(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

hi peacy,
Welcome.
Wow, triplets
Must take care leh.

Last nite i had spotting. Went to my gynae today. Put on hormone jabs twice a week n hormone pills until 1st trimester

Hi peacy,
Welcome. Wooh, triplets. Congrats.

Hi Wanli,
I went to visit Joycelyn Wong at TMC. She is indeed very patient and friendly. She answered every question I asked her. I had a scan and the foteus is just 3mm, and I am in my 6th week, and EDD 08/08/06. I was given 2 free milk powder and she told i can try on both products. My nxt appt will be 2ks later when I can see the twinkling heartbeat by then. Do share with me your experience on your nxt visit.

hi peacy,
Yes i do experience both. Sometimes i eat abit only, i feel so bloated dat i can't finish my food. As for morning sickness, it doesn't only occur in the morning. Can be afternoon or nite. U experiencing both too?

Wish to join you all on this thread. My LMD is 8Nov, tested positive last sunday but only going to see the gynae next wed. Would be choosing Dr W K Tan from Thomson Medical. It is necessary to go GP to test again? Will there be a false positive sign from the test kit? Coz my menses very accuarte one and i have been late for 1wk+ liao. I do have some symptoms of pregnancy leh. You all go GP is urine or blood test?

hi yipee,
Welcome
If u bought a reliable brand, then shd be accurate. If u're worried, mebbe get another one to test? If ur menses is usu very accurate, then i tink high chance dat u hit jackpot
Congrats... Last time when i went GP, it was a urine test. Dat time i KS, used testkit 1st, then scare not accurate, went GP. Tis time, i used 2 testkits, then straight to gynae liao. :p

hahaa..wha you really kiasu huh!!..Though i going to the gynae next wed but really too excited and wanted to confirm the result..so decided to go to a women's clinic for a blood test later this afternoon...really hope not a 'empty' happiness coz all my family and some close friends know already...

yipee,
Aiyah, dat time 1st pregnancy so of cos excited n nervous mah. Scare later wrong but tell pple liao how? Tis time, simple simple lah, jus 2 testkits n dats it :p

And if everything is smooth, according to the books..my EDD should be 15 Aug...so excited...coz this is my first pregnancy

My symptoms now is abit of nausea (thru'out the day), burps more, bloated at tummy area and tiredness. But i dun mind having bad nausea..read from somewhere that if nausea is bad (vomit) means your HCG very high which is good for protecting the baby...

Yah understand...me like you when u have 1st pregnancy..everyone like so happy for you, really dun want to disappoint them esp hubby...heheee

Hi Welcome Peacy and Yipee :D !!

Wah Peacy, you having triplets, Congrat!! My cousin also having triplets but now already 3 years old.....really cute! My EDD also same as you on 2Aug.

Hi Dino,
Good to hear that you like Dr Jocelyn Wong. I will going to see her tonite, very exciting
hope everything fine...... will update you when I back. Yah, she also give me some milk powder but I forgot what's brand. Which brand she give you? Did she give you any vitamin?

Hi all..

Soo happy, just when to see a Gynae and she did a scan for me and saw the some little foetus...so funny..

Hi Peacy,
Triplets! Thats amazing...take care men!!!

peacy,

Yah...triplets really not easy to manage....haha, you must both mentally and physically prepare. her mum helping her and on top of that they employ maid to help.

All 3 are girls
. because both her parents family got twin records so her turn become triplets really make all of us surprise
. Is yr parents family having twin or triplets records?

I heard until her 6 mths she already can not walk properly because of too heavy and most of the time spend on the bed......

Congrat Yipee!

So now you must take care of whatever you eat.
Did the doctor tell you when is yr EDD?

Hi wanli
Both our families do not have twin record. I went through IVF and this is my first attempt. I am considered quite lucky to conceive all three. Now, I am just waiting to get over my 1st trimester so that the babies will be stable. Meanwhile, all of us have to really take things easy and relax to pull through the first trimester.

hi peacy & yipee,
welcome to the club!! heehee!!! peacy, congratulations on your 1st attempt!! you must really take good care or yourself during the 1st trimester. dun walk too much or if not try to rest in between if you have to. although it will be more than a handful for you in future but i'm sure you will reap the joy of watching your triplets grow!!! it's GOD's gift to you, lucky you!!!

TO: all MTBs
anyone taking milk formula for MTB already?? I am taking Enfamama, there's 2 flavour - chocolate & vanilla. quite easy & nice to drink, provide nutrients to help bb grow. I take it every morning. available @ guardian or supermarkets too. any other good recommendations???

hi honeyhaven,
my gynae is Dr Heng from K.H.Heng Women's Clinic @ the junction b4 Still Road, opposite the mosque area. All my aunties, sisters, cousins & galfrens had him during their pregnancy. He is very gentle & patient. To my knowledge, from 1st visit to b4 delivery should cost about $600+ or less on the conservative side. You have a gynae yet??

Hi bearybear,
Is the chart accurate for your first child?? if yes I am going to try it too (,")so according to chart, what's the sex of your bb?? Now I cun wait for my gynae appointment on 19th!! everyone can see their little foetus already, only making me excited!!!!

Hi ALL,
have got extra tubes of Palmers stretchmark cream @ SGD$14. anyone interested coz my fren bought quite a number for me from states, be back by early next week. Singapore selling SGD$19 according to honeyhaven's good find. Me dun mind sharing the good bargain if anyone's interested.

Hi Peacy,

Then u r really lucky
! but really need to take good care of yrself. So have you able to see the bb heartbeat? since you almost same EDD as me. Mind to share with me how much for yr IVF? and are you able to choose the sex of the baby?

Hi gals and Dino,

I just back from the visit of my gynea, I'm on my 7 weeks +
. and I am able to see the waterbag is far more bigger than my first visit. and I also able to see my bb heartbeat :D . Actually it just a dot keep blinking on the screen. So excited......now the bb size is 1.2 cm only.

Feel that my morning sickness become more serious...
, so nausea....lucky no vomiting. When think about food I will feel nausea.

Anyone already put on weight? I already put on 1kg .....

Hi wanli
I was able to see my babies heartbeat during week 6 scanning. They are at 112 and both at 118 per min. They are around 3 to 4mm in term of length. We did not choose the sex of the babies and to us, the most impt thing is that all of them are healthy. We spent around 8K (including 6K from medisave). So we are both going into week 8 now. Is your tummy showing?
I find that my tummy didn't grow very much lay. Not sure whether it is normal or not.

Hi Peacy,
Yah!! the healthy baby is most important
. Wah, yr doc even able to cal the heartbeat already!! My doc never tell me..... just said it look healthy. I can see a little bit of my tummy already but not that obvious, but i can feel some of my pants become very diffcult to fit in already

Actually for the first 2 mths difficult to discover the tummy loh but on 4th mths will become difficult to hide
. I still remember my cousin who got the triplets on her 3 mths already look like 5 mths ..... imagine you have 3 babies in yr tummy, of course the size will bigger than normal pregnancy.

For the IVF is that 1 try will cost 8k? or it is in a package?

When will be yr next visit to gynea?

So glad to find a group of ladies who are due the same month as I!

My LMD was 26 Oct and EDD about 12th Aug.
I've just gone for my first gynae appointment last Tuesday. Theoretically, last week, I should be at 7 weeks but the foetus only measured 2mm and I was told by the gynae that I'm only 5.5 weeks pregnant! How can?!!!!

Wanli, your baby measuring at 1cm at 6 weeks is amazing then! Now, I feel a little apprehansive!

Me just got back from gynae. I'm in my 5weeks + according to scan & my egg sac is about 16mm. Can't see bb heartbeat yet, gynae say still too early. According to gynae, EDD is 22 Jul, but scan shows 20 Aug. Anyone has such a big contrast??? Puzzled!!!!

Hi Wanli,
Did your nausea start from early weeks of preggie??? I dun feel nausea yet but I keep peepee very frequently. Are you like tat too???I also put on weight already, about 1kg too. But at least now you are in your 7 weeks, sound reasonable to put on tat weight. Me like quite unjustified leh........

Hi Niki, I was just wondering about the same thing about my weight. I've put on about 1kg already and I'm supposedly in my 8th week. (If I calculate from my LMD of 26 Oct lah. Is that the correct way to calculate?) Haha, the vainpot in me still feels its too soon to start putting on weight though.

But eeks! You're at 5+weeks and your ef sac is 16mm? My little pea is only 2mm at last scan!!! AIYO! Somebody please tell me I'm normal!

niki,
Yar, the chart was accurate for my 1st child leh.
but dunno whether by fluke :p
According to the chart, i'll be expecting a gal tis time. Hehehe...I've bot a tin of Enfamama (vanilla). Drank once only. I'm not a milk person so thot dun wanna make my 1st trimester so miserable since i'm oredi feeling nauseous the whole day at times.

wanli,
Same here. My MS seems to be reaching it's peak these few days. But nvr vomit lor.

judith, niki,
Mebbe u ovulated late. The EDD is jus an estimate, cos it'll oso depend alot on whether ur menses is regular.

Wanli,
When will be your next visit? Do you consider to go to TMC to see Dr Joycelyn Wong instead of bedok MRT? I check with the nurse at TMC. She told me that TMC is better becoz there is a plasma TV right in front of you when scanning and you are able to see the scan.

Judith,
I guess both of us are more or less the same. During my 1st scan, my BB was just 3mm at 6wks 6 days, can't see baby's heartbeat yet. And Doc told me my EDD is on 8 Aug(to be confirm again during nxt visit).I was worried too. My LMD was also 26 Oct. I chart my temperature thru fertilityfriend.com and it shows that i ovulate on 20 Nov(late ovaluation). So I guess maybe we have late ovaluation and thats y BB is smaller, whereas Wanli has only 28 days cycle. Don't worry, just stay cheerful.

Hi Judith,
What Dino said is correct
. It is really depend on yr period cycle and when u ovulate. My cycle is only 26-27 days, so if yr cycle is different from me then the size of the baby will be different.

The measurement also depend on how the doctor take the measurememnt, When I was in my 5 weeks the doctor actually can only see a black dot on the screen, so she is actually measure the size of the waterbag itself. The second time when I was on my 7 weeks, we can actually see much more thing from the scan, we can see a waterbag and inside the waterbag got a peanut thingy with heartbeat, so the second time the doctor only measure the foetus (excluding the waterbag). So i believe 2mm is only for the foetus size excluding the waterbag. Don't worry, u r normal if got anything abnormal the doctor will definitely tell you

Hi nikki

I think u should double confirm with yr gynea regarding the EDD, but most of the time it is depend on the size of the baby. My doctor is exactly read the EDD date from the screen, anyway, it is also quite accurate compare with my LMD. No, my nausea only start from 7 weeks......doctor said normally the most difficult period is 7, 8, 9 weeks....yah...frequent urine is one of the sign.....I need to wake up twice every night.

Every morning i really headache don't know what to wear because most of my pants can not fit in liao
...... Anyway, doctor said should be normal because it show that i am not vomiting out my food.

bearybear,
What chat r u reffering to? So your first baby is a boy? How the taste of Enfamama? Plan to buy one, so far every morning I will either drink soyabean milk or fresh milk..... So far any MS other than nausea?

Dino,
My next visit will be on 6th Jan
. So far not consider going TMC because abit far from me. Yah, I know TMC facilities is far more complete than bedok. In fact on my 12 weeks I must go to TMC because doctor said only TMC got the facility to scan for down syncdrome. I think if TMC is ok for you then u should continue go to TMC because everytime after the scan u can actually get back the print put immediately but at bedok u need to wait for next visit because don't have the printer
. So when is yr next visit?

wanli,
Oh, it's a gender predictor. Go to www.motherhood.com
Yar, my 1st one is a boi. Enfamama is abit fragrant cos vanilla flavour. It tastes abit betta than Anmum. Last time, my gynae told me not to take too much soyabean cos it contains smthg like too much of female hormone thingy n may not be gd if u're expecting a boi. I have bloated stomach, loss of appetite, fatigue other than nausea.
Mebbe u wanna start buying maternity pants if u can't fit into ur old ones. Or if u dun like pants, get dresses instead. Some pple dun like maternity wear, so they buy the usual clothes but a size bigger.

Hi Wanli
It is a package. Hmm..I will be seeing my gynae again next thurs. I think I will need to see him every 2 weeks coz mine consider high-risk pregnancy. So far my tummy can be seen already but not very big lay. Wondering if the babies are growing fine.

Wanli, Dino and bearybear, thank you so much! I feel a lot more at ease now that you ladies have answered my questions. And that makes a whole lot of difference to my days!

I haven't started getting any morning sickness yet. Thought I am one of those lucky ones who can sail through the pregnancy without any of such discomforts. Imagine how flabbergasted I was when my gynae told me point blank ,"Oh, don't worry, you'll start getting it next week. Heh heh heh."

Noooooooo!!!! I don't waaaaant! (chuckle)

Well, so far, haven't quite started feeling nauseous yet. Hope it will continue this way for awhile.

Dino, seems like our LMD and ovulation dates are exactly the same! Let's hope our journey through the next 8 months will be smooth.

hi bearybear,

The soyabean thingy is before pregnant or after pregnant? If after pregnant will the sex change because of drink too much soyabean?

yah, i think i should start wearing dresses instead of pants.... Yah, i also don't like maternity wear....very aunty look
although already is aunty :p

Hey,

Actually i find the maternity clothing now can be quite trendy and nice leh. Have you been to Suntec (top-flr) and raffles MRT shops? Many nice nice (even sexY) maternity wear available...

Hi yipee,

Really? Which floor?
my office very near to suntec. not wear maternity wear so fast because dun plan to let people know i'm pregnant :p . Try to hide it until 12 weeks dunno can or not......

Hi Wanli,
I do get up 2-3 times at night to pee too. And hard to get back to sleep again after 5 plus. Everyday, i feel tired at work. My next visit is 28 Dec.
My tummy also getting bigger, probably because i got gd appetite, and gets hungry easily. Pants getting tight now. I am thinking of getting stretchable pants and 1 size bigger, hopefully can hide until after chinese new year.

Hi Judith,
medically that's suppose to be the way to count, from your LMD. you count 267 days from then & that will be your bb EDD. That's y medically I should be in my 9weeks now, but scan shows 5weeks+ & both me & gynae big question mark????? but gynae say measure egg sac not accurate so must wait until can see the little pea like wat you can see now. So definitely you are perfectly normal..... dun worry gal.

hi bearybear,
thanks, I tink yo uare right I am one of those with super long cycle & late ovulation. I tried Enfamama vanilla & I cun stomach it but the chocolate I love it!! BTW looks like I must go give the chart a try since it sounds quite accurate, thnx 4 info.

Hi Wanli,
your nausea only start @ 7weeks...... now I really worried, coz so far I escape....... but gynae also tell me be ready to expect it soon
Oh ya.... Enfamama is a nutritious milk powdered supplement for expecting mummies. Very nice & easier to drink then Anmum. I tried Anmum & didn't like it. enfamama chocolate is a yummy!!! if guardian has promotion is cheaper, if not you can get it from supermarkets @ $19++.

Hi wanli,
yipee is right about that suntec shop. it really has nice maternity clothes & stretch pants there. Or you can try Bliss @ Mandarin Arcade 3rd level, they sell something like an extension to your current jeans or pants & you jus wear a longer top to cover & bingo!! your work pants still can wear..... another place to try is at Hougang mall, my GF told me there's a nice maternity shop there, she bought some very nice & reasonable stuff from there before.

BTW, about the soya bean thing. there's 2 sides of the story......... some says it's good 4 the bb, your bb skin will be very nice & smooth which I have seen is true!!! some others say it's no good especially "dou hua" coz they mix some clay like substance during the making, so bad for bb's growth...... well I would like to know the truth too!!!!

Hi bearybear,
So lucky you, 1st one boy & if 2nd one really galgal then you be so blessed!!! I tried the chart & it should be a bb gal 2, though hubby would prefer 1st child to b a bb boy. Me no preference as long as healthy. Now I will wait to see if the chart is magic ........ heehee!!!
you dun mind me asking do you feel very nausea when expecting your 1st boy or was it smooth sailing & you have good appetite???

niki,
i used to wish i'd have a gal after my boi came along. But now, i dun quite mind having another boi oso. As long as bb is healthy. I oso felt nauseous during my 1st pregnancy during the 1st trimester. After dat, my appetite became very gd. Felt energetic oso. I hope tis time round oso like dat

Abt the soyabean thingy, everything as long as taken in moderation is fine. My gynae only said not excessive. Yes, the 'tua huey' is cos of the 'shi gao' added to it so pple say no gd.
Aiyah, i shd have gotten the chocolate flavour one.

wanli,
The sex of ur bb won't change jus cos u take too much soyabean. Wat i meant was dat ur foetus may have too much of the female hormones if u take things containing soya in excess. Everything in moderation is okie.
Maternity wear these days very nice
U go look ard.

thanks for the infor on the maternity wear infor
, I think I should do some shopping after work :p .

Hi Dino,

hahha, i think is quite difficult for us to hide until chinese new year..... It still got a mth .....So you continue going to TMC?

Hi Wanli,
Yes, I will go TMC. It will be a one stop place for me. Did doctor told you abt the down symdrome test? Which one will you choose? OSCAR(12wks), or the common one at 16wks? Have u sign up her package? I assume u seeing her at wk10. For my case, i remembered she wrote I will see her on wk 8, then wk 12.
Did she gave you any medicine besides folic acid?

Hi Dino,

Yes, she told me there are 3 types of down syndrome package:

1. Amniocentesis - Accuracy 100%, however miscarriage rate of 0.5%

2. Triple test + Neck thickness (NT) scan (at 12 week) + Triple test (16 weeks) - Accuracy 80%

3. NT scan + OSCAR (blood test at 12 week) - Accuracy 90% $300+

Think most probably will go for the (2) one, because she said she said our family don't have this history and my age is not over 35 so is not high risk. How about u? think we only need to tell her on my next visit.

Her package start from 12 weeks so she said can sign up on 12 weeks. but 100% I will sign with her because she is really patient
. Yah, I will see her on w10 then follow by weeks 12.5.

On my second visit she give me multi-vitamin and folic acid. think need to eat throughout the whole pregnancy......

By the way, can share with me is the consultation at TMC same as bedok? How much they charge you for yr first consultation? U also only getting folic acid for yr first visit?

Hi ladies,about this soya bean milk/curd issue, my own mother has attributed that to her own miscarriage of "my younger brother".

What happened was that she consumed a lot of fresh soya bean milk since someone had told her that it was good for the baby's skin. Unfortunately, she miscarried the foetus at 10wks.
Whether soya bean milk/curd is especially less safe for a male or female foetus, I can't say for sure, but yeah, it so happened that my mom was carrying a male baby.

Guess it just all boils down to eating everything in moderation and varying our diets so that we don't end up overdosing on the same type of food everyday.

i'm here 2 report...EDD is 5aug n LMD is 29oct. bb is 7wks+ now. saw my bb's heartbeat last tues n my gynae is dr lawrence ang. i hv a 14mths old bb n tis is my 2nd pregnancy.

since 6wks+, i've been getting e whole works...fatigue, nauseous, MS, bloatedness, etc. whole jia lat cos i'm a SAHM so need 2 handle my lil boy at e same time.

bearybear,
mayb u can try 1spoonful of milo to ur vanilla-flavoured enfamama.

niki,
i dun like e taste of enfamama so i drink anmum during my 1st pregnancy. i havent bought any tin yet, will do so after 1st trimester.

hi kelly,
My milo is sachet kind, not tin type. Mebbe i shd get a tin of milo, but i was tinking it'll be betta to drink plain white milk :p

Me too, feel very tired, so no mood to go anywhere except nua at home.

Hi Kelly,
Welcome & congrats!!! who knows maybe your preference might change with 2nd preggie, if not you can stick to Anmum. Heard every pregnancy is different. Me feel tired & bloated all the time too......

Hi Bearybear,
looks like boys are really fun to since you dun mind 2nd one!!! thnx for the info on soya bean, will take note to consume in moderation.

niki,
My ideal is to have 3 kids. :p Bois r fun but they can be a handful. My boi is very active. But my fren's gal is jus as active as him. So now i'm convinced dat gals r not necessarily guai guai sit down keep quiet type. Kekeke...