(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

dunno wats wrong with my internet or forum, my post cannot go up earlier...

actually i had travelled for work already. takin plane & train. its just tiring for work.
I am planning for holiday, hubby hopes to go japan.. hope that is not too long on the plane...

anyone sleep on tummy? can we still do that?

oops one more thing, I oso wan to join yoga class and prenatal class...

still not sure where to go.. want to find a central or easy to go place.

I heard Shambala pre natal classes is not bad.... central location also....butter8 you may wanna give it a try?

Can I check with you ladies if any of you experience occasional poking/uncomfy feeling at the left of our lower abdomen? I have it recently and got a bit worried

Hi kelly,
Thanks for the contact!

Hi Kelly,
Thanks for sharing the info. I think i need to increase my milk intake, sometimes i forgot to take calcium tablets too.

Hi Piyo,
I do experience poking, or like bubble pop, or tikklish feeling. I suppose we r starting to feel the baby's movements. But sometimes, i also experience pricky, sharp pain when I walk. I will ask my gynae tomorrow.

I have signed up antenatal class at TMC, weekend. U'll be asked ur EDD and the lady will suggest which time slot is suitable for you. I actually wanted the slot on mar-apr, but she said too early, so i booked on apr-may.

Has any of u started to take fish oil tablets?

chrys,
i started taking the fish oil tablets (neurogain) last wk cos i dun fancy eating fish in this pregnancy. in my 1st pregnancy, i only started at 6mths cos i love fish then.

Hi Chrys,

My gynae also recommend for mi to eat fish oil neurogain. cost $30 per bottle.

Hi Piyo,

Well seeing the bb is more than anything liao mah ehehehe!

Sometimes I do have some cramps but i try little massage n lift my leg higher lo.. old tales is drink too much cold or "liang" things that y will cramp i not sure true or not. I do eat watermelon once awhile as im always feeling so heaty n hot!!!

I do forget to take folic acid leh.. bt though forgotten most impt is to eat healthy!
Lucky i still love fish n green leafy vege..

I can feel my baby movement and kicks already!! So happi!!
I actually felt the movement earlier but couldn't tell whether is kicks, until yesterday when i was lying flat on sofa resting, suddenly my baby kicked me! I was shocked and hold my breath to observe. I massaged and talked to my little one and she actually kicked back responding.

I've started taking neurogain recently too but not too diligently. i'm rather lazy. din apply stretchmark cream yet. think i better start applying soon otherwise will regret it later.

Got a shock on Thurs when I saw red blood flowing out. Thought I might be having a miscarriage. Thank goodness it was a scare. Just a growth at the cervix which the gynae removed immediately. So strange we never notice anything wrong with our body until we're pregnant.

Chrys,
so wonderful to feel ur child's movements already. I've felt some slight movement but not sure whether it's bb moving or it's the food digesting.

Hi Kelly,
When can we start the malay massage after we have given birth naturally?

Is it painful during the massage?

I had a gf who also had this massage during her confinement. Her's a nightmare 'cos when she stood up after the massage, blood keep flowing down fm her virgina & she immediately went to consult her gynae. Sounds scary...

Hi Zshih,

Congrats on having a princess!! Sure will be as pretty as mummy!

Dear Chrys,
Don't see your details in the table, so not sure you are in which week.. congrats on feeling your baby.. feeling muz be great! :p

I started eating fish oil tablets, but the brand isn't neurogain, but is called " prolacta with DHA for mother. Cost 40 sgd per box of 60 tablets. Each tablet contains:
1) natural fish oil (tuna) 400mg providing:
- 119mg of omega 3, 95mg of DHA, 24mg of EPA
2) Evening primrose oil 100mg
3) peppermint oil, natural Vit. E.

What is the diff, as compared to Neurogain? Will it be better for me to take Neurogain especially after this supply is finished? My gynae only carry this brand leh..

Thanks for advising!

I also very lazy applying stretch cream. :p

jasmine,
i think both neurogain and prolacta is ok, my gynae recommend me both brands.

My EDD is on 2 Aug. Gynae Joycelyn Wong, TMC.

Hi Gals!

Wow it must have been great to be able to feel bb movement which is better than anything!

Things jus seems so... dull n unhappy at time for mi.

I alwasy thought i m accomodating to my IL but i felt seems to be wrong. I know spend less $ is e best who don wan but i was thinking to get a baby cot since there is no one who is able to pass on to mi... n hb has plans of having more kids in future. End up MIL is blaming me for spending unneccessary $. I know hw she feel as we hardly give her $ now recently eesp our cost expenses is going up... i keep in my heart abt my dismay as hb don even care hw she shoot back to mi n he oni know how to keep quiet!

Last 2mth i have post abt hb affair stuffs.. i felt it is so hard to believe him again as his actions n plenty of stuffs making mi cant trust him. I hate this kind of feeling n frankly speaking i wanted to give up this marriage. He don seem to have the heart in making things work n jus wan to have all to him.. wife n lover this kind of stuffs.

I dono... i m jus using bb to make mi more stonger n carry on giving birth to bb. Maybe im prepared.. even if our marriage cant works, i will rather get out of unhappiness n contd wit my life wit bb without him.

Hi Chrys,
I actually feel the bubble pop these few days. Dr Wong says if you r skinny then u will feel the movements, else it would be abt 20wks. So your EDD is the same as Wanli. Do u know the gender already? I have not taken any fish oil tablets yet.
I went to see Dr wong last sat. Bb measures 11cm from head to backside. Baby quite co-operative, and hubby n i manage to see the gender.

Hi Piyo,
Could you update my bb's gender, it is a boy.

Has anyone sign up for the First Born Incentive Card at TMC? We will have discount on the detailed scan, parentcraft course and delivery charges(if your gynae is in the scheme) and many more... And if you pay thru citibank credit card, you will have discount.

congrat dino for having a prince soon!

it was really very fun to see the gender right? there was a little moment of anticipation because of course the gynae can tell straight off but me and DH dunno how to read the ultrasound. then she told me. I must say after that the 'hamburger' view was quite obvious to me, tho DH was blur and thought it was only because there was no penis visible!

I've felt the bubbles pop on and off too sometime last week but since then, nothing. Think I must be too fat - definitely do not fall into the skinny category.

I will probably sign up for the FBI card at my next appointment. Altho it costs $100, think the set off from the hospital bill alone will be worth it according to one of my friends who got it last year.

chrys,
i buy my neurogain from my aunt who is a pharmacist. i cant reveal the price cos it's much much cheaper than the mkt price. it's >20% disc. I've been buying faithfully from her since my 1st pregnancy.

sorry i cant do bulk purchase for everyone cos the entitlement is only for me.

lala,
ur massage lady (if experienced) should b able 2 tell u when she can start massasing if u deliver naturally. usually it's 1wk after ur delivery.

as for ur GF's experience, wat was her gynae's response? IMO, it's the lochia flowing cos the masage lady helps u massage ur womb 2 get it back 2 its old shape n remove the lochia faster.

i'll share my experience wif mdm naini...
i booked her when i was abt 6-7mths preggie. she asked me abt my pre-pregnancy weight and she also wanna know abt my weight just b4 i give birth. according 2 her, she need 2 know my weight info so she knows wat kinda herbs she can apply on me to slim down and wat kinda bandage/wrap 2 use on me.
the day i gave birth, i sms her. she called me 2 congratulate me & told me 2 call her once i discharge. during our telecon, she asked wat mode of delivery & my last weight b4 giving birth & my weight then.
after i discharged, i called her and she asked me questions abt my wound, how's my lochia discharge, can i sit well, etc?
if i not wrong, i started my massage wif her 1wk after i gave birth.
her massage is good and not painful type. very relaxing. if it gets painful, she'll explain y tat spot is painful and she'll b more gentle. after the 1st massage, she wrapped me up.
on subsequent days, she would ask me if i get more lochia discharge (thick dark red type of discharge). i did for a few days and she said this was good.

2 me, she's very good and i've recommended her 2 a few fellow mummies in the other thread i go to. the 1st wk after giving birth, u feel as if u are carrying loose baggage round ur waist. very uncomfortable feeling.

after my 5days of massage wif her, no more loose baggage. i still have a tummy lah but i was almost back to my normal self (b4 preggie, i also had tummy mah).

i may not use her tis time cos tight budget (me SAHM, husband's sole breadwinner, still got a 17mths old toddler 2 care for). i using a blind masseur who's charging me <$400 for 7days of massage &amp; wrap. if i can afford it, i like 2 use mdm naini again.

HI ladies,
Long time never log in. I went for checkup last friday. Gynae says we are having 90% boy.

Congrats to all ladies who already know the gender of their babies.

Went to Taka Baby Fair on fri nite &amp; sun afternoon. Bought the following stuff for gabe (my 1st bb) &amp; #2

for gabe,
- pigeon milk teats (at 20% disc)
- pigeon bolster (longer &amp; bigger bolster as he's outgoing the smaller bolster. will save the 2nd-hand bolster for #2) ($6.32 after 20% disc)
- 2 bottles of mustela cleansing fluid ($16.80 after 15% disc)
- a I'm Toy puzzle ($18+ after 50% disc)
- 2 bottles of fruit juices &amp; a pack of biscuit from Pigeon
- gerber shampoo ($10.70)
- 2packs of huggies pull-ups (XL sized) at $8.50
- munchkins cup's replacement straws ($4+)

for #2
- anakku rubber mat protector $10.90
- 1 FM powder holder $2
- pigeon blanket ($11.50 after 20% disc)

lotsa gd buys for brands like pigeon, gerber, avent, etc. there are some toys &amp; clothes bargains too.

Congrat Dino having a bb boy
!! Do you know how much discount we can get for the hospital bill if we sign up FBI?

Hi Kelly,
thanks for infor on the Taka baby fair! Think I will go there after my details scan next week

Hi Zshih,
My doc ask me do we want to know the gender. After that, she explained to us where is the knees and legs and in btw was the little thing that pop up. I am really happy its a boy, at least i not stress with MIL anymore.

Hi Wanli,
Thanks. I think it is 5% off for delivery package, coz Dr Wong is in the scheme. If you sign up the card, u will have discount for the detailed scan,which would be our nxt check up. If you sign up the card b4 May, You will need to pay $98(if I am not wrong) instead of $128 if u pay by citi bank credit card. So it's worth. R u planning to take up the parentcraft course? I am planning to take up the course, but have not check from them the schedule yet. The parentcraft registeration is at 3rd level, which is nxt to ACJ clinc.
BTW, when is your detailed scan?

wow congrats to all mums who know their bb is prince or princess

I oso went to the take fair but really didnt know where to start, ended up me and hubby didnt buy anything. maybe its too early for us. so more we do not know bb sex yet.

i am hopin to see wat stuf we can take over from friends first.. lucky my boss has 2 gals and said he is clearing up his house, got some rocker and high chair etc.. even a breast pump?? dunno if should use 2nd hand - should be alright ya?

i oso cant tell the diff between tummy rumblings and baby movements. oso get a poking feeling now and then in the evening or at nite. its not cramps, its like a sharp poke. few times and it stops. is that baby?

Hi Dino,
My details scan will be on next thur, it is quite soon
really excited because after that I can start shopping for bb stuff. Normally I go on weekend but Dr wong said she prefer me come on weekday because she may need to spend more time explaining the details scan to us, so she said will give me 1 day MC :p.

I'm not so sure whether I should take up the parentcraft course or not because not so sure whether it is useful. You can get the details here: http://www.thomsonmedical.com/PS_ante.htm
I believe the April one more suitable to us.
So when i syr details scan?

Hi Rain,
You are a pretty mummy
, just saw yr blog. By the way, saw you buying Avent Single electronics Breast Pump, any comments on this?

rain,
i saw ur purchases on ur blog. wow! big shopping spree for u &amp; ur husband.

does ur warranty start now since u purchased the breastpump? $275 for a single electric pump is very ex. if i not wrong, medela's single breastpump is going for abt $160. other breastpumps such as medela &amp; ameda also allow u 2 pump into milk bottles from nuk, pigeon, etc. i tik this new breastpump from Avent has some kinda new technology. i heard my GF talk abt it.

u must b aware tat ur bb may not b used 2 avent teats cos avent teats tend to be harder 2 suckle than nuk/pigeon teats. i started my son on nuk teats and he didnt mind it. i let him try avent teats on a few occasions but he didnt like it. he's now using pigeon teats, much softer 2 suckle from.

butter8,
when i was working in a local bank, i participated in a medical scheme so i was able 2 claim back 80% of my medical costs which i paid in cash.

wanli,
the bb fair ends on 19mar so betta go b4 then.

Hi Wanli,

I am going for my detail scan also next week. But mine is on next Friday afternoon. So excited hor.
I think i am carrying a low tummy lei. I saw other mummies at 4 mths, their tummy is in the centre de. Unlike me, like carryign a big tummy.
Avent Single that I bought a a newly launched products. Comes with a manual pump as well. It can be manually, battery or electrically operated. I can use electric de at home and batt in the office. It comes with a coolen bag as well. And this pump, you can control the speed and strength you preferred and I think it gives more choice of how I wanna pump out my milk.

i may be new to all of you. i am a mother of one my son is 6 month old, and my son is using the beansprout as a pillow or to put on his chest when he is baby. ii am getting 2 more for my firends too. so i do not know whether all of you mother to be interested to buy beansprout pillow for your little one. i am actuall arranging a bulk order for the bean sprout pillow. so if you are insterested u can join in the thread.
or we can arrange the order there too.
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/cgi-bin/forumboard/show.cgi?270192/378816

rain,
oh...it comes wif a cooler bag too. then the price isnt too ex. cooler bags from medela &amp; avent can be very pricey if u buy separately.

i personally tried all teats myself. i must have bought so many different brands of teats 2 let my 3mths old son try when he rejected bottle then. he finally settled for pigeon.

Hi Rain,
Thanks for infor on the Avent brand, it is really very convenient since it can be manually, battery or electrically operate.
Ya, really excited and happy. As after the details scan doctor said I can start shopping :D. Hope all MTB having good results...., So will u attend any parentcraft course?
By the way, this coming weekend Expo will have another baby fair, you can do more shopping there

Wow, more n more mummies know their bb's gender liao.

hi doggy,
As far as i know, Dr Ho is very popular. Always have to wait quite long. In fact, his nurses were telling me dat his biz is getting betta n betta such dat he has aged quite a bit. He is a renowned gynae in Mt A. Mebbe u wanna read the thread on him?

kelly,
Wow, u bought so many things :p Shopping for no 2 didn't dwell on me yet. Mebbe like u, i'm abit worried abt detailed scan. I wanna clear my detailed scan 1st b4 making purchases.

butter,
If the 2nd hand stuff r quite new, u shd accept cos can save quite abit of $$$
Only thing dat shdn't use 2nd hand is carseat.

CT,
So sad to read wat u're going thru. Be strong for ur bb, okie?

rain,
I agree wif kelly abt avent teats. My MIL bought many avent bottles for my boi. Ended up i only used for a few mths, cos my boi started to reject his milk at ard 3 mths plus. I changed to NUK after dat. Now still using NUK. But for my No 2, i'm tinking of switching to pigeon.

bearybear,
u know wat i did when gabe rejected bottle at 3mths+ rt? wah piang, i buy so many different types of teats, let him try and i myself also try 2 suckle milk/water from all the teats. husband said must try milk &amp; water as flow consistency different.
avent teats quite hard for me &amp; gabe BUT we do know some bbs who are ok wif avent teats hor. i shared wif husband n he said our darling very lazy, dun like 2 exercise his jaw too much.

u using silicon or rubber teats for ur boy now?

the things i bought for #2 can be used for gabe IF #2 not ok. dunno y leh, suddenly i starting 2 worry for #2. i didnt even worry abt gabe's detailed scan.

for #2, i bought the NUK rubber teats (the yellowish colored ones). gabe started wif those when he was young cos i scared nipple confusion leh. once #2 bigger, i'll switch him 2 pigeon teats too.

Hi Wanli,

What kind of fair is it? Is it the one organize by mediacorp?
I will be attending the antenatal class by MAH. I will start the course in May and ends in June. I actually enquire to starts in April. But she told me is still too early. She suggested May. So I will go on May lor.
Is your bump super obvious now?

rain,
u cant cos the teat size is different. if u start wif avent bottles/teats and ur bb reject bottle/milk for watever reasons, then ur bb accept other brands of teats (NUK or Pigeon), u need to do an overhaul of the bottles &amp; teats.

as for the steriliser, u can use pigeon/nuk or other brands of milk bottles in them. no problem.

Hi Rain,
Yah, the fair is organise by mediacorp.
Yah, my bump is very obvious, all my colleagues know I'm pregnant already. Can not hide anymore... now already wearing maternity cloths...

I went to see gynae last week on my poking cos I have spotting twice during my 1st tri so thought I should be more careful. Anyway kena hormone jab at my bums ouch! and saw that baby is fine...I think like CT said, I better ct down on cold drinks too liang for my womb?

So good so many of you know gender and so many of you can feel baby's 1st kicks... my EDD is later aug so most prob I will be the last few to know and feel... my blood tests results came out and I cleared! does that man no more tests liao? my next detailed scan so long lei... until early apr... I think by then all of you know gender liao and started shopping long ago!

would Apr or May be a better timing to start antenatal class? I scare start too early forget start too late wait touchwood pop too early how? anyone knows when is Mrs Wong's class? she really good?

I started on neurogain plus since end of 1st tri. Mine was recommended by my gynae and bought it at his clinic at $30. Subsequently, I got it at Unity Pharmacy at $29, not much dif!
hi kelly,
Thanks Kelly for your recommendation on massage!I think I got a poor memory.. can you tell me her charges again? I am comparing her and Mdm Rohaya who comes highly raved hehe.
Do you know if I were to use pigeon milk bottles, do we have to stick to the pigeon teats or can change to other brands? I was given 2 free milk bottles when I bought the Pigeon steriliser so thought of using that for my baby. Which brands of teats are better?

Hi CT,
Sorry to hear about your plight. You must be string and hang on okie?

Hi Rain,
I saw your blog! you started on baby shopping liao! Impressed!

Hi Butter8,
I only know of deduction of medisave of $450 for pre-antenatal visits and some deductions on baby bill if you ask the nurse to bill separately. My company does give us a lump sum as maternity benefits what about yours?

This is the updated table.... If I missed out anyone or input wrong info, pls forgive me and inform me okie?

Hi Chrys,
I need your age...

<table border=1><tr><td></TD><TD>NAME</TD><TD>AGE</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>OBGYN</TD><TD>HOSPITAL</TD><TD>GENDER </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>Kelly</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>31-Jul-06</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BOY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>Sandy Kerk</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>31-Jul-06</TD><TD>Dr Chen</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>Connie</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>01-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr KK Ho</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BOY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>Rain</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>01-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">GIRL</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>Chrys</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>02-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>Peacy</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>02-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Tan HK</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>Wanli</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>02-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>Babymum</TD><TD>33</TD><TD>04-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Tanny Chan</TD><TD>GlenE</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>Augustmum</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>12-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>Bearybear</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>12-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Ho HK</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BOY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>Dino</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>13-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BOY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>Honeyhaven</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>13-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BOY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>Ningyo</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>14-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Kenneth Lee</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>Ling2</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>17-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr K H Tan</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BOY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD>Jas</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>18-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>16</TD><TD>Zshih</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>19-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">GIRL</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>17</TD><TD>Celine</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>20-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>18</TD><TD>Catherine Wong</TD><TD>23</TD><TD>21-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham</TD><TD>KKH </TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>19</TD><TD>Piyo</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>23-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Fong Chuan Wee</TD><TD>GlenE</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>Buffel</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>25-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>21</TD><TD>Erin00</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>25-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Judy Wong</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>22</TD><TD>Butter8</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>29-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Joan Thong</TD><TD>Raffles</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>23</TD><TD>Jasmine Lau</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>30-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr. Denas Chandras</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>24</TD><TD>Lala</TD><TD>32</TD><TD>30-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr LC Cheng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>25</TD><TD>Mrschng</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>30-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Tan LK</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Hi Wanli!

My bump is not obvious yet. I was elling my friends i put on 5kg and they are asking me where is all my 5 kg. definitely not on my bump..
Maybe i put on my buttocks lor.. bcos my buttocks is getting very big

Hi Rain,
I saw yr photo on 4 mths, you really don't look like put on 5kg. May be you are very slim before pregy. Although I didn't put on much weight but I really look very fat and getting wider......

Hi piyo,
I think May/June is good time to attend the class. Yah, heard many good comments on Mrs Wong. I think I will book the class after my details scan. No confident I can handle the baby if not attending the class.

jasmine,
i heard abt prolacta from my GF. if it serves the same purpose as neurogain, it shld b fine.

piyo,
mdm naini charges $450 for 5 massages and 1body scrub. her hp no. is 94562817. i just spoke 2 her tis morning and she confirmed tat her charges will be $450. husband prefers me 2 use her again since i've tried &amp; tested her.

MILK BOTTLES

i'll do a quick summary abt milk bottles. my knowledge is not extensive but i'll share wat i know. there are a lot of brands of milk bottles in the mkt...tollyjoy, piyo piyo, pigeon, nuk, avent, chicco, dr brown, nuby, etc.

generally there are 2 types of milk bottles (excluding dr brown's milk bottles) - the normal type and the wide-necked type. there are 4 components for a bottle...the bottle, the teat, the teat holder &amp; the cover.

avent only carries the wide-necked bottles so the teats cannot be interchangeable wif other brands of milk bottles. i am not sure if avent teats can b used on nuk &amp; pigeon wide-necked bottles. nuk, pigeon, tollyjoy, piyo piyo, etc teats can be interchangeable cos the teat holders are the same type.

good 2 look around &amp; check out milk bottles. u'll be amazed on the variety.

IMO, all teats are good cos it's up 2 the bb 2 decide. a pigeon teat may b good but if the bb prefers harder teats like avent, it's the bb's choice.

for me, my bb's very fussy and he dun like 'hard' teats, mayb due 2 him being breastfed for 14mths. so far, i've not come across any bb who has rejected pigeon teats. once a bb gets used 2 'soft' teats, hard 2 switch to 'hard' teats cos who 1 2 do extra effort while suckling milk, esp hungry bbs.

if u start off ur bb on avent teats, ur bb is fine wif it, stick wif it all the while. at a certain point, if bb rejects milk/bottle for dunno wat reasons, then u can let bb try other teats or FM.

Wah! So many of u know ur baby's gender already!

I still dont know mine.

Doc says to wait until detailed scan to be confirm. Gotta wait another mth~~~~~~~

Hi rain,

Read your blog n saw ur preggy pixs. U definitely dont look like u've put on 5kg!

Think i gotta make efforts to drink more milk liao. I've only gain 1kg so far.