(2005/02) Feb/Mar 2005 Babies

Now i also got similar dilemma as folic.
J got a PM session at the same kindy.
Now my problem :

- I don't think i will be at East Coast yet come Jan 09

- I would prefer am class cos can drop him off to school b4 work

- I don't like the idea of him spending 1 hr on the school bus.

But that is the only way to get him into the school cos he's still on waitlist for am class and pm class kids get priority to the am class.
I think he can forego his afternoon nap. It's just the travelling that bugs me but that's only for at most 6 mths before i shift. So how???

Gosh... this is worse than Pri 1 registration.

folic, if i am in your shoes, for the sake of the music, dance (esp dance), art, i may change N to nafa!
Coz i really want my girl to learn dancing!!!!! hahahaha
it's not wat the kids want but wat mummy wants.

I dun get it leh why none of my kids want to pick up dancing.
This mommy from young (abt 4 yrs old) dance, dance, dance!

Talk abt seimpi, i've been pyschoing N abt giving it up so that I can sign her up with Cairnhill arts school
- where we are signing up Q in art class (her choice).

So far N really want to stay.
NOw if in class she said she tired or lazy to practice on the keyboard,
i will threaten her that i will stop her music class !!!
And i am not saying she's good with it either .. go there like waste time for me!!!
pls dun shoot me for saying this!

omg, errr yishun and semb not that far ..
but like u said if the bus journey is longer ..
then might as well change.
Else your poor gal has to take the bus round and round and round that part of SG.

Qdee,
Yah, it's not that far but I'm more worried about the sch bus safety lah..they're not really belted up properly/correctly (just lap-belt)...now the sch bus ride is just 5 min to & fro, next time will prob be abt 1hr every day.
How did Q cope with changing 3 CCCs??? Did it get better each time?

Babygrace,
Agree with u! This is prob as stressful as Pri1!

omg,
i've share the same concerns as you re school bus I'm ok with the 5 mins ride now but the entire hour?
For me, a change in school is inevitable cos we will be shifting it's more of the 6 mths of inconvenience b4 we shift.

folic,

NAFA kindy is a great kindy from what I read so far
The curriculum is great and the waiting list is so long... lucky to get it leh.. Pity is its not something I can consider at all cos too far. I really dun like to live in jurong argh.

Actually same here, I been pondering on whether to switch S & J to a church kindy near my house. It should be reasonably academic but I dun think in terms of environment it will ever match LW. And they are quite well settled in LW liao. Both happy to go to school.

And with 3 kids, I need to consider clearly whether I should still send them to such an expensive CC. Though we should be able to afford it but its a lot of money to spend till they are 6 years old and I dun mind having more money in my pocket like anyone else hehee
And also I am constantly worried whether LW curriculum is rigorous enough to prepare them for primary school. End up I am likely to send them to enrichment class. As it is S is in JG edudrama, Mandeville suzuki violin and J is in JG playclub. I am going to send S to Berries chinese enrichment soon.

What do u think of LW's ability to prepare our kids for primary school academic?

Anyway its a dillemma and even more so because I cant find a kindy whose standard match my expectation of both having the kind of environment and culture of LW and yet academically strong, and of course much more affordable in fees

btw I placed the 2 of them under St James kindy waiting list but not sure how good St James is also.

One of the other reason why we are considering changing CC is because, having to fetch them back from school during lunch time, and then J back to school is actually quite rush and disruptive for us. Sometimes we need to have meetings and then it will become a problem.

I must go home to open family meeting later... :D

omg, how does the new school compare to the old school in terms of space/teacher-student ratio etc etc?

qdee, i won't hammer u abt seimpi... tat's how i feel abt yx at seimpi.. she NEVER practice at home and will just pay attention during the theory portion of the class. When it comes to playing on the keyboard, i still need to literally press her fingers to the keys.. like i told bbgrace, she is a very good theoretical pianist. :p

poohy, actually, I like LW a lot and don't think YX needs any other enrichment.. but I am just plain lazy :p As it is, I think YX is drama mama, so no need drama classes,tried to let her learn music instrument but she prefers to just sing and dance. :D She picked up her chinese purely from interacting with all the teachers and aunties in school and I am ok with that. I would say her Chinese improved 200% after she started at LW this yr. She can now converse in mandarin and does not have the irritating ang mo accent, which is more than I asked for. :D
I sometimes go to the k2 classroom in the afternoon and I think their work is quite good. I see they have spelling and stuff like that too.

So, nett nett is that I think she will thrive in both LW and Nafa. She will probably be really sad not to be able to see her chinese teacher, whom she love dearly. She will probably have panic attacks during the bus rides home. She will probably cry for a month or 2. I just need to think through how I should settle her during school holidays!

folic

folic,

from what u said, I really feel tempted to put S in full day cc at LW. I really hope this chinese will improve more... he speak like ang moh saying chinese now. But I am very concerned about him being in school whole day... like no freedom. Maybe I shd just put him there for half a year to improve his maindarin and then pull him out hehee

wow, mummies, I felt so ashamed when I read all your concern about changing your little ones school. At that time when I decided to change A to 7th Adventist Baptist Church Kindergarten next year, I didn't even think of the curriculum, it is more of convenience as in, less disruptive for us (parents work) as the kindy is walking distance to MIL's house. The other time when I was looking for a good cc for her (TLL), that was becoz she was behind her peers in motor skills etc. so I was look at class ratio and the school environment. To be honest, A settled so well in TLL and pulling her out to a new environment, I'm betting that she can get a place at 7th Adventist for the 0830 hrs session as her two cousins will be in this session. So I believe she will have no problem adjusting but she is currently in the 1030hrs slot...... Am I a lousy mummy?

btw bbgrace, i think u shd sign up. it is just for 6 mths anyway... unless u can work out alternative with them to say u start in jul?

folic, i read the part abt primary school prep and u mention spelling and stuff .. then i want to laugh!!!
Not laugh at u, but at the statement in general .. it's funny la.
The thing that we know abt primary school preparation is spelling, reading! hahaha
I feel so ill-equipped with all these primary school stuff!!!
But i guess u all will be better prepared than i am when it's your to prep the kids.
I find i am more bo-chap than most.
When i hear some colleagues talking abt what they did .. i feel so --- what's the word?? ---- so ..... *speechless*
Like i've not done my best or something.. for my Q.

qdee, i know i am taking a very naive approach to 'preparing for pri 1'. i will most prob be in your shoes 3 yrs from now, wondering if i hv done my best for yx. most of the times, i stopped gg for whatever classes cos I am bored. :p
Like i said many times, i am sure i will fail psle if i were to take the test tomorrow. hahahahaha

precious, no not bad mummy!! logistics is one of the most fundamental considerations for me.
I am thinking so much just cos both schools are
almost equal on most of the criteria I have.
So just debating about uprooting her or letting her stay put.

hello mummies
Need your help, my expat (indian nationality) just arrived here and his son of 3 yrs old will be coming in Nov/Dec. He is looking for hdb flat but his first criteria is a good pre-sch for his son (int'l sch or church kindy). He's asking me about Yishun area? Any mummies here have done homework in this area previously? My office is at Sungei Kadut, so he's looking at sch in NW part of Singapore. Any suggestion?

folic
I think NAFA sounds good for YX cos she is a bright kid and she will fit anywhere. You can put the 21k for her further education.

Me is really boh chap and lazy, I don't want to worry about A spelling etc...until 6 yrs old....I only want her to have an enjoyable childhood. So no enrichment but if I can find any special talent/interest in whatever, then we will register her there. I only see that she machan disco queen ...always dancing and jumping....at this moment. No talent shown yet....but very rebellious and argumentative .... don't know can be a lawyer or not hahaha

precious, talking abt being a lawyer, i think i really chose the wrong name for Qistina, which btw, means justice.
And yes, now i have an arguemtnative gal at home! arrghh!!!

Folic,
Not sure about curriculum but I'm not v particular abt that aspect--important things to me are patient/kind/caring teachers, non-aircon n fun, which the current sch satisfy all these conditions! It's the convenience (logistics!) and safety of sch-bus that's a problem! New teacher-student ratio is 1:15...now is 1.5:16; current sch also got more space. I'll have to go n see-look the place soon! The other option is a church-kindy that's also near the new home/in-laws place (<5min walk)...but need to check if there's fullday. Gotta explore n find out all the options!

Babygrace,
Like what Folic said, can J start the new sch after u shift house?

Precious,
I'm shifting to Yishun but I never do any homework--the ones I selected r based on distance :p I only know about Pri Schs there (based on what I hear cos my aunt stays there)--most popular is Chong Fu Pri Sch, followed by Northland &amp; Peiying. So maybe he can select his flat based on Pri Sch. If he's going to stay near Chong Fu, then there's a church-kindy (the one I'm also considering), "Church of our lady, star of the sea"
Map here: http://www.veritas.org.sg/olss/location.html
We'll be moving to Blk 273, so it's really near to Chong Fu..hopefully she doesn't get in next time cos I think it'll be uber-stressful for her &amp; us! (although that'll be our 1st choice since it's sooo near!)

folic / omg,
Don't think they can hold the place for so long. I was telling the principal about the uncertainty of when i will be shifting and my concern about having J travel so far and she didn't offer any alternative. I guess they wouldn't bother since there are others who want the place if i don't want it.
Discussed with hubby and most likely we will let him go there. Afterall that's the school we've always wanted him to go to, even before i realised that they've shifted from bencoolen to East Coast and it's the nearest school to our new place. So i guess we hv to make do with the first few months of inconvenience.

Hi OMG, did u pay a premium to stay close to Chong Fu? I'm very keen to enrol my gal in Chong Fu and am contemplating of either doing PV or RC. Worst scenario, shift to Yishun.

wah.. looks like quite a few toddlers changing school next year...

folic
ya ya.. i din realise i left out the word "NOT".. hee hee heee!

qdee
which cairhills arts school? there's this Act3 school. my collig is sending his 4yo dotter every sat there for drama classes. he said it's vv good.. we r keen to sign Jo up for smthg, like seimpi at the same time slot as M if they have... i'll miss u if Nayli stop

i think i am one of the most bochap here lah. other than sending en to his pre-sch, nothing else. no art, no music, no drama. after reading your posts, i asked him what he would like to learn. he said billard. will prob wait till he is slightly older then i sign him up for some sports class.... i cannot picture him sitting down drawing... or doing some flashcard music thingy.

Doremon,
Haha! NO! We're shifting to my in-laws place (sell away this ulu sembawang flat while the price is ok, then get another unit nearer an MRT station in future when price of housing drops--hopefully it drops!).

Why're u so keen to enrol S to Chongfu? Last i heard from teacher friends is the teachers r unhappy there. They're too stressed to achieve the results (stressed by principal &amp; parents).
Besides PV or RC, Hokkiens can also join the Hokkien Association (or clan or something like that), n get priority to get into the sch.

I'm hoping that we can get a unit someplace else by the time A's ready for Pri.1..hopefully a place near a sch with dedicated/patient teachers who makes learning fun n not stressful!

Jannie,
Hahahaha! Me too! Actually was contemplating music classes at nearby Yamaha, but I'm too lazy to commit the time every week! And it seems now her "passion" changed from music (playing with keyboard) to dancing &amp; painting. So just let her dance (follow hi-5 will do!) &amp; paint at home la..no need teacher yet :p

After sleeping over the options, it looks like we will go with NAFA. Decisions made.. but finding it difficult to open our mouth to tell teachers about our decision to leave the current school. :p

folic

folic,

I cant commit leh cos I never take leave and my boss is not around. I can only try to come over earlier tomorrow.... that's why never volunteer.

poohy, i only volunteered this morning.. when I read their email to ask for N1 mummy volunteers. :D

bbgrace, called up to confirm the slot already.. they will send me confirmation letter. :D

folic

Folic, good choice, and 21k richer :D

pax, havent stopped yet la. I hope she want to change to dance then i can sign her up in the same centre as Q.
Q already attended speech and drama for almost 2 yrs in her previous CCC and she wanted to try something else.
I also realised the art centre which i signed her up has another branch at ACM near Parliament house on Sunday 11.30am, timing just nice.
Meaning my wkend not burnt since all silly activities confined to 1 day.

Jan, sometimes when kids are bigger they have their own mind and so far i like to let my girls do their own thinking of what they want to do rather than enforcing what i would like them to do (actually tried to but failed! haha!).
Where possible will grant them what they asked for if it's reasonably within our means (time &amp; money).
My hubby said as long as it's non academic and it's for developing their skills, talents or just merely for interest then he's all for it.
Abt En, i think u are right, i cannot picture him sitting down drawing hahaha.
There's fencing class at united square .. giving u ideas (Q asked for it before...)

Omg, i did not enter into the world of activities until Q is much older! In fact the pottery class is her first venture into external activities (not run by her CCC).
Somehow like u la, too lazy and also then N quite young, too leceh to bring her along here and there .
BUt i see some mummies, pax included, so good... sigh, sometimes i wished i am like that

OMG,
Oh dear, didn't know the situation in Chong Fu is dat bad. All i know is that its one of the better school in my constituency. Plus i like the fact that they emphasize on moral values. Aiyoh, headache liao.

folic,
congrats to coming to a decision so quickly.
We are more or less set also. I just need to call and speak to the bus driver.
Hopefully once we've set a foot into the school, it's easier to switch him to morning session and both he and YX can be classmates

how much deposit must we pay?

Doremon,
Aiyah, dun be too affected. U really need to visit the sch to know more about their whole culture &amp; environment. Where do u stay? I used to think all schools r the same but after having been to a few pri schools to give talks, can really see difference! I haven't gone to ChongFu b4 so can only "generalize" it with other "traditional" schools.
"traditional" sch really do teach good moral values (the kids from "traditional" sch were the best behaved bunch), but at the same time, the teachers MAY be more rigid or inflexible in their way of teaching (&amp; the teachers there looked the grouchiest). It's more top-down approach. So depends on what u want.

Folic &amp; Babygrace,
CONGRATS! That's fast! I'm down with bad cough/cold so can't visit the schools (dun wanna go round spreading)...prob visit them next Sat n see how.

OMG, omg!!! i dun even hv criteria or approach to looking or evaluating schools! You seems to have some ideas.. i shud hv asked u b4 the p1 registration - wow! top down approach, traditionalist! ..
What other category did u hv?

folic, am sure u wont be changing any more unless nafa closed down which definitely not likely!

for those that not on the Toys R Us mailer, there is a Thomas fair at Paragon B1 from 29 Aug to 7 Sept.

also, for those boys (and girls too of course)that are into Dinosaurs, the Dinosaur exhibition at Science centre ends this sunday. we're bringing ignatius there on sunday morning if anyone wants to join us.

OMG, i'm putting up at Woodlands.

Qdee, kids these days are so "matured". Q into Avril and my gf 3 yr old kiddo is hooked onto Hannah Montana!! But my gal is still so babyish ... at least she has upgraded from Nemo to princesses.

Looking forward to c u guys next wk (Rainbow Fish) and see all the faces behind the nicks.

Doremon,
U wanna send ur girl from Woodlands to Yishun? I'm sure Woodlands also would have its share of good schools
And I think u might have met most of us at Fire Station b4 right? ;)

Qdee,
Top-down is good in a way cos they really become very disciplined--like army..haha! I wouldn't have known until I went to visit the sch to give talks lor. And since I wasn't visiting on the basis of a parent, what I see is probably more "real". But I only visited a few, n gathered info from my colleague who gave talks to some other schools, n gathered info from a few of my teacher-friends. Anyway, Q already got into a sch (from the feedback it appears to be a good sch
), so u dun have to worry lah!

I went to 1 all-boys sch...wah! Very rowdy! My friend said the all-girls sch she went to...wah! very talkative! HAHAHA!

wow all this talk abt schools.
recently, have been chatting with my cousins and sis abt schools. we have 3 teachers in the family. and 1 aunt who works in MOE.
my cousin was saying Beacon Pri is definitely "hot" coz of the future school features. no need to bring school bks to sch even! pretty cool.
anyway, just to let those who intend to do parent volunteering, next yr is the year to register as parent volunteers for some schools, and the year after next to be actually volunteering.

Omg,
yep, indeed met most of u at the fire station then but it was a hi and bye scenario then so didn't really register everyone faces in my memory bank. Plus it was a pretty big group too.

Do update us on your visits to schools cos wud love to hear some feedback. Yep, wudn't mind the distance cos Chong Fu is my top choice.

RAINBOW FISH
Qdee, folic, bbgrace, doremon, omg (anybody else? i can't rmbr)...
next Sat 6/9 11am at Alliance Francaise, near Newton MRT. let's meet at 1030am, we need to meet to enter, bcos no individual tix. admission by letter.

Doremon,
Heheh! Unfortunately I've left that job n this new job doesn't require me to go to any schools.

Pax,
Ok, thanks! So we meet at the entrance of Alliance Francaise at 10.30am?

Fries,
WAH! I didn't know we need to start so early for volunteering! So for students who got in based on PV--does it mean the parents gotta continue volunteering until the child finishes Pri.6? Just ask out of curiosity cos I doubt I'll do any PV thingy :p

omg,
This PV thing for pri 1 registration. I think the parent must clock some 40 hrs (i can't remember the exact number) before the registration starts. No need to volunteer till P6

Do PV for raffles girls.. sure can go in one :D but heard it's a must to clock 20hours for traffic duties .. hahahahah. Actually for RGPS, if u stay within 1km no balloting sure can go in :D .....

But for those who come from good primary schools, schs still exist and convenient for your current home, join the alum la .. really save all the darn trouble and anxiety, dont think too much abt should i try this, mabby i could try that... etc.