(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Good morning...

Am back to work... feeling quite tired after parties & outings during the break. Now finding it difficult to start my work engine esp when this is also a short week.

Hi Spice,
Had tt you yesterday nite and hv dropped u an email as well.

Mummies get together

Venue: Bambini playclub at Kallang Leisure Park
Date: 30 Dec, Tues
Time: 10 am
Fees: 2 kinds, either
1. Mummy & me starting at 10 am, ends at 12 noon. play session $8 per hr; or

2. Buy 1 hr, and get another 30 mins free..all in 1.5 hr play for $8....to extract the best out of this price, must be there by 10 am (cos charges after 12 noon is $16 per hr) and also bring along the following coupon:

http://www.ufamily.org.sg/public/resources/0812_BBC.pdf

1. Aishite + S
2. Joyfulmum + G

Mummies who are going pls do try to be punctual, in the name of stretching the dollar, so if we opt for option [2], we pay only $8 for 90 mins of play and kids can start and end at the same time :) C ya!

How is everybody? Finally back in action after being crunched by numbers… Had a good six days break and now, find it hard to get back to momentum. Think can only start gearing up again after CNY!

How are the nursery kids doing?

Ashite, should plan one BIG gathering for CNY 2009… I on leave for whole week …

Cutie, if you are self-collecting, then should be only $4.10. Will refund you 40 cents when i see you.

Dor, Angeline & Oki, will mail out tonight.

I'm a june 06 mummy. And urgently would like to seek advise from u all. My son is 2.5yo and we hv been considering to put him in a childcare centre in next year, i'm staying in sengkang and wondering any mtb can recommend any good childcare and any mtb putting their kids in Little World Childcare centre (rivervale plaza)before?

Hi Pauline,

I just read through the previous threads. Noticed that you have been promoting LV@RP.

How's the school? What about the teachers that have been attached to her?

Please do help me out as i am looking for a childcare =)

See Ya Later, Bring Coupon & Socks !!

Mummies get together

Venue: Bambini playclub at Kallang Leisure Park
Date: 30 Dec, Tues
Time: 10 am
Fees: 2 kinds, either
1. Mummy & me starting at 10 am, ends at 12 noon. play session $8 per hr; or

2. Buy 1 hr, and get another 30 mins free..all in 1.5 hr play for $8....to extract the best out of this price, must be there by 10 am (cos charges after 12 noon is $16 per hr) and also bring along the following coupon:
http://www.ufamily.org.sg/public/resources/0812_BBC.pdf

Hi, Rebecca,

LV@RP is a well-organized school. There is a school principal and she is supported by two or three head teachers. Across all levels, they engaged in specialist Chinese language teachers. Both English and Chinese language teachers do attend training very regularly throughout the year. They advocate the eight multiples of intelligence and this is integrated into their day-to-day curricula. They adopted the open classroom concepts where classes are partitioned by low shelves and cupboards. Pros of open classroom concept; reduce anxiety in children, some research has also shown that such concept do promote curiosity and creativity in children. Cons: noises from the neighboring classes would be a distraction. In LV@RP, most of the classes are well-spaced out.

The children in the school are exposed to project works. The teachers in this school emphasize on cultivating their manners and moral values. All major festivals are celebrated in school whereby the teachers would act out the origins of the festivals and the children will be exposed to cultural origins behind it. They have twice a year Parent-Teacher conference and the teachers are expected to maintain a yearly portfolio (containing written assessment against the eight multiples of intelligences and some of their best works) of the child. They do hand out homework from times to times whereby they expect parent to work together with the child to produce some artworks.

Teachers to students’ ratio for pre-school are 2:8 and 2:9 for N1. Curricula do appear to be quite advanced. In N1, the children would be exposed to the following curricula.

• Letterland phonics (children will be taught the phonetic sounds of A-Z in N1)
• Rigby literacy (literacy program whereby the children will be taught how to read based on the famous English readers series).
• Numbers and counting
• Workbooks will be introduced in term 2.
• Sciences (natural sciences) is introduced in N1 too and they will be exposed to cooking classes.

On top of these, you are also given an option to enroll your child with enrichment programs such as Music for the Intelligent Mind and Shakespeare Speech & Drama at additional costs. There will be more excursions and outings this year because of the introduction of sciences. From times to times, the school will book RP’s track and field or basketball court and bring the whole army of children out for some work-out. They do bring the kids to the pool on alternate Fridays but this is put on hold because of HFMD. So far, HFMD is kept on bay in the school. We will be informed about the suspected cases or even where there is a reported case, the chances of hearing more about infected children is very less because their hygiene level is really top class.

The teachers in the school are quite caring and they do speak and write good English. Their children do appear to be a bunch of cheerful and confident kids (observation of their K1 and K2 children).

Kell’s playgroup teachers really touched me. She was promoted to N1 in December and to be frank, I am still assessing her new teachers. So far, they haven’t failed me in my expectations and Kell is still enjoying school. So, so far so good for me still… I was told told that their N1 and N2 classes are fully enrolled and parents are now sitting on their waiting list. If you are interested, just give Joan (principal) or Teacher Putri a call.

Hi Pauline.

Thanks so much for the detailed article about LV@RP =D

I came across a few of your posts saying that teacher wen is one of the best in the schoo, is it?

I am thinking of dropping by one day to take a look.

Aishite,
Haha… I think I can write an A-Star essay if the school ever disappoints me.

Re. Easter C Vitamin
Btw, I brought a bottle of this vitamin for Kell. Any idea what is the dosage to be given to her? It is not mentioned on the bottle packaging and I can’t recall what the salesman told me.

Re: House Valuation
Any idea that what we should prepare when the valuators come our house huh? What are the things that they will look for? Would they be checking our storeroom too?

Rebecca,
Yep, her two playgroup teachers, Teacher Wen and An Laoshi. A pity that they were promoted to teach N2 class. Another plus thing is that their food menu is planned in accordance with one of the local ministries guidelines. I can’t remember what ministry is that!

Best time to catch them in action would be between 10am to 12pm.

Pauline,

It's indeed hard to find dedicated teachers around =) Are they in their 30s-40s? Coz i am considering whether it will be good for young or old teachers to teach.

Actually, my friend went to the centre before and think she caught someone who fits to your description of teacher wen. My friend observed for a while and find that she really likes her, think chemistry, ha. Confirm cant get in, coz the waiting list like so long.

What about your child current teacher?

Thanks =)

Rebecca,
Most of their teachers aged between mid 20s to early 30s. I guess, the children might find younger teachers easier to click…

This is only her third week in nursery class and I am still trying to form my opinion of her. All I can say is that she is caring and responsive. I have been guiding her along in the past weeks on caring for Kelly and so far, she has been utilizing the tips and I guess, it eases Kell into the class faster. The lucky think is that she is in the same class as that of the school principal’s son. Hence, I do hope that the quality of the teachers won’t disappoint me.

Where do you stay?

bbloh,

they teach basic music concepts, introduce composers and instruments to the toddlers.
I find the class good.
Depends on what you are looking for, there is Seimpi music appreciation class too but not sure what they teach.

Paula

House valuation
Make sure your house is clean n not cluttered when they come around, including all rooms + kitchen + toilets. Airy and sunny environment help in creating the "feel good" factor. Remember, they will be taking photos of your place, so cleanliness, tidiness, and pleasant feel rank v high, esp they will refer to the photo long after they have left your place.

When they come, be v courteous, offer them nice drinks, make small chit chats like the way you will do with frens and make them feel at home. They are humans beings after all. But don't overdo, or it will be synthetic.

That time I put my HDB flat on sale, and did exactly the above and even gave the valuer a lift from Sembawang to Raffles Place, needless to say...I have the highest valuation for my block at that time, even my agent was pretty shocked and surprised at the high # :)

Pauline.

Good to know that the new class is going on well for your child =)

I am staying at sembawang. So thinking of looking for a childcare nearby.

Do share with me more! Thanks so much.

Pauline,
As mentioned by aishite re valuation, just make sure your house is clean and neat across all rooms, toilets, kitchen. I packed all of jezoir's toys into a room and just explained to the valuer. They will understand. (though i think one room is not enough for you. :p) This will make the living room look spacious. As for the bomb shelter, I left the door opened for a few days and sprayed de-odourizer to get rid of the stale air smell. Even toilets are cleared of all bath toys and only minimal bath products were seen. Before the valuer arrives, open the curtains and windows to make the place bright. If the weather is hot, switch on the air-con for a short while to cool down the place. If you have installed any special lightings, just switch them on. It really does make a difference to the 'feel'. Our valuation was also highest at the point of selling, much to the surprise of our agent too. Just keep things to the minimum as the less cluttered the picture looks, the better it is for valuation. All the best!

Ashite,
Thanks thanks! Do they check the storeroom too? My storeroom is in a complete mess and I doubt I have time to clear that!

Have a very very happy new year filled with love and laughters! Jetting off to New Orleans tomorrow liao. My wish for 2009 is to have a year freed from business trips!

Paula

Ya, they also checked the storeroom, though they didnt take piccie of it. Aiya, ask patsy's maid to go down and help u clear :)

Bon voyage n hv a blessed trip

Angeline,
Yea, managed to clear my living room. I have turned kelly's bedroom into a playroom with areas divided for cooking and pretence play. So most toys are packed into their respective shelving units loh. While others were donated to salavation army.

Only things left is her table and all her puzzles...

i also working! :p

sunflower = dunno which branch leh.. how to cheong! hahhaha :p

today which kid starting sch huh??

<font color="0000ff">sunflower,
Thanks for your comments. I went for a trial at Seimpi Funan sometime ago and I didn't like it.

Paula,
Wow! New Year = New Home? That's nice!</font>

Back to work but not in the mood too :p &amp; CNY swinging by in 3 weeks!

ER is starting school today. He should do fine since he's been going for daily a year ago, just that it's a different school now.

bbloh - Seimpi heard tat only 1 teacher is gd in Funan. My frens in Seimpi... and seriously... they teaches more stuff than mandivelle. think by 4lessons... they are playing the keyboard note c already. whereas, Mandeville is 2nd term :p

bbloh: I went for the Seimpi Parkway preview about 2 weeks back. Wasn't very impressed so did not sign up on the spot. And luckily I did that cos they changed the timeslot from 1045am to 1145am within 2 days from the preview - clashes with lunchtime.

paula: Take care &amp; enjoy your US business trip!

oki,

so good.. can go home earlier...

aiya super duper sian today!!!!

mtdt,

oh seimpi syllabus that fast. hmmm hee but I'm ok with Mand.

Sunflower,

Yeh hope so since she has been attending playgroup for the last 3mths plus.

Yup she is on the 3hrs playgroup and same school as Kite's ger but different class same session. The school is Faith Methodist Kindergarten @ Commonwealth

I was thinking if same class the teacher might be confused by the gers' name and even their chinese names are quite close leh.