(2005/02) Feb/Mar 2005 Babies

no, yx's fren was ok in the morning.. so jus got a few ulcer that suddenly popped out.. so got segregated and sent back.

the teacher was telling me about how irresponsible some parents are. In the earlier episode a few weeks back, the parent jus insist that it is not HFMD and just dump the child there. Even when call them to pick up the kid, they take their own sweet time. Then when confirmed HFMD, also didnt auto tell the school. I pity the school, you know? the teachers had to take out every single item and wash them. Then have to ask professional cleaners in to detox. Seriously irritated with all these idiots.

folic

aiyo.. i can't believe there are parents like that. runny nose and cough still acceptable, but HFMD? can the CCC complain to MCYS? i think there's a channel to feedback all these... maybe u shld write to the ST forum and see what MCYS say.

folic,

just saw your post. Is YX going to school today? I am feeling v concerned that there may be cases right in their class. Especially when J is sharing the same classroom in the afternoon and she still loves to put things inside her mouth. But if i dun send them to school, I am worried S will be back to his crying in the morning which he just overcome last week. And J is already having separation anxiety since sch reopen... I am worried it will make it worst. Sigh bo bian. Maybe will go today and see how. Praying!

pax, take care!

poohy, not going today. I also damn sian about it cos YX jus stopped crying last Friday also. I am quite hopping mad about those inconsiderate parents, causing inconvenience to those unaffected parents. Maybe safer to keep J at home, since she is still a little weak from the previous week's illness.

folic

gals!!!!!
Good morning ...

Folic, i hope YX did not catch the bugs.

I think the silly irresponsible parents thot they paid $$$ and the world owes them to take care of their kids! Assholes!

2 wks back i pull N off school for a wk just coz she had tummy flu. Midwk the teacher called me and asked why N always missed school. TOld her N had tummy flu and it's airborne and thot it's better for the other children if N is kept away. The teacher said, I am on of the RARE few parents who think this way.

Anyway, N & Q's school having outbreak of chickpox. I think there were 5 cases last wk.

pax, u take care too!!!

poohy, something for u in case u are interested.
http://www.bridgelearning.com.sg/about.htm

folic,

I will check with the teachers on the any more cases today later when I pick S up.

Qdee,

ya I normally keep my kids away from school when they are not feeling well. S was away from school for a week when we found 1 ulcer in his mouth... its heatiness. At times, if we deem it contagious, may even keep J away in case she got it and spread to others. My view is that their immunity is already weakened if they have fever or whatever, bringing them to school may also expose them to more bugs and vice versa from them to classmates.

thanks for the link. Will check it out

stomach flu i def keep away. vomitting and diarrhea no joke man...

*cross fingers* hope all the kids stay healthy and happy....

poohy, i just let off steam by writing a letter to ST forum. Hopefully it gets published :D hopefully no more new cases.

folic

folic,

check with you.... where did u buy the "Happy birthday, Clifford" book that you placed in YX's goody bag previously? I had been trying to look for it in popular book shop at jurong point but cant find it. I wanted to buy a series of it as J loves to read that particular book very much.

Hi pax,
hv u bot the tics to the rainbow fish show? if not, can get additional 3 tics for sunday, 7 Sep 11 am show at early bird price.

RainboW fish
I've booked the tix. the only thing abt the tix, is that i won't get individual tix, but a letter to show the booking...

doremon
i can still get for u.

poohy, that is actually part of the phonics book set. There are 12 books in a set. So everyone gets a different book.. jus that yours is happy birthday clifford. You saw the scholastic order form in S or J's bag? You can order from there and it is much much cheaper. I bought at Kino for $26 i think.. something like that.. donno which box set I got.. http://www.amazon.com/Cliffords-Phonics-Fun-Box-Set/dp/0439403820

Glad to hear no more new cases.. will send her back on Monday.. most prob!

folic

hey girls, i m back in 1 piece. overall, trip is not so bad.... din get to do alot of things with such a naughty boy, but i guess en enjoyed himself cos he got to do different things everyday.

thomasland was the grand finale and it is really very good. was glad that we made the trip despite the rain. saw all the main characters, even fat controller and lady hatt. rides are fanstastic cos they are meant for younger children. this thomasland is actually part of a big themepark. thomasland has all the rides for the young toddlers, while the rest of the park has rides for older kids and adults. they even have their own little zoo in a corner of the park. nice place to spend a whole day if the weather is good.

on plane rides, folic was right, i was too paranoid abt en. he is quite manageable on flights. he din get use to the pressure while descending and screamed the whole plane down 2 times. gave him sweet but he almost choked cos he was trying to swallow it and not suck on it. when we took the next flight, hubby managed to teach en to hold his nose and blow - which i think helped as the rest of the flights were a breeze. funny thing to mention is that when we have to go thru all the securtiy x-rays, en will automatically pass the detector, then stand with his hands and legs stretched out. and ALL the security officers will "search" him, to entertain him, without us prompting.

by the way, i have got quite a few sweaters cos our 1st stop was quite cold - din bring enuff sweaters so bought quite a few in the end. then got a couple as gifts too as i think others could tell that i wasn't prepared for such a cold weather. so if u all need, just borrow from me since we will prob need not use for singapore's hot weather. i think the size is good for another year or so since our todds dun grow tall that fast now. i even have a vest with fleece as inner lining as a gift. should have abt 5 or 6 sweaters.

Hi Mummies , I am a mother of two kids and I am trying to intro phonics to my son (3 years old) . Any one know of any courses or is any one's child taking phonics classes here?

welcome back jannie!

Received email from the school that J's class got 2 more cases. Looks like i cant let him go to school next week also

Gosh, didn't know the HFMD bug is on the rise again. So far didn't hear anything fm Shamill's presch. Guess no news is good news.

Hi Florence,
u can try Zoophonics.

Janice, your trip sounded fun.

I was just at the MOH site. They only have data up to last Friday and it shows total of 250+ cases last week. Maybe they think it has died down and not worth updating the site but all teh cases I heard are from this week! hopefully it doesnt get too out of hand.

YX is still at home with grandies today. I hope she doesn't think it is forever... SIGH!Super irritated cos she only started to stop crying!

folic

isabel is showing signs that she is intolerant to formula milk. dammit when i just bought another tin of Similac 0-6 months, 400g. if any1 interested, or knows of some1 who might want it, lemme know. willing to sell or exchange for Isomil. thanks!

i want gummies but this site doesnt have the vegetarian gummies

fries, i still hv the receipt? if so can exchange at the shop.

I just sent YX back to school... felt as if i am sending her to some war zone.. first thing i heard is another case confirmed this morning in the other N1 class... SIGH! but there are so few children there now.. mebbe it is safe? hahaha!

folic,
i'm keeping J home for another day. Figured since already kept him home for so long liao, another 1 or 2 days is no different. Just wanted to be extra safe, else my efforts last week will be in vain.

just sent en to school. they used to just check temp and rashes on hands b4 going into the school to check for rashes on feet. now they have shifted the 2nd station by the door, and added a check for ulcers in mouth. took a good 30 mins for all to clear to go into the school. that means all activities cut short by 30 mins. sigh...... but better to be safe than sorry, right?

by the way, anyone rmber which shops sell those mattress (for floor type) with the sides that can be folded upwards as a barricade to prevent the kids from rolling over to the floor? i rmber having discussed this here quite some time back.... but cannot rmber where to buy....

bbgrace, the problem is that the cases just keep popping and I can't continue to keep for another 10 days right? SIGH!

oh, mothercare having sales now on their summer series, if anyone's interested:

2 items 15% off
3 items 20% off
4 items and above 25% off

good morning gals!

so sad.. ST sent me mail to say they won't be publishing my letter as planned.. SIGH! oh well!

poohy, u didn't send s to school? the attendance rate is really low these few days... the other N1 class only 3 ppl.. YX's class todya not bad.. still got 10 pp.. other classes with cases all only 4-5 pp..

folic

angry!@#($&@#$

phantom
ur email classified as spam by my office's server. stupid idiots.. now asking them to release the email...

folic
sometimes they would do a news article on the issue rather than publish ur letter.. i guess ur letter could have moved them to do a story... let's hope so..

folic,

any more new cases. I just came back from sending J to school. S got an ulcer yesterday (think its becos he too heaty and he knocked himself last week)... so I let him stay at home to see how. This morning we brought him to the doctor to ensure its not HFMD. By the time finish at the doc's, it was too late so he din go today. He will be back tomorrow.

haha poohy, u and i sama sama.. today i also go and get letter from doc at my office bldg b4 sendingyx to sch at 920am. she got an ulcer from biting her lips while chomping on oreo.
I only heard one case yesterday morning, which Ms SY told me.. N1 the other class. but i didnt see any memo out on that one. Tat one is full day one.. so in a way i was glad yx was out of school last week.