(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

act3 - this term theme is family. So everyweek will concentrate diff character in the family. Eg, last week was Baby. Teacher will read a story book related to Baby and later kids will follow the teacher to act out the whole story again. Quite interesting. Also some songs. 1 hr lesson and the parking is terrible!! No place to park!!

good morn mummies

toto
congratulations! They are beautiful babies. Do rest well.

ipanda
congratulations!!! So will no 2 b'day fall on the same day as Josh?
take care.

sunflower,

Maybe i select the wrong timing, 10.45am they are a bit tired by then.. They wake up around 6.30am -7am.. Normally Aiden will a bit cranky by the end of the session..

kissbb - ya!! ur stuff! :p
hmm.. sat i will be in bugis/united sq. convenient to popby?

ACT3 - sounds fun leh

Music class - who is ur teacher? gd?

CELESTE - how's is Lorna whiston S&D Class? feedback leh.

mtdt,
united sq, what time on sat?? can drop by after the ACT3 class.. around 12.15pm, can?

music class - master teacher siew pei.. so far so good... class only 45min, so i think a bit rush..

how abt Z's music class? good?

united sq - I usu there are 130pm to 3pm. his class is 2pm-3pm. u go eat ur lunch there n wait for me ok? hahahhaa :p

Z's music class - not bad. 1hr...

Good Morning Mummies!

I-panda,
Congratulations! So will no. 2 be delivered by WK Tan too? Or is she still in practice?

Toto,
Lovely babies...sleeping so sweetly!

MTDT,
My ger's in justkids. Got a shock too to know about there's homework, but teacher put it across as bonding time and true enough, we had fun with the reading and writing.
I quite like the idea of some homework so i'll know what's covered in school.

Steffi,
My ger also cried for about two weeks when she first started cc, although i left quite immediately. I think she could sense my tensed and heavy heart on the way to school. So best to try keep the mood light in the morning...don't overdo too or she may smell fish.

Re: Music class
Rodeo,
Christofori has toddler class too but only at the funan branch.

Went for juzmusic too and decide will just send my ger to yamaha in july and wait till she's about 4 then will go for individual lessons. My only reservation about yamaha is the 4 storey worth of stairs! Actually am glad that her cc's already doing a good job getting her into the rhythm, liking music, song and dance etc.
Meanwhile, on my part i'll just expose her to some composers and the pieces and some notes.

MTDT,
Haha...actually I also have those same concerns on violin. Am hoping my ger will choose the piano.
What music class is your Z in?

kissbb - bugis ard 1130pm to 1pm.

calliope - Zav in Mandeville now.
still general music class, not specific to any instrument yet

violins- think just some jokes lah. Poohy's boy learning violin liao.. also dun see any complains from her.

Congratulations, Panda!!

MT, haha...the things you said about violin. Sekali Z choose violin then you know..hehe.

Bbloh,
Think Ethan is enjoying the class too leh. Just that he is a bit shy. M sure as he grows comfortable he will participate more. G started to participate only towards the end of term 1 right? Also the class size is shrinking so that should help.

Initially I thought to think about instrument when G turns 3.5 yo. That should give me time to book something for her by 4yo. And that, to me is really early. Coz I don't know if she is going to persevere through it... or should I just take it as an exposure to her and not expecting continuation at this age..who knows with fun learning style (not the traditional grilling type) she will be kept interested.. bla bla....

I started to rethink the matter after I asked Teacher Ping what comes after Baby Music class as it completes in June. She said by then, can consider instruments. She said if G is keen on piano, can continue with her keyboard class which is automatically reserved for us. Else, can opt for violin class which need to book way in advance because of the high demand. And she said before June we should be able to gauge which instrument our kids prefer. By end of June, they will learn to play Hot Cross Buns song on keyboard.

toto,

beautiful babies
And your girl resemble you!
Hope Jake is coping well with the new siblings.

kissbb,

ACT3 sounds similar to JG edudrama. This year, J also changed from playclub to edudrama. And S had changed from english to mandarin edudrama instead. He attends english speech and drama under lorna whiston in school, I figured since he is in full day, might as well attend their speech and drama.

Pity that this year N1 does not have kindermusik as enrichment in school, I had wanted J to attend that.

AnB seemed to be well settled into the full day in school rite?

Joy,

whether to learn violin or piano or flute or any other instruments, depends on the child preference most importantly I feel. Without interest, everything also will be difficult
But I heard people mentioned that its better to start with piano. Personally I feel that learning keyboard/piano is easier compared to learn violin. Strings instruments are not easy to learn unlike keyboards. And I feel the fingering on violin is not as intuitive as the fingering on keyboards/piano. More memory work involved for violin initially to master the fingering.

Anyway initially I also wanted to start S on instruments much later. But he insisted he wanted to learn violin when he was nearly 2 years old. I placed him on wait list for violin class cos ya, high demand. Learning an instrument really need a lot of discipline and hard work which is a bit tough for a 2-3 year old kid, cos gotta practise daily. I will be practising with him daily and playing the same song or correcting a posture problem over and over again. At times he will throw tantrum and said he dun wanna learn anymore.

mtdt,

by right, when you play the violin, should not really need to tilt the head much. The violin rest on the jaw and shoulder. A shoulder rest is used normally so dun need to tilt the head much... Alot of my time during daily practise is to correct S's posture. Having the correct posture, eg standing properly, placing on jaw instead of chin, bow hold, correct first position all are very important for now.

panda,

Nice age gap too

mtdt,
the earliest i can reach is abt 12.15pm.. ok for u??

poohy,
both S&J are in full day right? They are trying to adapt to full day.. i think a bit too long hr for them. but every morning, both will cry for a while.. how abt S&J??

kissbb,

so far J had not cried at all. She dashed in every morning even before I can bring her to take temperature. We gotta drag her out crying to take temperature some times... Total opposite for S, he still cry everyday... sigh I think he is the only N2 still crying.

I am also worried abt the long hours... I knocked off at 6:30pm and reached school ard 6:45pm. So when I go back to work next month, they gotta stay from 8:30am in the morning till ard 6:45pm in the evening.

poohy / wen - all tat are jokes nia lah. i seen 2 mandeville concerts and were v impressed with the little violist.

parent needs to play an impt role in coaching kid on learning instruments...

regular practise no joke for a toddler.

Poo poo training in potty, for those kids who refuse to do it in potty, show them this...may encourage them to run to the potty in no time. Just show the first half is sufficient.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QFVoLz88hiU

I have been coaxing, threatening, and rewarding S to poo in the potty...somehow tis video worked, alongside with the other techniques, cos she now finds it fun to poo in potty, instead of in diapers.

Toto,
Congrats! Beautiful babies! Rest well! :)

ipanda,

Pauline and MTDT,
Haha... the kids really say the funniest things now. Here's one from Jezoir. Sometimes he wets his underwear cuz he refuses to stop playing and go pee. Then he has to face the wall. Once I told him to wait as I was in the middle of something. He came to me and said "My underwear is wet but i dun need to face the wall. It is your fault so you go and face the wall now. And for 5 min." Did i do it? Yes, but I nego for a much shorter time. Just count to 10. :)

Dal,
How are things with you? Let’s try to meet up during CNY… will be on leave for the whole week and am planning to fill up that week with activities around Singapore (thanks to Young Parents!) BTW, the DH group is planning to raid the wholesale fish market next week, would you be interested to join? Really just for fun and for the spirit of haggling and some laughter. The tots would be left behind. BTW, has enrolled Kell with this professional arts school starting on this Saturday (60 mins arts education by Nafa teachers and 30 mins speech and drama by JG teachers), you keen for a trial? Kell has been pretty much immersed in the pretence play stage since November. She will pretend to be a teacher, doctor, chef, lawyer, mummy and the whole family is expected to act as well. When she is a lawyer, she will ask ‘What are you guilty of?’ Hubby and I will come up with all funny craps and at times, she don’t get us, she will feel frustrated and say ‘Time off, mummy, can you explain to lawyer Kelly what is an accused?’ She is getting quite good with tenses; I saw, I ate… Stay in-touch via email lah…

<font color="ff0000">CHINESE NEW YEAR COSTUMES</font>
Any mummies have luck with getting pretty designs and good quality from Metro? I haven’t got a chance to go there but if there is, will find time to chiong down…

Paula - which sch is tat? why hv arts n S&amp;D by JG? same sch?

young parents - heard tat this mth mag hv a whole section of places to go with tods.

MTDT,
The name of the school is Rush-Me-Not at Novena Ville. Home based program that has impressed my husband so much that he insisted that Kell has to be enrolled for their S&amp;D too.

paula - interesting.

homebased... sounds gd. how much?
any info? email to me leh.

tot u join ACT3 with someone??

MTDT,
S$280 per month; all materials provided. It is a drop off program though... but think should be okay lah. I will collect some materials on this Saturday for you.

I think ACT3 did not go through lei.

BTW, u interested in sciences program?

MTDT,
the someone you meant me huh? haha...ya, din go thru cos too tiring to go with him. Will consider the weekend classes after i delivered and settled down on so routine...Hope i will still be sane after coping with a newborn + active tod + travelling hb with NO help...haha...

<font color="0000ff">joyfulmom,
Thanks for sharing the info regarding your conversation with Teacher Ping. I'm also at a crossroad of where to proceed after the course. Nonetheless, I'll concentrate on the basic first and will probably see how E progresses. For violin classes, think E is not ready yet but will see how.

Paula,
The course sounds very interesting!</font>

morning mummies, thanks for your well wishes!

poohy - J is still at LW, in the PM session. He is adjusting well to the twins, he will kiss them, pat them, wanna carry them, will bring milk to them and put in their mouth. after sch, he will rush into the room to say hi to bbs, and in the morning, he will come to my room to see the bbs.

ipanda - congrats! good timing for no. 2! two boys, must be really fun!

J is officially off diapers, been wearing underpants at school, and even when on outings, he will tell us when he wanna pee, and he will hold out till we find a place for him to pee. Next step is to train him to go diaperless at nite, find it tough, as will need to wake him up which will disturb his sleep, given he already wakes up once/twice a nite for milk (still).

toto,
how abt asking J to go toilet after his middle of nite feed?
Eh, i actually din let X wear underpants when he go sch, only shorts..cos its easier for him to pull down to go pee himself in sch..
But when we go gai gai, then will wear underpants plus his jeans/shorts etc cos i will go into the toilet with him...

Anyone else letting son go "brief-free"?

Ivy, brief free... not good rite? hmm... when he grow up, also need to wear brief rite?

Maybe can ask J to go pee after his nite feed... but at the moment, too flat out - w twins n J.

toto,
ya, i suppose not for long term to be brief-less..Once i see him better in pulling down and up his brief + shorts then will let him wear to sch...

paula
what's ur definition of gd? i engaged 2 cleaners last week, thru ntuc income..2 pax x 3 hrs = $110. standard quite ok if not very particular...

Steffi,
They would know what to do and do it well on auto pilot mode without me breathing down their neck. :) And will come with all their machineries too...

steffi

wat did u ask them to do? my hubby oso looking at engaging them...

any mummies with girl here succeed in going diaperless? celest can go without diaper during her day nap now but i havent start at nite.sometime if going out, will wear for her still if i am lazy...

<font color="ff6000"><font face="kristen ITC"><font size="+1">Thanks all for the well wishes.</font></font></font>

<font color="0077aa"><font face="kristen ITC"><font size="+1">When i asked Josh where is baby/didi, he will pat pat my tummy and said 'in stomach'. He will sayang &amp; kiss my stomach too! So sweet hor...but once i asked him, where shall didi sleep next time? He said óutside..means sleep next room. Then i replied mummy needs to feed didi, must sleep together, he said 'sleep at ah ma house'. So funny...

EDD is 13 jun..gynae said may be early too. That time Josh EDD is 10 jun...delivered 1wk early..on 4 jun. Hmmm...dunno if fall on same bday good or not....</font></font></font>

<font color="119911"><font face="kristen ITC"><font size="+1">calliope
yes..WK Tan still in practice...still going strong...haha</font></font></font>

<font color="0000ff"><font face="kristen ITC"><font size="+1">toto
how r u coping? is your hb still in usa?</font></font></font>

Angeline,
Kelly started going diaper less since last September although she was kinda of toilet trained since May. I haven’t tried letting her going diaper less at nights … thinking of waiting for a couple more months. Some nights she will wake up saying she wants to poo and pee but on many other nights, she still pees when she is deep in sleep… wait till I succeeded getting her to drink milk from her cup! So far, she okay with drinking milk from her cup in the morning and afternoon, but would insist on having the last feed via bottle! Argh!