(2005/02) Feb/Mar 2005 Babies

hoho,

long time since last heard from you? how's everything? you expecting?

what do they do in ACT3? S is in JG edudrama for almost a year liao.. they do some acting and pretending.... but not to the point where they role play kind.
But I think N2 onwards prob will have more real acting

I am considering sending S to Kumon and Berries. He likes worksheet very much and had been pestering me to send him to Kumon ever since I told him Kumon is all abt worksheets lol

poohy
M is like S. he loves to do worksheets!!! i jus bought 3 giant books of worksheets! Berries is chinese learning right?

think that coz they are conducted by experience theater artists.

I was told the holiday workshop super hot too!

i am on a mission ....
A mission in finding big girl toothpaste for Q.
I think it's time to give up the first teeth toothpaste. The thing is I couldn't find those with detergent free component here ........ anybody has tried any other brand??? I am not talking abt oral b or colgate kids toothpaste

toothpaste has DETERGENT?!?!
ignatius has used the Pigeon brand, and Lion brand.
the Lion brand one managed to remove some of the iron stains from his teeth...so in that aspect, pretty gd.

Should we take the feedback from 3 yrs old seriously? I am battling with this qn tonite... until can't sleep.

Brought YX to the new school today. SHe quietly observed everything. She asked 2 questions - where is my pink tutu and can i play at the playground...she then had fun playing at the playground with J.

came home tonite, she was playing with her jr engineering set. She took out some blocks and arrange them. The blocks has 2 colors.. on some sides, it's yellow. On others, it is blue. I was idly chit chatting about school with her. Then she suddenly said.. don like yellow.. yellow is nafa (uniform color).. i want blue.. blue is raintree (her class).. and proceed to flip everything to blue.

Then she tells me she don like the new school. the school is not pretty. she donwan pink tutu. she donwan the playground. she wants raintree and only raintree...

After the visit, i have a couple of reservations about the new school.

1. the class size is 20 and only 2 teachers. That seems like a big class to me.
2. peeped into dance class, and saw the dance teacher (from china) teaching the class in english... her accent is really quite jarring..
3. the snack time is about 930/10.. and they eat like lunch menu.. then yx has to wait till almost 130 when she gets back b4 she can have another meal... not very ideal...

now i am stuck.. donno how... ponder.. wonder..

folic

qdee
u can try these
http://www.vitacost.com/Weleda-Childrens-Tooth-Gel-1-78-oz
http://www.vitacost.com/Weleda-Calendula-Toothpaste
http://www.vitacost.com/Toms-of-Maine-Natural-Anticavity-Fluoride-Toothpaste-for-Children
M & Jo use this http://www.vitacost.com/Earths-Best-Toddler-Toothpaste-Strawberry-Banana
i'll be happy to org a vitacost spree if u r interested. think the mar07 mommies sure got things to order.

folic
toddlers dun like change and may not take changes easily. they will be resistant in the beginning, but will learn to accept.

(1) Kindergarten is diff from Childcare. the ratio of children to teacher is larger. M's pre-nursery class now has 16 kids w 1 teacher + 1 assistant teacher.
(2) this is bad, can u feedback to the principal?
(3) in school, M has bkf at 9am, then another snack at 1030am. he doesn't always eat wat is provided, so i'll pack smthg for him and he eat on the bus ride back. u can do the same. after a while, she get used to it.
i did highlight to bbgrace my concern abt the long hours in school, plus the long ride home (equally long for both J and YX). i also wonder if the extra 1 hr is really necessary, though it's really good to incorporate into the kindergarten hours, esp for lazy mommy like me who has to drag myself to bring M to music class on Sundays...

now it's really up to u to decide if YX can make it in the new school, given her character. when we changed M to the new school, he told us he liked the new school. he still cried thru to 2nd wk, by 3rd wk he was ok.

pax, thanks .. i was looking at tom's yesterday. Was considering this .. but the weleda sounds good too .. mabbe buy both and try.
Anyone getting anything??? Can do one spree :D

fries, folic
"Free Of
Fluoride, detergents, synthetic fragrances, colours, preservatives and raw materials derived from mineral oils.
Product and ingredients not tested on animals. Scientifically tested" quoted from one of the websites pax gave.

See got detergent?? hahah
But actually i meant chemical.. but dunno how come it came out as detergent?? and i did not checked after i posted! haha
But seriously tho, i read a few articles about normal toothbrush having detergent to make teeth whiter and brighter, the kind of detergent use for cleaning car!

jan, i'll take a look at it later ok?
At the moment I am giving the girls Neobiotic available at pharmacies and sometimes Lacteol Fort.

folic, i'll reply to the school part later too..

work work work ... laterzzzz

folic, i was telling mr folic yesterday that i've never known yx to take to anything instantly! give her some time. i think she's those kind that needs to be persuaded to do stuff...!
anyway, childcare and school is v v different. cannot compare like that. it will be less attention, less everything! which is one of the reasons why we chose this method of induction for ignatius:
home care
child care
school care
primary school no care

hopefully with each small graded step of independence needed for each stage, he will be fully independent when primary school.

jan, i think of them is only hve 2 type of probiotics (the usual acido & bifidum) while the other has the different strains (15 of them).

folic, oh dank! did not noticed that, when infact i wanted to avoid it! duh! they conveniently put it at the end so that i would not notice.. that's it's strike one :p.

fries, when is ignatius moving to a kindy?

folic, she already has the bond wif the current ccc and she has a fave teacher and there's no push factor. Given time she'll of coz will like her new kindy and you've gotta sell it to her!

anyway, this toothpaste thing. The only thing that i want to avoid is Q getting irritated by irritants haha hence the reason on getting something not fully chemicalised.

recently i upgraded her from the overly-painful-to-my-pocket calif baby to dove, and then overnite stupid rash all over. damn it!
Even the oat stuff that pax suggested not really suitable for her.
Why oh why??
need to pay vitakids a visit ...

Thank you all for the online/offline chats abt yx's school. :D So far, almost everyone is for going to the new school. Perhaps I am over analysing her reactions. This morning, she told me again, at the school entrance that she really love her current school. I told her it can't be.. cos she is still crying on and off these days when i drop her. She says ' i will never ever cry again'. I went to chat withe another teacher when she was at the playground. She saw me leaving. Instead of running to me and manja-ing, she shouted mummy i will see you later.. and continued to play.

Anyway, her seat has already been offered to someone on the waitlist. I shall let fate decide. If that someone decides not to take the vacancy and they give it back to me, I will let her stay. If not, it shall be the new school and no more turning back. :D

folic

qdee... guess u just have to stick to calif baby then. en is now ok with dove, so whole family uses dove now since he bathe in different toilets.... MIL tried to use J&J on him and he came back with rashes on his skin folds.

qdee
the aveeno also cannot? looks like u got to stick with california baby. wat abt jason's natural? u tried?
toothpaste, think u r left with one choice - wedela children's tooth gel. i also missed the sls in the tom's one...

fries
u got maid to help u lah. ai zai. u can do it.
mr pax gg reservist 2 wks in dec...

fries, i have been on mostly single parenthood eversince en was borned. u can do itlah... 2 weeks will pass very fast. just have to lax on some discipline stds for abit, eg, letting iggy sleep abit later while u put mei mei to bed, etc etc etc.

pax, i was just surfing the overseas sprees... seems like USD rate is going up liao???

jan, pax, ya lor leceh la these kids esp if they are mine! haha..

Last Friday we ate pizza & for the first time nayli said she wanted to eat and she was hooked on the pizza with sausage. She ate one slice. The next day, she broke out in hives, entire face swollen wif hives. Actually i duno if it's the pizza, or was it the cookies which Q gave her which incidentally has a little nuts. argh!
So now has to stop everything, including her supplements just so i can start the elimination process.

fries, hang on in there. If it's really bad perhaps u can let one of the kids stay at your inlaws? But i guess u can do it!

Jan. USD gg up for past 2 mths liao.

Qdee. Poor Nayli. She look ok yday leh.

Bbgrace. I've signed jo up for jumpstart. Sunday 930am. Same teacher as M. Whole morning in Funan. Haha

So whose's interested in vitacost spree? Jan, qdee, doremon. Jus list here lah.

i think usd will go down again ..
STI is down!! sianzzzzzzzzzzzz

pax, yeah i 'OD' her on flu med to keep the hives down heee .. that's y she a bit blur2 when we first arrived, she was sleeping on the way there.
I need the toothpaste.

pax, did not realise until i need to get stuff in USD lah. see how backward i m.....

qdee.... poor nayli. maybe just go back to good old cetaphil. just that no fragrance.... quite sian.

good morning gals.. this week bz week... with many foreigners dropping in @ my office... whole week must do polite lunches and dinners.. sian..

poohy, just wanted to tell u that on Friday, it was so sweet to see S and J at the school. I saw S with your mum outside the classroom and he looked like he just woke up. Then we went to the waiting area for story telling and J was there already. So I asked her, is gor gor here? She said no and was trying to wear her shoes. Then your mum brought S over to the waiting area. I told J that S is here already. S went over to hug J from the back. J stood up and turned around to look at the brother. The two just looked at each other so lovingly and hug.
That's when I tried to take the photos I showed you but wrong angle.. haha!

folic

bbgrace, i want ... wait for me..

pax, yeah wedela but wait huh i email u want i want. vitacost no california bb?

folic,

thanks for the photos... wished we were there to see it. I went there earlier on Friday already but still quite late :p What time did u all go? It was pretty jammed up.

but it was not all so loving at home most of the time. They engaged physical fights these days. S is very rough towards J and now J also know how to retailiate or hit him back pre-emptively liao

I was a little shocked to hear that J recently upgraded her tantrums... I went earlier to fetch her yesterday and her teacher told me that if she dun get her ways (since last week), she will throw tantrum and may even hit her friends or even the teachers. She had been put at the naughty corner a few times liao. Back at home, she is also getting more physical.... last week in her tantrum, she scratched my face and pull my hair ...
sigh I dunno what to do with her. We are trying to be patient as I worried it may be because of the coming arrival of no.3.

btw, so r u continuing in LW? I saw YX's name still on the name list of continuing next year leh.

poohy,
I can see that J is more vocal these days.. when I saw her on Friday and sometimes when i pick yx up. I guess it is all about going through phases and it will be over soon
That is what I always tell myself when YX goes through a rough patch.

Yes.. YX is continuing in LW next yr.. I just got confirmation today. Her seat was given out to someone but they didn't want it. So, we are back in LW. The list you saw was never updated.. I think liu laoshi is still in denial...haha!

folic,

oh that's great news... I am sure the YX would be happy to know. Maybe I will try putting S in full day sometime next year too

ya I hope its a passing phase... though seeing her tantrums recently, I am bracing myself to hear more complaints from teachers or other parents soon. I had been wondering whether its because S had bullied her so much at home... pushing her, snatching her things, messing up her blocks when she is building things... and he is so rough, she got quite a few bruises all over her face from him. My hb is getting very angry with S. I am trying to mediate cos I am not prepared for physical punishment plus with baby coming in 5 weeks or so, I dun want the older ones to react adversely just in case.

poohy, i have to say my eyes opened quite big when i was 'relief teaching' during teacher's day. S was totally different from my earlier perception of him being quiet and gentle :D He was fighting with kimi and other boys, snatching toys, and messing with the paint. I was chatting with the teacher about it after that and she said S is following the behaviour of the other boys. So I guess S is trying to be 'one of the boys' in school.
Also another phase which u can just hope that it will be over soon. haha!

folic,

I had known S to be rough at home... and I know he does snatch toys at times in school... but to the extent of fighting in school. Hmm this is new to me. I think I better start to have better communication with the teachers in school. I had always wondered because he will tell me Kimi pushes him, then I asked him whether he pushes Kimi also... and he said yes... but during the last parent teacher meet, I asked the teachers whether he got discipline problem in school and they said no. I think maybe his behaviour had deteriorated recently 'cos I kinda of hear him talk abt going to naughty corners. ok looks like I got 2 problem children at home. Must really take them in hand already.... maybe I am too lapsed in disciplining them.

one thing i realised is that empowerin them with the right attitude helped alot (not to say that they would do it that way tho).
Behaviour like snatching etc.. need to intro them to the art of negotiations. Once they get the hang of it then there'll be less snatching.
However I also realised that now tht Nayli is bigger, there's no such thng as negotiating with her!

poohy, mebbe fighting is a wrong word.. more like snatching toys.. actually yx also complain to me about kimi and like S, when i ask if she also push kimi, she said yes. so i guess it is really survival instincts of these kids. Kimi is also expecting a new sibling shortly.. so that might also explains his behaviour. I should say S is more spontaneous..
didnt know got notti corner in school.. shall ask yx if she ever got sent there. hahaha!

folic

qdee,

negotiation skills.. hmm think maybe I shd teach my kids more such skills

folic,

haha... yeah I guess kids tend to behave in an unexpected manner when there are new siblings coming... oh, the notti corner is actually just a corner in the classroom. I saw the teachers carried one of the boys in J's class to a corner and asked him to sit there for a few minutes when he pushes his classmates around during the 1st week of J's PG last time. I think that's the primary method the teachers discipline the children. J's teachers also tell me they bring her to naughty corner if she beats her classmates. I was happy to know they uses this method instead of err physical punishment.... my memory of kindy teachers tend to remain in the olden days where they used to do physical punishment.

personally, i think it is not necessarily a bad thing the way S is behaving today.I think he is more spontaneous now and definitely joining in more than before. Perhaps he is just finding his way to blend in with his buddies

folic,

ya he had changed a lot since he first started school. From the reserved boy who used to stick to me ALL the time, his mouth zipped up all the time, to being much more spontaneous and outspoken not just in his school but in his violin class and drama class. I find it amazing at times with his progress in this area. When I first placed him in this school with the hope of him opening up more, I never expected to have positive results frankly... in this aspect, I really feel very comforted.

Need some advise cos I am a 100% financial idiot. I have quite a few policies from AIA. What happens if AIG declare insolvency???? Should I liquidate my policies?

Jannie,
you're not a financial idiot. I also ask the same question about what will happen to the policies if AIG becomes insolvent.
Hubby said he heard on radio that policy holders need not be unduly worried, the exact details he's also not sure. I'm just wondering if there are any legislation that restricts the insurer from accessing funds used for insurance claims?

basically, the news said that AIA/AIG in Singapore is separate entity from the US one. They have sufficient capital to support the insured based. (somethig like that) However, I got a call from my financial advisor yesterday. He asked me to switch one of the unit trust which i bought using CPF from AIG to first state.. so u might want to check with your insurance agents/financial advisors for details.

bbgrace, folic, thanks. actually, i did call. but she said all is ok. AIA policy holders will not be affected as MAS state that AIA must have sufficient funds to meet insurers' claims. but u know, they work for AIA, so they sure tell u it's ok one mah. she mentioned that even if AIA close down, MAS will take over and pay out the claims.

folic, i think that coz u have on insurance linked to AIG fund.

jan, if yours are just those normal insurance and non of funds are linked to AIG then i think for the time being u are fine.

Anyway, I already made a paper lost of 10k (now thinking shud pull out or ride the tide)
kao_dizzy.gif

Apart from, last wk i freaking sent instruction to sell my shares (then was good) and yesterday the price plunged just abt when they are gg to put thru the instruction!!!! *WAIL*
This is a freaking nightmare for me!!!!!!