(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

cat

at week 31/32, it was 1.8kg quite small right? i'm with KK n they don scan much, so i really need the right tactics to ensure bb gets all the weight

my HR also told me tat ML is counted by weeks, not by mths... coz some mths hv more weeks then the rest...

sianzzz...like tat, we lugi 2weeks plus leh... =(

if i were to leave any balance ML, then i hv to clear them by a week-bloc.. cannot clear by day.. if i need only one day to bring bb for checkup or watsoever, i must take the whole week! (pengZZz)

also if i hv balance of my ML unused, then they wan me to clear them within 3mths.. so restrictive!! >.<

Hi Augustmum,
Ya scary and makes me depressed for the past few days
Supposed to wait happily for the arrival of our ger but now becomes a stressful thingy for me... when is considered matured baby? end 36 week or 37week? or beginning 36 or 37 week? when would it be that we need to take jabs to strengthen the baby's lungs huh?

No hospitalisation cos after I take the anti-contraction pills, they work!heng ah! else I don;t have to go back office liao! staying at home is a torture lei!

You also take care and jiayou together k! I have been taking only 1 glass of milk last time so now I really upp my dosgae hoping something will happen and I don;t have to go thru csec cos I really don;t wish to be slaughtered lei!

hi pupsandcups,
console you a bit.... my baby is 1.7+kg only at 34 weeks hor... worse right? I can't imagine how she looks when she is out...so sad!

Hi Erin,

Oh, I have been drinking enfamama too. Use to drink 2x 3 scoops daily, and my bb's weight also sudden increase, agree that my bb also put on 300g in a week. i only start drinking enfamama after my wk31.

Hi Rain &amp; Chrys,
I am same as chrys's maternity plan. I can either take 3mths(12wks) at one go, or (8wks + 20 flexi days).

Hi leobbsmum,

Thought the ML is counted by days? Sporeans r entittled to 84 calendar days. So public holidays, sat n sun also included.

hi piyo,
drink enfamama every morning, UHT milk at night and soya bean milk very often during the day.

can't walk or stand less due to job nature. that's why doc gave me 2 days mc to rest at home.

Hi piyo ,

actually u dont have to be stress or worry too much , how big is ur baby already ? cos i heard that , if baby is 2 kg plus , even come out at 36 weeks also no need to worry too much ... but of cos will have to take the jabs , heard is very good to baby

Hi White lady,
such jabs no side effects for baby? my baby only 1.7+kg as at week 34 lei... think will be the smallest baby here...

Hi Erin,
I have been drinking enfa almost everyday since preggie but only 1 cup and that's it... so now I up to 2 cups, 1 in day 1 in night in between drink soya bean and l2-3 cups of HL milk... siong leh

pupsncups,

wow only 8-9kg thats great! as long as ur dr say bb of healthy weight thats good! ;)
me envy u then... I think I will hit over 15kg and still have 3-4 weeks more so maybe i hit 20kg????!

my bb weight gain a lot in last 2 weeks, but mummy also gain even more :p so guess my diet is not the type u want

Piyo,

Doc gave me the jab to strengthen baby's lungs the previous time cos' my contractions were very strong.

Think if you give birth before 37 weeks, must take the jab cos baby's lungs are not developed.

Doc told me when the baby's weight is above 2kg, it is safe to be delivered. That's why he will not stop the labour from now on.

hi piyo ,

no worries , those jabs wont have any side effect , in fact , will strengthen baby lungs ... maybe u try to rest more n drink more milk lor , try to let baby have at least 2 kg n up , but doesnt mean small baby is not healthy , so u dont worry .. so now u r into ur 34 weeks ?

ningyo, they told me it's by weeks... and if any balance, also must clear them by weeks..within 3mths.

i've decided to leave 2weeks of my ML untouched. so tat i wont miss out the PH in Oct..

Deepavali - I will earn 1-day leave coz it's a Sat.

Hari Raya Puasa - I will enjoy the PH. =P

So I will utilise only 10weeks of my ML.

augustmum ,

so u took the Jabs also , so u think is painful ? cos some mummies say is the most painful jabs they ever took , but what u think ? n u dont take the jabs in one shot rite ?

by the way , is it ok for us to drink coconut juice after 33 weeks ? is it too early ? n 1 week can drink how many ? n we must drink only young coconut , or any coconut will do ??

Piyo,

the jabs dun hv side effects, it's meant to help strengthen bb's lungs in case she decide to come out. I had it at 32 weeks and bed rest for another 3 weeks, Baby Reanne was born at 35 wks 3 days at 2.68 kg.

If u r working at the moment, u might want to consider staying home cos' i personally felt it helps cos' my baby gained abt almos 1 kg in 3 weeks time. I eat, sleep, rest then eat, sleep and rest everyday for almos 3 wks. How nt to gain weight rite?

It's also impt that u stay stress free cos' stress is also one factor that can cause premature labour.

U might want to standby some clothes meant for small babies (check out mothercare) cos' i found that the normal 0-3 months clothing din fit my Reanne, much too big for my lil' princess.

hi piyo ,

think if u gove birth at 36 or 37 weeks , think most properly need to take the jabs , if 38 weeks then no need , but anyway , no need to be afraid , the jabs is nothing , just think that its really good for ur own baby ok =)

and is really better to have more rest , then can hold baby longer ! take care

Hi Augustmum,
When did you take the jabs? at which week? Hmm.. does that mean if I deliver at end week 36 or 37, best to take the jabs still? how much did the jabs cost?

Hi Jfong,
wow! your baby is big at week 35 lei! If only mine like yours! Er, I tot we are supposed to walk more now to have smoother delivery? People say if we keep resting, baby will also be less active when come out to the world....??

So you bought those NEWBORN wear from mothercare? Guess mine can't in too..how many did you get?

Did baby discharge with you?

Hi piyo , i think , if those who did not have contraction , then is ok to walk more , but for those who have early contraction , then is advise to rest more i think , cos try to hold baby to full term mah , and for the jabs , is not expensive , dont worry

i think maternity leave counted by days...for me is 56 days plus another 28 days.

For example if start taking from 14 august, will end at 5 nov.

Hi white lady,

Yes, 35 weeks 3 days and bb came home with me! Was so happy cos' my first baby 4 yrs ago was full term at 38 wks but cannot cm hm with me

Hi Piyo,

I am sure your baby will be fine, just keep eating small but frequent meals cos' at this time, u probably experience heartburn if meal too heavy. Eat more carbo which was what i did, heard hard boiled eaggs are good for piling on the weight too, not very sure but can try i guess.

For my case, i not supposed to walk too much cos' i was abt 2cm dilated liao at 32 wks, if keep walking then bb might come out anytime, that's y gynae ordered bed rest.

I dun tink less walking will make baby less active, cos' my baby was still veri active when i was on bed rest. Punches and kicks were all there!

I bought New Baby (the size) from Mothercare, cos nt sure where else can find clothes for preemies. They even hv smaller sizes such as Early Baby and Tiny Baby. But not all outlets hv these sizes cos' nt very popular, u shd try the one at KKH, heard from the staff that they have it there.

So far, I bought a basic white colour 10-pc starter kit that has 3 sleep suits (for bedtime), 3 short-sleeved rompers (for day), 2 pairs of mittens, 1 pair booties and 1 cap. I got it at a great price of $23 (cos' got sale). Usual $46.

Prior to the knowledge that my ger was going to be premature, i bought a 3-pc New Baby romper set fr Mothercare too, dunno instinct or wat, i also bought a preemie milk bottle from Gerber. Like i knew my baby gonna be a preemie

Anyone know where else can i find clothes for smaller babies?

Hi Nurbates,
thanks! Great to start posting again

Hi White lady,
Noted! Think I will ask my gynae more on the jabs this coming sat appt.. think on the safe side, better take huh? Actually he mentioned about the jabs last week and that if i wanna take, can take but I was hesitant then...

Hi Jfong,
Thanks for reminding me on the premmie clothes! I got the basic 10 pice set too but I think it's for 0-3mths... guess may be too big huh? I better roll over Mothercare and look ard again...

Is it a must to have bedrest after the jabs?

I am going to try hardboiled eggs tomorrow morning

Hi kelly,
Great to speak to you just now... makes me feel much better

hi piyo,
dun worry too much cos bb growth may be in spurts. my bb grew 400 gms over 1 week period. hope ur sat appt brings good news.

Piyo,

No prob, always tot this forum is a great way for mummies to share our experiences and thoughts too!

Not sure if nd to bed rest after jab. U might want to chk with ur gynae on Sat. Ur bb probably hit 2kg this Sat, who knows?

Remember to relax, stay happy, rest and eat more!

cocomo,
would like to email u the updated pte medishield comparison chart. hav sent u PM cos file too big to load here. any muummy wan to view the full list can oso PM me.

Piyo,

No need to take the jab unless your baby is really coming out. If baby can stay in your womb, the lungs will develop.

I took the jab when I was hospitalised the previous time for pre-mature labour. Baby has a high possibility to be born, so they gave me the jab just in case H2O bag breaks.

For your case, your contractions I suspect weren't that strong and frequent and baby had a low risk to come out pre-maturely, that's why no need for the jab.

The best is, baby be good and stay in mummy's womb and let organs dev. naturally. So, mummy Piyo, be good and walk less

Hi CJ, Jfong and Augustmum,
Thanks! will update all of you when I get to see my gynae tomorrow

I hope I don't need to take the jabs too and let the baby develop the organs naturally...

Hi CJ,
you have mail

hi Mummies,
Since we are on the topic of insurance, apart from health and hospitalisation insurance, do you get any other endowment/education insurance for your babies?

hi augustmum,
what if water bag bursts before wk 37? is it too late for the injections? will the baby have weak lungs then?

u still working? just saw from the list that we are in the same line. how u tahan the standing and walking around? my knees machiam like cannot hold my weight. very weak.

piyo,
eat more eat as much as you can.... eat more fish also. chocolates oats cereals sure tml your baby wt willbe more then 2kg......eat biscuits eat fruits just eat anything you feel like eating.

pups,
you baby weight is ok its average wt. yah kk hospital does not scan much unless you go to the clinic.
tat time my baby 29 week only 1.37kg wor urs still bigger then mine and at 34week 2.1kg only but doc say is average wt.

erin,
Dat means I'm in the same line as u
I try to sit more often but sometx it's nearly impossible. So usually at the end of the day, my legs ache like mad and i have terrible backache. I'm now wk 37 but still trying to tahan till i deliver.
Btw, when i had my 1st child, my water bag burst on the last day of my wk 36. My son was delivered on the 1st day of wk 37. At dat time, didn't dwell on me dat i'll need to have injections to strengthen bb's lungs. So i doubt it's really necessary if u're oredi at wk 35/36 if ur bb's wt is ideal.

Hi Skyblue,
What was your baby's weight when you pop then?

Hi Cat,
tonight got farewell dinner buffet... will stuff myself with more food hehe

piyo,
good, of cos don't eat until too bloat if not will vomit de..
don't worry too much ok? cos your baby only few grams lesser does not mean its unhealthy.. i felt your doc just trying to scare you lor.. a happy mama will have a healthy baby ok?

Erin,

No, I think it's not too late for the injection...actually, it's all based on the doc' professional judgement.

ERin and Skyblue,

Ya, we are all in the same line. I'm currently on hospital leave, so shaking legs at the moment. It was really tiring before leave. The waking up at five, standing, walking, rushing, endless meetings and workshops etc etc nearly killed me. Think that's why suffered from pre-matured labour. Now, staying at home and relax, don't feel much contractions and discomfort anymore.

Skyblue,

High five, for my previous birth, I gave birth on the first day of 37th week too. Noah's two tomorrow. No celebration planned at all cos daddy has to work long day and mummy may give birth anytime these few weeks. Poor boy. Any suggestion to make up for it?

Piyo,

Will hear good news from you then...Rest well and don't worry

Catherine,

Ya, think will buy a cake and take to in laws' place. Must share cake with hubby's family cos' they already bought the presents for him.

However, must wait for hubby to finish work and hee...I also hope to give birth tomorrow... so same birthday for the brothers

CJ,
Received your PM and replied liao, you can send me the updated table. Thanks!.

Welly,
I already PM you my phone number, did you receive? Can you PM me yours (or sms me) so I can call you for the insurance matter? Thanks ya!

Piyo and all mummies,
One of my friend got USD endowment insurance (the plan is in USG so will subject to USD exchange risk) from AIA and some friends got investment linked type of saving insurance (involve fund manager to manage the funds in various investments/shares). Any comment on these type of insurance?

Kelly, I already PM you my phone number, did you receive? Can you PM me yours (or sms me) so I can call you for the insurance matter? Thanks ya!

piyo,
My boy was a mere 2.53kg. Until today, he's still quite small size. Takes after my genes i guess.

augustmum,
So shiok ah u :p But I was tinking if i start my ML leave now, i also dunno wat to do at home. Now at least got work to keep me occupied and friends to chit chat.
Wat a coincidence dat u oso popped on the 1st day of wk 37 for ur 1st child. My hubby was on standby yday. Past few days kept having loose stools and wanting to do big business. Dunno if it's a sign that labour is near?
Like what Catherine has suggested, get Noah a small cake
Have u bought pressies for him? Mebbe when your hubby comes home from work tomoro, u can bring him out for a short while? To the airport or a nearby shopping mall?

Think ML is calculated based on weeks n not mths...sigh..that is wat my HR told me as well..so i be taking 1 wk b4 my edd day and then continuous 8wks straight and then i go back to work..after that the remaining 3 wks, i am suppose to clear them within 6mths from ML i think...so like 1 of the mummy, i am suppose to take it each time, 1wk n not by days as well..well thinking of using the leave to go on a holiday, hopefully..

Piyo,
Dun worry too much, juz check wif yr gynae this sat if she advise in taking jap..if yes then think u shld juz go ahead n take the jap..n rest well n dun work too hard or be over stress at work...less walking too ya gal..
Be a good mummy n bb will know how hard mummy is trying n be a good girl n put on more weight..keep us updated on yr visit this sat ya..mine will be on the 31st july, the next visit...

A sidetrack here from insurance and impending deliveries....

A friend of mine is thinking of doing some handsewn stuff needed for babies - check out the picture....Basically, all the items will be in the same matching print....very pleasant looking cotton prints (with flannel backing for blankets)

She hasn't worked out the costings cos she wanted to gauge if mummies would be interested. She can also personalise blankets with initials if the entire set is purchased. Or purchase can be by pieces.

She is now sewing one set for me!!! I choose a floral green print, so for backings and linings, she uses a light green gingham print. Its looks quite pretty and i figured it would be nice to have something co-ordinated in the diaper bag for once rather than to use plastic bags and ziplock bags.

What do you all think? How much would you all pay for a set like that - consisting of 5 items?

See link for clearer pic:
http://sg.pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/poochapoocha/album?.dir=/b0fcscd

468418.jpg

My leave was approved. I took 1o weeks leave starting from 26July to 9 Oct!
Next week work 2 days and long holidays for me!

Skyblue,

Ya, could be quite bored staying at home. Spent time getting ready for baby's arrival. Wash the stuff, clean the house. Just settle some photos of noah to be printed. First year, very on. print out his photos every month. The second year, all photos uploaded but not printed.

Bought him Thomas and friends. He received two sets this year. The other one from his aunt. He likes Thomas a lot. Think the toys are rather interesting. The mechanisms of it.

Also having loose stools. Thought just good digestion, that's why.