(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

Hi Wanli,
Thanks! wow so fast finished shopping? you going for the avent open house in may? Which brand of playpen and car seat did you get? You getting any stroller?

hi Jas,
I went for digital perm b4 CNY even though I knew I was preggie. Hairstylist says ok... but not colour, dyes etc...I am still going for facial but as long as they do not use those electronic equipment on the face you should be fine.

Hi Augbaby,
my baby's gestational age is 19 plus weeks so the wt is lesser, near 300g. But gynae never says anything negative so I will take it as alright. Don't worry so much about the weight cos they are only estimates.

Hi Sierra,
me also dunno the quantity of of each type of clothings to get for baby cos babies grow up very fast...

hi piyo,

my princess is going hv Siobhann as her name. It's an Irish name. It means Gracious, White Fairy.. I actually have an Irish ex-colleague by this name, I like it coz it sounds so soothing and demure... =)

It's pronounced "Sher-Vonn"..

How many moms already hv some names in mind for their bb boy or girl?? Let's share! =)

Hi Leobbsmon,
Wow, yr bb girl name is so nice n unique..ya me also looking around for name for my bb..but hor, very difficult leh..

Lets share our list of names..thou i dun have a list yet..haha...

Dear piyo,
thanks for the assurance..
Guess as first time mum, i tend to worry abt alot of things..

Hi Piyo,
Yah....almost finish my shopping list :p . Because quite sure will buy the AVENT IQ UNO pump loh that's why will go for the open house hope can get good discount.

The playpen is baby love and the car seat is "Venus" (baby hypermart also got another brand selling at $139). Saw the car seat at metro but not that good lei and it can only used from 4 mths.

For the stroller very tempted to buy the Peg perego, but very expensive...... So may consider first loh. How about you? already buy anything for baby?

morning all,

Hey i got bad experience with KKH
Guess i should had listen to my colleague and go to Private Hospital
If now i change i think its abit too late so i will continue with KKH.

Hi Jas,
I actually asked my gynae regarding rebonding of hair when I was in 1st trimester. She told me must wait for at least more than 5mths. But no coloring. I went 2 different hair salon to seek for opinion. One of them say its ok because the chemicals dun touch our scalp, while the other hair salon(my relative) told me to totally avoid it during preg. So I guess its up to individual to look at it. I also cannot tahan my messy hair, n long wanted to rebond. But got to reng for the rest of the mths.

Hi Wanli,
Comparing to the prices btw Cheong choon and Baby hypermart, which one has more bargains? Do u know the operating hrs for Baby hypermart? Thought of going there coming holiday or wkends.

Hi Catherine,
Wat happen to u at KKH? Me was also from there till recently when i follow my gynae from KK to TMC as she open her own clinic...have u signed a package alr? If not, u might seriously consider to change lor..

hi augbaby,
me also 1st time mums but I saw some of my friends' babies estimated weight and actual weight do differs so best thing listen to your gynae

Hi leobbsmum,
me just got to know I am having a baby ger. For the past few months, I tot mine was a boi so tot of boi names instead now must start to rethink liao hehehe

Hi Wanli,
what are the pros and cons of AVENT IQ UNO? and how much? you sign up for the talk liao?

How much is the Peg Stroller? I only gotten the playpen during the taka baby fair, baby safe mattress to stack on top of the foam mattress they gave us, steriliser and that's it so far

WOW

It seems e chart is filling up! ALL of u almost went for the detail scan n know gender liao.. so envy!

Hmm my detailed scan is this SAT finally!! will be gg TMC for e scan... Will bit worry too abt bb growth etc.. Hope bb jus cooperate n be good.. must bribe more liao!

Will keep u all updated!

hi catherine,
I think if you wanna change now, still not too late.... some ladies change as near as to their due dates... have you taken up any package? if not, can consider changing

HI piyo,
I am on the opposite. I thought we are having a girl so we thought of many girls' names. Now we have to rethink again.

Hi wanli,
U bought so many things already. I just bought my first romper for my baby during the weekend.

Hi piyo,
U bought a playpen from taka fair? is the fair still on? So since u bought a playpen alr, will u be getting a cot as well? Me haven bought anything yet leh..might go down this weekends to see see since long wkends..

augbaby & piyo,
KKH services very poor....I have not sign up the package yet.

First of all.......my 2nd regular check up with KKH was at the amk KK clinic.. I waited more then 2 hours for my turn to view the doctor as i had taken my queue number but the number they never goes in order so i flare up and actually wanted to change doctor, so immediately after that the next person he view me.. ok..nvm after that it nv happen anymore..cos by appointment they should go by appointment time..

then another matter came up this sat becos wedesday after detail scan we proceed to the admission counter to enquir about the packages.. who knows we waited for 1 and half hours and the counter still can serve ppl who never take queue numbers.. and we got to go back to work so i decided to come back on sat for the packages.

My hubby wanted to take private package for me..so we where told to proceed to the private clinic area..Guess what the nurses told us?
PLS come back another day as we are serving only patients who had seen doctor today.....
????????????????
MY hubby ask them SO you mean my WIFE Is not KKH Patient lar? We make the efford to go down on sat and we were beening told off..
So my hubby say loudly at the clinic that either we sign up the package today or we change hospital. Since we are not consider KKH patient..

piyo: oh...can u update the hospital as well...i'm gonna deliver at Mt A...

jas: hmm i've seen the taka list before...i'll go and get a copy :D

honeyhaven,
maybe you can post the ger names that you tot of and I post the guy names as reference? haha

where did you buy the romper and how much?

Hi Augbaby,
The taka fair ended le. It's sometime in march I think. I got mine at $99. Wanli got hers cheaper although different brand. Mine is going to be delivered this weekend. Apart from that, i have not done much shopping yet. Must go clean up my shopping list 1st!

Hi catherine,
Sounds like quite unpleasant experiences at KKH. Since you have not taken up any packages, maybe can consider changing?

Hi Sierra,
updated. Will post when there are more updates

Hi Catherine,
Oh so sorry to hear of the bad service..I am glad that i actually followed my gynae to TMC then..if u r interested, i can recommend mine to u..i took up a package from her from 20 weeks onwards and she actually tried to be as competitive in pricing as KK as alot of her patients follow her from KK. Her clinic is very nice and she is a nice n friendly doc..the service there is very personalised..
N the nurses at TMC is very nice n friendly too..

Congrats Sierra having twins girls! r they gonna be identical?

Celine, Piyo,
Congrats on clearing ur scan & having a girl

Wanli,
Wah.. it's ur turn having shopping spree ya..
So fast completed ur shopping? Do u plan to buy a cot then? Did u ask Cheong Choon for free delivery to ur house?

Catherine
I also had bad experience at KKH for first few visits then i decided to change to TMC. That time i was supposed to see a particular gynae, appointment had been made weeks ago, but when i went on the specified date, i actually seeing another gynae (after waiting for 3 hours). I wasn't happi and checked with the receptionist, and was told that the gynae i had appointment with was on morning shift, how come i came in the afternoon? But the appointment was made by them, it's their own fault isn't it.. I realised that's some flaw in their system, and i dun like to be sitting there waiting for 3 hours to see a gyane. That's y i changed totally to TMC. I think it's never too late for u to change hospital since u haven't signed up package with them. It's better to change now then to get angrily again later, especially during labor. However, i heard from my GF who went for private clinics attached to KKH, no bad experience though.. (The charges is the same as in private clinics charge).

I went for my 24 week checkup on last Saturday.. and u guess what's the first thing my gynae said to me when she read my file? Oh my goodness, what have u been eating this 4 weeks? :p
Yes, i have gained 4kg in 4 weeks!!
So in that 45 minutes checkup, I was reminded again and again, to cut down carbo intake, i could only keep nodding my head said ok ok.. oh.. so paiseh..

augbaby,
i am thinking of changing to Mt A, But also heard that TMC is much cheaper then KKH actually..
So i am miserable haha..Btw wheres ur Doctor's clinic located at?

chrys,
I actually wanted to change doctor after my 2nd check up.. but i find the doctor not bad.. so i give them another chance who knows why i go to the hospital the service was soo bad.. i am wondering will they ask me to go back home and come another day when i am going to deliver the baby..
I felt that all patients who go to KKH should had all the prioty to be serve and not only to serve the patients who were on checkup on that day..

btw how you transfer your records to TMC? or you just tell ur gynea u want to transfer and they just transfer for you?

Hi Dino,
Compare Cheong Choon and hypermart, I think cheong choon still cheaper. but CC is a very small store dun have much display, so u need to check out what is the model u want first then only they get it from the store. If u go hypermart then u can see many different display models. What I advice is, copy down the model u like and price from hypermart then call to CC and check with them whether they got the same thing.

Hi Catherine,
My doc is located at TMC itself but on the 6th floor..coz she came out of kk to open her own clinic lor..
Think if u r not comfortable wif kk then u shld change..

Hi Catherine
I actually din do a 'transfer' but i started off new at TMC, so i left my record at KKH. But it doesn't matter because i was only 6w pregnant when i was with KKH that time, i changed to TMC at week 7. Hmm.. I am not sure is it possible for u to transfer ur record from KKH to another hospital.

Hi chrys,
Yah....fast hor :p, I already got a cot given by my fren but not plan to use it first because it is quite big. I will used the playpen as my baby bed first. I didn't ask them about the delivery but I did heard Winnie said sometimes the customers don't have car they will help to deliver. but their price is really good lei, I stay at their shop for quite a while and they even treat us drink :p.

U increase 4 kg in a mth? hmmm....i thot last visit u still said u didn't increase much.....how come suddenly increase so much? I also worry about my weight :p, last visit i increase 3kg in a mth...... can't control lei...just simply too good appetite...

Forgot to mention, if anyone go to Cheong choon the only payment mode they accept is cash.

Hi honeyhaven,
Yah, I think my baby stuff is almost there already
. As long as I saw any sales or anything worth the money I already bought it first :p , afraid later regret mah.....

Hi Piyo,
Actually I'm not too sure about the pros and cons of the new Avent IQ pump. but saw it once in Taka fair, look quite easy to use and quiet. The feature I like most is they able to use both manual and electronic. For the electronic feature, the pump able to learn the pumping rhythm from u, so u will not afraid the speed is too fast or too slow. Since I'm not too sure whether manual or electronic pump will be suitable to me, so better to buy something got both features. You can get more infor from: http://www.avent.com/uk/en/breastfeeding_avent_isis_iq_uno.php

Metro having sales on this Avent IQ UNO now, it is a ver attractive package, $279 with free avent warmer worth ($70). I didn't bought it now because my fren said she will give me the avent warmer.

Not signing the Avent open house yet because not too sure want to attend their class or not, since most of the thing will be teach in the anatenal class.

piyo, sierra
congrats on ur detailed scan n having girls. so exciting 2 know tat 1st 1/2 of aug bbs are mostly boys while 2nd 1/2 are mostly girls.

Hi Catherine,
So sorry to hear abt ur exp with kkh. I'm with the pte suite so waiting is always minimal unless the gynae has to go deliver somebody whereby they will reschedule ur appt. think u should try tmc. heard service is pretty good over there.

actually I also wanted to try tmc. but cos mine is considered as high risk pregnancy (as I have thyroid), I decided to stay with kkh. heard that if bb is going to be born premature, kkh will automatically downgrade bb to C ward even though they are staying in the same nursery. cost will be lower then. my colleague's gynae at gleneagles also advised her then to go to kkh directly if she's going to have her bb early.

hi catherine,
Dr. Adelina Wong is my MIL's doc. says she's gd. MIL might be following her to TMC. can give her a try.

Wanli
Huh Cheong Choon only accepts cash? not even NETS? i not aware of that. It's good to have a few hand-me-down things, it'll save alot of money. As most of the frens around me r still single, i have to buy most of the things myself (quite shiong..), despite a few 2nd hand baby clothings, bouncer, playpen & highchair given by frens.

Where did u get ur chest of drawers for storing baby clothings? can recommend?

I haven't bought some of the baby bathing stuffs, eg changing/rubber mat, baby bath, baby shampoo, baby oil, baby powder with puff, cotton buds, ru yi oil, Drapolene rashes cream, sterile cotton swabs, etc.

I started to gain weight steadily from 1st tri, when the rest r still loosing weight. :p But during that time, Dr Wong said ok because i was underweight to start off with. But for the past 1 month, my weight gain was too drastic, 1kg per week, so she asked me to watch out. I have gained so far around 9kg lor!! But she said urine strip showed no glucose & protein in my urine, so still not to worry.

My baby is now around 600kg. It's only estimation and the range is rather huge (570+g - 670+g can't remember the actual figure). So Dr Wong said 600g - average size. So the remaining 3.4kg went to the mummy!! Must be bcos of the 6 boxes of durians!! So sad, can't eat anymore now..

chrys, sierra
i gained 6kg at 5mths so kinda expecting 2 hit abt 8-9kg at 6mths. very scary too!

chrys, e remaining 3.4kg goes 2 amniotic fluid, more blood supply, etc. not all goes 2 u. dun worry. for me, i know e 6kg i gained at 5mths confirmed 1-2kg sure go 2 me.

I weighed last Friday at the gynae's and as at 20th week, I have gained 4 kgs so far...but i should be gaining more since I find myself eating more these days
Cannot imagine how much weight I will put on at the end of it!

Hi Augbaby,
baby will be sleeping in playpen and we are not intending to get a cot for her
what about you?

Kelly
My gynae said "seems like u r going to gain 20kg in total" This makes me so frightened.. ooh.. 20kg.. goodness.. and am trying to watch.. eat other things than carbos.. probably i love too much cheese, peanut butter & bread..

Any mummies here preparing ur own confinement wine? I read some mummies preparing DIY their own wine. I'll probably buy from an aunty fren who makes homemade confinement wine, it can be used to cook confinement dishes/ just drink.

Hi Catherine,
My doc is Adelina Wong, which is the doc that erin mention to u too..she is from KKH and she juz recently went to tmc..less than 1 week ago..

Hi erin,
My gynae is adelina wong too...n yr MIL is rite..she is very good and her new clinic is nice and cozy..n so much less waiting time...she is actually my good friend gynae too when she had threatened miscarriage risk during her pregnancy and says she is very good..she is trying for a 2nd bb and will be going to Dr Wong too again..Hee hee

Hi piyo,
I am thinking of getting a cot actually. As for a playpen, it is more for like putting in my parents or PIL home..As i spend quite a bit of time during weekends there..So i am looking around for a 2nd hand playpen or to see if i can lend from friends or relatives..

Hi chrys,
Yah, not even NETS. That's why that day my hubby got to walk to Outram Park MRT ATM machine to withdraw money. Actually we also got nothing much from fren lah, only a baby cot, food warmer and stroller....and the stroller is really old...

I didn't intend to buy any drawer because already got one at home. Those baby stuffs u mentioned all can get from Cheong Choon
, their price is cheaper compare with carrefour.

huh.. walk to outram park mrt? that's far.. there r atm machines at people's park leh..
Think u completed most of ur shopping items at CC store hor.. hee..
So u drove the items back by urself?

I also visited another shop opp Bugis Kuanyin temple, recommended by Dino. They wholesaler, selling towels, handkerchief, baby clothes cheap cheap. Can take a look if u happen to go there.

dunno lei, winnie said the outram park mart ATM is the nearer one. Yah, then they help us to bring all the stuff to our car, quite good services overall, she is quite friendly

Think I'm gone crazy after start buying baby stuff....just can't stop myself from buying :p. consider quite sometimes whether should buy the tiny love musical mobile or not because very exp. but end up still bought it because now having 20% discount :p . If u all want to buy any Tiny love toys should buy it now : http://www.tinylovestore.com/shop/default.asp

chrys,
i gained 13kg in my 1st pregnancy, i cant afford anything more than that tis time round. me overweight so need 2 control my weight gain. u underweight, so gain 20kg no problem.

wow, everyone seem gained a lot..

my waist around 31 inches (full), 30 inches at morning..
before pregnant around 26-27 inches..
consider small?

a mummy asked wat to do wif e bb after giving birth? i tried looking for e posting but cant recall her exact question n who posted it.

for me as a SAHM, wif a 21mths toddler then, i intend 2 take turns 2 bring either one out (hopefully). i havent visualise bringing both out but i know it's impossible.

i brought my boy out when he was 6wks old cos i cant tahan staying at home wif an infant who kept crying, shitting, sleeping. though his nap was a lil interrupted when i brought him out shopping, my boy managed fine.

Hello gals...

For the weight.. I gain about 5 kg in my 20th week. And this coming sat will be my 24th week plus. have been eating so much these few weeks. Think i will gain at else 3kg in my wk24. Total 8kg.

So I think I will gain at else 20kg in total **sob sob**

think it is normal lah to gain weight esp after our 20th week..think we have to gain an average of 0.5kg per week...i read it in a book i think..

For me, think i shall start too coz been hungry lately n easily lor..like have dinner at 7+..sometimes i get hungry again at 10+..hahaha..but try to eat healthy food lor..for me till now, my weight charted when i first see my gynae is 49kg, now i am still abt 52.4kg leh when my last appointment last wed..think also bec i went in the morning n din reali eat anything much except for a bowl of oats..haha..