(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

jus check with u all...for contractions, only when they become painful then we need to be concern abt it? What is there r like tightening of tummy but they r not painful at all or u barely notice them, then it is ok rite?? Kind of worried leh..

augbb,
only when contractions become very regular, like it comes every 5-10mins interval, then 3-5mins interval, then it's a concern. call ur gynae ASAP then.

morning gals!
went for my checkup yest. gained 3plus kg since last visit. now total weight gain is abt 8 kg. doc finally told me bb's weight. 1.25 to 1.3kg as at wk29. i thought it was ok but later doc says the growth speed is reducing. Based on detailed scan, my bb is supposed to be m or l size and is expected to develop according to that speed. now according to my doc, my bb is slightly smaller than m size so have to monitor my diet and make sure I sleep on my side.
will be going for growth scan in another 2 weeks to make sure bb's growth is ok. anyone with this problem?

hi erin00,
wat's a growth scan? i heard another mummy mention abt it but blur blur abt it. isnt it e same as wat ur gynae usually does? take measurements of e head circumference, abdominal circumference n femur length then use these 3 measurements 2 obtain e bb's estimated weight.

or is growth scan something else?

hi kelly,
i'm not too sure too. doc din elaborate but guess it'll be something like detailed scan again to check if bb is growing according to schedule. gynae will not be doing the scan cos she says the scanning machine (used for detailed scan) is more advanced.

Hi erin,
is yr bb suppose to be M or L size in the first place? Coz for mine, during the detailed scan, the doc din tell me if my bb is suppose to be wat size leh...dun worry too much okie...juz try to eat more ya..did doc say wat the growth scan is suppose to be for? N is it not gd that bb is smaller size??

hi augbb,
ya, supposed to be m to l size based on detailed scan. she showed me the graph yesterday. supposed to follow the curve (from the day of detailed scan onwards) but now bb's weight is slightly below the curve (for wk 29). not that bb is not healthy but she's worried that the bb is not growing as much as expected. bb's growth is only like as at wk 27. need to look into my diet. cut down on carbo and eat more of protein to see if it helps.

hi rain,
did ur doc say anything? it could be due to sleeping on ur back. my doc said it could be one of the reasons.

Hi erin,
Icic...okie..dun worry too much ya..juz try to eat more and healthy food...as long as bb is healthy then it is ok..i have the chart too from the detailed scan but doc also never say anything coz my bb at 28wks 3days is only 1kg..anyway is yr hubby n yrself big sized?

erin,
y we cant sleep on our back ah? i try to sleep on either my right or left side but nowadays like not comfy..so sometimes i find myself sleeping on my back as well...

girls, sleeping on the left can help your body circulate with oxygen and blood more..
but sleeping on back at times is ok lar.. always sleep on left side also will get aches leh.. my left leg always get cramp....

hi augbb,
no la. not so worried abt the weight but rather with the growing rate. hope will not slow down any more as this shows that the bb is not absorbing a lot of nutrients. gynae sounded concerned though.

my hb and i both small-built leh. just that she followed the potential growth of the bb based on the chart. ai ya, now i also sian. think just eat more nutritious food and less junk

can't sleep on back cos there is a vein or something that carries nutrients to bb. if pressed on it for too long, the flow of nutrients to bb will be restricted.

erin,
Oh icic..okie..then i better try not to sleep on more back..dun worry too much okie..cheer up...try to eat more nutritious food and try not to sleep on yr back too much then..things be ok...
Huggies for u...

Hi Erin,
I went for my gynae checkup last week and he just confirmed mine would eb a small sized baby according to the growth chart. My baby has been following the S size chart since beginning. He did not mention anything on detailed growth scan but he did mention baby must move along the curve, it would be fine.

When we sleep on our back, heard it;s best to crop up our legs then oxygen will flow more in our body.

I put on 2.7kg during the past 5 weeks and have been eating beef and a little durian occasionally. Think this time round, baby absorbs quite a fair bit of nutrients compared to the last visit where I out on 3+kg in 3 weeks+. Perhaps you can try eating more protein food like beef?

Hi Erin,

Hugz! dun worry! things will be ok! try sleeping on your side... and wake up at night to turn to another side before turning back to the left side.. will help if u have extra quilts/extra soft cushions supporting lower back also.. I get the same aches, but for me, i put extra thin mattress and i take my spare quilt, fold it up and use it to support my lower back.. it helps.. at night, i spend like 60% of my time on my left side and 30% of my time on my right side.... so far, it seems to work ok for me, since end week 27, my baby weighs 1.1kg.. I am conscious enough to wake up and slowly turn around in the night, cos i scared baby can't get her nutrients..

It must be working, cos every morning, even if i take a small glass of warm milk or wholemeal snack before i sleep, i wake up super hungry in the morning!

piyo,
i must ask gynea about siza chart, cuz me never heard about it before.

according to my weight gain, I kinda slowed down - phew.. cuz i think I overall already put on 10kg. but baby is gaining weight..

jasmine,
i also get hungry very fast now..

do u gals also feel same? I am now in week 28+ after dinner about 8pm, sleep about 1130pm, will wake up super hungry.. once I even woke up at 530 to have milk :p

erin,

talking about junk, i love carbo stuff... just had 2 donuts for breakfast, now feeling so guilty.. baby must get sugar high

Hi Butter,
I get hungry like ard 11plus or b4 I go to bed but once I sleep, unless I am waken up by nature calls, else I will sleep like a log throughout... recently like never getting enuf sleep... super tired... anyone feeling the same?

My gynae shared with me the size chart but he did not share with me the wt of bb

Till now, I put on 9.7kg and I am in my 29th weeks! I hope I won't reach 20kg with the rate I am going!

Hi Erin,
Dun worry...everything will turn out just fine. Actually my BB also weighs lesser than yours at 29 wks leh...plus the fact that me and my hubby are in BIG size category...hahaha
Since my Doc said it's normal, i dun think much about it, trust him bcos i know him personally and our own instinct. Bcos my BB growth was doubled from the previous month.

Butter,
I also wake up in the middle of the night to drink milk, and it's pretty often I must say...hee. If not bcos of my very bad reflux and heartburn I would be eating even more...so it's a blessing in disguise?? Haiz...

I've heard from my friend who's working in TMC that she came across a few patients who went through Hypno-birthing had really shorter labor... Anyone attending such classes here, do you find it useful?

I think sleeping on left side really help for baby growing. Remember my baby is on quite small size on 24 wk, then i trying to sleep on my left more often, will only change to right side if very tired on left. Don't lying on back too often, it is not good for both baby and mother.

HI chrys & Dino,
V-check is using hand. Actually I don't know how to describe the pain, it pain until I don't know where is the pain. but doctor said the contraction pain is like menses cramp. If u always got the pain should tell Dr, see whether is real contraction or not. She give me medicine which help to stop the contraction and need to eat 3 times a day. My next appt is next friday.

Hi Fiona,

Heard of it and there is a local website ... (dunno why can't type the link here).. search for hypnobirthing singapore on google SG..
There are some stories there you can read about.. but not sure if really will work for me.. :p

Hi erin,

I think probably its still too early to gauge whether ur baby growth is slow or not. Supposingly u also didnt gain too much weight.

Juz went for my scan yest at 30wks n my baby was 1.766kg but i already gain 10-11kg for the whole pregnancy. My previous scan was probably around 27wks n my baby was only 0.9+kg.

for those of u who be letting yr bb sleep in a playpen, do u buy an extra bassinet to put in yr playpen? coz normally the playpen is like very low where the mattress is placed rite? almost like on the floor itself and hence it be very difficult to carry the bb out if you wan to change their diapers etc...anyone have any idea if there is anyplace that do sell bassinet for playpen? coz i got a barely used playpen from a friend n concern if it be too low for my bb as the playpen be put in my parents hm as they be taking care of bb after my 2 mths maternity leave..pls mummies kindly advise me..thanks...

thanks for ur encouragement. me also hungry very fast. guess i take a lot of carbo food (fries, doughnuts, cakes, etc), that's why i gained a lot of weight. will wait n see if bb's growth rate is really declining or not.

think most prob will be going for natural birth cos doc says bb is already in head down position.

fiona n jasmine,
r u thinking of hypno birthing? sounds interesting but think it's rather uncommon in singapore. only saw it in the news a couple of months back. think it's the 1st case in NUH or singapore.

ningyo,
wah, ur bb grows very fast.

Hi Jasmine & Erin
Thanx! I read up some birth stories from four trimester website, seems like it focus alot on relaxation techniques and engaging a doula service...pretty ex leh :p

By the way, when can we start taking the coconut drink?

Hi Augbaby,
I am using a playpen but it's not that low till near the floor lei... I have another level whereby there s foam mattress and I have stackd another babysafe mattress on top of it so the height is just right. And mine comes with a free bassinet on top of the playpen.

Hi Erin,
How did you post your ticker here?

Hi Wanli,
I have also been sleeping on the left as this is my usual position but baby is still small size
when you sleep on the left, would a bit of the left tummy be pressed on the bed as well?

hi piyo,
i went to snugglepie.com, register, create my own ticker and save in desktop. but problem is i have to attach the file everytime i post.
436016.png

hi!
so sorry i made a mistake. actually associated hypnobirthing with water birth cos I read an article about the doula asking a mum to soak in the bath tub to relax until time to deliver.

hey piyo,
wat the brand of the playpen u bought then? when for the tmc tour and also saw that there was 1 room where there is a bath tub as well for some kind of birth technique..not sure wat that is thou..hubby seems interested to find out too...

hi all mummies ,

i am looking for Steam Sterilizer , anyone have any recommend brands , best is cheaper ones ! thank

I am mum from April'06.... just KPO, You can buy Pigeon Sterilizer which is quite good. Me using Avent and sister using Pigeon and i really like my sister sterilizer and Pigeon is not that ex compare to Avent. You can go to Yahoo Auction to buy.... i saw a brand new one selling at a very reasonable price.

Hi white lady,
I don't like durians so I eat about 1-4 seeds each time. have been eating on a weekly basis. May increase over these few weeks. U eating?

Hi white lady,

My colleague also recommend the Pigeon steriliser. Its at $87 include $20+ worth of 'freebies' 2 milk bottle and a pack of cleaner.
Can buy from Robinson or Takashimaya.
Do not buy at any price more than $87.

There're are 2 types of Avent steriliser, 1 is with digital display of the time called IQxx and the other without.Think the lower price 1 is at $169 b4 20% discount and include $40+ of 'freebies' milk bottles etc.

The sterilising time for both Pigeon n lower end Avent is the same at 8mins. The digital display IQxx Avent is 6mins.

Hope it helps.

hi white lady,
I oso got the pigeon steriliser cuz i heard it can put quite a lot in and also cuz its pretty affordable.

anyone know if the free little pigeon bottles that come with the sterilizer, can be used for newborn?

anyone also can share with me where Nuk bottles are made?

Hi white lady,
me also got pigeon steriliser but another friend of mine gave me the avent one as well after I exchangedvoucher for the pigeon. I am planning to use the milk bottles for newborn...

i bought the pigeon one recently from robinsons too
heard its the best , n value for $. hey how come i ddnt get the $20 extra stuff ah, thr was no promo leh..

hi white lady,
there are quite a no. of sterilisers in the market but i think avent and pigeon are the more recommended ones. I bought avent (not the digital one) and another pigeon steriliser (not the usual one. it's another type that can only sterilise 2 bottles). The avent one costs $135 with free gifts whereas the pigeon one costs me abt $30 plus after discount.

sales asst told me that avent is made in uk whereas pigeon is made in china. pigeon's base is hot plate (not fully covered) so might have to descale the base more often than avent. but hor, the general feedback I get from friends is that both are equally gd and pigeon is cheaper.

hope this helps.

Hi all mummies ,

thank for the info , think will get the pigeon one then ... have seen it in a few place , all is selling ay $87 with free 2 bottles ...

does any mummies know whether Kiddy Palace got 20% on the pigeon ? Or $87 is the cheapest ?