(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

LABOUR PAINS

hi gals, esp mommies who have babies already. my plan was to have a completely natural childbirth, without epidural, can i ask how often is that possible? any way to describe wat the pain is similar to? i took out my appendix b4 and found the whole episode q a breeze, but everywhere i read they say labour is the greatest pain in a woman's life ..

read this article http://www.alexandertechnique.com/articles/childbirth/

also in sgp wat position is a woman in for natural birth? the article said being on all fours is good? hmm.. labour sounds v unglam .. can poop, be on all fours .. but im sure at that point who cares.

im suddenly starting to panic and not feel so gungho afterall ... anyone here had completely natural childbirth?

Hi Ningyo,

I bought bolster and pillow cases at the last Babycare Festival Expo, and the price was abt 40% cheaper, so maybe u can expect the same for mattress at the expo. Oh ya, the pillows and bolsters were so much cheaper at the fair too. But dunno if they will be participating????

Pupsandcups,

I delivered my ger 4 yrs ago without epidural, just the laughing gas and pethidine. It was assisted deivery.

As for the positions, i tink most gynaes do it the half lie/half siting position lor. As for on all fours, it depends on your gynae's preference. u might check with her/him.

pups,
whether u use any pain-relieving method, it all depends on ur pain threshold. if ur pain threshold is high, u dun need any. let ur gynae or midwife advise u when u r on e delivery bed. let ur body decide too.

for me, i had epidural n went thru assisted delivery. i wasnt planning 2 use epi but my gynae insisted i do cos i couldnt tahan e contractions (my pain threshold is nil - i cant tahan any sort of pain) n since i cant relax, there's no way i can dilate. after epi was administered, i dilated very fast.

jfong,
i got ur contact. thks! will sms u when i pop.

since ur appt is on 26jun 8pm, i'll c if i can c dr ang on tat day since my appt is on 14jun (when i'm abt 32wks+). i'll advise u closer 2 e date again.

Hi jfong,

Wow! 40% discount is quite alot! Guess i'll wait for the motherhood fair then. Thanks!

If anybody is going for the motherhood fair tmr, can help me to keep a look out for babysafe mattress?
The price for 28"x52" is $169. Think 28"x48" is $149.
Dun wanna make a wasted trip fm west to expo.

just wanna check with u all..do u have difficulty sleeping nowadays at nite? i found that i cant sleep well nowadays at nite coz maybe tummy is bigger n be it right or left that i sleep it is not comfortable n sometimes i feel my tummu aching...n sometimes when i lie on my right, bb will kick non stop till i change position..feel very tired everyday n still have to go work..
any remedies gals?

thanks kelly and jfong,
guess i just hv to trust my gynae, i think my pain threshold is good, but then agn, i dunno, thats to me only, tried to surf for pain threshold questionnaire but couldnt find anything ...

butter8
did u eat a proper breakfast? always make sure u do, when i don't eat enough in the mrng, i also feel rather dizzy, esp during pregnancy. mb see a GP first to see what he says, i don't think its that emergency yet ..

augbb,
im suffering the exact same problem as you.. i m so umcomfy, toss n turn until practically kick hubby off the bed heehee. sigh also struggle at work. zzz. i think its inevitable part of pregnancy we just have to go thru. it's also tough becos avoiding coffee right? heehee

hi pups,
prob is i had good breakfast and was going in aircon car... sigh... the last time it happen after lunch at work, so I think it must be heat. i just dun wan my gynea to think i always just wan to go down see her, but friends tell me, just go and check, anyway, its for baby sake...

augbb,
so far, funny for me i sleep pretty welll... but i am worried cuz me tummy like not really getting bigger.. touch wood... and baby has not kicked me so hard at nite... the only thing is i tend to sleep late, and some how always wake up early, so i am not getting enuf sleep..

pups,
try to drink less milk i guess cos maybe baby cannot tolerate lactose. cos i read somewhere on the net that some babies cannot tolerate too much lactose which lead to diarrhea.

augs & butter,
i encounter the same thing as you baby also kicks me during at night which make me can't sleep really well. Its ok for tummy not getting bigger cos is normally first pregnancy is always smaller..but when we reach the 8th mth and 9 mth of the pregnancy i think tummy will be heavier cos by the time baby is already 1 or 2 kg

Hi bottle,

The babysafe mattress is latex. Foam mattress r cheaper. But i also dun know whether if babysafe mattress is really that value for money or not.

thanks cat.
don worry, that time i got diarrhoea was abt 2 mths ago, heehee was my fault, had client buffet lunch, and ate a lot of caesar salad, which i know i shdnt have

Had my 31 week (in fact only 30 wk 3 day) checkup on last sat. Gained 1.5kg, baby weight is 1.5kg now, normal range.

Anybody has any good buys to share at GSS?

Hi Chrys,
Did dr wong mention to u anything? eg: monitor baby movement? so far, she has not tell me anything yet.
Will u be going for the doctor's talk tonight?

Hi Dino,
Last trip i did not ask much, she also din mention anything particularly. She already gave me the baby movement monitor chart in previous visit, but in fact i din monitor by writing down the time when baby moves :p as i can feel bb movemement every now and then, she said ok. She only mention there r some very light stretch mark at my lower abdomen which i can't see it myself.
She'll give me a list of things to pack for hospital after 2 weeks. My next visit on 10 June.

ya, i will be giong for the talk tonight.
Dino, are u the one who came in late last saturday? hee.
maybe i guess wrongly..

Dino,

My doctor say the veins will go away after delivery. If i dun stand or sit too long, they dun hurt as much nowadays.

Kelly,

sure, let me now nearer the date.

Ninyo,

i going tomorow, keep u updated.

hi for mummies going to expo tomorrow , can help me see see whether got promotion on baby cot ? cos i am looking for baby cot only , so if expo dont have much , then i wont waste time going , will go hyper mart instead =)

Hi Chrys,

She told me we will receive a letter frm TMC on what to pack when we go for delivery.
Yes, are u in pink and your hubby is very tall?Seems that guessing game still carry on. hehe. Tonite's talk would be quite rush for me. Maybe I will be late again.

jfong,
My shopping threshold is max 1hr, then I will feel the burning and pain. And I have to tell hubby I need to sit down.

hi mummies, long time no chat! i got something to share with mommies who worry abt having small-sized bb.. my colleague shared these with me lah.. proven and worked for their bbs!

to help bb have strong skull:
from week 20 onwards, drink coconut juice(NOT those small Thai coconuts) once a week, stop @ week 36, coz gotta prepare for delivery anytime.

to help bb hv strong body and mother hv strength for labour:
from week 24 onwards, drink chkn with "pao sheng" once a mth, stop @ week 36, coz gotta prepare for delivery anytime also.
-buy kampung chkn, de-skin it, stuff the chkn with 5-8pcs of "pao sheng". put in a container, with NOTHING else. just brew it for abt 1hr. and u will the essence of the chkn & "pao sheng", drink it!

tat's all i hv to share! do try and do good for bb and ourselves!! =)

Dino & Chrys...am gg for the talk tonight..its at SCGS secondary or primary schooL?
knw its held at the auditorium..and at 7pm right?

left the information at home...

had my 29th week appt last friday, baby is already 1.6kg & because of constipation, dr wong had to give me an emulsion & a powder drink for more fibre and improve bowel movement...

have you girls booked for your room yet?

Dino,
oh i received the letter from TMC already, the packing list is included.
Hee.. then i guess correctly.
Yes my hubby is very tall, but I forgot what color i wear last sat.. short-term memory :p

Ok, thanks Chrys...secondary school...

dr wong suggested i book the 4 bedder room first and decide how (whether to upgrade later)....
have yet to see how the room looks like, always closed for tours because there are patients in there...

yeah,i've got a big boy..he is one week ahead his average weight..but his mummy & daddy all tall so dr wong says its normal...only strange thing is that my tummy is still considered small at 7.5mths...

Chrys & Dino, when is yr EDD? Maybe can see you girls after delivery..... : )

Hi Babyboy,
Dr Wong mention to me that when we are in the delivery ward, remind her to check for us whether are we in 4 bedded or 2 bedded(although sign up for 4bedded). If happen that there is vacancy in 4 bedded, and we dun wish to be in 4bedded, we can upgrade at the point of time.

Hi Chrys,
U bingo. Are u the one who came in slighty early b4 me? And we meet each other at the carpark?

Babyboy, my edd 2 Aug. Were u sitting at front row last wk? hmm.. hard to guess, a few tall mummies.

Dino,
Err.. u mean on last Sat met at carpark? dun think so leh.. hehe. ;p

Long time no chat.
Hows everyone?

I have backache recently and the area between my tummy and breast also uncomfortable after i sit for a while. I think is bcos of my bra. I already using ext with with max limit still like that :-(

Hi pup,

I also tire at work.

I think start from the mid of my 2nd trim also no mood to work.. boss definitely know but he just close one eye lah.. what to do I preggy mah

hi rain,
me too. area between tummy and breast v. uncomfortable when I sit down. still thinking whether I shd get those without underwired bras but worried that breasts might sag as there might not be enough support.

hi rain

im exactly like u , bra super uncomfy, i buy extension n all oso no use. wen i put on in the mrng ok, come afternoon i really feel like taking it off! sometimes if my clothes allow, i jus unhook my bra, until i hv to walk ard or go home .. jialat

rain & erin, i also hv the same pain under my right breast leh...really uncomfortable.. =(

i mentioned b4, but no one seemed to respond here, so i thot it was only me! =P

anyone knows the real cause for the "ache"??

Hi chrys,
Do u sit at the last 2nd row? i saw a couple opp TMC, coffeeshop carpark. Hubby v tall n slim. And this couple was late for class too. Wasn't that u?err...

Hi Erin,

I think we realli should get bras without underwired. sometimes i feel like go without bras... normally i dun wear it at home.. but in the office, sometimes realli making me very pek chey and i go to toilet and remove for a while to have a breath

rain, i know wat u mean, coconut to cleanse the bb during delivery, rite? yes, u can do tat too.. just continue to drink once a week till delivery.

hi mummies.. I have same bras/breast problem as u all. U might want to change to maternity bras without wire and buy slightly bigger bras.
I change bras every month from cup C to D...
You will feel much better after changing bras

hi leo,

actually i think all our digestive system all squeeze between the breast and the tummy. thats why after meals we are so uncomfortable...

Dino,
it's not me lah.. i sat at front row.. i wasn't late.. and my hubby is not slim.. haha... if i tell him, he sure very happi..
maybe she's wanli? hehe..

regarding bra, i bought triumph maternity bra, very stretchy and very comfy.. no underwires, even the cloth material for the cups are very soft and stretchy, cost $30+

rain, need to buy nightie for hospital meh? im sure they provide right.

i oso desperately need to buy new bra, n wear a lot of strapless .. sometimes jus wear tube inside but is really uncomfy.

hi pupsandcups,
if u r with kkh, they do provide but they will still ask u to bring ur own so u r more comfy. my friend at tmc told me that the hospital does not provide so u have to get ur own.

hi rain,
i just bought one just now at simei but not sure whether it's cheap. $15.90 for one that is like a cotton shirt but is rather long (around knee level)

can't remember who recommended the raspberry tea, the dalcott one at carrefour. anyway i jus realised its black tea infused with raspberry flavour. for the benefits, need to buy raspberry leaves tea, which i read on another thread can buy at taka basement tea shop.

tks for the coconut tip, maybe i start eating soon, weather so hot will be good also