(2005/02) Feb/Mar 2005 Babies

hi babygrace.....

when cayden was in the other school back in singapore..he would cry when it is monday or tuesday morning when i hand him over to the teachers...I thought that it was normal cos it was after a good weekend with us....plus the teachers were very assuring that he was fine after that....
Even here when he first went to nursery, he would whine and whine and whine about not going to school....
But now he is happy to go school or even looking forward because they move him to a Pre-K class after he turns 3. then I realized that he has got friends and on the "same wavelength". so he is enjoying his time in school. He would come home and tell me ....he went field trip today with so and so and so....so there is a big difference .....

So..Maybe it is not the school or the teachers...but rather he just does not like to go school cos he does not have any friends he looks forward to seeing....or maybe you can ask his teachers to give him some important task to do everyday so he got something to look forward to in school....

or....since he was really enjoying himself with YX in class....so maybe change to YX's school will help ? heehee....

Bullying - When Cayden is being bullied, he told the guy " This is not OKAY ! Please don't do it !" This is being taught in his school by his teachers who settle bullying in school this way. So he learned this way. So maybe you can pretend pretend to bully Mr babygrace and let him show it by example to J.

good luck to the teacher who has both yx and J in the same class. hahaha!

My vinegar pot
My Japanese nephew is back. YX is very busy... busy fighting for attention. hahaah! Donno how to make her accept bb J more. She refused to hold him, refused to touch him, will ask whoever is carrying/playing with bb J to carry her/play with her. Really Single Kid Syndrome.. Sigh! I foresee that she will be busier on Saturday... when the Londoner is back!

folic

phantom,
we've role-played the bullying scene last year when he was hit by his class-mate. But like what fries said, maybe he chose not to retaliate.
Thanks for the tip on asking the teacher to give him something important to do.

my goodness me! wen can quarrel with me liao!!! i think i will be in for a shit time when she can speak properly next time.

sigh... all these talk about the boys not fighting back... my gal is fighting in school... yesterday, she told me that she pushed this boy cos she wanted his crayons. So I asked mr folic to ask the teacher abt it. Instead the teacher reported that today, she fought with another gal cos they both wanted the same seat...

Their class had a new teacher. I observed the teacher last friday, when I was in school for the party. I find that she is too soft. Not a single child listens to her! She tried to gather the kids to tell a story, but all of them do their own things. At first, I attribute it to the fact that there are parents around, so the kids want to stick to the parents. But now thinking back, even those without parents did not gather round her. Instead, they went to anotehr mummy who was reading a book. The chinese teacher also said that the class turned havoc cos they are not scared of the English teacher. WHen the chinese teacher scolds them, they go hide behind the english teacher..

So, I wonder if YX's recent behaviour is due to her vinegar pot act or the lack of fear for her new English teacher.

folic

folic,

din know u also think the same way. I also find the english teacher too soft and dun really communicate much with us. Just a moment ago before seeing your post, I was still pondering on her lack of feedback to us so far (though I attributed it to her being new and still getting used). But it does get me a little worried. Hmm... no wonder S said he likes Ms C very much. hehee... cos can bully and wont scold him maybe. He also likes to push his classmates and do mischeivious stuff... so I am always v worried abt his behaviour and checked with the teachers now and then.

folic,

need to check with u regarding full day program in the school. I am considering the idea of putting both J & S in full day programme next year if my mum eventually cant handle the 3 together in the afternoon. I wont be hiring a maid.

So far how do u find the afternoon programme? Is it beneficial? When they reached N2, there are other enrichment in the afternoon is it? U know what are they? If I put S in full day cc, would he be able to go to the enrichment or I need to pay extra ? Does the N1 and N2 kids mix together in the afternoon? I was thinking that would help ease the 2 of them into such long hours since the sibling will be around.

poohy,

the main benefit of the full day this year is that they are handled by 2 chinese teachers. So YX picked up all the chinese from there, for survival purposes. The afternoon program, basically is just childcare services. So the kids get bathed after lunch and sleep till about 3.30pm.They then have snacks and then they will do some activities with the teachers. nothing much actually, could be some art and craft, cooking, story telling etc. The N1 have Kindermusik once a week but YX did not attend. I think for N2, will have speech and drama or something like that.

The N1 and N2 sleep in the same classroom but will break out for their activities separately. But they are more relaxed in the afternoon, so I do see siblings playing around in the playground during outdoor time.

fries, u hv a rather good memory.. given your recent preg... hahahahah :p

poohy, forgot to add, for enrichment classes, it will be additional charges.

my mom wan me to put Jo in the CCC's afternoon session.. i'm not so keen, bcos there's really ntg much to do in the afternoon.. *sigh*...

pax, won't the school have separate classes for afternoon session only? Like YX's school, the children attending afternoon session are in a class of their own. They do the same thing as what YX did in the morning. Why not send Jo in the morning?

folic

folic
bcos my mom wan to handle only 1 kid at a time, ie Jo in the morning, M in the afternoon... and of cos in prep for M's dec sch hols!

the CCC that we r planning to send Jo (same as the one M was attending last yr) dun have such arrangement as YX's school. most kids r there for the morning or whole day. they seldom have kids jus for the afternoon...

pax,
yah, most kids go in the morning cos they would need to nap in the afternoon esp at such a young age. So personally i feel that it's a waste of money to send her there to sleep.

pax,
While Jo is a little harder to manage now, i think M is easier to handle now that he's older, so it's a trade-off.
With both kids in school in the morning, your mom can use that time to finish her work. In the afternoon, Jo would spend some time napping so effectively the time spent on handling both kids is probably be about half the afternoon.
Hopefully you can manage to convince her.

M is nowhere easier to handle
his T2 probably started later compared to other kids bcos of his character. i've resorted to caning despite wat i believe. damn sian. i feel damn lousy after every weekend. furthermore, he's spoiled by hubby.

Hmm.... i find it hard to believe that M is naughty. But then again, kids can be different at home and in front of strangers. Em is a classic example.

Don't feel lousy. You've been doing a good job with the kids. No doubt weekends can be even more tiring then weekdays. On some weekends, i already feel flat out 2 hours after i wake up and can't wait for the day to quickly pass so that the kids can go to sleep. haha!
It's probably one of those days.... don't worry, it will pass.

pax, somehow i can understand why your mom wants to split the kids.
Looking at Jo, she's quite a handful!! I can always see Mr Pax very busy with her.
I thnk for M, you need to learn his temper, see what trigger those tantrums, then change things a little to see if what u change makes his tantrum a little less traumatic for u. I think caning would not solve the issue, in fact, it makes u miserable, M miserable and affect everyone else around - this part i can emphatise .. sigh...
And kids like M, he can feeeeel u and your emotions and pick on those vibes - whether good or bad.
Looking at Q, the worse part is 2,3,4 & by 5 less drama but still quite challenging as compared to other kids at that age.
And, Pax, it will get BETTER! That's what i've been telling myself... for the last 3 yrs!!!

bbgrace
ahahaha.. jus ask Qdee.. heee... yes, he's notti, but def not in front of strangers. he's a koala in front of strangers. ya, it's one of those days, bcos period here

Qdee
u r so so right..
yes, i have been telling myself that.. it'll get beta... caning doesn't solve the problem. at least i get him to stop whining and crying. then i can talk to him. no way i can talk to him when he's whiny and crying..

pax,
at least if you cane him, he stops whining and crying. i think if i cane mine, they probably wail even louder. J is afraid of daddy, so when daddy flares up, he keeps quiet.
Can't say the same for Em, think i've got a matthew in the making :p

ULCER
I've joined the gang of going to doc for a letter to certify that J is HFMD-free. That little note cost me an extra $5. Forgot about that note initially and when we were paying up then i remembered and the nurse added $5 to the bill.

bbgrace
at least we've conscience, bother to spend $ and bring kids to doc jus to be sure. there r some who won't do that, jus ask folic and poohy..

i also have problems with en. he can understand alot of things, he just cannot learn to accept them. he just have to throw tantrums and wail. been trying to talk to him nicely, explain.... he still wails. no amt of soft talking to calm him down. have to scream at him and ask him to shut up, then he will stop crying.

i jus realise this statement is so true after i post it in the Mar07 thread this afternoon.
Happy Mommy = Happy Family!

true right?

pax I fully agree -- Happy Mummy = Happy Family.
Now that I am working and happy, all the unhappiness in the house seems to be over....

BTW, my naughty A is so badly influence in MIL's house. If anyone raise her voice at her, she will tell you straight to your face....I don't want so an so and that include mummy. Wah biang, faintzzz...she surely is an extremely mischievious girl now....not even afraid of me. My hubby spoilt her worst by buying her toys everytime we go out...so she will wail loudy if she didn't get what she wants.....

A still refuses to allow us to wash her hair though we have her hair cut short....she really cried badly. She will say wo bu yao see dou each time she enters the shower room...Sigh! How to overcome her fear....try many ways of distraction.....as soon as the water touch her hair....she wails.

precious
i think it's Beacon Pri for Qdee's big girl

hey A is growing up jus like all our kids. she's talking more now right? with school and her cousins, sure pick up faster.
abt washing hair, last time i jus let M cry and quickly wash his hair... now i buy him a "special" shampoo - J&J Strawberry. he loves strawberry and loves the smell of it on his hair.. u try using this method? bring A to supermart and ask her to choose one. J&J has 4 variants, strawberry, blueberry, tropical fruit and orange... hope this helps.

oh Beacon Pri, now i know why it's so popular. It's one of the Future School designated by MOE.

precious,
Pax's suggestion is good. I use the L'oreal kids shampoo and the kids love the different flavours esp the strawberry or watermelon one.
Is she afraid of water entering her eyes?
Emma doesn't like it either but i will prepare her each time before i run the shower over her head by telling her "water over your head". i'll also standby a face towel to wipe her eyes.

pax, babygrace
Tks for your advices. A just hated wash hair. Each time I wash her hair, I also get wet cos she will push her face into my body.....MIL brought her to IMM to play with the water fountain, she refused to participate and guai guai sit beside ah ma while her cousins play their hearts out.

Still I will bring her go supermarket and let her choose shampoo, may be buy a set of bikini for myself so that I get wet with her...hahahaa

hi precious,

YX used to hate it too.. until she started bathing in school. Her teachers made her look up into the ceiling, so the water will flow back down and not on her face. She likes it better that way. Now, she will wash her hair in any position

folic

precious, looks like Pax already answered for me regarding the school.
Washing hair, we perfected the technique of washing from behind. Then we'll ask N to look up, close her eyes, cover her ears. Now it doesn't matter how we washed coz she's used to being a watergun target and also coz of swimming. Perhaps u would like to try that.

bbgrace, now lotsa hype and publicity but i am sure 2-3 yrs down the road as more and more schools are upgraded to be IT schools, this school would be just another neighbourhood primary school.

Sigh..kids these days. Ashley is always answering back ("ding-3 zhui3"). If we raise voice at her, she'll say "Don't shout at me! That's rude!" (which is what we'll tell her when she shouts). Or sometimes she'll say "I don't like u anymore" and "storm" off to the room. Leaves me totally exasperated, sometimes bemused!
A weekend of answering her never-ending "why" questions patiently (i try to) leaves me with a headache :p

Pax,
Hope u're feeling better now!

Qdee,
Congrats to u & Q! Sigh..feel a bit bad to S, whom u intro to me for the job vacancy, now that I'm leaving :p

Precious,
Ashley also used to have this problem. Last time Qdee taught--ask her to look up at the ceiling (e.g. "look, is that a spider up there?"), then wash her hair so water doesn't get into eyes. I also tried "washing her hair like a baby"--cradle her (I was squatting down, so half her body is supported on my lap), then wash hair like how you would for a baby--this one sure get wet!

Babygrace,
Hope J's happier taking the sch bus now. Hope the "animal" didn't give any more trouble! Sometimes we can't be sure what actually happens in sch, just have to trust our instinct. Ashley sometimes comes back telling me:
A: XXX beat/push me in sch.
Me: So did u tell your teacher?
A: No. And I didn't cry. I'm a brave girl.
Me: ???!!!

I just have to believe that she'll take care of herself cos she used to push back when she was pushed (teacher complained to me) and we've taught her not to do that but to inform teacher instead. And she once threw a piece of watermelon at a relief teacher and shouted at the poor relief teacher (form teacher complained to me also!) cos relief teacher was rushing her by feeding her lunch & fruit but she likes to do things herself n take her own sweet time. I think girls r more aggressive these days..sigh!

omg
haha, your ashley can fight. I'm crossing my finger, at this stage, A is well behaved in school.....her Eng teacher called me last week to remind me to send her to school to take class pic. So we had a small chat cos I didn't see the teachers for as long as I'm working. I was telling them how naughty A is but she told me A is great, well behaved, willing to do things herself etc etc....!!!! So opposite when at home lei.

Thanks mummies for all the washing hair tips... will ask her to look up, haven't try this before.

pax
Oh yes, GOD granted my wish to hear A speaks more....Amen, Thank GOD for it. She talks non-stop, I am trying to figure out what she says sometimes....but after going to ILs house for around 3mths, she speaks more mandarin. Her EQ also improve, used to ask her "you love papa more or mama more?", she will say mama more. Now she will answer each time, papa, mama I love u. So diplomatic, that makes us happy, or should I say her daddy more happy.

precious, glad to see you post again.. and u do sound alot happier than last time... wen also screams when i washes her hair. i just give her an empty shampoo bottle or something to distract her.... so she would be looking down whilst i rinse her hair.... not too many complaints after that.

omg, u also 1 rare guest.... maybe 1 post a mth, max?

qdee... i just went MOE website.. that nearest neighbourhood school near my place still have vacancies for phase 2C supp.. so i think next time i won't have to worry that much.

Jannie,
Heheh! NExt time will be even rarer. Going to change job :p

Folic,
Hahaha! They really know how to 耍小姐脾气, right?
Ashley sometimes will say "I'm so angry! I wanna go home already!", when she's already at home! Maybe she/her friends say that in sch!

Precious,
Great that A can speak more...but headache also hor? Heehee! And I'm surprised that most kids these days got such high EQ, most kids will say they love both parents equally when asked. Good that you're enjoying ur work! I think kids normally behave better outside then terrorize the parents at home. :p

jannie
I post today cos boss at Board Mtg....Shhhhh... I knew the first day when I was SAHM that I was wearing the wrong hat.....

omg
You're right, though I find A extremely naughty at home, she is still very shy with outsiders. The improvement I see is, she is more willing to say bye bye to aunties/uncles.

I also realised one thing, working mother will be "more tolerant" towards her children cos less time spend with them. Every minute with them seems very precious. When I was SAHM, I'm very easily annoyed with her little bit of crying here and there...now sometimes I laugh. I hope SAHMs will agree with me...

omg, fry cuttlefish for boss huh?
Hope you fun in your new job!

My house is like childcare center yesterday. My parents took care of the 2 babies while my siblings were out. My mum says macam symphony.. one cry, the other cry. haha! The Londoner bb doesn't use pacifier, sarong or bubu..all these are my mum's weapon to stop the bb from crying.. so she is totally lost as to what to do. hahahaha! :p

Thankfully, YX starts to be a bit more friendly to the Japan cousin yesterday. She played with him and offered him her bubu. And she is very happy when he laughs at her attempts to cheer him up.

folic

I finished my exams and i passed!!! wee wiiiittt!!!

folic, must be so fun to have so many babies!!!!
But i bet your parents pengsan at the end of the day.

OMG, i think i know where u are gg.. dun worry abt S .. she drama la. Meeting her tonite to eat Japanese ice-cream :D

Bloody nose!
-------------
Need to check wif u gals something.
N has been experiencing nosebleed. On & off.
THe first time it happened was earlier this yr. Checked wif PD, he said nothign to worry abt it's just the rupture of the soft membrane.
Then it happened a few times more, once while she was asleep and woke up with lots of dried around her nose and on her pillow, bolster and bedsheet.

The most recent was last sunday when sneezed out blood - splattering on my floor, smearing my bedsheet and her clothes and face. It's really scarily alot.

Should I be worried??? I mean i already am .. just that .. not sure if i shud do further checks *doc said normal - wah piang!*
Happening so often that she kept saying 'what a bloody nose!' hahaha

I'll be going back to where I was from..near Square 2 ;)

Babygrace,
Actually i'm not too sure if she would be bullied cos most times she'll say she didn't inform teacher when she's pushed/beaten (but I dun see any visible signs of being abused)...but I've seen the teachers "punishing" (time-out) naughty kids before, so i guess should be ok. Have u spoken with the teacher or sch-bus aunty?

Folic,
When I see A playing with younger kids or trying to "take care" of them, it makes me wonder if she's ready for a didi/meimei...does that happen to u? Unfortunately i'm not ready :p
And yes, fry cuttlefish :p

Qdee,
Really? S's off today..heheh!
Nose bleed...is it because N sleeping in aircon room--dry air?! Maybe can see another PD for 2nd opinion or seek ENT opinion, since it's happening quite a few times! Hopefully it's nothing serious, sometimes once the membrane is injured, there's higher risk of re-injury, e.g. sudden change in pressure like sneezing.

LYING
Is it normal for kids this age to tell lies? Just so they get their way? E.g. Ashley will say she's done xxx when she hasn't done so. Or say things like "But daddy said can" (to me; or "But mommy said can" to daddy, when we didn't!)...n she could do it with a straight face!!!
I know it's not right, but I've resorted to threatening "The next time u tell a lie, I'll let you eat chili". Any better methods to stop these lies????!!!!

omg, it totally does not happen to me.. if anything, i am more sure than ever that i am too old and tired to have another one... :p