly,
Dats y pple always say it'll not be the same for #1 and #2. I remember Kieran not so wakeful. Drink milk then sleep. Kayden ah, now always want pple to tok to him. My aunt says my helper talk to him too much liao, dats y always wan pple to 'entertain' him, can't be left alone to play on his own.
I tink when they're older, their wt sort of remains stagnant. Kieran is stuck at 10. smthg kg for mths. As long as he's active (which is like since young ;p), happy and healthy, wt is not an issue.
Jus brot Kayden for his 6-in-1 jab tis am. Came back immediately gave him 1 dose of fever medi (kiasi mummy). Told to monitor today and tomoro.
Yep, tink we shd be meeting soon, at wyn's party?
Yalor, my lochia so longggggggg!!! These 2 days no more bleeding but still brown spotting. Haiz, so sian... I'm hesitant abt taking hormone pills cos I'm still doing partial bfding. Will see wat my gynae says when I see him tis thur.
Btw, is petpet gd? Tinking of changing to bigger cut diapers.

hi, aug mums
i'm a aug mum too. been reading this thread for a while but haven't really posted anything before.
read that one of the bbs here rejected the bottle. just wanted to share my experience. my bb rejected the bottle too. started him on avent bottle and he was fine with it till when he was 6 wks old, then suddenly he rejected the bottle. i then tried nuk. he can take it but can tell he doesn't really like it. have to fuss quite a bit before he can finish his milk. sometimes quite heart pain to see him cry so will offer him the breast. really want to train him to take both breast and bottle. not use to nursing in public so really hope he can take to the bottle soon.

hi smlow,

same! same! my boy also rarely sleeps for 2-3 hrs straight during the day and always, not sometimes, gets waken up by the slightest noise (guess you r better off than me)...
tot he's a light sleeper same as his parents...

hi joko

my baby sweats a lot too, when we go out, i don 'bao' him a lot and a lot of aunties stop me to tell me my bb is cold but really he isnt. think its normal, i have a fren she told me her bb has to sleep in 18degrees aircon!

they say leafy vege can cause wind too. i dunno, the book i read was q strict abt the no peanuts thing, tho i really love peanut butter ..

hi pupsandcups,

18 degrees??! i only switch on 25 degrees cuz pd said so... ya, think aunties always think bb is cold.. my ex-CL covered my bb in blanket on top of swaddle... visited pd subsequently thus checked with him if bb is overly wrapped... he said yes! just a layer of swaddle is enough...

think i'll remove the rubber mat today and see if there's any diff... keep u posted!

i let him sleep in 26degrees n he sweats but it dsnt seem to bother him ..

btw does everybody's bb sleep in same room? im wondering when shd move him into his room. he recently started to sleep on mattress on the floor, b4 tt share bed w us. i tried letting him sleep in his own room a few times but he cried .. n i think somehow he jus hates his own cot, day time he also dsnt like to sleep in it even tho im in the room..

Hi Jokojoko

Maid hunting? Still searching. There is one indo transferred maid, think quite ok. Her biodata got taken care of bb before and have interviewed her as well. Impression not bad just that her face is a bit stern when not smiling.

My bb sleeps in the aircon room at 18 degrees. And she wears long sleeve and pants covered with blanket (comforter).

hi pupsandcups,

my bb sleeps in his cot in our room... however am thinking to let him share room with maid when i go back to work... but hubby is against it so still thinking about it...

hi timpani,

i see, hope u can find one soon... i only cover my boy in a thin blanket so i guess air con cannot be too cold la... maybe i'll try 24 degrees if bb still sweats a lot after i remove the mat...

hi juz_jewel,
oic. same line ah. going back to sch so soon. din go to carrefour cos v. tired. thanks for the info.

re: gathering
would really love to meet up with u gals. perhaps i'll join u w/o bringing my boy 1st. but can't confirm yet cos my mil going for op this fri. might have to stay at home and take care of her.

re: baby's sleeping hours
envy those whose babies can sleep for 5 hrs or more. dunno when he'll do that. kayden usually wants to feed every 3 hrly interval during the day and 4hrly at nite. He'll usually wake up for milk, burp, rest and change his diaper. Then he'll play and take a nap for abt 1 hr.

pupsandcups:

My boy is 5.1kg at 5 weeks. He's born 3.1kg. My HB and I are medium size in built.

I TBF latch on so I have no clue how much he takes. However, those few times when my mom give him EBM when I go out, she said that 3oz is not enough cos he's still asking for more. However, when he latches on every 1.5-3hrs, I normally only offer him 1 side (which yield ~2+oz every 2 hours with Ameda), cos he either fall asleep before I can offer him the other side, or he seems ok when I pull away and didn't cry for more. So I reckon most of the time, he takes ~3oz or less per session. My PD says can go up to 3.5 - 4oz if he has the appetite for it. Then again, those few times when I feed him EBM, he fell asleep before even finishing 3oz. So I have no idea how much he can take.

hi kelly,
hope gabe, ed and u have fully recovered from ur illnesses. do take care cos the weather is still bad. the med the pd at st. 11 gave is uite gd. kayden's phleghm cleared quite soon but it made him very drowsy. I'm still coughing at times. dunno how come i took so long to recover.

kayden's also drinking that amt too. dunno why his appetite decreases. used to drink more than that. a bit worried cos i thought when he grows older, he's supposed to drink more leh. how come it's the opposite?

hi cocomo,
oic. perhaps, u might want to observe the auntie a bit longer. if u r still uncomfortable with her looking after ur baby, then u might want to consider other options.

hi jokojoko,
my baby nvr perspires in air-con room. might be due to the rubber mat u placed beneath him cos the rubber mat doesn't 'tong feng'. can be quite hot for the baby.

u might want to apply baby lotion. i applied lotion for him rather than powder and i realised he smells good leh. always like to cuddle him close.

Jokojoko,

Do you place the rubber mat beneath your BB's butt only, or beneath his back as well? I'm using the Anaku rubber mat... the one that is blue on one side and pink on the other and has little squares with grooves in between. It feels cooler. Then again, I only let his butt rest on it, not his back cos it's HOT!

I've used one of those baby plastic bath mats on myself before when I was having lochia. Just resting my butt on it makes my butt and thighs sweat! :p

I've got another waterproof sheet with felt layer. That one seems more comfy but haven't got down to using it yet...

any1 knows whether we can employ part-time day care attendant n the charges? am thinking of getting 1 cos my mil going for op. might need a couple of wks to recover totally and i'll be going to work in 2-3 wks time. if i'm taking care of her during the day, am worried dat i dun have enough energy and rest to care for baby at night.

pupsandcups,

When Leon is in his cot in the daytime, is the aircon on?

I put BB on the bouncer in the daytime cos it's more cooling (netted material). Also trying to sort of make a distinction between day and night. Night is bed, day is bouncer... as if he understands. HAHAHA! :p

Oh btw, just curious, any of you Aug mummies stay in Serangoon/Hougang/Sengkang/Punggol? Cos I'm in this vicinity and I wonder if there's anyone else.

hi Leia

aircon on only if hot, lately i also turn on aircon cos of the haze...

lately leon doesnt like his bouncer anymore

i don stay in the north, stay in the west, who else stay in the west ah?

Hi pupsandcups,

I find that lying on the bed whole day/night long can sometimes be a bit hot. As such, I'll try to make BB lie on his side sometimes so that he can air his back. :p

how to put baby on his side ah? i prop him to side with pillows he still managed to lie flat. sigh dunno how to make him like his bouncer again, at one time he really liked sleeping it .. not anymore..

Being a first time mom, I find bringing BB out alone v daunting.

I've got a 1.5hr briefing session which I need to attend tomorrow at 930am for some course which I'm taking. I don't want to ask my mom to come all the way from Jurong to Punggol to babysit for me cos all that waking up early and travelling by MRT can be so tiring... and she has done a few times for me already...

I'm just playing through in my mind what can happen and I'm getting all anxious about it now. Should I bathe BB in the morning? Would I have the time to do that? What if BB cries in the taxi (it's only a 10min away actually)? What if BB cries during the briefing? What if he cried non-stop? What if he wants milk? What if I get strange looks for lugging BB to the briefing? Should I bring the stroller? Why is it that I still can't get used to the sling?

I v "tak steady" hor? Jia lat...

hi erin00,

thanks, will apply more of the baby lotion... how about the face? do i use baby lotion or baby oil?

hi leia,

yes, im using anakku too... will adjust to only the butt area tonight... hopefully bb doesn't sweat anymore...

my bb also manage to lie flat although i put bolster behind his back... he pushes it away cuz he stretches so much...

re. bringing out bb alone, i dont have the confidence too... so far, always with my maid when we go out... dunno how...

hello

Re: TAKING BABY OUT ALONE

i take the bus with baby v often, i use the baby bjorn and it seems to work v well.

leia, i think u shd follow your usual routine, if u usually bathe bb in the morning, then continue to do so. usually bb don cry in car rides, they like the movement shd b ok. as for crying during the briefing, i think possible leh, cos so still n quiet, unless u can get up and yao yao him? leon dsnt like to keep still, i shop with him mus keep moving on one ..

pupsandcups, Jokojoko,

I put a bolster behind him, and a beanie pillow behind the bolster to prevent the bolster from rolling away. :p

Btw, pupsandcups, what's a baby bjorn?!?

*anxiety anxiety anxiety*

Sorry mi also MIA sometime.. NAT is not well esp lately...

She got oral thrush. Refuse milk & water which is a big headache. SHe don even wanna to latch!
Lucky she is doing fine today & start drinkin again.. so poor thing..

Hmm Nat born wit 3.3 kg BT now she is 6weeks weight abt 4.5kg... is it too small or? PD mention acceptable weight for gals..
She still drink 3oz abt 3hrs interval.. sometime in e day abt 2hr45min or less she need to be feed.. During e nite she sleep for a stretch 5hrs before a 3oz feed.. wonder WHEN SHLD I & HW TO START INCREASE AGAIN.. to 4oz.. PLS ADVISE>. I scare she will vomit milk again.. she like to drink v fast!

Jadelle weighs 4.17kg @ 4 weeks, she was born 3.19kg. She is in her 5th week liaoz..

Leia,
i stay near boon keng mrt.. so is considered serangoon rd lor..

sigh.. envy you all.. i have headache over my girl's feeding.. she love to latch on, but i dun have enough milk to give her. When i express (using avent isis, uno and duo depending on where i am and my time constraint..), i get ~60ml. Even when i feed her from the bottle, she drinks between 60-90ml only. mostly is 60ml.. if i latch her on, and she still wants more, she takes at most 30ml..

Her timing is very erratic, gap is every 1.5-2 hrs in daytime and 2.5- 4hrs max @ night.

Now, i headache over her fussiness in evening, she can't stop crying from 7-10pm, and will want to latch on non-stop this period, even after giving her a bottle of ebm or formula milk of 60-90ml. and, she tend to get fussy at the breast and pulls at my nipple in the evening and @ 7:30am in the morning. Think iz cos, this period, my milk flow lessens cos she latches on non-stop, especially in the evening! I dunno how to pacify her aside from giving her my breast.. she can cry nonstop for 3 hrs with tears rolling down.. i see liaoz so heartache.. dunno izzit she is still hungry or wat..

my worst thing is, my parents in law, see her cry until like that in the evening, keep telling me she hungry and keep shoving the bottle of formula milk at her, even if i want to latch her on. feels so frustrated at them for sabotaging my wish to latch my girl on to stimulate milk production. On the other hand, i see her pulling at my nipple so hard at times and so frustrated, i want to give in to total bottle feeding too. Now, i can't give in though to 100% bottle. cos, my girl she still likes to latch on to my breast especially when she seeks comfort in evening.

question:
1) how i know my girl has enough? When she cries after being removed from the softened breast, does it mean she doesn't have enough?
The lactation consultant says, pulling @ breast indicates she not happy with milk flow rate, but doesn't mean she don't get any milk and is a problem when breastfed babies are introduced to the bottle. BTW, aside from her crying, which i trying very hard to crack the code, she seems to gain weight well and having lots of wet nappies and poos 3-4x a day still.

2) while my girl willing to take bottle, she seems to take lesser then others and still prefers the breast over bottle.. especially in evenings when she is almost inconsolable. I tried to introduce the pacifier, but she is still spitting it out.. My PIL, they want to give sarong swing, pacifier, honey water, water etc to baby, which i am all against! arrgghh.. life is so frustating with PILs! Think she is having colic? This problem started only when i introduced the bottle last week.

Hi Cynthia

Since PD mentioned that it is an acceptable weight, do not worry. Please trust them. I find that as long as bbs are growing, they should be fine. Mine drinks 3.5oz at 3 hrly interval as well or when she is awake, it will be less than 3 hrs. Ur bb manages to finish all her milk everytimes? If yes, you may try to increase to 3.5oz to try. If ok, you can increase to 4 oz by another week. I try to increase mine to 4oz, but she is not able to finish everytime. Even now, she is drinking 3.5oz, she only manages to finish around 95% most of the time. *SIGH* As for the puke milk and drink very fast, maybe you can stop her when you feed her till half. Try to burp her before continuing. Once finishes her feed, try not to shake her too much. For my case, whenever my gal finishes her feed, my pil will tend to carry her and rock her. Thus, most of the times, she will puke. I told them many times but i guess it is their habit.

Hi Jasmine

I stopped to latch my gal on after the 2nd weeks, mainly because i do not know how much my bb is drinking and whenever she is being latched on, she will doze off soon. This is the disadvantage that i find in latching on. Please don't be mistaken that i'm going to persuade you to bottle-feeding. Mine is bottle-feeding on BM, which i find it ok as i am able to monitor her feed. As i said to cynthia, as long as bb is growing, they should be fine. My bb has not poo poo for 2 days liao. Don't know if she is constipated?

I suspect ur bb is having colic since she crys almost at the same time of each day. Maybe you can try to feel her stomach is it is bloated? Alternatively, you can try to carry her upright with one hand supporting her neck and head, and ur stomach pressing against her stomach. She should feel comfortable. I'm also against honey water, but plain water should be fine. My pil also wanted my bb to sleep on sarong. Reluctantly, i let them try and who knows, it is my bb who don't like it. Keep crying when she is in the sarong. So don't worry, if bb don't like, they will express it out. You have to keep cool and relax otherwise ur BM supply won't increase. Harmony ok.

Hi pups,
I think ur baby is growing quite well. My hubby's friend's son was born 2.9kg and at 10wks was 4.9kg. He was fed on formula and is drinking 140ml.

Also heavy doesnt mean is good coz like what jokojoko mentioned baby could be overweight and mayb more prone to become FAT.

My mum told me that breastfeeding mums should avoid eating this vegetable, jiu3 cai4.English name i think is chinese leek.Hokkien is call gu cai. She said eating this veg will cut off our breast milk. Dun know how true lor but i've never had any liking for this veg.

I'm also staying in the west.

Hi smlow,
i'm using the avent manual pump too. So far no problem with finger numbness.Only get finger numberness and tightening when i wake up from sleep. Thought it'll go away after delivery but still persist. Think i must go see those traditional chinese doctor for some help. Been 2mths already.

Anyway, my boy is slowly adjusting his clock. Now he can sleep thru the night and wake up in the morning around 5.30-6am+ for milk.

I bring him out quite often for walks so mayb that's y he always have soundful sleep at night.
I'm the 1 who's having problem sleeping at night that's y still up posting here.

Hi Jasmine,
My mum always remind me to be patient when feeding baby. Eg, sometimes when i'm bottle feeding my boy, he'll puke out the teat when he's almost full. So i'll continue to put the teat in his mouth n usually after a while, he'll continue to suck and finish the whole bottle.

When i'm latching him, as a guide, i try to latch him for 30mins. Sometimes, i'll use my finger to gently stroke his mouth to stimulate him to suck or pat his bum to keep him awake to suck.

Mayb u want to consider changing the teat, probably ur baby find the teat too hard for her to suck? Our breast is definitely softer to suck than teats.

Btw,did u try baby rocker? I find it quite useful for consoling my boy. Place the rocker somewhere where the baby can see things and lights to attract their attention.

Hi jasmine,
I understand what u meant. Was latching kayden in hospital and even went to hospital to latch him on when he wasn't discharged. but all my efforts go to waste when he came back. mil din really allow me to latch him on. Kept asking me to rest and ask confinement lady to make fm. I know she meant well n want me to rest but this makes bfing very hard. I only came out to latch him on in the middle of the nite when she's asleep. But cos I din know engorgement will occur so soon if i din latch or express, i've got very bad engorgement n mil suggested getting med to reduce flow. I agreed to it cos I can't stand the pain any more. sigh... i would advise u to persist with breastfeeding and supplement with fm if u need to.

Guess ur in-laws are of the same generation as my mil and mum, they suggest giving honey water and pacifier to my boy too. I have to insist that only plain water be given to him cos he's taking fm. I did not give in to pacifier too. Luckily, my hb is supportive of me even though he thinks it's ok to give pacifier. phew!

Also think jadelle is having colic. Kayden also fusses at nite and when i talked to the pd, he said it is most probably colic. colic usually occurs in wk3 and will last for 3 months (max). Pd said colic might not be due to gas in stomach but i tried using ru yi you, infacol and gripe water.

Hi Timpani,
ya, my confinement lady told me if we rock or swing baby after feeding and burping the baby, the baby will puke. Hence, I always carry the baby or prop him up using pillows for abt 15 mins.

My mil also wanted bb to sleep on sarong too. I din really want but no choice lor. Furthermore, he was having colic during that time, so I let them try. In the end, my baby is like yours, he doesn't really like to be in the sarong. My mil said must try more times and let him get used to it but i refused. I was terrified the 1st time she puts him in it. His head was twisted at an awkward position and she continued to swing very hard. I quickly alerted my hb and we carried him out. phew! Now, I only allow my hb to put him in if necessary (which is very rare). He's more careful in laying the baby properly.

hi leia,

for me, i put the beanie pillow on his tummy... think i will also place another one behind his bolster then...

hi ningyo,

ya, somemore both parents are towards skinny frame... wonder whose genes are those??

Hi Timpani

Ya.. i try increase to 3.5oz jus now.. she finish it.. hope slowly she can handle COS i scare she will vomit.. she seems to have senstive stomach..

Jasmine,

Did you give Jadelle wind drops/infacol and the likes? Then again, like the rest suggested, it could be colic and not wind... I suspect my boy had a mild experience of colic during my confinement period and it's a headache man! That time was like from 10pm to past midnight! But it'll be over. Comes and goes. Just pray hard when it goes, it doesn't come back again... :p

When my boy cries after I put him down on the bed after nursing, it seems like it's either he did not have enough, or he's feeling discomfort. Sometimes, it's because the milk got stuck in his throat. When he cries, it has a sort of gurgling sound... maciam like got water. Other times, I can see milk in his mouth which he can't seem to swallow down. If I sit him in an upright position, almost immediately, he'll stop crying and have this somewhat pained expression on his face or seems to be concentrating hard on something. If I lay him down, he'll start crying again. Sit him upright to facilitate the flow down, rub his back/chest, and attempt burp him (expect some milk to come out with the burping). Normally he'll fall asleep after it's cleared.

Low BM supply, did you try fenugeek and stuff? Or try a different pump... an electric one? Just continue to supplement with FM and don't give up just yet!!!

And yes, I do understand very much your frustration with your PIL... I have my own frustrations about them too (no I don't stay with them). *shakes head* And my mom, I have no idea why but she's so dead keen on introducing the pacifier to my boy when it's quite unnecessary for now. Keeps telling me she thinks he will like it. Duh!!! She's gonna be looking after him when I get back to work in December... Really, there's no better person to take care of your kids than ourselves.

Boon Keng MRT... quite near me cos I'm at Hougang MRT. Next time can meet up also

Jokojoko,

I fold the beanie pillow into 2 and tarik behind the bolster... use it like a stopper. Actually, more effective if using my big pillow... cos heavier :p

About finger/wrist numbness from manual expression of milk, I'm not surprise if that happens. Once, I had numbness on my right wrist and was given some nerve medication by the doc. He suspected that it was due to the computer mouse.

I have a hand-me-down Avent manual pump which I have not tried yet. The other one is the Ameda lactaline (dual pump). I think it's quite decent for the price I paid, though I have not tried any others before. Most of the time, 10mins of pumping exercise suffices to drain my breasts quite decently.

Jasmine,

Your point about pulling at the breast, or clamping at the nipple, I read that it can be also due to fast letdown and I have personally experienced that. BB will try to bite the nipple as if to prevent the milk from flowing out too fast. Other times, I see that he's trying to cope with the letdown by increasing his speed in swallowing and more often that not, he'll choke on the milk and cry and look totally disgusted. :p