(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

Oh ya , i have bought the Baby cot , now looking for the toy to clip on the Cot , have went around to see , wow , all cost abt $80 and only last up to 5 mths , cos think after 5 mths , baby wont be keen to see anymore rite , so is it a must to have that toy on the cot ?

Hi pupsandcups,

The $20+ 'freebies' is the 2 milk bottles + cleaner which is found inside the steriliser.

Hi whitelady,

Kiddy palace has 20% on the pigeon steriliser but the price was $116.10 if i didnt remember wrongly.
So after 20% will be $92.88. Still more X than Robinson and Takashimaya.

hi Piyo ,

i also eating durian , but not sure whether really can help baby gain weight anot, maybe if u know the reasult , can update me ! jia you !
by the way , what ur baby weight now ?

hi whitelady,
r u talking abt cot mobiles? can check out kiddy palace. saw they are having discount for cot mobiles. around $39 to $59 after discount. it's not a must. i haven't bought mine yet. too many choices liao.

436736.png

white_lady, u mean the cot mobile, issit? i just bought one BN Winnie the Pooh design from a mom from forum, $10. self-wind type, not battery operated. think we dun hv to invest so much on the cot mobile la..

think i saw some BN cot mobiles selling in the forum. do take a look. just click "ctrl" "F", and type cot mobile to search the available threads.

ok thank leobbsmom n erin00 ...

by the way , got 2 type rite , got those wind music type n battery type , think battery type more expensive ...

hi wanli,
i gave birth at MAH so gabe's PD was dr terence tan or lee (i cant recall surname liao) fr KinderClinic. he comes highly recommended by my gynae n i've come across a few other mummies who sing his praises too. I'll use tis PD when I pop in Jul too.

for TMC, there's only 1 PD u go for. Dr Ong Eng Keow fr S'pore BB & Child Clinic. He's very gd n experienced. Very popular at SBCC so got 2 wait a long while but e wait is worth it. He's my son's secondary PD.

2 explain further, my son has 2 PDs n a GP. his primary PD is Dr Cecilia Lee from The Paediatric & Family Medical Ctr in Tamp St 11, Blk 139. Very gd & cheap PD. He goes 2 tis PD for all his jabs n periodic assessment.

Whenever tis PD isnt around or I need a 2nd opinion, I head 2 Dr Ong Eng Keow at SBCC TMC.

After my son turned 1yr old, I let him c a GP if he suffers fr general illnesses like flu. His GP is Dr Leslie Tay fr Karri Clinic at Tamp West Community Ctr. We dun go 2 PDs unless I feel tat his medical condition calls for it. PD charges more mah...

Hi Kelly,
Thanks for the infor
. The PD assigned to us will only doing checking for the baby during the stay in hospital right? When the baby need todo the jab?

I heard ongEK is very popular in TMC, and his charge also very high. Do you have any other recommendation in TMC?

What is the charge like for Dr Cecilia Lee? because I also staying at east, plan to get someone near to my house instead of going to TMC.

I just came back from my 33wk checkup. Baby around 2kg (gained 500g since checkup on 2wks ago), I gained 800g. Baby weight still under normal range, gynae said from the weight gain, probably bb will be 3kg at full term. But she said it's better for me to have a 2.8kg baby, as i am of a smaller frame, so smaller bb easier to deliver.

I was given hospital admission letter by gynae today (with summary of previous checkup eg OSCAR, ultrasound, etc) - to be packed in my hospital bag, just in case there's emergency in labour, I just grab the bag to the hospital. Hospital will then admit me by seeing the admission letter wrote by gynae.

In the admission letter, 2 anaesthetist and 1 PD are assigned to me, but i think only for during the stay in hospital? As i was not asked to fix one myself.

My bb was busy drinking water when gynae scanned him justnow. Photos taken showing his pouting lips.. and he is not shy at all, everytime show pple his sex organ, and Dr Wong even measure his testes length, hahahah.. farni hor

Hi Chyrs,
I have also recieved the admission letter from my last visit. The anaesthetist & PD was also assigned to me. I only found out when i read the letter.
It must be very cute to see your bb drinking water. So has your bb's head turned down?

Hi Wanli,
Do you feel much better these few days? Are you going to work on Mon, or your MC was extended? Take care.

Hi chrys,
wah, not bad, your baby gained weight alot
. Actually 3kg still not too big lah, if you deliver early then at least baby is at good weight. hahhhaaa...yr baby really cute, my baby is very very shy, can you believe until now I haven't see my baby open her legs.

Dino & chrys,
May I know which PD and anaesthetist Dr wong assigned to you? My PD is KeoySS, but from the forum he not getting quite good comments leh.....

Actually I feel quite ok :p, so relax at home these few days. but the medicine given by Dr Wong got some side effect, make me feel headache. I will going to work on Monday, not good to take so many days of MC.....

Dr wong said my baby already at very low position, causing me always go to pee......Although I'm just 32+ wks but already feel very tired even just walk for 15mins.

check wif u, do ur bbs give consistent "tapping"? these "tapping" do not feel like movements as the interval between them is very short and like timed beats. initially, i tot they r hiccups but it is occurring v often. does the bb hiccup everyday? often happens in e evening and cause me difficulty in getting to sleep. do u hv the same feelings?

hi cj ,

thats baby hic cup , so dont worry ! I read from somewhere , baby hiccup can be everyday n can be abt the same timing also =)

oic, i wondering wat causes bb hiccup so often. even wen change sleeping position, hiccup still continue. can feel all the way down to my bum, so funny.

I was jus discharged from TMC yesterday afteroon after one nite stay ...

Was bleeding on Friday and saw Dr Ang who diagnosed my condition as threatened preterm labour. Cervix a bit open and becos of contraction0. Although irregular, he decided to admit me so that i can receive two injections to help strengthen baby's lungs in case she decided to pop early. I was also on a drip to prevent contractions.

Now on home rest for next two weeks. Gynae say hopefully can tahan till 35 weeks wud be better. So worried now ... anyone have any stories of frens who hv had premature delivery that u can share with me?

(jfong take care please!)

just to share with you guys, i saw the medela PIS advanced for just $599, at the shop 'baby's first years at KK'. this promotion is part of breastfeeding week at KKH, i think it is the cheapest so far, and the promotion runs til this Sunday 18June.

Can you guys advise me, as i will be a SAHM, i plan to let bb suckle as much as he can, shd i still invest in the PIS, is that one more for women back at work/on the go? The ameda one is just $280 .. half the price of medela, i really can't decide. and shd we gals buy pump now or after we pop?

hmmm *confused*

Thank you mummies, will try to rest as much as possible.

Kelly,

Thank u for calling, was so comforting after talking to u. I will try to be good and rest as much as i can.

hi pups and cups,

If you are a sahm, you would be latching on directly more than expressing? I do understand that PIS is very useful and "fast" for working moms and the working mums in my office are all using PIS and second that this is the best pump if we need to express away from home. If you need to do occasional expressing at home, perhaps you can get the ameda instead?

jfong,
no problem. i read ur posting then quickly called 2 assure u cos i went thru e same thing for my 1st pregnancy. it totally caught me off guard.

ya, do wat e other mummies say...talk 2 ur bb 2 kwai kwai stay in ur womb. if u need anything, call me ya...

pups
i'm a SAHM so invested in Ameda. 1stly, e price is within my budget. 2ndly, it's a dual pump n lastly, i heard it's as gd as e PIS.
for me, i do latched direct more than expressing but i still found it essential 2 get a gd pump cos i didnt intend 2 latch direct all e time. can b tiring n u need 2 b wif ur all bb all e time. u cant go out n hv time on ur own (while u let someone else bbsit ur bb).

i remember when my son was on TBFg (he not even drinking EBM or FM or anything fr bottle), i cant even go out for >2-3hrs cos he wont drink except take "fresh milk" fr mummy n i also cant go out too long cos my breasts would "fill up" n i need 2 let go of e milk. very tedious n can b traumatic lor.

Hi jfong,
Hope you are ok now. How many wk are you now? Did doctor said anything why you have contraction so early? I also having irregular contraction but lucky my cervix not open yet, doctor said because we able to catch the contraction early, if not dilation will happen. but I still don't understand how come I having contraction so early because I'm not walking so much or do any exercise....

I have a fren delivered her baby at wk 32. but because her baby is enought weight (2.2kg), that's why no need stay in ICU and can go home with her together. I will advice you to eat more and rest more, so that let yr baby gain more weight.

Hi cj,

nice meeting you on sunday..

Hi jfong,

do take care ok? rest as much as possible, cos you need all the rest now before baby pops..

ask you ah.. is it possible to latch on baby initially to stimulate milk flow, and at night feed the baby EBM from a bottle? Will we encounter problems (e.g. nipple confusion?)? When do introduce the bottle, especially for night feeds? I hope to be able to introduce the bottle to facilitate me going back to work..
Any mummies got advice?

Hi jifong,
Do take care ok.

Hi piyo,
I remembered u mentioned abt going for massage. What is the address again? I think I need one. I am having backache and not sleeping well at nite. Get up 2 to 3 times to pee. Anyone also having this problem. I try to stop drinking water after 8pm. Also end up going to toliet 2 to 3 times at nite.

honeyhaven,

me also starting to get up in middle of night and go toilet..

not much back ache for me.. perhaps is cos i go yoga lessons 1x a week and do the exercises myself at home 2-3 times a week also.. the stretching helps...

Dear Jifong,
Rest well and dun walk about too much then..talk to yr bb and i am sure bb will be able to hear wat u say..take care...

gals,
check wif u all, do u feel bb hands n legs etc more obvious nowadays? coz for me bb like seems to like poking his legs or legs at my side of my tummy...i cant tell if it is his hands or legs but when i touch my tummy where i feel a sharp poke, i can feel a bump there n after rubbing a while, the bump will disappear..this morning, the little one poke me so many times n when i touch the bump, i can even feel the bump moving from 1 area to another..so cute..then disappear when i rub more..

hi augbaby,
yar me too..

i feel something draggin against my tummy few times too.. i cant figure if baby has change positions cuz kick and hand poking feel diff.. so i reckon he has shifted cuz the kicks n pokes change sides, or up or down... heheheee

honeyhaven,
i get up about 3-4 times for pee each nite, about 1.30am, 4 and 6.. but i have habit of drinkin too much, i still drink stuff at 10-11pm.. include water or milk

jfong,
take lots of care and rest more!

do any of you cant fainting spells?
I have been getting off and on about 2 x per week..

Hi jfong,

Take care & try to have as much bed rest as possible! Juz curious, do u need to go for follow up checks with ur gynae Or only visit him after ur 2weeks MC?

Hi honeyhaven,

I also wake up like 1-2times at night to pee. I usually sleep late around 12+ and i'll wake up around 3+ or 4+ to pee. I do not restrict my drinks, still drink water b4 i sleep. :D
Sometimes after peeing, i'll have to toss and turn abit b4 falling into dreamland and this is the most irritable part.

Hi augbaby,

Yup, my baby's movement r more obvious and stronger now.Sometimes a poke on the right followed by a poke on the left. But usually if we touch the poking area, he'll stop. Think he's a shy boy.

Hi butter,

Think u'd better check with ur gynae on ur fainting spells. Could be lack of iron or low blood pressure? Think would be good if u can also inform ur gynae whether ur fainting spells occur in morning or noon or night.
If morning, mayb u didnt eat breakfast? If noon, mayb the sun too hot? If night time, mayb too hungry havent had dinner?

So far i've not experience any fainting spells. *cross my fingers*

Hi honeyhaven,
I frequent the toilet in the middle of the night more in these 2 weeks. Just last night I woke up at 12 plus and another time at 4 plus. Super tired and have to take some time b4 falling into sleep again. By the time I got into deep sleep, time to wake up for work. Anyone knows if this is common in the last tri?

The last time I went for massage was at Golden Wellness. Here is the link: http://www.goldwellness.com/
Just last sat, I went to Alush at CHinatown point and find the massage there not bad... I will be trying out the one recommended by one of the ladies here at Javanese Massage for the next one hehe

Hi piyo,
Which place is better?? Golden wellness or alush. I am working at chinatown, so both place is convinent for me. How do u feel after the massage ?? Any comments?? BTW their charges??

That is the irritating part. Have to take sometime to fall asleep again. That is why i feel quite tired today.

piyo, i have tried House of the Traditional Javanese massage at Changi. I find it so so, I didnt feel better after the rub.. but the lady was kind enuff to give me a 10% off $50/hr. I didnt even ask for any discount, but I guess they know prenatal massage really doesnt require much strength, so they also paiseh to charge us full price.. =P

tat's my only prenatal massage so far, how was the massages U've been to so far? do U feel refreshed after them? maybe I'm used to those "solid" rub and I dun feel satisfied with prenatal one... =P

can anyone share their experience of prenatal massage with me? coz my body is aching for a good rub, and i dunno if it's possible for us to hv a RUB at all....=P

ningyo,
informed my gynea, its prob due to my blood pressure, lack of rest or stress that trigger. its not sugar content cuz I always eat my meals..

you can also call some of the post natal malay lady to do pre natal... that way you can meet and try their skill before confirm the post natal massage

I am have the same problems...always go pee at night...like 1+, then 4+ etc..then after that when i try to go bk to sleep, take some time n b4 i know it, it is time to wake up for work...so sian..n tired everyday...only during wkends then i catch up on my sleep, coz can sleep in later...

Helo!

Today finally see my gynae... n see darling natalie... so so active today! No longer shy of cos... she now weighs 1.2kg @ 28weeks plus. Ask gynae is e weigh ok... he mention noraml. Hmm sometime wat it means by normal? Like bb born gg to be 2.5kg OR can be mroe than 3kg? How big is consider big? So confusing. BT at least finally my weight start to gain.. 1kg hehehe... so.. tonight must go buy durian! Craving for it man.

BB now turn her head to bottom liao BT yet i also cant sleep well too.. haiz...

I also always goes to pee at least 2-3 times every night and hard to get bck to sleep after that. And when bb kicks a lot, i go n get myself a glass of milk, then I am able to sleep peacefully. When at work, I feel super tired and sometimes just doze off.

Hi jfong,
Do take care and rest more. Eat more to let bb gain more weight too.

32wks+ checkup
went 2 c gynae tis afternoon. bb's now 2.4kg at 32wks+. gynae said BIG bb again, so decided 2 test me for GD. sigh! me tested positive but luckily no need 2 take medication or jabs. just need 2 control diet...cut down on carbo, sweet stuff & also food intake. i was instructed 2 eat as if i'm on a diet. i told gynae tat sometimes i do get hungry, after main meals. his exact words in his reply 2 me, "it wont kill u if u r hungry n it wont kill ur bb"

2 me, bb's right on track wif my 1st son's size. my 1st son, gabe hit 2.8kg at 35wks+ n i didnt suffer fr GD tat time. then again, my 1st gynae dun advise me on weight n she also didnt check my blood sugar so i could hv GD back then but didnt know (if not gabe wont b 2.8kg at 35wks+).

hi kelly ,

wow , ur baby is big ! 2.4kg at 32 weeks ... btw , how many weight u put on ? and ur baby at 28 weeks is abt how heavy ?
i also wish my baby weight same as urs ...

Hi Kelly,
Did yr gynea mention will yr bb pop early this time as yr first son? I think 2.4kg is fine leh if yr baby pop early like 35 wk. My gynea mention to me my baby will around 2.8kg when deliver but if she pop early then will be under weight. Not bad, you only put on 10kg, I already put on 12kg but baby still small
. I read many book on premature baby, seem like baby's weight play an important part. If the weight is enough then will have less problem.

wanli,
don't worry 2.8kg is a nice weight and easy to give birth.. maybe you are small build so your baby also small build..
Even you eat more your baby still will be small... so don't worry......as long as your gynea says your baby is ok then ok..