(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Hi Motherofaprincess,
cool down, no point getting angry over this silly woman. Ignore her and rest well at home.

Hi k ong,
for udon, i buy the NTUC brand. As for soba (brown thin or green thin noodles), i get it from the ntuc jap. section. HTH

Hi lyn,
alamak i m the only one whose EDD in July. M i the odd one out? lol :D hehe

some information which i found from online on Dang Gui :

Dong Quai (Angelica sinensis, Dang Gui, Tang-kuei) grows profusely throughout Asia. Called the "female ginseng" dong quai is an all-purpose herb for a wide range of female gynecological complaints. For centuries, Chinese women have used this herb to regulate the menstrual cycle and quell painful menstrual cramps caused by uterine contractions. Modern herbalists use dong quai to eliminate the discomfort of premenstrual syndrome PMS and to help women resume normal menstruation after going off "the pill." Dong quai is also reputed to be useful against hot flashes and other symptoms of menopause caused by hormonal changes. Rich in vitamins and minerals including A, B12, and E, this herb may also prevent anemia. Dong quai has also been used to treat insomnia and high blood pressure for both sexes. Both men and women use this herb as a blood tonic. One of the most widely used herbs in the Orient, Dong Quai Duck is a popular Cantonese dish.

In the Journal of Natural Products (45:398, 1982) it says that Dong Quai, Angelica sinensis has been used as an antispasmodic, a blood purifier, and to help hypertension, rheumatism, ulcers, anemia, and constipation.

Dong Quai also contains compounds that act to stimulate the central nervous system, supporting its use as a mild energizer for people.

Researchers have identified several coumarin derivatives that are known to act as antispasmodics and vasodilators. Dong quai, Angelica sinensis key ingredients include Ligustilide, butylene phthalide and butyl phthalide found in the aromatic oil. Ferulic acid and various polysaccharides are found in the non-aromatic fractions. Research suggests that both ferulic acid and ligustilide are responsible for preventing spasms, relaxing blood vessels and reducing blood clotting in peripheral vessels.

Caution: Do not use Dong Quai, Dang Gui during pregnancy or if you are still menstruating and typically have a heavy flow.

mum2b,
Me planning to deliver at Mt.E but not into this details yet until after 1st tri.

ally,
hugs, take care.

kite,
i am drinking anmum now, like what Dor says, seemed like it cause loose tools.

MoThEr Of a PrInCeSs,
what kind of colleague is that.. MY!!! Fortunately my colleagues are all very concern about my help and try not to let me overwork.

talking abt wines, i actually drunk a lot during a dinner before i know I am preggy.. now it scares me, and wonder how it would affect the bb.

Hi mother of a princess

long time no see u...haha
anyway,my spotting has stopped these few days but today got slight more discharge..hopefuli nothing...i been feeling v frustrated whole day at hm....maybe bcoz of the hormone change.. :p

Hi k ong..

ya, we r ard the same..but i was actualli hoping it would bring forward instead of backward coz our rom anniversary was 6th june...but now,dun seem possible liao..

Hi Alyy, take care and God bless. *Hugs*

Hi lyn, bro haas been hogging the pc for the entire day, so I can only use when he decided to take a rest.

Thread is moving fast as usual.. and I see alot of food things going around. For me, I have no appetite still, so well no cravings for anything. Thou I feel like eatting mee siam... something sour would be nice.. =)

can i chk is it true tt we can eat prune to help our constipation? coz feeling terrible for days...wat kind of prunce?i bought a sunsweet brand pitted prune..is it tt?

coz i dun take enuff fruits n anyway not much choice 4 us rite?

no orange,banana,pineapple,papaya..etc..

Hi Angeline,

I'm also drinking prune juice as recommanded by mummies in the forum. It does helps to relieve constipation a bit. Sunsweet or Del Monte are fine.

I was reading a magazine and there's an interesting point to note about alcohol. Let me quote:

"If you're expecting, think twice before you steal a sip of wine. A new US study suggests that expectant mothers who drink even low levels of alcohol could permanently damage their children's intelligence. Children who had had low-level exposure to alcohol during pregnancy were found to have lower IQ scores, and memory and problem-solving difficulties. This challenges current British government advice that pregnant women can safely consume one to two units of alcohol a week."

That's all about the quote from the magazine
. I quoted word for word. Please dun bombard or question me ok? Just sharing with you gals who wants to know

Hope the quote have not scared some of you. I certainly do not mean it
. For those of you who have drank a little, just forget it and avoid it next time if you choose to be on the safer side...

I think there will be a medical journal published somewhere out there about this. But I am too lazy to look for journals to read
. I will rather be more KS than drinking something that I do not need to, and worse if will harm the baby even to a small extent which we might not feel it

Hi kite,
Dun worry
You might deliver in June 06
My gynae already told me no dang gui and pak zhen in my first visit
Better be safe than sorry...

Hi Kite,

Ur article is true, especially on the part on avoid dang gui when menstruating. Because somehow it leads to heavier flow and normall my mum will only boil dang gui after my menses over

Hi Lyn,

Recently i heard from the news that alcohol can cause the bb to have higher chance of being short sighted?

Hi all ladies,

Wish u all feeling fine today

I wake up fresh, hopefully good today. Hopefully not like yesterday, puke 3 times!! I drink anmum and puke anmum. I eat biscuits puke biscuits. Luckily i never puke my dinner out. But didn't eat much also lah

Hopefully can have better appetite today. Today is my 4th mth! Yeh!!

Ok, going out for invigilation liao. Cooking some white porridge as well so that i can have lunch when i am back

See Ya!

hope u all feeling well this tues morning... me just came back from cruise on sunday and yesterday on leave. Now is blue tuesday hehee

For the topic on food, i think we all just take things in moderation shd be safe liao. But my gynae did mentioned to me SIL that we shd avoid pineapple and papaya leh... dunno why... think he say it has some substance inside not suitable ...

re: dang gui

oh ya shd avoid dang gui and pak zhen during pregnancy...
read somewhere abt the effect of this 2 herbs... for me, i generally do not take chinese herbs at all... dunno the effect mah...

re: cutest kid contest

my 7 month boy samuel is in this month's cutest kid contest... hope all the mummies to be here ... can spare a minute to vote for him if you find him cute enough ok ?

just send an email to [email protected] with subject "CK Samuel"

or click on this link below

http://poohybaby.blogspot.com/2005/11/samuel-in-cutest-kid-contest.html

335137.jpg

samuel say thanx to everyone for being so kind

dear preggies

morning everybody

i was obediant and didnt take ham with bread this morning. instead i took butter with wheat bread. it tasted so bad i felt like throwing up the entire journey from home to office whilst my hubby was driving. my MS always starts in the afternoon, dunno why it started so early today. maybe my bb prefers ham. hahaha!!

congrats kk that today is your 4th mth

dear mother of princess, my gynae had specifically reminded me not to rebond my hair. so i think we have to live with half curly hair for the rest of the pregnancy

hey, did you guys read the Straits times this morning? this is an interesting article on surrogate moms. this chinese couple found a surrogage mom in India after 5 unsuccessful tries of IVF and the mom is 9 weeks pregnant, due nxt June, ie, around the same time as us. heehee!!
Lyn, your gynae, Peter Chew also made a commentary on the article. He said one of his patient insisted on finding a surrogate mom bcos she wants to enjoy life and dont want to get pregnant.

Hi ryue,

me too never buy ham n hotdogs liao. tis morning i hv anmum milk and jacobs biscuits, so far i m stil okie just feel abit slp and tired now at office.

dear poohy
you son is reaaaaaaaally cute..

so i bet you hope for a girl for this pregnancy?
glad you enjoyed your cruise. i dont think i can survive a cruise now. i think i will throw up the entire time.
oh yes, i already voted for your baby Samuel. I hope he will win the contest!!
have a great day at work today

ryue,

ehhe thanx for your great support!!!
My mum hope i will have a gal this round... me neutral but actually i wanted another boy then maybe 3rd child a gal... if this one is a gal.. i will prob stop at 2. I like boys cos more active.. but i also like gals cos they are generally more fillial and i can buy lots of beautiful cute dress for them. But i am worried next time i dunno how to handle my gal cos i myself never dap into cosmetic, fashion stuff.. so worried later i dunno how to help her with those.. hehee.. boys simpler.. just shirt and pants mah..

motherofaprincess,

hey your colleague really worst kind wan leh... i cant imagine people being so unkind in their words... ignore her lah ... for all you know she going thru menopause that's why so cranky! u rest well as per your gynae's recommendation.. he knows it best.. not your colleague.

dear poohy
i also wanna have 3 kids like you. dont worry lah, most girls would know how to go into the cosmetics and fashion stuff by the time they turn 18. you dont have to worry about that!

ryue,

hehee ya i guess u r rite... actually i dun really have very great preference for boys or gals.. as long as lively and active can liao...
how bout u ? u want boy or gal this time ?

Hi kk,
I have not read about that news before... But I will play safe... Just avoid. Cos alcohol is not what I needed badly...

Hi Poohy,
Your son is very cute... Hope he will win the contest. Good luck!

Hi ryue,
hahaha... Maybe your baby likes ham... But since it's not so good, better to avoid.
Oh, I did not read the newspapers today. Did Peter Chew support the surrogate mum? He's very pro-family one...

dear poohy
i'd hoping for a boy. my hubby prefers a girl. its ironic. but i dont really care as long as the baby is healthy

dear lyn
dr peter chew didnt say he support or not, but he mentioned he've got a patient who is keen to find a surrogate mom. its illegal in spore.. actually i wonder why. i think surrogate moms are good idea esp for people who cant conceive. no wonder the spore birth rates are so low. sigh... i think there are more gynaes in spore than babies..

Hi anybody kind to update my EDD? It is on 5th June 2005. Kam sia

hi lilfeets

I got my anmum1 choco from cold storage few days ago at $19 plus.

hi mother of a princess

Dun bother about that insensitive colleague of yours. Not every has that stroke of luck to have an easy pregnancy eh?

Hi Ladies!

Me back! Went to ntuc do some marketing for my dinners for the next 3 days

Hi Ryue,

U can try gardenia hi calcium milk bread. Very nice
Taste very nice on its own
I normally spread margarine and jam

If u wanna fibre, can start eating brown rice liao. For me, i can't accept wheat bread because too dry for me. Can't even swallow haha..

Hi Poohy,

Me too.. if i have a gal, dunno how to manage haha... I myself very lazy person, seldom tie up my hair, never do makeup. I will only put efforts on her clothes i guess. Other than that, I guess my hubby may even do better than me! In fact he can tie hair better than me :p

Hi Lyn,

Managed to get some nice lotus roots from ntuc just now
Will boil the soup tomorrow

Me also non drinker.. so no worry about alcohol

dear kk
ya, i used to buy gardenia calcium bread.. but thought wheat bread not so fattening. i read in an article that white bread goes straight to the thigh --> where iam putting on weight. thats why i bought wheat bread. but you are right, its really hard to swallow. i think i will change back to calcium bread.

dear everyone
what abt luncheon meat and instant noodles. do you guys take?
what abt pizza? is it safe to consume?

Hi Ryue,

Eating white bread makes thigh fattening? Haha.. no wonder my thighs are not slim either.

I dunno can take luncheon meat or instant noodles or not. But i did take them liao. They are not healthy food afterall, so take in moderation lor. My hubby loves luncheon meat, so at times for dinner, i will stir fry luncheon meat with minced meat or with mixed vegetables or with baked beans.

When i take instant noodles, i dun go for soup-based. i normally make dry mee with tomato sauce, oyster sauce and sesame oil. Just to kill extreme hunger sometimes and it's the fastest.

I took pizza before liao but i get them to remove the pineapple chunks. Guess what, the pizza tastes really horrible without those pineapple. That day then i realised pineapples makes pizza taste like wonders.

Hehehe.. we are still on food today!

Had my first bowl of rice after nearly a wk of going without rice... My mom cook sesame chicken, so it's yummy. But I think my stomach can only stomach in that bowl of rice. Think can last whole day without rice again...

hi ryue, even thou luncheon meat and instant noodles are not good cos they are full of preservatives, but eatting once a while shouldn't hurt.. Unless you are eatting them every week. I think once a mth should be fine.

Hi Hidora,

Seems like u are not eating much ya? Around 2 yrs back, i basically cut down a lot on rice because i wanted to slim down for my wedding
After my weddding, it becomes habitual to go without rice so i dun need to take rice for dinner everyday.

But now, need to think of nutrition so have to take rice at nite again.

It is good that u can take in sesame chicken. My colleague puke at every smell of sesame. I dun cook that dish, so whenever my neighbour who stays upstairs cooks this dish, i can smell it and it always makes me hungry

Does any of you have backache problems with your pregnancy? I get these backaches sleeping on either side for 1 hr. And I cant really sleep on my back cos seems rather uncomfortable.

If I have to take instant noodles to kill that instant pang of hunger,I go for KOKA as it is free from msg, preservatives and colouring.

hi volf20,

wow, ur backache started so early?

What about putting some pillows for support? It may be more comfortable this way.

dear kk, volf20
i also have backache. yesterday i was seated at office the whole day and i went back with backache. My gynae said taller women are more prone to backaches, and its perfectly normal to have backaches during any stages of pregnancy.

great. im glad i can take pizzas. but i love hawain which has both ham and pineapples. sigh..

i just had tom yam soup with rice again. so yummy
i only can take rice in the day. rice at night will make me nauseous.

any one of you know what is "batang" fish? "batang" fish are those sold are the normal fish soup stall. safe for us to take right?

i tried KOKA instant noodles before.. but it's rather tasteless though. its healthy though

i noticed a lot of MTBs in this thread are not working. you guys are a lucky lot.

kk, ryue,

ya- backache damn terok and tummy still hasnt shown. I wonder why...maybe cos am tall?Hmm.

Batang fish - i think shd be ok. Take everything in moderation except for alcohol - dun take.

Hi kk,
Good good... tonite I will be boiling white fungus soup.. hahaha.. new experiment.. :p

Hi ryue,
No luncheon meat and instant noodles for me already. Luncheon meat is 70% fats with lots of preservatives and salt. I used to take instant noodles daily till I get all my health problems.. Now no more instant noodles for me already
For pizza, I still take, but not the frozen ones. I tried pizza hut, but I find it too oily. Cafe cartel pizza still ok. I ordered Hawaiian pizza and pick out all the ham... lol... oops... I still eat the pineapples...

Hi pebbles,
I will update your EDD.

Hi volf20,
Can you sleep flat on your back? Best if your pillow is not so high or without pillow. If you sleep on your side, use a bolster or pillow and curl up a little... I had back injuries before. That's what I was taught in my physio sessions.

hahaha.. I am not tall... and I had backache a few weeks ago. After some rest, ok already
. Yesterday I also had backache, but today ok already
. Whenever I get backache, I will just lie flat on my back.

Talking about food... I just went to have a walk at the neighbourhood center. Bought a recipe booklet for diet during pregnancy in Chinese. I dun really understand what's written.. lol.. need to get used to it... hahaha...

dear volf20
hi. i dont see your name on the list. are you new to the thread?
when is your EDD?
im about 11+ weeks and my tummy has shown already. quite a lot of my colleagues have been staring at it, despite me trying to hard. but they paiseh to ask me cause im in between fat and pregnant now.

dear lyn,
dunno why i have some problems logging on to MSN today. it says i cant get registered. yesterday is was still ok.. sigh.
oh.. is the pizza at cafe cartel nice? i love the pizza at Moon fish or sometimes know as Spaggedies. The pizza there are really fresh. i love the sausage and ham pizza. but now cant take sausage and ham right? sigh.. might as well give up on pizzas.

like you, i also forgot how to read chinese. gave it back to my chinese teacher liao.

Hi Ryue and Volf20,

i am short
But now i am able to tell my hubby benefits of being short

Hi Ryue,

Can't remember what pizza i took that time. I think chicken. Because i know cannot take pineapple so i dun order hawaiian if not hawaiian pizza is no longer hawaiian

I also ate fish soup recently. If cannot, can't be helped. Already eaten down tummy liao

Hi Lyn,

Wow, instant noodles everyday last time?? I eat continuously for 2 days i sian le

Last time i also took frozen pizzas. Brands like farmland and ntuc all not bad
But now no craving for pizza already. So no more frozen or pizza hut for me. No pineapples, pizza not nice liao!

Hmmm, recipe book in chinese? My favourite haha.. so far two bb magazines i bought are in chinese too... My recipe books are all in chinese. I never bought recipe books in english :p

Ladies, another reason for backache.. are we spending too much time in front of our pc?
Yesterday felt so uncomfortable looking at pc. Also part of the reason for vomiting 3 times i guess. Sometimes cause ache at neck area too. I get this problem too when working too long in front of pc. But problem seems to be get more serious during pregnancy. Can't work for long in front of pc already.

good afternnon. juz came back from lunch. had chicken chop..keke n fruit juice.
i also ate hawaiian pizza last wk but i wobble all down. hahaha. but kenna indigestion after that. cant sleep thru the nite.. wahahaha

Hi ryue,
Maybe MSN got problem. Sometimes they have connection problems...
Now I love pizzas, those thin crusted ones and with lots of tomatoes paste. I dun like the meat or ham or sausage... Just the crust and tomato and cheese... kekeke...

Hi kk,
Yes.. last time when I was overseas and too busy with work, I ate instant noodles 3 times a day - breakfast, lunch and dinner. Very jialat one...

I had a very very heavy lunch today... Now feel like puking oo
I had 3 vegetables and rice, then a piece of "min jiang kuih". So full...

dear kk
oh i thought you not working. i thought you a Stay at home MTB

dear dor
hihi!! now im craving for hawaiian pizza.. hmmmmm...but i think like you, i will get indigestion. all oily food gives me indigestion now.

Hi Lyn,

My hubby too, can eat a lot of instant noodles. Everytime i see him cook instant noodles, i will scold him. I say so unhealthy still eat so much and i asked him not sian meh, everytime eat.

I bought this chicken rice package from ntuc just now for lunch. Bear the healthy choice logo and can steam for 15 mins then can eat liao. Not bad leh, i had that for lunch

Wahhh, that's pretty heavy lunch!

Hi Ryue,

Hahaha! Me not so good life lah
I am a pathetic poor teacher

hi kk,
lol good luck and hope ur chawanmushi turns out fine.
for wkdays, usually after work i wil cook but since i got pregnant, been feeling very tired so tend to eat out or eat at mum's place. only wkends then i wil cook.

Hi Kite,

I envy u all, after work still can cook leh. For me, basically no time to cook. After i come home, bengsan liao. Scold students until no energy left :p

Only when it is school holiday time like this then i can cook.

Aiyoh, so bored! i dunno how i can survive the long dec school holidays.

Previously, there will always be honeymoons for me and hubby. This dec actually plan to go HK, but my mum objected
So cannot go liao

Wonder what to do at home.... growing mould...

hi kk,
oh ya, last 2 mths u were asking me at the NZ thread u wanted to go NZ. Did u go?
NZ is really a beautiful place, went there for my honeymoon in jan tis yr.

no lah, cos i dun like outside food so always cook my own after work. Now too lazy n tired, no energy left since pregnant, always feel like vomitting.

hey kite
u got married this jan? which hotel huh? me also jan bride lei.. that's why i still find ur nickname familiar...keke

Kite,

Aiyoh, before i book anything, i discovered pregnant liao how to go? hahahaa...

actually my gynae say can go travelling liao. But hor, i ding dong ding dong leh, sometimes nauseous sometimes very sleepy. If i go to other country stay in hotel sleep, then not worth it liao rite?

U make me really envy!!! When i look through NZ packages, all very expensive! So actually we further plan for adelaide or second trip to perth.

The food here is horrible. There is only one nearest food court here and u know food court food is always horrible. Get sick of it. Dunno what to eat every nite. No choice.

U just feel like vomiting, but not merlion type of vomiting yet rite?

Hi Dor,
I got married in Dec 04, then tis yr jan then go HM.
Hmm my wedding dinner was held at Hotel Intercontinental. How about urs?

Hi kk,
remember both of us went to Australia in dec 03, that one u mistaken, its not my honeymoon its just a holiday break.
dec 04, then married.
If u really want to go, can go during 2nd trimester. Hmm we did a self drove f&e in NZ so its cheaper and everything from accommodations, car rental n itinerary all planned by me.
Me too since i never cook during wkdays, i always scratching my head on what to eat n sick of the food here. really miss my mum's cooking but oni visit her like once or twice a week.

just now b4 lunch, i vomitted but all is water, guess drink too much plain water liao.

Kite,

Was it melbourne that we went to?? I really miss that trip

Where are u living now? near ur mum? For me, i live SK my mum stay with my brother at tampines. But i am too tired and lazy to go over for weekday dinners. Somemore think of return trip sian liao. So weekend then i go back to my mum's place at paya lebar for dinner.

Drinking water is good. Surprising u dun find water plain heeee...

dear kite, dor,
wah.. both of very efficient leh.. got married in jan and already pregnant now. im impressed..heehee

NZ is very nice.. i went there this April. its a must go. we did white water rafting and many other activities at Queenstown. but now, ermm..maybe we wait another 3 years when our kids grow up.. hahha..

dear kk
we booked a tour to europe this year end, to celebrate x'mas & new year there. now we have to end up celebrating in singapore. dont think its wise to travel cause i dont want to be that far away from my gynae. hopefully, we will feel less sick by x'mas time.

did you mean u staying at Sengkang?

Hi kk,
yup we went melbourne at the same time. Did a self drove f&e trip too esp along e great ocean rd, very breathtaking. really missing it.

I stayed quite far from my mum, one north one west. Usually we will go back at least once a week for dinner.

B4 i discovered my pregnancy, i was drinking green tea daily and stopped that n switched to plain water now.

Hi ryue,
Yes NZ very beautiful. We did some activities at Queenstown too. very fun. Me too recently, i told hubby when my bb grows up, we wil bring bb along n go back NZ self drive again. hehe really miss.