(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

hi peng,

I'm fine with Sat evening.

hi aishite,

which gym is Shan going to?
any good swim instructors to intro??

Sunflower
I am trying her at Sky Gym for a while to see if she likes it.
Swim instructors, I haven't ventured cos Shan is not exactly liking her head to be under the water. I hear Wendy of Marsden is good though.

ok so lets settle at 1 aug
Next Sat, 1 Aug, 5pm at Fidgets
1) Peng - 2 kids
2) Sunflower - 1 kid
3) Angeline - 1 kid

Sunflower
I am also thinking of teaching my kids to swim. But like Shan, my kids are afraid of ducking their heads into the water.. thinking of teaching ourselves, but not very sure of how to start.. hmmm.. i am scared if go for instructor, they would have phobia of water if they duck their heads into the water..

hello mummies
super long long never post here
hows everyone?

i m looking for a weekend activities for zhi yi too,

Peng
where's the fidget

re:swiming
i've been searching for the swimming lesson for ZY too, am sending her for a trial class at aquaduck..there is a heated/warm pool at Portsdown Road located near South Buona Vista Road..but parent need to accompany the kid whole session

oops sotong me.. din see it.. tks oki for highlighting this..

If that's the case, shall we change it to the am? think most kids would take afternoon nap.. sunflower and angeline, u ok?

1st Aug, 10am..
1) Peng - 2 kids

wow... playdate at fidgets. so fun!
parents can sit n relax at one area while the kids go play.

their maze is pretty challanging for adults. so make sure ur kid is "steady" enough to be up there alone ok.

enjoy!

Just called Fidgets.. All 8 kids must enter together to enjoy the discount.. The $8 food combo must be purchased if want to enjoy the 10% discount..

So how? Sunflower, u want to change timing to 11am? Would it be better for u?? Hmm.. we still don't gather enough kids..

so mtdt, u want to come?

any mummies here need to get Pigeon pdts? Celest school got 25% disc in a tie-up promo with Pigeon..let me koe ya..can help to order..

hi peng,

no worries. Thanks.

Taka has toy fair at basement, so go grab more TOYSSSS!!!! wahaha...

but I'm staying away from there ;)

ivy

yup..u want i can forward u the email..but i need to send my list to the school by 31st july...let me koe soon ya..

aishite -

New n large space.
equipments are mostly "real gym" stuff like balancing beams, those 2 bars stuff. not kiddy stuff like gymborees etc.

instructors - huh.. bio huh. dunno! hahaha
the male tr tat did Zav class says he is with Little gym for coming 6yrs. the commented tat since it's only the 1st class, so cant expect too much.. more of the kids getting used to the structure.

they did forward roll, somersault, balancing beams on 2 height, walking sideways on 2 bars... and swinging with legs and hands on the rod. (if u can imagine it :p)

Overall not bad...

saw at poohy also registered samuel+joelle in their class. proper class shd hv more comments :p

MT
Tks!
Marina is much near to my place than Turf City...so may go look c look c...have the free trial brochure for Little Gym too, just that signed up wif Sky Gym oledi, which is fairly good...my gymnast frens send their kids there too, so hearing from gymnasts themselves...i feel pass the basic bar

ivy

ops..saw the thread too late..so sorry..today is the day to submit order..next time k? they are going to be on quarterly basis..

aishite - sky gym is the one near to fidgets right? heard many gd reviews abt tat gym too. and comments also say one of the "real" gym class.

Sunflower - yes, same as forum. I also went trial at forum before. but since it's FOC trial at MS... i go for it again for age 3 class. hahaha me cheapo lah! :p

Ivy
Mine cried like mad cos it was a drop-off program. She's v v clingy to me, but thankfully, her principal gave me a few tips on how to tackle that, so it's looking up n she's starting to enjoy.

Funny thing was even though she refused to do anything at gym previously, at home she will show to me what gym is supposed to be like...she put on this posie couple of days back...I quite like it...esp check out those legs...wa ha ha

2756215.jpg

Hi, pauline, it's best not to complaint too often, I've a friend who used to run a CC, but gave up the biz cos too difficult to get committed teachers. She said we really shouldn't complain cos if the teacher is revengeful, "God help the kid" ... the thought of that statement scares me ...

Think I will go Little Gym later to take a look " )

Angline
Long legs, wow, not at the present, but yes, I pray she will them when she gets older...she's in the low 90s...but defined legs, fairly toned n shapely :)

MT,
Gym with a CC, runs by Above & beyond gym. Not much equipment but experienced instructor, good fun and nearer to my place - convenient enough. Just want her to be comfy with her body movement. I don't dare to teacj her those tricks at home. Thought better send her to experienced ppe. :p

http://abgymsport.com/

Aishite's gal goes for higher potential training. National gymnast in the making *wink*..keke.

Joyfulmum

National gymnast, like tat ah...ok ok, I claim tat...better go n shape up myself in the meantime, cos they always snap fotos of the parents too :)

Me jiak sai la

alshite,

what are the tips to "wean" off clingy child? So far i dun have much success with sending my son to enrichment classes that is drop off type...
( even tho he is ok with his daily cc, drop off without problems!).

PS: Nice pair of legs your gal has, unlike my thunder thighs!

<font face="tahoma">Aishite,
WOW... really nice pair of legs!

I wanna know the tips too. Mine super clingy now. Just started recently, he's ok for awhile when dropped off at CC. Recently, there's change of teachers and he started whining every morning! I'm losing my patience..... </font>

re: little gym

My 3 kiddos attended their first trial at forums too. They love it so much but unfortunately there were no available time slots on weekend at all for them. Argh Then the marina sq one open and so we went for a free trial (MTDT, me too, cheapo hehee) and then sign up. We signed up the 2 older ones as the bb class was full last term becos of all the free trials. And they gave us 4 free baby classes free for Joshua. So he is now attending the baby class free

They are doing early enrolment now so I signed the 3 of them up all the way to end of year. I think they gave us additional 15% siblings discount or something like dat.

I like it at marina square cos can do shopping while they are in gym.

I like the gym very much... and my kids loved to do the forward rolls and stuff... I thought its good to build balance and confidence. Joshua also goes because I like the exercises they taught for babies class too...

re: super clingy kid

Samuel is super clingy from young. Till now, he still feel reluctant to go to classes without us... with exception for the berries and little gym. Each year when he changed teacher or class, I will experience a few months of crying. He gets slightly better as he grows up but still, he is not as easy as Joelle in that sense. She is really independent.

poohy - wow... u got a gd deal from little gym.

ashite - i rem shan used to be a v independent gal too. changed becos u r a PT SAHM now? :p
but ur gal does hv the potential for ballet/gym. hehe

mspiggy,

hugs hugs.. give W more time, change of teachers and environment is a big deal for kids. He'll adapt to the new teachers soon after he gets to know them better.

<font face="tahoma"> Poohy,
maybe Wesley is like Samuel, they are #1 and we give them 1-1 attention and when sister comes along, they super jealous and still very clingy.

While #2 has to be more independent, coz they dont get so much 1-1 attention. That's from my point. Is it true for your side?

I'm trying to be tough on Wes now... but still doesnt work. </font>

<font face="tahoma">Sunflower,
Am not sure if it's really the teacher... coz Wes asks me why I can company him to JG class and not CC. He will give 101 reasons... saying he misses me, he loves me, he wants to be with me. Every night, I will have to start telling him sch is good, teachers are good, there's kids to play with.... </font>

Ivy, Mspiggy

Her school principal shared with me at this age, kids are still fairly ego-centri, so it's all about "me-me-me". Identity attachment is v impt to them, so she suggested that it's best that they hv frens in the prog with them. This is how I built identity attachment for her at drop off gym &amp; art clas:

1. 1st time she cried like mad, let her be (but our hearts sink la, be patient with them n wif ourselves), I take the time to size up which teachers r v patient wif young kids and whom shan like, and ask them if they can there at 2nd session &amp; subsequent ones to bring her in. They normally cooperate, and will spend a lot of time wif her at subsequent sessions to familiarise her wif activites + environment, helps build a lot of confidence. I notice that at church, Shan hv a fave Sunday school teacher too....always going to him

2. For the gym 2nd session last Sat, I saw tis 5 yo n 3 yo sisters hanging around, waiting for class to start, n got Shan to share her sweets with them, n got them all to introduce one another. Made frens like tat. At gym itself, when Shan was starting to feel uncomfy (though the teacher she liked was with her then), the new 3 yo fren voluntarily went to sit rite next to Shan n she felt a lot better. The astute gym teacher naturally put them both in the same team of 3. End of session, I praised Shan like mad for doing it alone n I also told the 3 yo's mum wat a great fren she was to Shan. Needless to say, next week onwards, Shan's gonna feel a lot more confident cos she now has a fren + a teacher to look fwd to :)

3. I also used sweets to bribe her to go. She only gets to hv sweets on Sat, so it's a v v precious commodity. I ask her to choose 2 types, one for pre-gym, another for post-gym. Before gym starts, when the teacher was going to bring her in, she started to "no, no, no", so I passed the sweets to teacher and Shan "guai guai" follow, not without putting up a good resistance :). Then post gym reward her with another sweet lor.

4. We spend the whole week prepping her that it's a drop off class, she's inside, we are outside, and she can see us. We also said "adults are not allowed inside, only children + teachers". And got reinforcement from staff at these drop-offs to tell her the exact same thing. It helps tat they hear from outsiders, then from us parents :). Just keep piling positive reinforcing comments on them.

Mspiggy
Who are Wes' good frens in school? Use their names &amp; familiar teachers there to make him look forward ?

mspiggy: U may also want to explain diff sch has diff regulations so JG u can accompany, CC cannot. Maybe relate to his classmates? say his classmates' parents also never accompany them? Sometimes it could be becos of sth that happened in cc then they find excuses not to go. Have to be patient &amp; find out from teacher if anything special happened. Try telling his teacher abt his behaviour &amp; get them to help?

mspiggy,

have a talk with his teacher to find out what's been happening and maybe like what aishite mentioned, keep prepping him positively for school.