(2005/02) Feb/Mar 2005 Babies

why am i at risk? we also having problem la.
this morning she told us she want kids cosmetic!!
the other day she wanted Polar bear (as in real polar bear .. sigh).

then just now Z sms'ed me and told me that on 25 OCt we have to buy school books. I told him, ok and will wrap it up for Q for her to open after she blos her candles! haha
anyway, u all dun worry abt it la, u all come and makan ... in fact Q likes it when ppl come and eat haha that's good enough for her. Serious!
On those years where we did not call many ppl she will ask, mama why u din invite anybody to come here to eat??

ooh ooh one thing for sure please no HUGE toys, one girlfriend already gave her soemthing that's the size of an inflatable pool and it's in my bathroom now!!

haha qdee, in trouble means i already dream of things taht Q likes but you may object.. so u better lay down terms.. in fact, my conversation with fries on msn goes something like this..

fries: i email qdee to ask wat q wants but she didnt reply
me: she will tell u don need present
fries: wat would q like
me: something girly.. mebbe we shd get her make up set.
fries: ROFL

So you see, you hv very good aunty frens... we already anticipated what she wanted. :D

folic

fries, sorry not that i did not want to reply, i was still thinking hard about it.
ok ok, tell u all what, dun buy ex stuff ok? paiseh la.

things that she did mention to us about:
- cosmetic sets (got to see suitable for kids or not, the kind with nail polish, glitter etc, rejected coz i was afraid she'll break out in rashes).
- handheld games (which probably is out of budget and i TOTALLY DO NOT approve coz she's starting sch next yr and i dun want her to get any addiction.
- tamagotchi family v5.0 - which again i dont approve hahahah
- real pet hamsters which i also reject :D

things that i would probably approve (but NOT fun, haha! hey i am practical!!):
i) school bag - the ergonomic kind (available at the shop on the 5th floor opposite from robinsons).
ii) handicraft set - beads to make into accessories.

so u see?? mommy is usually no fun that's why kids need aunties who will break all these rules.

qdee, i also passed by the ergonomic shop yesterday.. then thinking hard if Q will want something like that or not.... but hor, girls this age would prob like those disney princess stuff, right?

fries,
count me in for the pressie too. thx!

hahah u gals har .... u all do whatever u all want la .. hahah *hear no evil, see no evil*
Dun let me restrict your creativity.
For me, as long as u all come to celebrate i am happy, coz u all have to travel all the way to my place - *touched* :D

jan, yeah those ergo bags have the girly kind, princess and bratz, she chose hers already, must be pink.

mummies, where to get a 100% lint-free cloth that is good for cleaning? i can't find anything good for my dashboard.

yx is down with donno wat... super high fever hovering around 39+++... doc says not HFMD but some red spots in mouth.. says it's another variant of donno wat... spent the whole night sponging her and now in office dazed... now alternating between paracetomol and neurofen every 3 hours... and the poor gal has not eaten anything since last nite.

wat a weekend it will be!

folic

folic, ignatius had high fever on monday evening and it was tonsilitis. it only subsided after much brufen on thurs morning. u think he might have passed something to yx on saturday?

i don think it's from iggy..since different symptoms.. i also donno.. she keeps telling me her mouth very pain... was online with phantom and she said cayden got it b4. she is a bit delirious after all the super high fever and keeps drifting to sleep... rather worrying...bbgrace suggested i alternate btw paracetomol and nurofen every 3 hours, which was also wat yx's doc prescribed.. hopefully this will manage her fever better. it's a bit scary when teh fever does not go down below 38...

folic

folic, wen got that b4 too. 39 degrees for abt 3 days in a row ... never went down to 38. guess there is nothing much we can do, except to sponge her. i tried to go buy the water pillow for her then at guardian... they dun have leh.. cos she refused to sleep on the ice pillow i got from kiddy palace. must rmber to feed lots of fluid......that saga lasted for 5-6 days in total.

fries, YES!
i know la.. me gg this wkend to try her out on some rollerblades to see the fittng.. relax darling
hahahha
u fierce siah! will sms u by tmr evening ok?

Folic, sayang YX!
ask her abt her ears ok?? in case her ears are infected (coz N got her ears infected after the high fever and persistent coughing)

thanks for your concerns and constant sms
YX's temperature finally came down to 37+ last nite and is all cool today.

It is not fake measles or ear infections.. just some viral attack causing some ulcers in her mouth. It was scary looking at her yesterday.. macam coma.. today, she is all active and jumping again.

aiyo pax, what happened? M sick?

folic, yah, glad to hear YX is ok already. strong gal....if i ganna a 39 degree fever, i also will machaim in coma like that. infact, 38 degrees already dazed liao....

the children's playland (dunno the exact name, but the farm where it was closed for renovation) is opened liao. the new water play is fantastic. like a mini wild wild wet. got some obstacle course areas and a small playground there as well. only thing to complain abt is that there is no shower area for adults. they have this open outdoor shower area for kids. so if u are going into the water play area with younger kids, be prepared to go back unshowered. they dun even have a changing room for adults. have to use the kids' toilet cubicals.

jannie, oh the playground is opened? We went last week, but only the boat ride was opened. YX was thrilled to see that there is merry go round. will let her know and prob we will make a trip again soon!

folic

i want to do a quick survey- is it reasonable for me to request my maid to cut her hair?It is quite long now (past the bra strap). Sometimes, she will not tie her hair but finally tie it all the time after scolding from me. I asked her to go cut her hair, even gave her $10 to go downstairs to cut. First time, she came back tell me too many people, then ask me if can wait till her off day to cut at lucky plaza. Yesterday was her off day, she came back and didn't cut her hair. Her excuse is that she sent all her money back and no money to cut hair. Really made me mad.. cos macam trying to skirt around my request. ARGH!! Today, I gave her ultimatum to go down and cut hair or else don come back... but now i am in office, feel that i am too fierce... am i??

folic

folic... i also have that problem leh!!! my maid's hair is just too long and she simply refused to cut it off! the last time i tried to physcho her.... it worked. but this time she refused to be physchoed. if u have other solutions to this, let me know as well.

the carousel is at $4 per pax.... and thank goodness en wasn't interested...cos it is such a tiny carousel....

jannie, that's why i used ultimatum.. told her very firmly this morning, b4 i went out, that she has to cut her hair and gave her 10 bucks... then yx was sitting nearby ask me why i so upset. hahaa

my mum just brought yx back to the doc to get him to certify that yx is fit for school. cos this morning, still hv 1-2 tiny ulcers, so wanted to get clearance b4 sending her to school. YX must have somehow charmed the doc.. the letter is FREE! hahaha! must be my mum gets bulk discount cos she bring all her 3 grandchildren there.kakaa!

jannie and folic
All my previous maids had their hair snapped at agencies prior to coming my house. Then all requested to keep long hair. Those who's had good hygiene standards, I allowed them to keep long hair provided that they tied their hair in place. I told them that the day, I saw them let loose their hair, it would be the day that they cut their hair and it worked. But all these were communicated since Day 1. Maids with freezy hair actually looked neater with their hair tied up, otherwise with short hair, their hair goes hay-wired...like stick out and become very messy. Only the last Indo maid, whose hair grows very fast and very thick kind, I cut her hair for her as she wanted it very short. She said my hair-cut is nicer than the salon....hehe

err folic, i thot the letter IS free?? u mean doc charged for that too?? wah piang! nvr know everything also charge, coz the last time i asked doc to write for us, he did not charge .... hmmmm.

ooh first time i hear folic has maid issue! hehe.

jan jan!! thanks for the news!! my gals have been waiting and waiting for the place to open, we went in aug b4 fasting mth, then thinking will go in nov if they already open. Boat ride also open??? wow! in time for the holidays!

Hi, i've 2 tics Cat 2 to the Disney Live for the following date. Didn't realise that i've also bot tics to the Hungry Caterpillar.
Date : 23 Nov 2008 Sunday
Time : 11 am
Seat : T03, Row 16 Seat 1 & 2 (Cat 2)
Paid $95.10 willing to let go at $90.

If interested, let me know k.

qdee.. yah, boat ride also opened. $4 per adult, $2 per child. they have cordoned off the crocodile area this period (the 1st bridge thingy). the restuarants are also not opened yet. although the sign says the restaurant will open in nov... it doesn't look like they are anywhere near completion. can eat at the pavilion near the elephant ride (taste awful), or at KFC in the children's playland. they also have a ben and jerry inside the playland.

pls help. if u see any eu yan sang road show (where most things are at 20% off), pls inform me. need to stock up on their ba bao san liao. wen is hooked on it... kept asking for it. of course i dun give unless necessary....

everytime go doc to get letter is 28 bucks to say ' to whom it may concern.. i hv examined and she does not hv hfmd'.. i used to say.. $1 one word...
he charge cos it is 'visit' mah.. min consultation fee.

my maid prob- well, i guess i can't really complain much about her work.. just that familiarity breeds contempt.

folic

folic, tell me abt it. mine has been with me for 4 yrs. going to renew her contract for another 2 more yrs.....

folic
tahan for awhile more mabbe soon no need a helper.

btw anyone has contact for PT cleaner available for saturday morning 3-4 hrs.

qdee, did Q see any design she just absolutely gotta have? if so i'll go scout for it... if not, then she'll hafta cross her fingers that i can pick a nice one!

folic,
Don't think you are being unreasonable. Sometimes u got to do this to show who's the boss.
My maid's hair was cut short by agent but i told her from the beginning that i can let her leave her hair long on the condition that she must tie it up at all times, which she complied.
When it got thick and bushy, i brought her down to get it cut, no complaints.
You're right, familiarity breeds contempt. So sometimes still hv to show that u are the boss.

The GP at my place charges for the letter. The last time i forgot to ask him for it and only realised when paying up and they added $5 to the bill. Rip off.

u gals bring the kids to PD for the note? GP charge small fee. PD charge premium wor..

bbgrace
u mean $5 on top of the bill?!? i bring M to GP, they charge nominal on top of seeing him...

hey girls
mr pax is thkg of getting a Wii set bcos i dun like the idea of getting a car driving video game for M. i prefer a variety with 1 set. wat games r ur kids playing on Wii? fun?

pax,
$5 is on top of the bill. Anyway, that one is not my regular GP. Went to him simply becos i didn't want to queue at PD just to check 1 ulcer.

J is hooked on wii, which i try to control. But he plays wif gong gong while i'm at work. it has been a while since i last saw him at it and when i saw him play during Em's birthday party, i was surprised that he could actually play quite well compared to previously (that means he had been playing lots while i'm at work). His favourite is still wii sports (which comes with the set) and wii fit (he still cant manage some of the games in there but can do the snow boarding and skiing quite well)

pax, en is playing wii sports. once in a while he plays transformers, but that is abit too difficult for him, so he will give up after several attempts.