(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

Hi Augbaby,

My pre-preggy weight is 51kg. now is about 57/58kg..

I think I gain the most weight about the other mummies... SAD!

Hi rain,
U mean the weight yr doc charted for u when u first when to see her and she took yr weight is it? think u din gain very much lah...coz u r more advance than alot of us mah...

hi catherine/aug baby
We planning to have baby sleep in playpen. It has 3 levels of adjustment in terms of the level so no problem. I have friends who let their babies sleep in playpens throughout till 2 yrs old. We are more concerned about the baby's head knocking against the wooden strips around the cot hehe

ya rain, it looks reasonable cos you are due early Aug leh.. My gynae asked me to watch my food intake when I went for my appt before the detailed scan. heng this time he no say anything maybe next appt he will bring up again so better keep my food intake under control

Hi Piyo,

Everytime there is weight gain, the nurse will say.. Good! baby is growing..

But I am concern that I have actually put on too much weight. Especially my hips. It has like double is size. Now I look so improportional :-(

hi wanli,
is the price in usd or s$? If it's in S$, might want to buy one of the mobiles. if it's usd, think I'll consider as it would be rather costly.

hi augbaby,
such a coincidence ah. my mil haven't been there yet. her appt is in june. so dunno much abt the place. now can tell her abt the place being nice and shorter waiting time liao. think she'll be happy cos Dr. Adelina Wong offer her similar rate that she's currently paying for kk.

hi foony,
thanks for the website.

Hi erin00,
It is in SGD of course. Outside is selling $79.90, even Cheong choon is selling $70. but hypermart got 20% off from $79.90.

Wah, u ladies all started shopping so early ah. i am shopping but more for my own maternity clothes le.. other than the minimum bb clothes.
For bb products, i tot not to buy too early in case of expiry date. oso May there will be Singapore Sale right? actually was hoping can get some second hand stuff from frens but so far... seems like either they oredi give away or ... no offers leh.

There is a motherhood hair around the end of May at Singapore Expo, thinking of going there to take a look and maybe look see more baby stuffs during the Singapore sales. When is Singapore sales roughly? May or June?

Good morning ladies,
Think the GSS usually start around end of May to July i think...for me i am also waiting for the motherhood fair as well as the sale to purchase bb items coz they are all so exp...or waiting for friends n relatives to buy some 2nd hand stuffs over..Also be getting some wore b4 clothes for bb coz i heard alot of pp say that if bb wear hands me down clothes, bb be more guai and easier to take care of..so i be letting bb wear a few hands me down esp afert born n of course new clothes too.. :p

Hi erin,
Ya, Dr Wong is very nice by maintaining the same rate her patients get from KK. Coz she din wan to make her regulars pay extra juz bec she open her own clinic..Very nice of her..even the med/vitamins i am taking for pregnancy is also same price as pharmacy from KK so we are actually very happy wif her.

Hi Wanli and ladies who been to Cheong Choon, can i ask if they sell all brands of stroller n cots is it? Coz hubby n me like the Quinny Zap stroller a lot but it is so exp...so wondering if Cheong Choon sell them at their shop? How abt cot too? Realise that there r quite a bit of things to buy for bb and it is going to be exp..sigh...

Rain,
Dun worry too much..me also like u, always very worried n concern i gain too much weight coz i am a rather small frame person n have never put on so much weight b4..i think gaining 5kg by wk 20 sounds rather reasonable..
Juz think that the gain is for the sake of bb n ask giving birth, we shld juz try extra hard to shed the extra weight gain lor..maybe we can even exercise together with the rest who wan to lose weight..anyway i heard from a lot of my friends that usually in abt 2 mths, most of them lose the extra weigh bec od sleepless nights taking care of bb plus bec of breastfeeding..:p Juz have to tone up the tummy area i guess coz it has expanded due to pregnancy..

Hi cj,
Avent open house is on 13th May from 11am -4pm. They have talk on baby breastfeeding etc but need to pay $5 registration fees. Other than that they may have some promotion on their product. For registration you may need to call their customer service. Actually I also don't have much infor, just saw this from other thread. I'm just interested for the promotion not the talk

Hi augbaby,
Not so sure CC got Quinny Zap or not but I know they have Peg Perego and Maclaren. Quinny Zap I saw it at Baby Hypermart, it is really cool but very exp. That's why I think Peg perego is already not bad.

By the way, don't think CC selling all brands of stroller and cots. You better call them and check with them first before going down because they don't display out all the product, u can only view it from catalog. Yah....alot of thing need to buy, just bought few thing last week already cost me $500. So must need to calculate the budget carefully

hi there,

i went for a quick check up cuz of some cramps/pains, everything is fine, baby is doing ok, what I experience is just some kind of contractions.

BUT the good news is, dr could see baby sex!!! dr, nurse n me all so excited... baby is a little boy boy, surprise! i was still hoping a gal ;P so i will be adding a boy to those in our list but in Aug 2nd half! baby was playing with hands and fingers, swaying away like conducting music.. and he gave us a full face view too, looking straight at the machine

hubby was not there
i thot just a short quick check, end up so fun... he will have to wait till detailed scan now...

Rain, dun worry, I know for a fact we both about the same starting weight, but by now, I have put on much much more :p I have put on 8kg and only in my 19-20 week. dr havent say anything, she say i dun look fatter so dunno where my weight going... i think my thighs and bum

just stay healthy and happy

until my spare room is cleared, and maid room cleared, I dun think I buy anything.. no space to put... must go nag my hubby...

now we thinking of our baby names.. i thot of so many gal gal names.. now must go think again...

augbaby,
u can call winnie & ask her for e cost of Quinny Zap. she may not have it in her shop or she may not even carry it but she can hunt it down for u n quote u a decent price. tat was wat a few other friens advised me abt winnie's services.

Anyone knows if Cheong Choon opens during the weekend? what is the opening hrs like? Thought of going this friday(public holiday), dun know got open anot, if not maybe Saturday...

Hi Kelly,
Winnie is from Cheong Cheng rite? do you have her number? Me lazy to go find from the past thread..hee hee..tks alot dearie...

Hey butter,
congrats on knowing yr bb gender..hee hee..think we belong to the few who have a boy boy for aug 2nd half as most are girl girl...
SO exciting to see bb movements ya...doc came me some pics and can see bb eyes staring at us during his scan...so adorable..

Hi butter,
I can feel your excitement! COngrats on knowing the gender! I updated in the table liao
somemore we have one more boi in the aug 2nd half
hey butter, throw some ger names for me... me only have lots of boi names in my mind haha!

Cheong Choon Store
(Distributor of all ranges of babies products & furniture)
Blk 34, #03-132, Upper Cross Street, S(050034).
Tel: 65323855
Fax: 65327816
Winnie Wong

Hi all, ask u all something..

regarding detail scan, is it use the same equipment during routine checkup for ultrasonic scan?? just gynae scan more details each part of baby?

Hi foonny,
No, it is still a scan used but more features and functions..the one i use the radiologist use is one that has a scan screen like the one use normally by our gynae but it has more controls like knots etc...where they can view more pics of bb at a times as well as macnify the image of bb so that they can check the heart, lungs, fingers, cord etc of bb..this is to detect any fetus abnormabilites..that is wat my report says..after the scan, the person will pass u the report for us to keep as well as different images of the bb..

i will keep some of my fave galgal & boyboy names (hoping for 2nd child
but here are some hehehehe:

anise
chelsea
fayre

yes anyone can help where to get good baby chinese names? my parents learnt malay last time so cannot help... pls help

I like Danielle.. But my hb say other children might make fun of her name to become "The niao"
Then I say how about Gynelle then he say "Jin Niao".. I say Janelle then he commented that he dun like the word "nelle" (niao) at the back...

i vomit blood

Rain,
think yr hubby is so cute..i also like the name danielle..when i was thinking of girls name that time lah..but hubby also dun like it at all... :p Anyway any nice boy names u thou of?

rain,

hehehe your hubby funny man... i like Danielle - lovely name..

I also like Megan and Chloe

For boys name I like Joshua, Christian & Jayden

supposed 2 c gynae on thur but went 2 c my gynae 2day at lunchtime cos have been feeling uncomfortable lately (tightening of the whole belly, aches at the whole area beneath my belly button n sudden sharp pains at certain parts of the belly).

gynae said such sensations are normal as long as i dun get contractions 3-4x in an hr. i shld also minimise carrying my 11kg+ son. i'm now 23wks 4days n bb weighs 720g.

my gynae measured my boy's abdominal circumference & length of his leg n from these measurements, his EDD changed to 28Jul. gynae did say 2 stick 2 EDD of 4aug.

now topic moving towards bb's names. i might settle on kaden as my bb's name. sounds similar to 'kai en'. i've also thought of some girls' names as I thought mine would be a girl. some favourites are: claire, chloe, faith, emma, nicole, cass, anthea, giselle, kristen.

hi butter,
congrats! can sense ur happiness.

hi rain,
ur hb very cute. my mum also the same. i was thinking of matthias but my mum said that some kids or older people like her might not be able to pronounce the name well and ended up calling 'tire'. lol

do u all hv a weighing scale at home? if so, can tell me wat brand is good, where to get and how much? my hb bought 1 for me from Watsons after PG but it is not good and i think i not getting my real weight measurment. It is increasing too slowly. now on my scale only 48 kg?!! but wen i go gynae i weigh more.

Hi CJ,
I got a digital weighing scale sometime ago from Guardian cost abt $19.90 it's good as it provides the weight to 1 decimal pt.

Hi Kelly,
As long as the gynae says you are fine then dun worry too much ya? no good for baby! and most importantly be careful going thru your daily stuff and think better carry your boi lesser!

For names, I like andre, abel, joshua for bois! Gers have quite a few which rain and butter likes too!To add on a few, how about Geneeve, Andrea, Rachel? In fact, we are most probably settling for Megan as my ger's name as it sounds pleasant and it's meaningful too

Good morning..seems like alot of u also have decided on bb name..me haven got an idea yet...anyway a few names i like for girls that time when we haven known bb gender is megan, Sydelle and rae/rei..

For guys, i kind of like javiar, similiar to xaviar etc, jared, ian, shane etc...sigh..but most of the names my hubby dun like...he is so troublesome..haha

good morning mommies!!

wow...looks like we hv been diligently looking around for nice n unique names for our babies! =) it's good to see such enthusiasm in the new-age mommies! hehehe...arent we excited?! =)

aug babies hv very strong characters, and therefore, when i looked for names for my princess, i either want the name to suit her character, or give her a name tat will soften tat trait of her personality..

i was looking at names like Andra(means strong & courage), Tiara(means of fairy queen), Tania(fairy queen), and Sive(means Sweet), and Shaine(means Beautiful).

anyone experience "menses like cramps", or giddyness? I got stomach cramp something like those menses type and at the same time feels very giddy like those want to faint and cold sweat kind. Then need to go toilet.Any one has similar experiences?

Hi Piyo,

I was also comtemplating on using Megan as it is meaningful but have decided on Reanne for my ger cos' my first is Rachael so tot nice to hv same initials.

Kelly,

do take good care, okie? rest when u need too. r u stopping wk soon? remember u mentioned it somewhere in tis thread b4.

need some advices here....I intend to bring my 3 babies to my in-law place with my maid when I go back to work......My in-law intend to ask my maid to help out with some household chores when my babies are sleeping.....They are willing to compensate her....I am wondering now how much extra must we compensate her per month to be consider reasonable? my maid and my babies will be with my in-law during weekday and I will bring them back on weekend.....Any advice?

Hi celine
I also experience mild "menses like cramps" off and on. I told my gynae, she asked me to monitor, if it happens few times in an hour, then must call her immediately to go for checkup. It could be but may not be preterm labour contractions. If really it is, then must admit me to hospital already. It's definately no good because baby weighs <1kg.

But i dun feel giddy/ cold sweat. To play safe, better check wif ur gynae.