(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

Hi, crispyapple

ya.. was feeling very sad & down during that period...& during that period also my final yr exam lor.. so in the end got to restudy my whole course again lor... even thot of giving up then....

glad that now i had little JH....

HI, augustmum
u putting Noah for full day child care?

I asked Eager Beaver on their fee....full day is $535 & half day is $425.... think got to find one day to go down for a look....

CrispyApple,
Avelyn and Aden sure look alot like each other so cute. No worries about the pictures, you have a good rest and take good care :")

Cynthia,
How are you, hope you are fine, take care.

morning mommies...

been a busy and tiring day for me yesterday.. zorian kena high fever and super sticky and cranky yesterday..

CrispyApple,

so sorry to hear that... Avelyn is definitely a strong girl.. glad both baby and mommy is well.. take care and rest well...

Aden and Avelyn sure looks like twins.. keekee..

Jesline,

sorry to hear about wat happen.. JH is such a sweet and pretty girl..

Hi Cynthia..

u ok? hope all is well..

<font color="ff0000">August Babies X'mas Bash ~ 23rd Dec @ 2pm</font>

Confirmed list:
1) HoneyB & Hannah
2) Cocomo, Jay, Hubby and maid
3) Yoshi, Shauna, Kieira & Hubby
4) Piyo, Megan, Hubby & maid
5) Augbaby, jay, Hubby, jazzele & Maid
6) Erin, Kayden and Hubby
7) Kriz, zorian, Hub??

Anyone else is joining???

oh dear cynthia,
What happen? U feeling better now?

Hi Kriz,
hang in there! usually when bb gets sick, we also suffer but its more of "xin1 tong4". Our heart ache to see them suffer hor.

Yoshi,

I think Kelly was on the list too...

August Babies X'mas Bash ~ 23rd Dec @ 2pm

Confirmed list:
1) HoneyB & Hannah
6) kelly, hubby, gabe & edward (there r still some funds left fr e aug06 bday bash. i'll use those $$ 2 bring some food over + some potluck)
7) Erin, Kayden and Hubby
8) Kriz, zorian, Hub??

Anyone else is joining???

Hi WhiteLady,
My problem is slightly different from yours. It's my just borned girl who don't want to sleep and but my boy. Yesterday she keep wanting us to carry and walk around the room until 2+ pm then willing to sleep. She has been doing that since she's back. My hubby is very tired cos' of that and he still need to work. The latest record of her not sleeping is until 4+ pm.

Hi Jesline,
Yes. At least now you have such a lovely JH.

Hi Kris,
Thanks for your concern.

hi crispyapple ,

newborn is normal not to sleep , my son last time , also no sleep .. he can awake till 6am ! so tiring hor , lucky my mummy help me take care 24/7 =P

Hearing all the stories of some of u mummies make me worry now..hope my this pregnancy will be smooth.

I oni scare i get to the hospital nt in time since traffic can be qte bad in S'pore.

Hi Kris, Yoshi, Augustmum, Augbb & honeyB

Ya doing fine now. Was ordered bed resting in hospital as bleeding persist with threaten miscarriage. Now back home, was ordered to refrain from alot activities. Feeling so bad n gulity unable to carry Nat and even really sit and play with her... now only can sit& lay on bed! She seems to know I am not well.. will sit by my side at time and wanting to cry making those pathetic faces... makes mi feel so consoled too.

So... this xmas is terrible for me cos I just spend it at home.. with my bed. Meantime just hope things will get better and now.. better alot lo.
Thansk for the well concern!!

Hi whitelady,
I seem to have read from an article. For toddlers reaching 18mths, the total hrs they need to nap is about 2 1/4 hrs in the day and night 11hrs. I think maybe ur darling nap alot in the day and he cant sleep night? Sometime Natalie also wake up during midnight asking for milk! It has been continously for weeks! I asked MIL she told me she been giving her! No wonder become a routine. SO now i make sure before she sleep she drink her milk and now alot better she stop wakingup for few nights lo.. ( except last few days HB told mi when I was not around she keep crying during midnite and he realise its not easy been a mother.. yeah)

Don worry, try to let ur darling play more during the day. As for Natalie, she nap 2x. 1st is about 1hr30min, another is 45mins lo. Night time she sleep for 10hrs. I think most impt our bb is not sick, not feeling fatigue during the day most impt so don worry okie.

Sorry for the long post. Rest too much during the day.. and finally Nat sleep before I can really log in..

Good night and bless our bbs having sweet dreams too!

cynthia ,

i dont know whats wrong with my son leh ... yesterday , i try to let him nap for only an hour , end up last night , also 2am then sleep ... even he eat full full at night , also will wake up n drink milk one ...

Then i keep thinking , must be my fault , when he is in my stomach that time , i no need to work at all , so everynight watch World CUp ! watch till i admit hospital a month before he come out , hahaha ... i think is the bad " tai(1) jiao(4) " ... hai ...

cynthia,

Glad you are feeling better. take care. bedrest must be taken seriously and it really helps alot. I was also ordered bedrest when carrying zac, but it was during the last trimester.

Hi Yoshi..

Thanks for the encouragement.. luckily his fever was gone last night wen i reached home.. now asked my MIL and maid to give him lots and lots of water...

hubby is out of town.. will check with him once he is back and reconfirm with you ok..

Hi MH..

which hospital will u be delivering?? have to check out alternate routes before hand... dun worry.. all will be fine..

Hi Cynthia..

take care and rest well.. as u say, Nat knows tat u r not feeling well.. tat is why she sits with you... once u r well, you will be able to play with her again.. in the meantime, maybe u can read some books to her...

Hi CrispyApple..

that time Zorian also dun sleep.. he was awake most of the time regardless day or night... after almost two weeks, then he started to sleep.. MIL said he was getting used to the outside environment...

Hi Erin..

Welcome back.. hope u had a good trip at HK..

Hi Crispyapple,
Megan never sleeps alot ever since newborn till now.. her naptime is like 1/2hr only? and when she goes into long sleep, her eyes are half closed..I think babies will sleep if they are tired as long as they are happy and healthy, dun worry too much ya?

Hi Whitelady,
Maybe your boy growing thru a phase? Megan is like that now, sometimes wake up in the middle of the night like 2 or 4 am to play and sometimes she can be so playful that she dun wanna sleep whole afternoon.. we called her Jack russell terrier, so much energy..

Hi Cyn,
how many weeks are you at now? if have been bleeding must really do minimal activities... I haf lots of spotting and bleeding probs when I was carrying megan then. 9weeks bleed, given jab and 1week bedrest.. then tot all was well, then come 13th week lots of bleeding again, another bedrest and jab..must really bedrest, it helps alot..and try not to carry Natalie or heavy things as I heard we tend to be more tired when we carrying no.2 compared to no.1 so try to rest more! dun worry all will be fine!

Kris - Me delivering in East Shore..hvnt even been to the hospital to take a look yet.

Cynthia - DO take care.

Erin - Have PM u..got qns to ask u abt the trip coz me goin from 2-6 Jan with my husband & Gen Gen.

Morning Mummies....

sometimes, i just have a quick browse thru and forgot to reply to some of you

Hi crispyapple,
forgot to reply u...regarding you not able to come to the X'mas bash. Its ok...most impt to rest well during your confinement lah. Hope to get a chance to meet up after this x'mas. Maybe during CNY? it will be a good time for me as my co will be closed for 7 days
hee hee....

Hi HoneyB,
Thank you for adding Kelly's name. I must be still blur blur after 3 weeks of no rest days working!

August Babies X'mas Bash ~ 23rd Dec @ 2pm

Confirmed list:
1) HoneyB & Hannah
6) kelly, hubby, gabe & edward (there r still some funds left fr e aug06 bday bash. i'll use those $$ 2 bring some food over + some potluck)
7) Erin, Kayden and Hubby
8) Kriz, zorian, Hub??

Hi Cynthia,
Just rest well and take care of yourself now. Got to think positive. Get well faster then can spend quality time with Nat. I know its not easy...cos i also carry my eldest child till i deliver. Maybe can get a trusted helper to look after Nat while you get your much needed rest? (preferable away from you so that either party don't see each other).

Hi Kriz,
No problem. hope that u can make it

Hi white_lady,
What's GUG class ha?

Hi cynthia,
hope u r feeling better n do rest more. hope everything will be fine for u. take care.

hi augustmum,
oic. ya lor, have to go back to work so sian. hope u will enjoy ur baking lesson.

hi MH,
din receive ur pm. can pm me again?

hi kris,
thanks. i did enjoy the shopping there.

hi honeyb,
ya, stanley market has some shops selling kids' clothes. i got a pair of disney jeans for my grandniece for only SGD6. cheap hor. i bought the polo dress for SGD11. cheaper than the BP here. hope u will enjoy ur shopping there.

MH,

will recommand u to go and see see look look first.. can also request to view the maternity ward and delivery ward so u know wat it look like.. dun worry and think positive.. all will be fine..

Erin,

look like u bought lots of stuff back..
envy you can shop.. went taiwan and come back without any purchase..

Hi kris,
no la. din buy a lot of stuff. can't get clothes for myself cos they are selling mainly clothes for cold weather. i'm working in a non-aircon environment so the clothes are not appropriate. only bought some skincare products and kids' clothings cos they are relatively cheaper over there.

My sis also din get much stuff when she went to Taiwan last time. but the food experience is pretty good rite? would love to go there and try out the 'xiao chi'. haha... watch too much shi zi lu kou liao. but that will probably be a no. of yrs from now liao.

Hi, mummies

does any one know what is the teacher to child ratio for childcare?

Any mummies bought books from Edventure book? Is it good?

Quick post before i go back to my work.

Cyn,
Take a good care of yourself yeah.... Think positive as can bonding with Nat <nt>

Erin,
Enjoy ur trip? Most importantly <any> ke...ke...

Re: Gathering
Sorry cant join cos going BKK on that weekend.

Calling Kelly,
Can gv me the name n address of shop in BKK?

MH,
Dun worry too much and must think positive, it v important for the baby.... I had delivered at East shore before... i thinks all the pte hospitals are about the same lor.

Crisppyapple,
Congrats.....

Jesline,
Edventure got lots of different kinds of books. which one are you talking abt? My boy's childcare been using Rigby reader. I find it not bad. Been using the same book to read to my gal.

Childcare,
Ratio is different depend on the childcare itself.
My boy childcare 2: 6/7 at the moment for younger children.

Hi, Cecelia

Joy reader, Sunshine classics, theme pack & etc....

Oic... thot under MYCS, they got state the recommended ratio...

is your boy under half day or full day child care?

cecelia
i know it's at central chidlom. i dun hv e exact store name. i assume it's a big dept store. my frien juz helped me buy 15boxes of breastpads (900pieces) fr there. she paid THB174 per box for a box of 60pieces. my budget is S$0.13 per piece. if it costs more, pls dun buy.

thks so much 4 ur help. let me know if u managed 2 buy any. i'll come by 2 collect it fr u.

Hi Jesline,
I rem the ratio is 1:6-8 kids for our toddlers' age so it can vary from CC to CC. You thinking of putting JH to CC? full or half day?

Hi Cecelia,
Which CC is your boy going?

Hi CJ,

HI MH,
where did you deliver when you haf Gen?

Hi piyo,

ya lor... thinking of putting JH in CC.... initially wanted to pull at the CC downstair but hubby heard that the CC not good lor... so find another one around mil house.... called the CC & they said their ratio is 1:8 for toddler & 1:5 for infant... fee wise: half day 7-12.30pm ($425), full day 7-7pm($535).

think most likely is full day lor cos quite a distance to the CC so afraid too tiring for mil....

Is megan in CC?

Hi Jesline,
When do you plan to put Jiahui in CC? 18mths?

Megan not in CC now but thinking how next year... still in dilemma, to send or not to send? then send half day or full day? or send daily playgroup (those unaccompanied kind)

Have you visited any CCs so far? I hate to see the children sleeping on mattress on the floor, side by side when I go visit CCs some time, like very ke lian.. rather let her come home and sleep...then I think about the meals, I rather she eat homecooked meals.. haiz I very img ghim.. so until now still undecided...

what factors do you consider when you decide on putting your kids to childcare?

Hi WhiteLady, Kris, Piyo,
My mil keep pestering us to give her pacifier to shut her up. But we refused cos' dun want her to end up like Aden. Aden very dependent on pacifier during night sleeping. If dropped, he would wake up, thus, he can wake up several times at night. But they think nothing of it cos' just pick up the pacifier and put back in his mouth and he can still sleep. So, they still feel pacifier is the best solution. Dun know how long we can persists until we give in.

Hi MH,
Don't worry. Think of the good side. Your pregnancy would be smooth sailing.

Hi Cynthia,
Rest well and take care. Hope u be alright soon.

Hi Yoshi,
Yah. If got CNY gathering, I would go if no other commitments.

Hi Cecelia,

Hi Whitelady,
May I know how much is the cost for GUG weekend class and is it once a week and how long the duration? Is parent allowed to join our child.

hi, piyo

I got not much choices for CC lor... only those around mil around.. if not will be near my home, hubby/my office... hubby office is out cos hubby need to go oversea quite often. my office here only got Learning Vision at MND. near my house will also be learning vision or MMI... but dont think near my house one got lot of facilities lor... so most likely will be CC at Safra Club cos more secure, more facilities & safer in a sense....

will be either 18mths or 2yrs lor...think likely will be full day

had not been to the CC before.. will need to find time & see how the environment

Reason why wanted to put JH in CC cos dont want her to waste her time at mil house doing nothing as mil not able to teach her lor...

Hi Crispyapple,
Megan also very dependent on pacifier.. sit in car will cry for it.. sleeping definately must haf it, if it drops from her mouth after she fell into deep sleep, she will grope ard for it and put back in her mouth... very farni..

I weanning it off soon but 1st the sarong got to go 1st haha and today finally succeeded in getting her to sleep on her bed for afternoon nap! She very stubborn dong whole afternoon till night no sleep for Monday and Tuesday and still sleep normal night hours from 8.30am to 6am.super stubborn. Tis afternoon finally slept! Yeah! After this, the pacifier

Hi Jesline,
Where does your MIL stay? OUr office area got Kinderland at MAS building, are you aware? quite near your place too? Then tanjong pagar those HDB block got The Brain Schoolhouse (CC by shichida), then further down to my area at far east finance building got MMI. OCBC building has The Skool House. Maybe you can go check them out
My concern in putting them to CCs at our workplace is when we dun come to work for reasons not pertaining to kids, we may haf to send them down to our workplace still?

Thanks everyone for the concern.
Piyo, I am now going 12weeks plus. Initially I have spotting from 6weeks and start taking hormones pills & jab. Stopped when no spotting about 2weeks ago. BUT sudden alot of bleeding & change of pad that scare me off. Even bed rest at home no use. So gynae tell me stay hospital with more observations lo. Now alot better. Hope it will be more better soon.

Whitelady,
I think its a transition. I have heard from my other friends too regards toddlers waking up during midnight. Either they play too much or not fully occupied during the day. So its beyond our control. Hope it will go bye soon. Nat was like this too.. till recent a bit better sleep throughout again. Hope stays away.

Have you all done any toilet training for ur bb? been pressure by my mil & my mum. till I get so irritated I tel them Nat is not ready as she doesnt have those signs. I read, best to start from 18-24mths.... is it more wise to use training pants or shorts or pull up pants?

CC... I am still figuring maybe shld send her for playgroup after she reaches 18mths bah.. after CNY. A few hrs and see hw she goes to the centre before really enrol her into full day. I seen a few. Like kinderland. They have own mattress and normally is sleep on the floor lo.
My frd told me no matter hw strong or weak the bb immune system is, just stand by 1st few weeks they may easily contact flu & cough. No doubt the CC is aircon or non aircon..

hi cynthia,
i hope you'll get better soon too. try not to worry too much ok?

hi kris,
is zorian better? denise is ok now, seems like she had an episode of false measles. but now her voice kinda sounds a little hoarse, been trying to give her more water.

and congrats to crispyapple & cj on the birth of their little angels.

i've not been feeling too good lately due to MS, otherwise the pregnancy is alright. that's why seldom post online. hope everyone is happy and enjoying the festive season.

Hi, piyo

Congrat to u... Megan finally can stop sleeping in sarong.... JH still cannot lei...unless she dont sleep for 12 hrs ++ then she can sleep when carrying her...ha ha.. think too shiong for that....

JH also lor... pacificer her favorite... whenever she goes or time to sleep, she will keep saying "tu tu" "tu tu" & will smile whenever she see her "tu tu" ... not sure when she can stop that... haiz....

mil stay at Yishun so not much choices lor... ya what u say is true.. if on leave, still need to bring her to cc near office.. haiz

Jesline,

I bought the sunshine series from edventure for Noah. However, he's not really interested in them. He's more interested in Eric Carle and Dr Seuss.

As for Zac, he's not interested in the sunshine series at all. Think not for his age.

Anyway, bookfair's coming. Starting this fri, @ suntec. Saw quite a no. of interesting books in the advertisement. Gonna go there.

In addition, went Borders today. The books at the sales corner is good. Bought a few.

think i won't have time to post tomorrow...so came in tonite la

Re : cc
Have been scouting around for a CC for my eldest daughter abt 3 years ago. Been to a few, like Kinderland, little school house, Ethan House, MMI etc. Finally enrolled her in Shekinah. For me, the teachers abilty to converse fluently and able to connect with the child was crucial.
Re : CC's food
A note from me - please don't be mislead into believing all the menu that CC claim to serve to your child. There was times that the menu state fish or chix and I later saw that its chix nugget or fish ball!! How frustrated I felt
That's y, I insist my child to have home cook food and told the CC not to force my child to eat! I'll feed and bathe her myself when she comes back.

Sometimes I think we pay so much $ to place them in good CC and hope that the child are well fed and care after. But sadly sometimes that's not the case lor. No doubt that CC's learning program are better but i've since placed her in a church kindergarden with spare time to learn other enrichment lessons such as piano

Hi white_lady,
The GUG program looks interesting. How's the fee like hah?

Hi fiona,
Hope your MS will get better.

Piyo,
I'm planning to let Hannah attend those 2 hrs playgroup when she turns 18mths. Will probably put her in those half day CC if I have no. 2 next time. I also don't like to see them sleeping on the floor together and I've seen the CC on my block serving luncheon meat for lunch and I'm like gosh how healthy is that...

With regards to pacifier, mummies what method would you suggest to stop? Hannah will also go round searching for her 'tu tu' when she's tired. She needs her pacifier to induce her to sleep but once she's ready to sleep, she will spit out her pacifier but she will search for her tu tu again if she wakes up middle of the night. I'm hoping she can do away with her pacifier before she turns 2.

Hi Cynthia,
Do rest well..perhaps should ask your gynae if can continue taking the med? I have 2 episodes of spotting/bleeding, ended up I took the med for quite some time...

ya, I think most CCs would ask you to purchase your own mattress or safari beds.. I am just thinking if they aren't doing much in the afternoon, then might as well bring them back home and sleep...
would you be most prob looking at playgroup within the same ctr that you would be extending to full day? Else Nat needs to change schools?

Hi Fiona,
How haf you been? feeling better liao?

Hi Jesline,
Ytd afternoon was her 1st nap on her own mattress. ytd, she napped for 45mins, c today how, keeping fingers crossed.

Hi HoneyB,
Which playgroup would you be sending Hannah to? You also think 2hrs would be just right for our 18mths tods? Do you think half a day/full day is too long for 18mths? I am thinking most I put her to half day CC in the morning as more activities in the morning and back home to nap n bath.. meals would be a prob though... still thinking..me in BIG dilemma cos a playgroup called me last week to cfm her placement in the daily2hr playgroup by end this week and here I am still thinking to go playgroup or half day CC
Help!

HI Yoshi,
ya, I am very doubtful about their menus. We are not there to see and I am really doubtful if they follow the menu. I am more keen to bring her home eat our homecooked food.. dunno is it me niao or what...

re: pacifiers,
megan SCREAMED for her pacifier. We try to distract her with things of her interest then take away the pacifier.. worse come to worse, snip the pacifier so that will "lao hong" then not so shiok for her liao haha...

re: tantrums
any of your tods started tantrums? I think Megan's tantrums getting worse.. recently she very notti, she bullied a 3-4yrs old girl on the slide, pulled her hair cos the girl was still on the slide...haiz.. dun wan her to be a bully nor do I wan her to bully others either.

Hi, honeyB

JH also the same lor... will look for her "tu tu" when time to sleep or when she's bored... really dont know when she will stop...

Hi Piyo,
depends on JH's mood.... if mood good, she will run around the house looking for it but she will go to bedroom to look for it 1st... if bad mood, she will cry (not real crying) for it....

JH's tantrum also very bad lor... if she notti, & we told her off, she will act as if nothing happpen & dont dare to look at us & run off to play with other things... she loves to pinch pple lor... the more we ask her to stop, the more she will do it... she got bad temper...

she dont like to share her toy lei... bought her a swing & she dont like it but when invite little kids to play, she will purposely sit on it so that other kids cannot play with it...

Piyo - Gen was not born in S'pore..i delivered her in France. Hence, me very blur abt the whole pre & post natal process here in S'pore. Dun even know any gynae or gd hospital to deliver here so i anyhow 'humtum' to go this current gynae lor.

On Pacifier - same as Megan & HoneyB's Hannah..Gen is oso very dependent on pacifier to go to sleep..den will spit out when she is in deep sleep but will wake up in the middle of the nite to look for in & pop into her mouth. But luckily if we are outside..she do not need to depend so much on her tu tu.

Piyo,
Most likely I will send Hannah to the 2hrs playgroup just below my mum's house, I think its call Shining Starz or something, can't remember the name. For me not much of a choice cos has to be convenient for my mum else she will ask me to quit my job and look after myself ha...you know what, I think half a day session is perfectly fine, its just that I'm worried Hannah may not be able to adjust cos she has been home all day since birth till now and so far only attended those 1hr session during weekend so I thought maybe to start off slowly like 2 hrs then after 1 semester, will evaluate if she's learning and enjoying her class. Now only 1 child so more flexible, will eventually opt for half day session for her but will definitely not go for full day child care else Ah Ma (grandma) will be out of job hee...

For pacifier, I'm thinking of going cold turkey but I think I will have to suffer for a few days together with her *sigh*...also don't know what to do.

re: Tantrums
Talking about this, Hannah is also very notti. The other day she was eating biscuit and she kept offering her biscuit to her cousin who is 5 mths younger than her. Her cousin kept shaking her head to say No and after 3 attempts to offer, Hannah just stuffed the half eaten biscuit into her cousin's mouth. The poor girl gave a very reluctant look and chewed up the biscuit, it was so notti of her to do that but the sight was so funny thank god my sister-in-law wasn't offended and was laughing away but we feel so pai seh loh...

crispyapple , yoshi ...

i remember the exact figure , is abt $200+ for 1.5hrs , 1 time ( weekend ) per week . 1 parent / care taker will be allow ... i think i will let him go for this class first ... u all interested ? can go together ! haha

Hi Erin..

actually i dun really ate much at Taipei also.. were feeling sick when i were there.. so mainly slept in the hotel room.. wasted hor??

Hi Fiona...

plse take good care of yourself okie.. glad to hear Denise is much better now.. think Zorian also has the second round of false measles cos now his whole body is full of red spots.. see already heartache...

hi Cynthia..

for toilet train, think i will wait till zorian is able to express himself.. he has started to reply words after us.. so now will just wait lor..

Re : Daycare..

I think will put Zorian in half day child care only after he hits 3 years old.. for the time being, will continue with BJG programme...

Re : Pacificer

Zorian is superglue to his pacificer.. 24/7 in his mouth.. even in BJG class!!! *faint*
tried to discourage him, but he will keep on saying "tutu' and starts to cry if we refuse to give.. so not much choice..

mommies, any good advise / suggestions, please share with me.. personally dun like him sucking pacificer but seem like Zorian refuses to give it up.. not even with the temption of foods...