(2005/02) Feb/Mar 2005 Babies

HAIYA .. substantial for me might not be substantial enuff for u leh folic. seeing that your CCC fees is double mine HAHAHAHAHA!!!

My CCC homework

Got a package from the school's principal yesterday. She wanted to surprise the teachers with a party on teacher's day. Each kid was given some strips of paper to fold into stars for the teacher. YX has 4 teachers to give, since full day... and each teacher need to make 3 stars... i hv chubby fingers and such dainty craft are not meant for me... need to think of way to outsource :p poohy, u done yours? hehee!

I thought it was quite a nice gesture.. the principal is asking for parent volunteers to 'teach' the kids for 2 hours next Fri.The teachers are given a 2 hours break to have some food and fun in office. I am tempted to go.. but I know if I do, I will be stuck with YX the whole time... SIGH! It was to be a surprise for teh teachers.. but I guess the teachers would know.. since some kids will spill beans... and one of the teachers had a son in school as well. hahahaha!

folic

folic,

nope had not done mine. I think I gotta do it today . I also wish to go for the PV thingy but I dun think I am confident enough to do it leh. I asked my hb to go take photo but he is not keen :p

4 months ML?? Extra CC Leave??? More childcare subsidy?? REALLY? I'm just away from Singapore for few days got so many things happening? Think will go n read up next week when I return. I finally plucked up enough courage to leave Ashley in S'pore while I go away with Mr omg-hopefully A will remain healthy n manageable at home.

Folic,
Hahaha! I used to make that star thingy when I was in pri/sec sch..heheh! And we used to make small cranes with bus-tickets--can even make the kissing ones. That's about the only thing I'm quite good at :p
I was thinking about ur post about the other parents going "yeeww" about washing/cleaning the fish...I won't go "yeeww" but I've definitely NEVER bought a fish (except those ready cut ones) or cleaned any fish before--n to think that my grandfather, my dad & uncles used to be fishermen. So ashamed of myself now. :p BTW YX's principal is really nice & thoughtful to do that surprise thingy for the teachers!

haiyo u all are so lucky.
My mama made me clean fish-yuckies when i was only 8!!!
Cooked my first hari raya rendang when i was 18... wah lau .. child labour!

haha qdee, u r just more capable. :D

omg, where are you holidaying now? so nice!

my CCC homework
mr folic says - i know how to do..so i passed him everything. then he came back to say.. i donno how to do already.. so i tried again to fold and managed to do it but he was the one to poke it into star.. cos i donno.

THEN i read the instructions again.. and the kids are supposed to write some secret message inside for teh teachers... WAH LAU!!! So i will prob go and buy one small pack of the paper strips and ask yx to write on it and give extra stars to each teacher...

I had never clean or buy a fish before too.... v scared to do that. Last time home econ class, I siam by getting my partner to do it.

Qdee,
Hahaha! Good, I think I can also ask Ashley to start cleaning fishes when she turns 8 and cook CNY reunion dinner when she's 18...wahahaha!

Poohy,
Heehehe! My Home econs very easy one, like cook instant noodles etc. That's why I become like that--cannot cook :p

Folic,
Ur folding stars sounds as if it's harder than cleaning fish..lol! I'm in Taipei now-hopefully got no typhoon, we're planning to go JiuFen tomorrow n Beitou on Friday, then Sat come back. Wanted to get some chinese books for A but all in olden chinese, but got one from Eslite anyway yesterday (by Jimmy, the guy who wrote Turn Left.Turn Right.)--a fish that smiled at me. Later going Ximenting. I finally get a 1 week break away from her! :p

Hi Folic, i hv folded stars in a bottle somewhere in the house. Can spare you 12 pcs for your CCC homework. Just PM your office address and i'll get my despatch to send it to you. Let me know ya ..

doremon, thanks for the offer :D I have already folded the stars.. but now i need to have some more unfolded ones to write messages. haha!I think I have over complicated this one! SO anyway, I think I should be able to get some extra ones from the school and get YX to 'write something and give an extra star to each of them!

can i have more than 24hrs in a day!!!!????? i dun even have time to look in the mirror.. nor go toilet!!! arggggghhhhhhhh

in case u hve not heard.

Childcare subsidy - 300
infant care - 600
extended maternity leave from jan 2009.

If u all have any feedback pls let me know, I am attending post nat'l day rally briefing... so time for feedback and stuff :D

in case u hv not heard, subsidy increase 150... my school fees increase 100 )(&*&%&*^$(&^A%^#%^$@%

folic

No worries folic.

Wow, the govt sure rolled out lotsa benefits on this baby issues. Hiaz ... the mind is willing but the body said NAY. keke ...

LASIK
Still blurry. Even worse after the doc removed the protective lens y'day. I didn't know the recovery would be so slow. It took hubby 2 weeks to completely stablise. So pardon any typo error, i can't really see what i'm typing.
I had mine done at Eagle Eye Centre at Mt A. Haha, i got a soft spot for Mt A lah. The doc is good also lah, very reassuring. After he explained that there could be a moment during the op where the suction pressure of the clamp coold cause a momentary blackout, i told him that i got phobia after my experience from trying to regain consciousness from GA. He reassured me that he would take me through the op. I was given valium b4 the op to calm me down. haha! He was good, talking me through the entire process so that it's not scary at all.
Other nice touches, they specially created a glass partition so that family can watch the op and every patient gets to bring home a pic taken during the op.

folic,
i was going to volunteer to fold for you but remembered that i wont see you this sat.
I'm the expert with folding stars. When Mr bbgrace first went to London for his studies, this silly gf of his actually folded a star representing each day that he was gone till he came back for vacation. So bo liao....

omg,
have fun!

bbgrace
hope you hv a speedy recovery.

Re: folding star
u not bo liao. it's so romantic. i believe it's things pple will do when they are deep in love. mr bbgrace must hv been so touched to see all those stars right?

folic
ur ccc reacted so fast? i was also thinkg that ccc will increase their price with the increased in subsidies. it's the opportunity for them to earn more $ since the nett effect is that parents will still be paying lower than before or at least status quo.

qdee
must feedback the potential increase in ccc fees with the increase in childcare subsidy. essentially it wipes off the add'l $ that govt gives to us. but i doubt govt can control the pricing by ccc.

poohy, it is in the re-enrollment letter in your children's bag yesterday
effective 1st Jan. pek chek!

stephie, the teacher told me this has been in discussion for mths, just that they announce it yesterday together with the info for re-enrolment in 2009. like i said b4, i am just waiting for them to increase price, each time they write about how they fumigate the school after each hfmd outbreak. SIGH!

bbgrace hahahahah! i just imagining you folding stars many yrs ago.. kekeek! when mr folic said that he ever fold b4 then in the end forgot, i told ' keep saying u know how.. also donno fold for who last time!' hahahahahahahah!

doremon, join my club.. the heart is willing and body not willing club. hahahaha!

folic

folic - jealous??? heeeee

bbgrace, soooooooo ROMANTIC!!! *sigh*
I cant remember ever doing girly stuff like that.
Mr Qdee always said I am like a man in a relationship and he's playing the female role!

folic, thot next yr u moving YX to kindy?

qdee, haha no lah.. just 'fed up' that he says he can do then in the end cannot do :p anyway, all of us had a good luff after that.. including my parents. ROFL!

Not moving her to kindy.. she will stay where she is until k2.. i am too lazy to go through 1st day of school again...

folic

folic,

so upset when I read their enrolment letter. Was telling my hb at least let me be happy over the increased subsidies for a few more days mah ...sigh. I know they will sure increase price ... cos like you each time I read how they detox the school in hfmd, I think they sure pass the cost to us wan lah. But not to the extent of 10% increase mah.. I am sure most of our pay dun increase 10% and that is above inflation rate leh.

folic
count me in the club...heart is willing and body not willing.....we have 3 members now

Qdee
Mr Precious One also always said that I'm a man trapped in a woman's body...kekeke

all mummies
I will be transferring A to a kindergarten next Jan, this was planned months back so that in-laws could fetch her and not her dad who's been doing so for the past few months ever since I started working. So I don't get to enjoy the subsidy.....

precious
M also in kindergarten, so no subsidy. only Jo. now debating where to send her and full / half day.

pax
To ensure that Jo eats properly (I mean full meal) for a start, I think half day is good for a toddler. My observation on cc is that teachers to not have all eyes on one child during eating, so children threw away food behind their back and they didn't know.

oh precious, u dun have to worry abt jo not eating enuff... i think pax just have to teach jo how to ask for more!!!

pax, Half day.

precious which kindy?? i wanted to send N to apple tree but i think they hv no vacancies.
Thot of saving costs hahahah

wahaha... jannie, u r so right. she'll probably bring the bowl to teacher and point! she does that to us! heeeee...

qdee
then has to be afternoon half day liao. i go ask the one at the corner terrace near my mom's place, then see how.

Qdee

7th Adventist Baptist Kindergarten at JE cos that's where my ILs stay. I'm still on WL for the 0830 session (A's two cousins are confirmed on this slot as they attended N1 there.

Apple Tree has a number of branches in CCK.

Doremon
I knew of your girl kena bitten by a boy issue and had periodically checked with MIL. I think the child who bites is either not there or controlled already.

Japancraze
TLL is good but is a hassle for us to pick her up mid day....in case you're reading this thread still.

Pax, then find ccc that has afternoon activities.

precious - TLL doesnt hv school bus?

Travelling in World class transportation
-----------------------------------------
As u gals know, everyday i travel using our World class transportation.
As it is world class system, on some mornings when i travel, i get to use free sauna.
I could change their motto or catch phrase :
Need to lose weight? Free Sauna?
Why not travel in our world class transport system?? It forces you to perspire and remove your bodily toxin!
What the EFF!!!!
Can the stupid world class transport system ON the BLOODY AIRCON!!! Singapore is summer all year round .. there's no winter .. we DO NOT NEED heater!

Qdee
TLL has sch bus but this over-protective mum worried that A will not get the best attention....She can't sit still. Don't trust others driving skills other than own relatives...hahaha...so A is chauffeur driven every day.

pax
TLL has enrichment class in the pm.

Precious,
Oh really, if not mistaken, the little boy is in the PM session. Hopefully he has tone down liao. My gal is very happy in Just Kids. Everyday she can't wait to board the sch van and comes home singing both Eng and Chinese songs. Glad she can finally converse in simple Mandarin. However, i've enrolled her in Zoophonics presch for Nursery next yr. Heard very good review abt this sch and it covers lots of subj hence no need to go for external enrichment class thought sch fees a little pricey.

doremon
Zoophonics - the one at Bt Timah? I think there's a good article on Zoophonics ytd. what's the price?

That boy is in the pm session, same as my two nephews-in law. MIL knew about the biting incidents and for the last few months....no more bitings.

poohy
Congrats, you get to enjoy the 4 mths maternity leave.

precious, stephie,

its handy to have more leave. But I prob wont take it one whole shot else sure impact my work... will just spread it throughout the year. Maybe next year for once I will have enough leave to bring over the following year. As it is, I never have enough leave.

Precious,
nope, i enrolled her in the JW branch cos its much nearer to my mum's place. Monthly sch fees $350 however with POSB Everyday cc, 5% discount applicable. But transportation abt $120. faint ..

pax, she is ok to sleep there, but sometimes still prefer to fall asleep on my bed, then i will carry her there. doesn't roll out too. just went aussino to buy some cute kid's bedsheet... hopefully she will like to sleep on the cute prints and stop asking to sleep on my bed.

bbgrace, folic
dun forget Tick Tack Tock this Sunday 4pm! dunno if u gals wan to meet earlier for ice-cream? if not, we meet at 3:30pm near the tatami shop/ escalator.

hi pax/bbgrace, yes will not forget :D YX has been asking for it all the time. I will prob not be able to meet earlier, as I am gg to Malaysia in the morning. For dinner, we can meet up. Has plans to join my fren for dinner with her 4 yr old. Join us if u want!

btw, i have already gotten tickets for Oct TTT as well... :p

folic

Good morning gals... need your help to help me decide...

You all know I have been on waiting list for the NAFA kindy since last yr. They just called to offer a place in morning session for YX next yr, which is exactly what i wanted. However, I can't decide if I should pull her out of her current school, since she is very happy and settled there.

Pros of Staying in current school
- she is happy
-school is great
- more independent cos full day and no grandies' interference'

Cons of staying in current school
-full day
-more ex

Pros of new school
-good school with great ciriculum
- half day
-cheaper

Cons of new school
-she not familiar...so must START first day all over AGAIN..
-prob need to take school bus home

At first this prob will not occur cos i thot i can only get afternoon session at new school, which i will reject outright.. but now, got morning session.. HOW HOW HOW???

folic, if money is not much of a concern, why not just stay put? the current cc's curriculum is good as well, right?

folic, i always think if she's happy where she is (of coz if money not a problem for u) let her be where she is.

Personally, pullng a kid out is very disruptive for the kid (personal experience with Q - 3 CCCs!).
But having said that, if the kids in the new school is equally new, no clique has formed yet, i think it's ok to put YX in there coz then she wont be sidelined.

Also NAFA is a real kindy with real kindy curriculum which may be useful as she goes along to K1/K2 and will prepare the kids to integrate to primary school education (i am assuming that NAFA's curriculum is as such).

One of my worries when Q was in previous CCCs is on the transition from CCC environment to primary school environment. In a way, the current CCC did ease my worry a little as it is more academic than her previous CCCs(pro for Q but a con for N as she mised out on the fun CCC life). THen again, i worry too much coz my other friends with kids in ccc don't hv that worry!

folic
i always wan my kids to be in a proper kindergarten (be it church or PCF). CCC has always been a transition stage for my kids, so that they'll be used to gg to "school", pick up some life skills and social interaction.
if u can afford it and YX is happy, u can consider leaving her at CCC. it's a good CCC.
if u really decide to take her out and put her in NAFA, the transition would be that bad now. M settled in much faster in kindy, bcos he already know wat to expect. for the 1st 2 wks on school bus, he was quite scared. now he enjoyed his school bus bcos got friends liao.

I just did a quick calculation.. I save about 7k a yr.. for 3 yrs, it is 21k... that is A LOT of money isn't it?? :p

Pax, I am assuming u say the transition will NOT be that bad? I am thinking it would be less traumatic, since only half day and she gets to stay home for the rest of the day.. TTT Oct -http://www.sistic.com.sg/portal/dt?dt.isPortletRequest=true&dt.action=process&dt.provider=PortletWindowProcessChannel&dt.windowProvider.targetPortletChannel=JSPTabContainer/sEventsCalendar/Event&dt.containerName=JSPTabContainer/sEventsCalendar&dt.windowProvider.currentChannelMode=VIEW&dt.window.portletAction=RENDER&contentCode=leaf1008

qdee, I haven't really think so far ahead.. either place, I think she would be ready for primary school.. I see the K2s in her current school, they all looked very knowledgeable. hahahah!

I liked NAFA for it's 'extra' like art, music, dance.. she gets exposed to them and I don;t need to send her for classes.. works for lazy mummies like me... i just stopped her seimpi this mth.. partly cos i am too lazy...:p

folic

Folic,
Haha! That's A LOT of money but it may be quite disruptive. Not just mental stress, but be prepared that she may fall sick more frequently again, cos apparently there're different variants of bugs/viruses/bacteria in different schools, so they may be more "immuned" to the bugs they've been exposed to in the current sch but not to the new ones that they'll experience in the new sch.

I'm also thinking of changing school for A but for a different reason--gonna shift house, from Sembawang to Yishun. So it's either stay put n take sch bus (longer journey, gotta wake up earlier and return later) or change to CCC at Yishun which is just next block. Really not keen to change but it'll be so inconvenient..HOW HOW HOW???!!!

Pros of Staying in current school
- she is happy & settled with her classmates & all teachers (incl those from other classes)
- school is great

Cons of staying in current school
- more ex (sch bus + sch fees)
- distance

Pros of new school
- nearer
- cheaper

Cons of new school
- must START first MONTH all over AGAIN..
- prob will fall sick more often again! ARGH!

HOW???