(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

Hi Erin, Jesline,
I only still seeing my doc every 2 wks leh..next appointment is when i am in my 36wks..for the swelling of the feet, i heard that it is old wife tales..but dun noe how true coz my feet swell also gone down already and since then hav not swell again..
as for my appetite, the thing is that i do not feel hungry much at all...sigh...
dun feel like eating even.. Jesline, think yr bb is weight is gd at 35 wks..coz mine is 34wks n 3days bb is 2.3kg...so yrs shld be a gd weight..

Hi, augbaby

maybe during your next visit, u can request to your gynae to see him/her more often...

just hope that my baby will gain more weight as last time... as the weight gain seems to decrease slightly even though i had put on so much weight

chrys, if bb is not engaged yet by due date, we will need to do c-sect?? really?? i'm scared!!

i just went for my week 36 checkup, bb weighs 2.79kg, gained 410gm in 2 weeks. and i gained almost 1.9kg to myself!! i'm a glutton!

gynae did a v-check, i'm to see her every week now. she taught me how to massage my breasts, and there is colostrum when we did it.

my bb's also not engaged yet leh, and my gynae might wanna induce if still not engaged by week 38. did your gynae advise u anything on this?

c-sect really hurts more than natural coz the wound will be exterior! and it takes longer to heal, longer for us to lose weight even if we BF. and we hv to refrain from alot of food for very long.. too bothersome for me!

i'm doing some exercises everyday now, hope it will help bb to engage. are u watching TV on your fours? it helps u noe...

i must really pray very hard for my princess to be engaged!!

Hi Piyo,
Can understand how worry you are. Stay positive and discuss with yr gynea, I believe he will choose the best way for you. Anyway, 1.7kg still not that bad because you remember peacy? she delivered a triplet on 31 wks and each baby also around that weight or even less than 1.5kg.

Hi leobbsmom,

Thanks for the url! I was just abt to ask if anyone knows where I can find a chart/guide for baby's weight at different weeks! I only have charts/guide for FL, BPD,...

Hi Piyo,

I'm an August mom and have been a silent reader of this thread for a long time.But i just had to reply when i saw ur post about ur baby.Cos when i went to the doc's last wed,my baby's weight was only 1.9kg at 35 weeks.(bb was 1.6kg at 32 wks so weight gain after 3wks is very little)Jus like u,the doctor suggested that we induce the baby much earlier (he said anytime after 35 wks n after bb's 2kg)as bb might not be getting all the nutrients from my placenta.Was so extremely sad and scared esp when he said to monitor baby's movements always.My mom came over to stay that day and she forced to me to eat,eat and eat.I think i drank 8 glasses of milk and i was getting really irritated with her nagging and felt even more depressed.So 2 days later,to put my mind at ease..my hubby brought me to another gynae just to get a 2nd opinion.I got a shock when the doctor told me bb's weight!He was 2.1kg!He put on 0.2kg in just 2 days
Now,i'm just eating more than i usually do and i'm really curious to see his weight when i go for my appt this wed.
Really understand how u feel.I dun feel ready to give birth just yet or go for C sect either.Just eat more and drink milk! Hopefully our babies would be more bigger by our next appt =)

Thanks for your encouragement. My baby is really small in size very worrying..Will try to eat more and hopefully she will be ok..

hi Sylvia,
My case mirrors yours alot... Do you mean you drank 8 glasses of milk in 1 or 2 days? What else did you eat? I have been drinking milk and eating beef for the past 2 days not sure if it can help
I thought of seeking a 2nd opinion too but wondered if it is weird to see another gynae at this point in time? Are you going on weekly appt now? Do update me on your baby's progress after you appt? Mine will be in 2 weeks' time at 36 week... I hope that won;t be the last appt b4 giving birth...

<blockquote><hr size=0><!-quote-!><font size=1>quote:</font>

Btw, do u mummies suffer a lost of appetite now? I dun feel like eating this past 1 wk and dun reali get hungry nowadays..like got no appetite...My doc say it is normal for 3rd tri but i seems to find that a lot of my friends still eat quite a bit..now i have to force myself to eat proper food still for the sake of my bb even if i do not feel like eating...:-(<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>
Yeah Augbaby,
I don't really have much appetite either.
Been taking like 2 meals a day.
From my last weight measured, the 500g of weight gain in 3 weeks all went to the baby.
My GY did mention that it will be good if my baby gain more weight. I am trying to eat a little more lately as my next visit is next Wed.
kao_sad2.gif

Hi Noe,
Icic..for me, ya i also din gain any weight. In fact lost abt 1kg. My last appointment was 1 wk ago n i just saw her on sat and bb gain 300g while i lost weight..Try to drink more milk n eat more healthy food..I am now trying to up my intake of fruits n veggies lor..

Hi Piyo,
Dun worry too much okie.. just try to eat more...or take small options each time but more often ya..Yr bb girl be ok..trying talking to her too..Btw, i do not if can eat beef or not, for me, my PIL forbit me to eat beef leh...i did hate a few durian puffs the few days b4 i went for my gynae appointment..dun noe if that is the reason y my bb manage to gain 300g thou i lost weight...

piyo,
remember the at my last chk my bb oso on the slow weight gain side? and my gynea oso mentioned the possibilty of early birth if needed.. but she also did ask me to up my milk intake and see how...

well, today we just had a check up, my bb has shocked my Dr and my hubby, at 34 weeks bb is now 2.45kg... predicted was only about 2.1-2.2kg.

also bb was in breech last 2 weeks, but now head has turned down... by this fast weight gain, now my gynea will watch out to see if bb is getting to big for naturel birth at EDD.

fyi, last 2 weeks i really watched my diet, ate more eggs, fish, milk and carbo.
but dun worry so much, its not your fault, even my Dr said sometimes its just nature, could be my placenta etc. just take care of yourself

Augbaby,
unlike u, my appetite is pretty good, getting hungry in the middle of the nite and putting on weight.

Hi Noe,
Icic..for me, ya i also din gain any weight. In fact lost abt 1kg. My last appointment was 1 wk ago n i just saw her on sat and bb gain 300g while i lost weight..Try to drink more milk n eat more healthy food..I am now trying to up my intake of fruits n veggies lor.. <!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>
Hi Augbaby,
Sometimes our weight loss can be due to the depleting amniotic fluid.
Am looking forward to my next visit.
Hoping that I am dilated already. Ke ke ke ...

Hi piyo,
Dun worry too much. You should take in more milk. Sleep on your left side, as placenta is on the right side, can let bb absorb more nutrients. Lastly, having more rest will help.

Dino,
My appt is at 9.30am on tis friday, we normally book the earliest appt as hb needs to go to work after tat. We may not meet then.
Feel a bit stressed going for the next checkup.. Hb keeps asking me as well as my bb whether he's engaged already.. made me stressed..

Hi Butter,
Wow..congrats...yr bb has really put on quite a bit of weight...mine is only 2.3kg n i thou my bb is consider big already at 34wks..
Good too that bb has turned down...now u can start walking more too so hopefully bb be engaged..me too doc say bb is still not engage yet so wont be that soon as well..sigh..

Hi Noe,
Doc check my amniotic fluid and she mentioned that the level is good still..but bb is definitely not engage yet... I am hoping that bb be engage by the time i am 37wks..i be seeing her when i am in my 36wks so hope that by that time bb be engage coz even if engage already might not be so soon still but still be faster than if not yet engage..:p

Don't remember where I read this from but an expectant mother's daily calorie intake should be just about 200 more than a normal adult.

I've been doing the usual 3 meals a day since I don't feel hungry other times. But at 34 wks, I'd getting hungry more easily :p 8 glasses of milk a day is like... !!?? That's 2 cartons of milk!!! I still advocate everything in moderation.

Peddie,

How did the checkup and the meeting between your parents and bf go?

thks 4 ur well-wishes! me back...

i'm doing fine, still feeling surreal fr the whole experience and trying 2 get used 2 confinement life (no cold drinks, no snacking, etc).

465363.jpg
465364.jpg

LEFT: gabriel, my 1st son
RIGHT: edward, my newborn son
465365.jpg
465366.jpg

at 36wks+, ed's 3.2kg &amp; 52cm tall
465367.jpg
465368.jpg

465369.jpg
465370.jpg

gabe showering tons of affection 2 his lil bro.

since i discharged fr the hospital, we had a few more scares fr gabe. he has been helpful wif ed but also very scary 2 let him b wif ed.

as all of u know abt my contractions starting at 12pm...
3pm - husband got 2 me while i was at my mum's plc (he rushed back fr JB, went home 2 finish packing my hospital bag).
410pm - reached MAH
445pm - water bag burst, gynae checked n found me 3cm dilated
515pm - epi administered
530pm - drip administered
8pm - 9cm dilated
930pm - gynae arrived n started pushing
940pm - Edward arrived!

This delivery was more "real" than my 1st delivery as i could feel everything. somehow they didnt give me a high dosage of epi n i felt e contractions every time, felt ed pushing at my cervix...aiya, i felt everything lah. if gynae didnt give me local anaesthia, i'm sure i would hv felt the cut &amp; stitching too.

when i complained abt epi not having any effect, they increased e dosage 4 me but i tik it was too late then...i was already 9cm dilated so e epi couldnt take its effect.

definitely a waste of $$ 4 me tis time round...

piyo,
do u take sugary stuff? hv u tried drinking coke, taking cakes/choc, durians/beef &amp; lotsa carbo? mayb tis will help...

if it's really a case of ur bb not growing well inside u bcos of watever reasons, listen 2 ur gynae's advice. i know of a mummy fr another thread here tat her bb wasnt growing well in her &amp; she induced her bb out. though her bb is on e small side ever since, her girl is very healthy, very adorable &amp; sweet.

e most impt thing is ur bb being healthy &amp; normal. i was a small-sized bb (barely 5pounds when i was born)...look at me now...over-sized mummy. my bro was a jumbo bb (abt 8.3pounds), he now super slim wif tons of muscles.

Hi Kelly,
U r back...Yeah...so nice to be starting yr confinement.. Ed looks so much like his bro Gabe in the first pic..hee hee...N it is so cute to see Gabe holding his younger bro n giving him a kiss...I juz cant wait to hold my first born in my hands as well...
Have a good rest and lets arrange to meet at Mac near my place after me and erin has pop...:p

augbb,
yes! let's do tat. tat mac so near my mummy's plc. i definitely love 2 meet up wif u &amp; erin and also other mummies when all of us have popped.

Hi Noe,
Doc check my amniotic fluid and she mentioned that the level is good still..but bb is definitely not engage yet... I am hoping that bb be engage by the time i am 37wks..i be seeing her when i am in my 36wks so hope that by that time bb be engage coz even if engage already might not be so soon still but still be faster than if not yet engage..:p<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>
Heh heh Augbaby,
Yeah, our baby will come in due time indeed.
I, the mummy, am the one who's impatient.

Welcome back, Kelly!
Ooooh, the brothers look so alike at their birth pix.
You have a good confinement aye.
Have a speedy recovery!

jesline,
i make sure i drank min 2 glasses a day, but last 2 weeks, i took 2 cups of enfamum and as much as i could if i take cereal in the morning i have it with some fresh milk.

piyo,
for dinner if eat at home i would include egg as much as i can in the menu :p like 1 day steam egg with tofu, another day fried egg with onions, and for breakfast every 2-3 days I'd make hard boil eggs mix with a lil mayo n eat with multigrain bread. weekends i oso have fried egg n cheese sandwich. I try not to take too much fried stuff... i wan baby to grow but me no wan to be fat fat...

Dino,
agree, last 2 week i slept a lot on my left
in fact sometimes almost half the nite on left side until my leg numb haha then have to get up and change for a bit...

Augbaby,
yes its quite a bit for 2 weeks... *shocked*, no wonder i feel so much heavier and the pressure on my pelvis... :p
I did lots of squating up n down today, cuz unpacking stuff from boxes in the office...
my dr will do the check for dilation only in 2 weeks time.. so we can see how i progress, if baby is still gaining weight so fast, she recommends we bring him out earlier, cuz if i wait till end Aug, then if his head too big - naturel birth will be tough for me. so i hope that we can induce earlier

will update u gals in 2 weeks

Leia,
u r rite i think, we should have more then 200-300 extra calories.. but i dunno how to count hahaha
just make sure i try to eat healthy, but still have the occasional snack. i try to compare my eating amount to b4 when I was not preggy, just to make sure its not too big a diff.

Hihi Kelly!!
such nice pix!

oh dear, epi no work? shucks.. poor u.. but u good leh, can take it..

talking about size of baby and comparing to size of parents...
although my baby is heavy now for his 'age' but he is actually skinny body shape so maybe heavy bones? hehehe he has long limbs - guess most likely like his dad.. daddy is tall at 1.8m++ :p so now that he has turned down, he can stretch still all over and kick me :p

Hi Piyo,

My mom made me drink 8 glasses a milk a day! But that was only for a day cos i refused to drink anymore
Was also scared that i might get diarrhoea.I also found it really weird to see another doctor at this point of time.In fact,i felt abit guilty also..hehe.But my next appt was 1 week later but the wait seems so long.So went to see another gynae and told him we just need a second opinion.Gynae was pretty gd and detailed.He told us that even if baby is small size,the size of the head and length of leg should not be smaller than usual.So he took measurements of that and said size normal.He measured baby's stomach and said stomach abit small so he's just underweight. He said baby very active and is very happy to be inside so no need to induce
I guess 2nd opinion really helped me to relax and i can go to bed without crying. Also my mom has stopped bugging me although she still makes me eat every 3 hours! I also eat beef and durian but not so much.I'm pretty sure your baby's weight will go up by the time u go for your next appt.My appts r now 1 week apart.Btw,who's ur gynae? Mine's Lawrence Ang frm TMC

Welcome back Kelly!

Gabe looked so much like Ed! I can fully understand when u said how scared u were when Gabe goes near to Ed, it's the same case with me too. On one hand, i try not to be over protective whenever my Rachael (my elder daughter) goes near Reanne, On the other, cant help but worry that she is too rough with her. Plus Rachael is have a flu now!

Hi Kelly,
Welcome back and hope u enjoy yr confinement
! Both yr sons look so alike, I thought is the same baby. Yr baby is so chubby and cute :D!

Hi chrys and Dino,
I just back from my check up.....today I waited for 2 hrs, Dr Wong is really popular.....my consultation just took 15mins. Baby weight increase 300g in a week now is 3kg, did VE check again and already dilated 2.5cm, my squatting every night did help
. but contraction still not consistent
. The VE check feel abit pain today, I think is because of the dilation... I saw blood leaking out after the check...

Dr said if I want I can even admit to hospital now then she will help me induce. but I don't want because she said induce may abit painful. She said I may deliver these 2 days. Like what chrys told us before, Dr said if intercourse tonite then sure will deliver tomorrow :p. Anyway, I already feel whole tummy very unconformtable really no mood to do anything. Now pray hard my contraction will come tonite then can deliver tomorrow

Hi Wanli,
Nice to hear that your bb is now 3kg. So excited you will be the nxt one to pop. I thought wkday's waiting time should be quite short, whereas sat's waiting time is abt 2hrs. So did you do CTG?
Take care and do update us.

Just wondering, how is VE check done? What do they put inside to check? Is it like pap smear? Yucks, I absolutely hate that! When a lady doc did it for me the other time, she's so rough (that's how I felt lah...) I really wanna kick her in the face. :p

Hi Dino,
Yaloh....baby suddenly increase 300g in a week. hmmmm....no lei, nowaday I always at least wait for an hr. Nope, no more CTG. Not sure because is too late or may be she think no need waste money :p. I wait for her from 3:15pm until 5:20pm. By the way, be prepared for the VE check after you have dilated. Getting more and more painful.....Now I know why so many people complain about the VE check during labour. Imagine our gynea so gentle but I still can feel the pain, don't think the nurse will be so gentle like her.....got todo so many times of VE check during labour, I'm really scare now
. I started having "show" after the VE check until now. May be will go hospital later, let the doctor burst my water bag so that the contraction get stronger. I will sms you after I pop

Hi Leia,
Doctor will only used the finger todo the VE check. Fankly, my female gynea very gentle, it is not pain at all when she do the VE check. But the VE check after dilation is painful

Wanli,

So basically, it's by "feel", but not by "sight"?

Can "feel" that one is dilated by how many cm meh? Unbelievable!!!

Hi Wanli,
I really feel very happy for u..!!
No words can describe it.. after 9 months, this is the moment we are looking forward to..

Do update us when u are admitted..

My waiting time on weekday also about 1hr or more nowadays, even though i booked the earliest time slot of the day.

Hi Wanli!

Oh.. u going to deliver soon! Congrats..
Today is my Wk38 and I still dun hv any sypmtoms yet. Getting so impatience.. Every morning been talking to my ger whether when she wanna come out of my tummy... Still no response from her yet

What I found on a website on VE check...

"Dilation can not be measured by sight. It is measured by feel only, and this is a skill which takes considerable time and training to develop. If a speculum exam is done to open the vagina so the cervix can be seen, it is sometimes possible to tell that the cervix is slightly open, but exactly how open it is can only be determined by feel."

hi new mummies jfong, kelly,
how's the breastfeeding coming along for both of u?

hi chrys,
can share how ur gynae teach u massge the breast so get colostrum? i try to massage at bath time but no results leh.

Wanli,

So you are giving birth today? Wow...so exciting...hope you have a short and smooth delivery.

Going for my checkup later on. Dunno why...feeling very nervous and couldn't sleep well last night. Having a crampy feeling but not contraction. Wonder if today's the day.

Hi cj,
it's not me who was taught how to massage the breast to get colostrum leh.. hehe..

Hi Kelly,
ya, how's ur breastfeeding going on? Do u wear long t-shirt covering from top to toe.. hehe.. both my MIL and my mother wan me to wear long sleeves long sarong.. wish me luck..

Hi Wanli,
so happy for u...in a few days time, u be able to hold yr bb in yr hands..Do take care n keep us updated..

hi chrys,
not u ah, haha, rem e wrong person.

wow, so wanli gonna be the next one on e 'pop' chart. i guess every1's getting nervous n excited now.

Hi Kelly,
So happy for u. Your boy is so cute and he looks chubby to me..

Hi Wanli,
I think u r the next to pop. Congrats.

I have been quite tired these few days. I was wondering if I can drink chicken essence??

hi CJ, it's me lah! my gynae taught me how to massage.. i was so amazed when i saw the colostrum!! coz i tried massaging the circular way for weeks liao, but also no sign of colostrum! >_<

ok, here we go...(we can do this lying down or standing, best do it b4 shower then can clean up)
- stretch our fingers straight, place the fingers on the outer circumference of our right breast, and our last finger to will be the nearest to the nipple now.
- put pressure and move our hand towards the nipple. as if pushing the flesh towards the nipple, coz there are colostrum inside now, will clear the ducts inside, if any.
- go round the whole breast with this "pushing".
- do this "pushing" for abt 1 min or more.
- now, we will squeeze the colostrum...
- place our thumb and index finger on the areola, press down, and "pinch" the areola, and all the way to the nipple n hold for a while.
- then u shld see colostrum flowing out liao!

if u cant see the colostrum, try pressing the whole areola more then pinch it up. the whole idea is to clear any dirt tat clog our nipple, if not, bb will be drinking this dirt when we BF.

pls dun feel discouraged if no colostrum for the first few tries on our own. coz i also just got it after the 3rd try (3rd day).

pls note : this is to be done only 1 min or so, once a day.

if u wanna massage, u can do the circular method when u r free. use one or two fingers and "draw circles" from the circumference of our breast to the areola. juz repeat it a few times a day.. =)

*phew* hope this helps..=P fingers tired liao!

wanli

so happy for u that u going to pop soon.....

the waiting game is really a torture...
the days seem to pass by so slower..... haiz....

hi leobbsmum,
so it's u ha.. so wen we place our fingers on the breast circumference, dat means our palm is perpendicular to breast n parallel to nipple pointing outwards? sori, still a bit blur blur.

yes, the whole idea is to exert pressure on the breasts and push the colostrum below towards the nipple and clear the dirt stuck at the nipples! =P

Hi honeyhaven
Can drink chicken essence.. i find it especially useful when i feel giddy. My MIL asked me to drink 1bot of chicken essence before going to the hospital to deliver bb haha.

Leobbsmom,
so it's u.. hehe.
Thanks for the useful instruction. Will go home try..

Ages i last came in.. wow slowly all is popping out liao.. haiz.. mine still long way.. another 1mth at least to go.

Do u have those instinct tat bb will be popping out earlier? Keep dreaming of my gal n also tummy n bottom do get pain almost everyday. DOno is overstress or walk too much hehe...Keep having e feeling bb will pop out 1-2weeks early ard Mid Aug.

My concern is e weight n her development.. i cant seems to eat much jus normal 3 meals tats it! Nw starting to dread of milk again! This is e most headache I had for this pregnancy cos i love milk so much!!!!

Lets pray for everyone here n e next to delivery will be Wanli liao!

Keep us updated!