(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

thanks chrys for updating us! =)

wanli, blessings for your little princess!! welcome her into this world! =)

patiently waiting for my turn...
( ) ( )
(=>.<)

Hi cocomo
For both my kids (5, 3) we've got a hospitalisation and a personal accident plan. So far we have (unfortunately) had to make claims. Once when my daughter had fits, it was just excruciating to see her in that state and also heartbreaking if we hadn't bought insurance, then we would have put her in a 6 bedded ward to save money. But cos we did have insurance, she stayed in a single room and we could spend the night with her comfortably. My son, fell off a chair and was bledding from his nose, so we also sent him to for an Xray and check up. All these were claimable. My worries are largely, if they have a high fever and need to be hospitalised. So that's why i got insurance.

Btw, I am of the mummies due end-aug....its excruciating waiting for the birth, at my last check-up at 33 wks, baby is weighing 2.8kg???

morning gals,
din login for a few days. guess i missed out a lot of postings. no time to read the previous few pages today. guess will read them over the weekend.

have been suffering from pain these few days. dunno why leh. the pain stretches from my lower back to my calf. only on the right side. so strange. can't walk properly. have to limp. can paste the 'ko yo' to relieve the pain. feel like going for massage too but hb says not advisable at this stage. anyone having the same problem?

hi wanli,
Congrats. can't wait to see ur baby's photo. take care and have a great rest.

hi chrys,
thanks for informing us abt it. dun worry. ur turn soon

hi linda

how much do u spend on your insurance? jus wondering ..

wanli
congrads! u're keeping all of us so anxious about our little ones

piyo
yes yes me been wondering about u too. your last posts were a little worrying and since then we havent heard from you. praying n hoping all is ok with you, we're hear if you need an ear.

on a seperate now, my friend just gave birth! she is SOOO lucky. she gained only 10kg and her baby is about 3.3kg, natural birth, she's v small framed one.

hi catherine,
oh ya hor, din see piyo's postings. maybe she pop liao. perhaps can sms her.

hi linda,
glad to see u here. which insurance did u buy for ur children? i'm considering aia and great eastern.
u mean dr judy wong told u ur bb's weight during the last visit? she din tell me that. ur baby is quite big huh. that's good rite? btw, do we have to ask her for the weight?

oops. have to go off now. see if i have time later today to pop in. see u gals.

Dear Wanli,
Congrats to u! Finally yr waiting is over and u can hold yr bb girl in yr hands..update us later ya...Btw rem to call the massage lady abt yr massage.
Take care and rest well..

piyo replied already..she got contraction pains/cramps on Monday night and hence got bedrest for the past 2 days! Piyo says thanks to everyone for their concern and she is fine.. She will try to come in later to post!

Linda,
Ya I was adviced by my cousin that to buy hospitalisation insurance is pretty important coz her boy was hospitalised when he was only 2-3 months due to high fever. Medishield usually can only cover up to certain amount of medical bill. How much you paid for your kids' insurance annually and bought from which insurance company? I heard shd be couple of hundred only right?

Do you intent to sign up for CORDBLOOD storage? I have just signed up for my son's cordblood storage with Cordlife. First year processing fee + testing fee etc cost abt $1400 and subsequent annual fee just around $250. The cordblood can actually use for 71 deseases and it's 100% match for the kid and 75% for peers, 50% for parents. Anyone interested can call them and arrange for a lap tour.

Chrys,
Thanks for the post. The reason I chose Cordlife coz I think they are better as their laboratory in Singapore is the first and only AABB (American Association of Blood Bank) accredited facility in Southeast Asia and also they are a division of CyGenics, an Australian-listed biotechnology and immunotherapy Company. Think more recognise and importantly more stable than other cordbank.

Leobbsmom,
Thanks for the shield plans comparison table.

Hi chrys,

i also recieved Wanli's sms last nite. If she stay's till 2mr, probably u can pop by to visit her and baby after ur appt

Dino,
ya hor.. I'll ask her later..

I wan to see her bb and the new mummy..
She said she stil can't believe tat she bcomes a mummy liao.. Her supply hasn't kicked in yet, but very happy to let her bb latched on..
She had natural birth w epi.

Hi chrys,

Foe stemcord, it is not necessary to go the roadshow. You can call up the person in charge- Lynn. She can meet you and explain to you everything. Lynn told me that ACJ clinic is in their promotion whereby gynae dun charge for the fees or something. You can call her up to find out more info. You can get the brochure at the front counter at the clinic.

Hey chrys,
u r asking me abt my raspberry tea leaf right? It is not packed in individual small packs but it is in one zip lock bag kind...
Me bought 2 packs but think i cant finish so thou of selling..hee hee...

hi chrys,
wanli also sms-ed me. i didnt check wif her again cos i just sent my son 4 his 2nd review on his jaundice.

cocomo,
i've bought Aviva Myshield Plan 1 for e family &amp; my 1st son. Will add in my 2nd son when he turns 1mth old. This is payable by CPF Medisave.

I bought a AXA hospitalisation plan for the family too. This is payable by cash mthly. This plan helps 2 cover the deductible &amp; co-ins portion which needs 2 b paid by cash.

I also getting a Personal Accident Plan 4 kids. The one I'm looking at is fr NTUC. This plan is more 4 me 2 claim 4 personal accidents incurred by my kids. My frien has tis plan 4 her kids n everytime her kid fell down, hurt himself somehow, she'll throw e claim 2 NTUC.

Hope tis helps. My husband &amp; i are in the insurance industry so we are VERY careful abt choosing the right hospitalisation/medical plans. We dun want to end up paying a lot for such premiums which we cant get back $$ in e end (unlike life ins or endowment plans). Now tat I hv kids, really cant play play. I came across a GF who didnt buy n her daughter went 2 hospital due 2 intestinal problem. The bill was abt >$10K cash.

Dino,
Why need charges from gynae? What's that for? Can she come to our home to explain the details to us? Normally after checkup hb needs to rush to work, so can't meet her at ACJ clinic. Roadshow at Suntec quite convenient as hb's office is there, quite near our home too.

Augbaby,
Ya, bcos i almost finish up my current raspberry leave from Yogi Tea. They are individually packed. How to make into drinks if in whole big packet? scoop some by estimation?

Kelly,
How's Edwards's jaundice? Did he go for the photo treatment?
Which insurance is the best for kids? hehe.. me not familiar with this.

Kelly,
Really thanks for your advice and suggestion. It really very helpful for me. Wah, you have such a conprehensive insurance plan for your families! peifu peifu! I am an idiot on insurance stuff, will try to find out more on those insurance you had. Thanks ya!!! BTW, you have contact for your agent? or I can just call their helpdesk/hotline for anyone?

How's your prince? Hope he's ok by now!

Hi Chrys
Ya there r instructions on the packaging. It says to put 1 or 2 teaspoon of tea leaf into a mug, pour freshly boiled water, cover and steep for 15mins..Or if u have a mesh ball that can be found in Ikea, then put the leaf into the mesh ball n steep in the water lor..

Insurance - My insurance cost less than $200/yr for hospitalisation and $100+ for accident plan. Its from AIA - pink of health or something like that, even for accident plan, there is now a component for going to chinese drs as well. If u are interestd pm me for my insurance agent, he's a really nice guy, tells me hilarious stories of accident claims - like a guy who accidently hurt his ear drum while digging his ear....Buy it early, and it gives us peace of mind...you can only buy 30 days after baby's birth.

Cord Blood - I wanted to, but my husband is pretty skeptical and we couldn't bear to pay the costs involved. So I am donating to the public cordblood bank at KK.

Erin00 - I asked Dr Wong at my last visit what was the weight. If we weren't in the private suite, at our 8 mth we would hv been sent for another detailed scan (pay extra), where baby's weight is estimated and water level checked. The baby's weight is a guesstimate from the width or circumference of bb's abdomen. Yes, 2.8kg (+-10%) is rather big. And its terribly tiring. I hv no special diet. In fact, I don't take milk at all, suddenly turn lactose intolerant during pregnancies. 3 meals, with no snacks.

pups,
got to eat healthy lor....
btw i ate only normal meals even i hungry i also never eat snacks. but i gain weight on eating supper. now i told hubby to cut down on heavy suppers everything we buy 1 only instead of two and we share.

i eat v healthy, heaps of fish, v little carbo, lotsa milk, on soyabean drink. but i really dunno if bb is getting all the weight .. u think that will make weight go to just baby? so far my tummy is where all my weight gain goes, my face, arms, legs not really ... but dunno if bb is actually getting the food

my fren gain 10kg n bb 3.2kg is so ideal!
my weight gain now abt 8-9kg, but i hv 4-5more weeks to go..

cocomo, chrys
u can call me &amp; we can chat abt e insurance. i used 2 work in e banking industry, selling investment, insurance &amp; loans. then i worked in AXA b4 quitting tis may cos no time 2 meet their targets n very tiring 2 handle a toddler, b pregnant &amp; still sell insurance outside.

i not wif any insurance company now but can give u advice on all e different plans offered by different insurance companies. when u r keen 2 check out any ins company, i can recommend u friens who work in diff companies. btw, such recommendation is NO OBLIGATION hor...just chit-chat wif them

my lil prince's jaundice was 13.2 on tues. PD said if he hits 15 today, need 2 b hospitalised. so after tues, we sunned him, gave him lotsa FM/EBM &amp; i latched him as much as possible.

tis morn, we brought him back 4 another round of review. his jaundice went down to 12. whew! PD instructed us 2 continue e sunning &amp; give him lotsa fluids.

linda
if i not wrong, ur AIA pink of health is a HOSPITAL CASH plan. it gives u cash based on ur medical bill. it DONT cover ur medical bill right?

INSURANCE - a brief note abt it...
when u buy approved medical plans fr CPF, there's a co-insurance &amp; deductible element which u need 2 use CASH 2 pay. u cant use ur CPF Medisave 4 it.

Imagine ur medical bill being $10K (a very simplified illustration - not subjected to the limits), if the deductible is $3K and e co-insurance is 10%, it means u need 2 pay $3700 cash ($700 is fr 10% of the remaining $7K).

If u get a comprehensive hospitalisation plan, these $3700 MAY b taken care of by the plan (depending on which type of plan u get). A hospital cash plan WONT cover this $3700 bcos of the low payouts.

Personal Accident Plans (PAL) - there r various types for tis. I personally find NTUC/AIA PAL for kids the betta ones.

cocomo, chrys
i forget 2 mention tat my AXA H&amp;S (hospitalisation &amp; surgical) plan costs abt $90/mth 4 the whole family. it's abt $1100 pa.

Btw, I am joining a mummy for printing of picture flash cards (around 1000 cards). If any of u are insterested, can PM me for the details eg list of topics covered, type of paper used, price, etc.

Hi Cocomo,

With regards to insurane, you can PM as Im working as financial planner BUT no obligations. U need to know anything i try to clear ur doubts. It depends wat u wish to have for ur child like saving, education, blah blah... individual needs.

For Myself i getting a education for my gal when she born lo.. cos future educations fees not cheap haiz... big headache again!

hello..

do you take 12 weeks maternity leave or 3 months maternity leave?

My boss told me to take 10 weeks and clear 2 weeks next time. so total is 12 weeks.

My 2 other colleagues took 3 months which is 14 weeks...

Cannot make noise to my boss also bcos scare my colleagues will be abck to 12 weeks then they will hate me...

3 months means 14 weeks. Now I lugi 2 weeks **sob sob**

Hi mummies esp pupsandcups, cat, augbaby and kelly,

Thanks everyone for your concern! Me kena contraction pains/cramps in the liddle of Monday night and ended up with bedrest for the next 2 days
Was worried that cos really dun wan baby to come out at this stage cos only into my 35th week... me now back at work liao... came in to say I am fine
I have brought fwd my gynae appt from next sat to this sat as I just wanted a peace of mind when I see my baby on the scan to see if she has grown/not grown etc else waiting till next sat I think I will go crazy ...

meantime, these 2 days have been downing at least 4 glasses of milk, eggs, beef whatever that can help in upping the baby's weight hoping that I really don't have to take baby out so soon...

Hi Wanli,
Congrats! you are the 3rd in our list to pop! I feel so happy for you! Pls come back and share your birth story and post your baby's pics soon ya? meantime, rest well!!!

hi peddie,
just read through ur postings. so sorry to hear abt it. how r u now? better? r u now staying at ur home or the one at yishun? hope both sets of parents will relent once they see ur baby.

Anyone going to TMC to give birth , if we have not summit the letter of admission to TMC n suddenly want to give birth , also no problem one rite ? also allow to go TMC rite ?

hi linda,
i'm with the pte suite. she sent me for the detailed scan during the 8th month cos she says my bb's not growing well. after that detail scan, she nvr mentioned the weight anymore. guess i will ask her again during the next visit.

wow, so good. that means u didn't gain a lot of weight rite since u din snack. how i envy u. now i'm taking milk everyday even though i feel nausea cos i want my baby to grow well.

Hi kelly,
I am impressed by your insurance plans! like cover a lot of loopholes that each insurance you bot that is not covering... Can I call you up and chat with you on more details? When can we 1st buy for our baby after he/she is born? It does not take effect immendiately right?

Is it a lot to pay for the Aviva Myshield Plan 1 for e family &amp; the kid?

What types of accidents does the Personal Accident Plan 4 kids cover? need to pay a lot for premiums?

Hi Rain,
as far as I know, maternity leave is counted by weeks i.e. 12 weeks not by months... HTHs!

Hi Erin,
me too now upping dosage of milk for the last 2 -4 weeks(hopefully I have 4 weeks)b4 I pop to make my baby put on weight... I drink until I wanna puke liao
and I feel so full all the time

hi pupsandcups,
only gained 8-9 kg. so good. I've gained almost 13-14 kg now. gained 8-10 during these 3 months. dr. says some of the weight gain is due to the water retention. mine is very bad. sigh... how to lose weight after that.

hi rain,
mine is 12 wks (84 days). heard it's less than pte sector (90 days). how come ur co have different practices?

hi piyo,
glad u r fine. me also on mc. doc says it could be muscular pull or baby pressing on my nerve. couldn't get up and down the stairs properly. now like lao tai tai. climb stairs one step at a time.

Hi Erin,
where is the pain? at the pelvic bone? I have it quite badly last week... this week like simmered down now.. but one trouble down, another come in haiz... you take care ya? esp when you get up and down of bed can be quite painful...jiayou! we reaching the end of the tunnel soon

Hi Rain,
Yeah, for my company (stat board) 3 months maternity leave means 12 weeks = 84 days (including saturdays and sundays!!)

I can choose to take 3 months at one go or 2 months + 1 month.

2 months = 8 weeks = 56 days and another 1 month sparingly (not 28 days, but only 20 working days)

hi white lady,
i think so. cos after drinking enfamama for 2 wks, my baby puts on 600g and is of normal size again.

hi piyo,
it starts from the right side (lower back all the way to calf). especially painful at hip and thigh. the thigh area seems so stiff and the knees like cannot support my weight like that.

thanks. u take care too. let's jai you together

Hi Wanli,

Congrats! Waiting to hear from u soon!

Kelly,

How's edward doing? I saw u mentioned Ed's jaundice level was 13.2 and if hit 15 need to be hospitalised rite, but Dr T Tan said he wunt insist on hospitalisation when Reanne's j.level was at 16 leh? Y so contradicting hor? The last time Reanne had the blood test, the level dropped to abt 12, then he said no need to go back for the test anymore, now i look at Reanne, she seemed to still look yellow leh, we quite worried, dunno ok anot?

Hi Erin,
how often you drink enfamama per day? 2 times and 3 scoops each time? I drinking both enfa and HL at the same time this week now...

ya let's jia you together... try walking lesser mine lessened after bed-resting and walking lesser last few days

Pupsandcups,

Your diet sounds like mine and I also gained about 10 kg so far. Don't look pregnant from my back cos only the tummy is expanding. However, my baby is quite small at the moment so I'm gonna indulge for a while, hoping to gain more weight.

Piyo,

Your case sounded like mine. Scary right? The thought of giving birth when the time is not ripe.

Were you hospitalised then? Still on medication? Why did the doc give you only two-day mc. I am given 21-day hospital leave!

Btw, don't worry too much...just rest and relax. My leave is ending soon and yet no sign of popping. Now getting impatient.

Pls take care of yourself. Doc said bedrest means total lying on bed. No housework, no shopping...