(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

leobbsmom,

you say:
- stretch our fingers straight, place the fingers on the outer circumference of our right breast, and our last finger to will be the nearest to the nipple now.
- put pressure and move our hand towards the nipple.

qn:
1. right hand on right breast or left hand on right breast?
2. "outer circumference" is where? top? bottom? left side? right side?
3. put pressure and move our hand towards the nipple... means we don't move our hand around the breast in circular motion, but push the hand inwards towards the nipple?

cheem man!!!

hi kelly,
ur 2 boys really look alike hor. asked my hubby to look. he also thought both photos showed the same baby until i showed him the words that state they are different.

gabe really behaved like a ge ge hor. carry the baby. so affectionate. u dare to let him carry hor. not afraid he'll drop ed?

hi wanli,
wah, u going to be the next one to pop. congrats. me still have quite a long wait before full term. sigh... do keep us updated.

hi rain,
don't worry. it'll be soon.
the most, another 2 wks u can carry baby in your arms.

hi leobbsmom,
ya, quite cheem leh. dun really understand. sounds a bit different from what the nurse taught or is it because i din get it right from the beginning? am afraid that bb will drink the dirt that clogged our nipples. keke...

hi leia,

qn:
ans - i personally feel tat it's better i use right hand for both breasts. but i do use my left hand when i do the "scooping" of my left breasts la.. "scoop" the left breast in from the armpit toward the nipple.

ans - all sides. we hv to push in from all sides coz colostrum is liquid mah..

3. put pressure and move our hand towards the nipple... means we don't move our hand around the breast in circular motion, but push the hand inwards towards the nipple?

eri, ya, cheem horrr... =P guess we are all learning & sharing from one other! =)
ans - not in circular motion, just straight towards the nipple.

hi leia,

qn:
ans - i personally feel tat it's better i use right hand for both breasts. but i do use my left hand when i do the "scooping" of my left breasts la.. "scoop" the left breast in from the armpit toward the nipple.

ans - all sides. we hv to push in from all sides coz colostrum is liquid mah..

ans - not in circular motion, just straight towards the nipple.

erin, ya, cheem horrr... =P guess we are all learning & sharing from one other! =)

Hi leobbsmom,

Ok I think I understand already. Will try it out! Thanks so much!

Come to think of it, sounds very gross to have liquid flowing out of nipples. Eeeek! :D

hi mummies & leobbsmom,

i'd been a silent reader.
tried out ur method of massaging but was quite difficult to get it going.
anyway, i "modified" ur method and used both hands to "cup" each breast and use fingers to push towards the nipple.
very much easier!
i was also taught by doc to everyday check ur nipples for "tiny dried clots", and remove them with ur finger nails

peddie dear

sorry to hear all this, it must be so tough on you *hugz*

so you have a counsellor at rose villa? you may like to check your legal rights with them, on decision making for the baby.

you're grown up now, surely if your bf and you want to remain tog, you can still keep in contact and no one can stop u right? if u guys really love each other, meet up for a good heart to heart talk on the plans.

so sad, my heart goes out to you, esp since you the decision of your families is to send baby for adoption.

u can call me anytime, you have my number.

Dear peddie,
so sorrie and sad to hear that.. maybe can consult the counselor see what can be done other than abort the bb..

hi leobbsmom,
ur method works leh..!! so amazing.. but only a lil bit coming out.. hee..

Hi Leia,
Heard doctor said they are actually measure using their finger, 1 finger mean around 1cm. Yesterday the doctor put 3 fingers inside, that's why quite painful.

I'm still at home, after some consideration think will go hospital late afternoon since my contraction really not that consistent, go in hospital also need to wait, so better wait at home.

Yaloh, can you imagine how impatient I'm now. Though will able to admit hospital this morning but it actually just false alarm, the contraction is 10 mins apart start from morning 3am but after monitor 3 hrs then the contraction gone.

Doing squating now and may try leobbsmom massage method, hope can trigger the contraction :p

chrys, it works one!!! but mine also little bit la... not supposed to be alot la, u think leaking meh! hahaha..... =P

we're juz supposed to clear the clogs at the nipples, tats all...not to express the colostrum out hor! =P kekeke!!!

do it once a day so tat the passage is clean n clear until the day we BF our little one! =)

hey peddie, i'm so sorry to hear the bad bad news.. well, i noe u are a strong gal by now! i would feel very hurt if i were u, to be separated from your BF in this abrupt manner.. we understand how you feel now.

i'm sorry tat u wont get to see your son after giving birth to him, but trust me, i think it's better off this way. coz once u set your eyes on him, u would not wanna let him go out from your arms anymore. that will bring on more pains, isnt it?? :"(

i know the parents feel tat this is a mistake thru n thru, and they wan things to move on from here...hence the decision n arrangement. but if u and your BF are really not ready for this, u might wanna take it as it is now..

sort out your thots and feelings, n seriously think it thru of wat u really wan. and wat plans u and your BF hv, and wats workable and wats not..

i wish u all the best...if i can help, call me. u still keep my no.? =)

Wanli,

5cm dilated means they stick their whole fist inside? Then what about 10cm dilated? Means they put both hands inside???!!!????

leobbsmom,
i dunno whether it's colostrum leh.. it's a lil bit oily, creamy color, can serve as a natural nipple cream.. hehe.. My hb ask me dun waste it, he scared his son got nothing to eat when coming out.. haha..

Leia!!! You so funnnieee...haaa...haaaa....both hands inside?!

I was wondering also...what if the obgyn had super fat fingers?? Then one finger in surely more than 1 cm right...haaa...haaaa....

hi chrys, yep! it's abit oily n creamy color.. just use tissue paper to clean it dry and remove any hardened colostrum in the tip of the nipples.

augbaby, i usually hv some hard white particles at the nipples. guess those are dirt tat mixed with the colostrum.. and hardened liao..i just use fingernail to scrape it off.

leobbsmom,
Oh is it obvious? Can u see it from yr nipple? Coz sometimes i will check my nipples, n i can see in the gaps/lines in bet the nipples, there r sometimes white things, n i will use my fingers to make it come out n wash off when i am showering..is it wat u mean abt dirt mixed with colostrum?? Blur leh...hee hee

I haven tried the method u mention, but so far i juz massage in circular motion like one of the mummies mention last time n no colostrum come out leh..no oily n creamy colour thing like what chrys mentioned leh...

augbaby, yes, it's obvious.. thou not alot, but u can see liquid on the nipples when u pinch the areola and pull it up all the way to the nipples.

the circular motion method we do is to massage the breasts, not to get the colostrum out of the nipples and clear the dirt.

the only way to get the colostrum out from the nipples are thru the pinching and pulling from areola to nipples.

hahaha.....i suddenly think, if by massaging the breasts also got colostrum leaking, then really very wasteful liao! like wat chrys' hubby put it! =P

<blockquote><hr size=0><!-quote-!><font size=1>quote:</font>

How do we identify what is dirt from our nipple?<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>
Hi Augbaby,
They are some sort like crusts?
As leobbsmom has shared, they come off when you scrape them.

Heh heh ... Not all mummies will experience leaking colostrum lah.
For my #1 I did, subsequent pregnancies, I see colostrum usually after I rolled my nipples (at the same time removing the crusts).

chrys, cj
BFg is fine 4 me...got VERY BAD engorgment on sun evening which only cleared on mon nite. i also giving my son FM cos he has a slight jaundice problem which needs fixing, if not he need 2 b hospitalised.

Hi Peddie, I'm sorry to hear about this.. Am from the July MTB thread.. It's sad that you have to be separated from your bf, and your child after carrying him, talking to him, and having him with you for 9 months.

Like pupsandcups said, you might like to check out your legal rights with your counsellor.. hopefully they can offer you more advice...

All the best ya.. and take good care of yourself..

leobbsmom,
tried e message jus now. no results yet, mayb i got clogged pores hehe.. will try again tomolo. but my breasts a bit itchy cos of dry skin.

kelly,
glad to hear ur doing fine. so u used the cold cabbage to ease engorgement?

nurbates,

What if the gynae has short fingers and can't reach far enough to "feel"??? 9-10cm dilation the gynae oso dunno right??!?? Actually, I think the gynae will still know. Cos we'll be so much in pain and screaming like we're in hell. :p

Hmmm... didn't hear from wanli here. Don't tell me...

Short fingers...haaa...haaa...i nearly fell off my chair laughinglah Leia...heee...heee....

I really salute all of you who're into the squatting routine...if I do, surely cannot get up one...in real pain these few days...hopefully can pop by next week..aiyoh...this baby better be engagedlah, if not mati kena c-sect i think...accckkkkk!!!!

Has anyone heard anything from peddie?? Hope she's alright...

Hi leobbsmom, I am having the same gynae as yours, she taught me how to massage my breast as well but I have been practicing for 3 days since then still nothing come out. Really scare I cant BF my bebe later due to lack of colostrum.

I am bit small in size and my boy is abt 2.8kg at 36wk so the doctor adviced me to control my diet if not will most likely go for c-section. Furthermore my boy's not engage yet. . ai. . really worry . . .

Peddie, be strong! At first I think you must clearly know what you want and what you can do for your boy in future. If you really want to keep him then be determined and do as what pupsandcups suggested...you can check out your legal rights with your counsellor...

wah hehehehe
leia, so funny...
dunno if i can keep a straight face at my next checkup.. my next appt supposed to have v-check for dilation :p
maybe my dr has skinny short fingers....

Augbaby,
i oso just anyhow massage..
sometimes have a bit sometimes dun have anything... a very little bit comes out like a drop of clear sticky liquid...

sometimes i try to clean, but watch out if there is nothing, and i clean, will be a bit sore for the nipples.

cocomo,
if u dun wan c-sec, if boy is of good weight can you opt to induce?

now getting bigger and bigger, even my maid and office pple commented suddenly i got bigger... do u get that?
i feel a bit uncomfy now with the extra weight and getting grouchy, maybe its cuz of the waiting...
sigh... few more weeks... must tahan!

hi cocomo, W K Tan's nurse actually did the massage my breast and showed me leh... tats how i got to noe the right method and how it feels like.. maybe during your next appt, u shld get the nurse to massage n show u! =) coz when she did it to show me, i saw the colostrum liao! but nipple abit pain pain la...coz she pulled upward quite hard..>_<

my girl also weighs 2.79kg @ week 36.. not engaged yet. i'm trying to walk for abt 45mins after dinner, and be on my fours for 10mins every nite.. it helps me to sleep well too. coz i was really tired after the 45mins walk!!

Hi Chrys!

Me here...

waiting very impatiently for my ger to give me the first sign??

anyone have any idea how to trigger labour ?

I am having the same gynae as yours, she taught me how to massage my breast as well but I have been practicing for 3 days since then still nothing come out. Really scare I cant BF my bebe later due to lack of colostrum.<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>
Hi Cocomo,
(Your nick reminds me of the song I heard when I was tween!)

kao_smile2.gif
You will have colostrum!
Some mummies do not begin to produce colostrum until after delivery.
I am in the midst of reading Practical Hints on Breastfeeding Handbook by BMSG Singapore again.
I find the following a good reminder (in italics) for myself &amp; hopefully to the mummies here too.

How soon after delivery can I start feeding the baby?

A soon as possible after birth.
In fact, feeding within the first half-hour triggers off a sucking reflex which will help the baby to feed well subsequently. If this reflex is not triggered off, baby loses it temporarily for 48 hours, and may not seem very interested in the breast until 2 days later. The earlier breastfeeding is begun, the sooner milk 'comes in' and the supply is established. Before the true milk comes in, the nursing baby gets colostrum, the yellowish fluid which is rich in immunity factors and easily digested. The milk itself comes in any time from the 2nd to 6th day. At first there is still some colostrum mixed with it, making it 'creamy' looking. Later the milk may look thin and watery, but it is your baby's perfect food.

That said, for mummies who have c-sect, they may require more support with breastfeeding.

Butter,
me also getting grouchy..haha..must be the waiting lor...time like pass so slow leh for me...next wk then 36 wks leh..somemore bb is also not engage leh..anyway by next wk checkup, if bb is still not engage, i will try the exercise recommended by the mummies..like getting on all fours...n walk more...been walk too n climbing stairs but haven tried doing squatting...

Ask u all ah, i have been feeling slight pain n discomfort at the area that is above my V area. The very lowest part of my tummy that stretch of area..is that the pelvis area? Is it bec the bb is moving and hence causing the discomfort? I sometimes seem to feel that bb is moving in that particular area n hence it always hurt a little whenever that happen..is it normal?

Leobbsmom,
when u be on all fours, do u mean both yr hands n feet on the ground n u juz still in that position dun moved for 10mins??

Hi augbaby
I am having the slight pain or pressure at the v area and slight menses like cramp this morning (7am+) and (9am+) below belly button area. Is this considered false contraction?? I am wk 36+ now going to be wk 37 on Sun. Can anyone enlighten me??

anyone have any idea how to trigger labour ?<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>
Hi Rain,
I have been reading about that! Here's an excerpt from BabyCenter Website.
http://www.babycenter.com/refcap/pregnancy/childbirth/173.html#5

Are there any techniques I can try myself at home to get my labor going?
No do-it-yourself methods have been proven consistently to be both safe and effective. Here's the scoop on some of the techniques you may have heard about:

Nipple stimulation: Twisting or pinching your nipples releases your own natural oxytocin. A few studies have found it to be effective in getting labor going within 72 hours if your cervix is already ripe, but the method has not been well studied. And don't try it at home: Nipple stimulation requires monitoring because it can sometimes cause prolonged contractions that could stress your baby and depress his heart rate.

Sexual intercourse: Semen contains some prostaglandin and having an orgasm may stimulate a few contractions, but having sex won't induce labor.

Castor oil: Castor oil is a strong laxative, and stimulating your bowels may cause some contractions, but no good studies have proven it consistently effective, and you're likely to find the effect on your gut very unpleasant.

Herbal remedies. A variety of herbs are touted as useful for labor induction. Some are risky because they can hyperstimulate your uterus (and may be unsafe for your baby for other reasons as well), and the safety and effectiveness of others remains unproven.

I have been trying the first &amp; second.

Hi Butter8 &amp; Augbaby,
Likewise, I have been having the same grouchy feelings.
Hmm ... Also kinda short-tempered. Even trivial things trigger me off.
Urgh ... Both dh &amp; my boys are getting the brunt of it.
kao_sad2.gif
I feel so bad but can't really control my emotions.
I read somewhere that our hormones can be the culprit during the last trimester.

Jesline,

Baby's rather small at 37 weeks. Only 2300g. Rather worried cos' can give birth anytime now since I'm in the last trimester. Yeasterday, trying to gorge myself with more sugary food, which I usually avoid in the past.

Next appointment will be next WEdnesday.

Hi Honeyhaven,
Me also have the pain at the V area but no mense cramp below the belly button area..me today 35wks only..anyway think i will check wif my gynae next wk abt the pressure/pain at the V area..

Hi Noe,
oh, our hormones does go haywire ah...ya been feeling more short tempered and sensitive..think maybe it is also the long waiting period to go still..sigh..

Butter8, my Gynae very conservative one, I have told her about the induce but kena scolded. She said let the bebe come out naturally woh ... she dun encourage epi as well! So I will go NB without epi unless really cannot take the pain lo ;(

leobbsmom, it was WK Tan who taught me the massage. She just showed me how to do and said to use wet towel to clean the dirt. I will try asking the nurse to help me this coming consultation. Which nurse helped you? Anna or the older nurse? oh ya, when's your EDD? WK Tan's going for long holidays think from 9 Aug till 31 Aug. Mine is on 5 Aug so most likely will still be her to deliver my bebe. If not got to make arrangement to have other preferred doctor in TMC liao.

Epidural
What it does: An epidural numbs sensation from the waist down -- how much depends on the drug and dosage used. It eases the pain of uterine contractions and pain in the vagina as the baby is being delivered. You'll be awake and alert. During a long labor it can prevent you from becoming exhausted or distressed.

When it's used: An epidural can be given in active labor, in the second stage of labor, and before a cesarean birth. An epidural is administered after 4-6 cm cervix dilation.

How it's given: An epidural is administered either as a single injection or a continuous flow. You'll be asked to sit or lie on your side for about 10 minutes while it's injected into a small space around your spinal cord in your lower back. You'll respond to the drug in about 10-20 minutes.

Pros:
- You'll feel pressure, but not pain.

- A low concentration of the drugs is used, which reduces side effects.

Cons:
- Your legs will feel heavy, and you may have trouble moving or urinating.

- You may lose the urge to push, which can slow down labor or increase the use of interventions such as IVs, fetal monitors, and forceps delivery.

- Your blood pressure may drop, which may slow the baby's heart rate.

- If the needle punctures the membranes around the spinal cord, you may develop a headache. More rarely, it can cause nerve injury or infection.

- You may get only spotty pain relief.

Local Anesthetics
What they do: Local anesthetics relieve pain by numbing or reducing sensation in a small area. They ease the pain of delivery, but they don't lessen the pain of contractions.

When they're used: This type of drug is used in the second stage of labor to numb your birth canal and perineum for forceps delivery, episiotomy, and repair.

How they're given: Local anesthetics are generally injected around the pudendal nerves inside the vagina. You'll usually respond in about two to three minutes and the effects of the drug may last one hour.

Pros:
- You probably won't experience any lingering aftereffects. There are no known negative side effects for your baby.

Cons:
- Pain relief is limited to specific area and it's relatively short-lived. Also, it doesn't relieve the pain of uterine contractions.

General Anesthesia
What it does: General anesthetics are medications that make you lose consciousness. When used during childbirth, the mother will not be awake or feel any pain during delivery.

When it's used: General anesthesia is used only for emergencies. It is not used to relieve the pain of labor. It may be used for cesarean delivery or other urgent situations.

How it's given: These drugs are given through a face mask or injected through an IV line. Once the drug is given, it works very quickly.

Pros:
- You'll feel no pain and be unaware of labor or delivery distress.

Cons:
- It may cause nausea and vomiting.

- It depresses your central nervous system.

- You blood pressure may drop.

- The drug may cross the placenta to the baby.

- Forceps may become necessary for delivery.

- Grogginess may make it difficult to hold and bond with your baby right after delivery.

Spinal Block
What it does: A spinal block numbs the lower half of your body, and works more quickly than an epidural. It provides relief from pain, and is effective in small doses.

When it's used: It's best suited for pain relief during delivery -- not labor -- because it's usually only given once and the effects don't last long. It's most often used when the mother is too tired to push. A spinal block is frequently used for a cesarean birth, or if forceps or vacuum extraction are necessary.

How it's given: A spinal block is administered as a single injection into your spinal fluid while you're lying on your side. A thin needle is inserted in the same location of your back as the epidural. Once the spinal anesthetic is injected, the onset of numbness is quite rapid.

Pros:
- It works more quickly than an epidural.

- A much smaller dose is needed than for an epidural.

Cons:
- You may experience a drop in blood pressure, headache, and some difficulty with urination.

- As your blood pressure drops, oxygen flow to your baby decreases.

- You'll need to lie flat on your back for four to eight hours after delivery.

hello

anyone has colustrum on one breast more than the other? my right boob has much more than my left .. weird.

anyway, any one heard from piyo? she posts so regularly, n no word, hope she's doing okie.

Ask u all ah, i have been feeling slight pain n discomfort at the area that is above my V area. The very lowest part of my tummy that stretch of area..is that the pelvis area? Is it bec the bb is moving and hence causing the discomfort? I sometimes seem to feel that bb is moving in that particular area n hence it always hurt a little whenever that happen..is it normal? <!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>
Hi Augbaby,
Yeah I have been having frequent bouts of that too.
It is normal as our babies are nearing our birth canals &amp; their movements are getting more pronounced.

I have been having pelvic muscles aches &amp; more frequent practiced contractions too.
Urgh ... the pelvic muscles aches sure could immobilise me a some momments.

Hi, Augustmum

so did Dr Ang say anything abt your concern for your baby?

I will also be going for my checkup next monday..... had been trying to drink more milk... so u r 1 week faster than me.... me now in 36th week

anyone has colustrum on one breast more than the other? my right boob has much more than my left .. weird.<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>
Hi pupsandcups,
Yeah, it happens to me too.
In fact, I noticed that one of my nipples has more milk openings compared with the other.
Not weird lah ... It's natural right?
Like one of our feet is a little bigger than the other?

ya mommies, like i mentioned - the method of clearing the dirt at the nipples only takes ONE min, once a day only hor.

purpose is to clear the dirt, not to express colostrum hor! =P

but as for the massage, we can do more la..sometimes when we're doing biz in the toilet, we can also massage our breasts ma.. i usually cup my breasts and give a slight vibration to stimulate them..

pupsandcubs, i also hv the same, one side more than the other.. it's normal la. diff stage of development ma..even our breasts are not of the same size if u look carefully..