(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

tinklebell,

aiya, the fringe not too bad la... thought really all kenna chop off.
wow both kids has grown so handsome & pretty

Joy
Sounds like sooooooooooo much fun, lets plan to go there together :) But must find way to cut back la...i find 2k so steep (but must admit 4D 3D + 3 air tix is around that range la)

Incidentially, my another good fren is there wif her 2 kids....4 yo gal & 2 yo boy...u may just c there near u :)

Peng,
Eh, sorry for d confusion. It was19 cases of stomach flu bug in K’s center and 30 cases of h1n1 in Republic Polytechnic. K’s center is situated inside Republic Poly campus and is just housed under the hostels which is used to quarantine students. The fact abt the bug is that it will be left on the surface for eight hours and hence, increases the chances of exposure. Brought K back to have her flu shot today and her PD said no no, cannot send her back to school till the condition in RP turns better as she has a long history of UTRI; might kena even harder if she suai suai kena the bug.

Sunflower,
Heard Cheri Hearts will have a new campus in Hwa Chong. Frankly, I am not too sure how to proceed next also. K refused to go new school when I spoke to her saying that she has many friends and fave teachers in LV. VP is already on long leave too. So, during the infectious disease outbreak, it was the head teacher and senior teachers running d show.

Joyful,
Thanks for the heads up on Colours of Ballet… very inspiring performance. K was inspired and came home with lotsa of ballerina’s gestures and postures… When the performance was concluded, the children were invited to go on stage to mingle with the ballerinas. K insisted that I should bring her up the stage. So I thought she wanted to go up just for fun. We went up and she insisted that we should shake the ballerina hands to say ‘thank you’. We did … and the good thing that comes out of it is that she still insists that she wants to dance like a ballerina and want to learn ballet. I will ask again in a week’s time, in the meanwhile, it will be zoo zoo zoo throughout! Hahha.

Has anybody tried Kota kinabalu for holiday with kids? Wonder how's the beach. Read Joyful's sharing of Redang beach, but I think abit too primitive for young one. Wondering if next hol to kota kinabalu would be worth a thot

Hi Peng
Ha ha! The start of P1 was q stressful for me. Cos I'm q a lazy parent...it's like having to go back to school ever since A start his P1. The school didn't give so much homework in the first semester. But they are a bit more advanced in their teaching syllabus. They have their own math textbook. Academic wise, A's classmates were quite competitive cos many of their mummies are full time SAHM and are v hands on and they got the time to teach their kids in advance whereas I'm there struggling for more free time to teach him...haha but that's more of a personal struggle lah... anyway, I've managed to cover till end of year syllabas for math during this june hols..haha. Hopefully A wont be lost when school starts. So far, I think it's not a bad school.
Got in mind some schools for the girls liao lah but cant decide which one yet. thankfully no need to shift house this time :p

Paula
Oic.. must take good care of kelly.. pretty frightening virus flying around.. u take care too. dun get overtired..

tinklebell
that's what i heard abt the good pri sch that the parents are more SAHM and teach the kids in advance or engage tuition teachers.. so the teachers are supposed to teach advanced topics.. alot of commitment from parents.. but good that u have been managed to cope.. haha.. good dun need to shift hse this time..

Joyfulmom:
Redang is really a paradise. We went couples of years ago and we stayed at Berjaya resort too. Went snorkelling and enjoyed seeing the coral reefs, black tip shark, stingray, marine fishes are so beautiful.....Did u catch the glowing worm at nite?

tinkerbell,
you made me think twice abt sending X to a good sch..cos i think he and me will be so stressed catching up with the teacher.

Paula,
i second MTDT's suggestion! Mindchamps..haha...
They flooded our letterbox with flyers and discount coupons! $200 off registrations wor!

mtdt,

congratulation!! I just log in today and heard this good news!!

Finally back in action again after 2 long months without maid, house shifting... finally settle down..

Ivy,
Yea, was going through the website. Everything reads so impressive ... going down to see their premise in Tanglin and Fusionpolis on Monday. When I clicked on the founder... I really laughed out loud. What a big round about I have been going around. Haha.

Would you tolerate if your child's teacher keeps on absenting from school for at least one day a week for the past six months and you detected untruth in what was relayed on to you? Since earlier this year, I noticed that her teacher has been going on 1 day leave on one week and 1 day MC on the next week. This went on till April 2009 and I queried the principal if the teacher is undergoing a bad patch? The principal told me that the teacher is taking a course right now (her own course) and she took leaves to study. I told her I understand that her teachers are entitled to leaves entitlements but I found it unacceptable that it could be coordinated so well -1 day MC this week, 1 day leave next week - and this went on for four months. Also, I told her that I have no problem if this trend is to continue but I am expecting lessons to be resumed for her class in her absence. That means, as an employer, the school has to employ a perm relief teacher to take care of the class to ensure that lessons resumed. I told her that I felt shortchanged because whilst other classes are going at the full pace, the children in this class is only studying 4 days a week because of her absence. She assured me that the children in this class are taken care by other two N1 classes teachers when the main teacher is around. But K has been telling me that it is a Chinese teacher who is caring for them in the absence of her main teacher. I have been closing my eyes - unreported calls of falls and bruises, unreported calls of vomiting and blah blah blah, hoping that things would get better afterall her current teacher is a nice lady. The recent case of H1N1 is a trigger to another round of questioning that I had for school. They did not bother to update any parents at all about contingency plans taken into consideration that they are situated right in the hotspot. The stomach flu case was another incident. Worst still, the PTC was supposed to be organized on one weekend but it was cancelled due to the stomach flu outbreak. It made senses. Then, on the first week of H1N1 outbreak, the teacher said that the principal demanded the PTC to be held on the Saturday of that week. Many parents questioned about the common sense of it but all we were told were that the principal wanted it. So okay, we booked our slots. Then on Friday afternoon, we received an a very hastily written email saying that PTC is cancelled tomorrow because of staff training. I know that was a lame excuse. Fine. Subsequently, PTC was postponed to tomorrow and again, this afternoon, we received an email saying that it is postponed to this Saturday again. It turned out that the staff training was an excuse while other classes have already completed their PTCs. One of the mummies got so upset that she called up the HQ directly and I am meeting up with the school’s district manager tomorrow to talk through these. Wish me lucks. K said she loves this school very much, it will really hurts me to tear her away from her friends and teachers but, it the DM is going to give craps tomorrow, I guess, I have to pull her out and demand for compensation of school fees for the first six months and bring this case up all the way to the respective MOEs for acts of deceiving.

MTDT & Serene: Congrats!

Paula: How come the school only postponed your class's PTC? That's wierd. Anyway, hope you'll be able to reach some resolution. It's always tough to switch schools for the tods when they are happy with the current class. I had to explain to ER why he had to change school when no more maid. Even brought him back to the old school to see his teacher cos he misses her.

mtdt

wah.. u go spotting pple hor. hahaha..

tt day see you, but nvr see ur tummy wor. kekeke.

serene
keep so quiet... tt day ask u, u nvr tell me har. hehehehe.

hahaha.... my tummy still same same lah. only fats. :p

serene - ya loh. come in here to congrats me nia. never announce. hahahaha

Haha was informed someone announce something here.

MT,
U finally announce liao ar
Anyway, congrats to you once again.

Serene,
U too, congrats congrats !!

sunflower- only "hahaha"... and din deny...nan dao....

oki - hehe.. i din announced too. was spot on by someone else. :p thanks

Rodeo,
How is ER coping with the new school? The good thing that came out of it is that the district manager sounds impartial. He acknowledged that it is a valid concern and that we are not being unreasonable cos most of the complaints that he dealt with are why the children had mosquitoes bites, why children are bath with cold water and etc.

I made it very clear to him that I am not going after her teacher cos’ I acknowledged that she is a nice lady and is making efforts to make up for lost time. I told him that I am happy that the teacher is continuing to upgrading herself with the organization support, after all, this will benefits the children. However, if the organization supports it, then it is logical that the organization should come up with a good support plan to ensure that customers’ benefits are not cannibalized. I told him, what I want to know is a solution. The principal said give them six months. Now, it is six months liao and I don’t think I am unreasonable to jump the gun. I told him, if the teacher has to continue the trend of absence, then please bring in an assistant teacher to ensure that the lessons resumed as planned. Put it curtly, why should I be paying the same for 3-4 days lessons vis-a-vis other classes children are attending daily lessons? He did advise me against changing school and assured/guaranteed that the girls won’t be blacklisted when they are back; afterall, educators are bound by ethics. I told him to revert by this Friday with the solution, failing which, it will be withdrawal for my girl. The other mummies are concerned on the blacklisted part and that the girls would be subjected to gossips when they are back. But I told them, I don’t care about that as we did nothing wrong. If they could offer me a good solution and guarantee that my girls won’t be subjected to discrimination, K will be back next week. Any signs of discrimination, I will make sure this is a national case.

Very tiring. Going down to Mindchamps this Friday and Cherie Hearts at Hwa Chong on next Tuesday. Spoke to K last night about the possibility of changing school. She said, ‘I don’t agree because I love my teachers and friends’ But I guess, I have to be cruel and start testing her survival skills now.

Wen, sorry, didn’t got time to reply to your message yesterday. It was crazy, back to back meetings.

Ivy,
Haha, you are seeing repeated incidents of early advertisements backfired with Celeste and my cases. LV@RP is a decent school just that they are going through a back patch now and communication broke down because of negligence. Their curricula are still one the of most superior and have a good pool of teachers.

<font color="0000ff"><font size="+1">A Children Art Exhition @ The Arts House</font>

This exhibition depicts a group of children's (age 4 to 13) artistic and creative expression of the different facets of the 4 seasons. More than 200 pieces of artworks and collaborative collages will be showcased.

This event is open to the public and admission is free.

Terms &amp; Conditions:
For more information, please visit www.artzone.com.sg

Venue: The Arts House (The Old Parliament House)
Time: 11:00am to 7:00pm
Tel: 6333 8203 / 6472 0963
Date: 3rd Jul 2009 to 5th Jul 2009</font>

Ladies, thank you.
I'm barely 7 wks only, so didn't plan to announce so early. So far only immediate family know.

Dor, that day we met, I was not pregnant.

hi serene

i would hv guess so, hehehe.. congrats again
so gonna be a end Ox or Tiger? We are still talkin abt doin confinement during CNY period... seems sooo zhun. hehehe.

Wan to ask this qns: How do you know whether your child is enjoying school? Does he/she tell you about their classmate or what they are doin in school now etc when you ask them now?

Paula: I think ER is adapting well to the cc. 1st 2 wks bad, keep saying want to go back old school. His chinese teacher talked to him, then he was ok for the next 3 wks until he fell sick &amp; stayed at home for 2 wks. And the cycle restarts. The night b4 he'll say "I don't want to go cherie hearts", clingy &amp; cried a lot when I drop him off(worse than beginning). Teacher will pull him away from me and I had to be cruel &amp; ignore his crying &amp; running towards me as I leave the cc. The chinese teacher talked to him again, &amp; he has been ok since then. So far, I think his chinese teacher is quite good, though she works only for the morning.

Curriculum - Frankly, I don't have much insights to what they teach/do though they have a curriculum. ER has been unable to tell me when I asked him, but he has been talking more mandarin &amp; singing many mandarin songs. Apart from this, I don't see him displaying the results of whatever is taught, be it maths/english/science. This aspect, however, was apparent from his previous school. He would say/recognise things which I have never taught him. During the PTC session, his teacher said drawing/tracing/writing is not part of their age's curriculum when I enquired. Same for the other CCs?

Food - think they serve very little. He has become noticeably thinner since starting cc. Finally got a guage of their serving size during the PTC cos i requested to see the bowl size they use. Really small lor 8( I'm not sure if it's the same for other cc. And because I'm working, by the time can eat dinner, it's already 7+. He's always very hungry.

When you say the girls being blacklisted, u are refering to the kids? Why would they be blacklisted &amp; subjected to gossip? just becos parents expressed -ve feedback?

Dor: I take that if he don't refuse to go to school, then it means they are somewhat enjoying school. ER hasn't really been talking much about what's done in school or who his friends are, at least not volunteerily. But I noticed that he does knows his classmates' names &amp; will call them when we meet them in the neighbourhood. If I compare cc vs his old pg, he was more willing to talk about the old pg which I interpreted it as he enjoyed the old school better.

<font face="tahoma">wow... this thread comes alive again!

serene,

joyfulmom,
redang seems so accessible now! maybe shd consider a trip there

dor,
recently wes keeps asking if he can dont go sch... not sure what happened in his cc. i suspected maybe the new english teacher... a new teacher just join and she seems very stern and strict. </font>

Dor - why? M ranting dun wan to go sch?

For zav... some morns, he wld still whine dun wan to go sch. but when i say papa/mummy going to work. he also dun fuss anymore.

but everynite, he wld come back with lots of stories abt his sch frens/trs/even sch bus uncle. so i guess he still enjoys sch bah :p

<font color="0000ff">Hmm ... sometime DS will say he doesn't want to go to school but he'll still go when we explain that we need to work and will go to fetch him. He does seem happy when we fetch him though and loves to sing songs and sometimes doodles at home. So, perhaps it's neutral for him.</font>

mspiggy/mtdt/rodeo

yeah, M had been refusing to go to Nanny hse too. Every morn wake up, whine &amp; whine. Keep sayin she wants to stay at hm. From nanny hse to the school, she also whining also, refusing to go into sch. But back frm sch, she is alright already.

Mtdt
U see, Z will talk abt his sch to u.. but M nvr tell me anything abt her frens even when i asked. She will just sing and sing, recites her phonics songs n chinese poems to me. So i wonder if she likes her school not.
sigh...

Hv checked w the school, they said she is quite reserved on Mon, Tues she is alright but yet to receive feedback frm Teacher in charge on how she behaves yesterday &amp; today lor.. well they say, they will monitor closely. Mayb she played too much last week as this week the sch just re-opened. cross my fingers that she stops her whining soon.

Oh sch just reopens mah. Normal lah. When zav came from oz.. Also dun wan go.. Mummy dun wan work... Papa dun wan work etc. :p

Maybe now she is fine liao

rodeo,
wld it help if u raised it to the teachers u want bigger portion in ER's bowl? ER may not notice it and might finish up a bigger portion unwittingly?
Or pack a snack box for him if allowed?

My kids' kindy has small bowls for snacks... mainly watery porridge, or soup macaroni. I hardly see any ingredients in it but my kids claim it's yummy (compared to my cooking, maybe :p ). Ahboy is a big eater. Teachers told me a few times that he eats alot... like 3 servings. Apparently they ask if the kid wants more and my kid keeps nodding his head. I actually requested they not feed him so much, as after that, he doesn't have appetite for the lunch I prepare for him.
Ahgirl used to take multiple servings but I told her not to, and she says she takes only 1 bowl nowadays. (True or not I didn't check).