(2004/04) April Mummy

My gal was sick too. Had high fever on Fri morning gave me a shock took urgent leave to bring her to see doc. Luckily fever subsided in the evening. Then Sat, my turn to fall sick haiz
Just wondering when your tots had high fever, does any of your docs prescribe antibiotics?

Toony,
It must be tough for you. Take care! Anyway glad that Austin is ok now. U taking care of him at home now?

Aloe,
Ryan is sick again? Take care too.

Aloe, Ann,
Re : eggs
I also dun noe enough or not. That time nurse only told me must try eggs to test for allergy but nvr say must eat 1 whole egg. Wat I posted last week was wat my colleague told me.

Angel,
thx for inviting. will like to join u all if i can make it.
my email: [email protected]

for the liver, i will cut it into small little bits and put into his porridge for 15 min. for tongue, i will put it in right from the beginning coz it takes a long time to cook.

why can't spinach be mixed with tofu?

ya, i also read in a book that it's common for children to have cough abt 7 times a yr.

Cutecute,
nice meeting u too! u can actually recognise En. very sharp of u leh. i saw ur boi tis morning, with ur mil i think. i smile at him and he gave me a shy smile. so cute

Home,

Some mommies in another forum says the elders and chinese docs says cooking spinach and tofu together will cause pple to develope kidney/gall stones. I'm not sure how accurate it is but I'm very kiasi one so stop mixing them to cook.

Maple,

Hee...are you going to collect registration/membership fee from Home? Kekeke. Must trouble you to update our contact list again. :p

had been busy recently.Just started work today,so blur and unmotivated.My sales target is so unattainable,makes me feel like quitting.How are all the bbs?All recovering,I hope.

Cherish had her MMR postponed to this sat due to cough too.I'm quite worried abt her taking the jab as it might cause fever.

cutecute,I like ur boy's hair uncut.But with the weather like this,best to keep hair short.He looks very alert in the 1st 2 pics.Love his smile.

Toony,how's Austin?Poor boy,I felt so heartpain too.Cherish sayang hor......By the way,I noticed that some renov works are conducting rite outside the infantcare,so dusty leh.(went to my new hse to inspect the renov works,just started)

Angel,dun get too stressed with Ryan.The terrible 2 thing is just an indication that toddlers fall into this catergory will be difficult to handle.But kids are kids.They'll naturally be curious and fascinated by the moving escalator.

Aloe,Cherish and I miss Ryan's infectious laughs so much.By the way can he walk?Cherish is still enjoying her crawler stage.She haven plucked up enuf courage to start walking yet.

Home,do u intend to work if you manage to find a gd cc?I bet u're going to miss En alot.Me,I'm so worried that my MIL cannot cope with my 2 girls,Ethan (my Dubai nephew) and 2 naughty brats (My BIL's sons).Dare not call home to check,for fear that Cherish will be awaken by the phone ringing or MIL busy carrying Celeste.Celeste can only sleep while being carried.The moment we place her on bouncer,she'll wake up.

Maple,are u feeling better?How abt G?Since I'm back to work already,lets see when both of us available,then I can pass you the Cheerios.

Ann,your method of cooking is ok.I feel that hard boiled eggs are very difficult to digest.Cherish dun like.I'll either make steamed egg custard or ommelette.But she definitely can't finish one whole egg at one time.

Something to share with all of u.Cherish finally says "Ma ma" a few days ago,coincidentally on my birthday.She really make my day!Best birthday present ever!So happy and proud.I make she say alot of times until I can float.I purposely said this to my hubby,"Wow,that feeling so shiok ah."heehee....

Hi Maple
Last time when my baby having fever, the doc did prescribe antibiotics. However many people incl their doctors said that better dun take antibiotics. My neighbour said if they take have to take stronger antibiotics next time.

Hi Angel
Thanks for telling us the spanish mixed with toufu. I better tell my mil tonight. scared scared..

Hi Rain_drops
Happy Belated Birthday!

Hi Home
Slowly my boi will recongise you.

Hi Mummies & tots
Take good care!

Raindrops,
i may give tution if i can find a cc to put En in. i agree with u, will surely miss En if i go out work. sometimes, i can't even bear to leave him for half a day unless i'm super stress up! i think not En having separation anxiety, it's his mummy! ha ha

it's really the best gift u receive on ur bday! happy belated birthday

Cutecute,
feel free to drop by my place if u r free or on leave

Raindrops,

Happy belated b'day. I'm sure Cherish meant it as a b'day present for you.

Cutecute,

I'm also not sure if its true abt the spinach and tofu thing but I just playing safe loh.

Home,

Hee, since you "free" most of the time, maybe we can bring our tots out and play together. But must meet in central coz' we staying at the far end of sg.

hi Raindrop. what a Great birthday present that Cherish gave u ... happy belated birthday..
Ryan still refuse to call me.. so sad !! :-<
oh .. he can't really walk yet.. i guess is same as Cherish, not enuf courage to start walking on his own yet.

Angel. is it only spinach that cannot cook together with tofu ??? in this case i will cook tofu with some other things instead..

Just find out from my ex-colleague, he send his son to this childcare call Learning vision. OMG. the school fees is soooooooo ex. 600+ ....
But he said his son can really learn more things in school ..

cutecute, just went to see PD as Ryan's running nose did not recover after 2 wks .. PD also give antibiotics, but Ryan's daddy refuse to let him take.. so now i am giving him some product from e excel(duno if any of u heard this before), to build up his immune system....
what is the weight of yr boy ?? he looks tall ...

hi home. En enjoy eating the tongue ??? i tasted tongue before. but i duno young kids also can eat !!

hi maple, high fever really scary.. that nite ryan had high fever 40degree, i so scare, we quicky rush down to A&amp;E.. and me too, on the same day have high fever too ... both sick at the same time..

Aloe,

What I've heard is only spinach and tofu not suppose to cook together thats all. 600+ consider slightly high only. Last time when I was teaching in one of the more "branded" childcare, the fees was $800+ and another one that is slightly more famous than the one I was teaching in charges $1k. But most of the kids there are quite well spoken and smart compared to those neighbourhood ones that I have taught in. Dunno is it the sch really better or coz the family backgrd is the main reason.

Btw, anti-biotics not suppose to take too much coz body will get resistant to it. Ryan is on it now though coz' cough didnt go away after 2 wks plus.

Thank u,mummies.

Cherish had antibotics before too for her flu.Actually I also dun like the feeling of intro antibotics to bb so soon.

Cherish sayang two Ryans.Get well soon.She just recovered from cough too.

hi angel, can i know which childcare u teach before ... 1k is vy EX .. but if the school can help the kid to become well spoken and smarter ... can consider ...
Kiasu mummy here .. :->

Raindrops
Happy Belated Birthday!! Yes indeed a wonderful gift u have from Cherish. Val opp..she always call papa..only call me when she feels like lor..sometimes she points at me when she calls me but sometime worst, point at the wall and say mama???

Angel
yah i think i better stop cooking spinach and tofu..scare scare must tell my mum too..

Maple
i gave b4 Val antibotics a few months back when she had flu but only a few times than stop(i know i'm not suppose to stop halfway)cause everytime she takes she vomit out. So 'bu Ren Xin' than stop lor.

Aloe
Yap. i heard alot pple said tat too. They learn more thing there. i have seen a few 15-17months wearing their own sandals when i visited 1 of the CC few months back.

Mummies Val have been taking less nap in the afternoon nowadays(only like 1/2hr) than sleep very late like coming to 12am. if continue like that i going 'peng san' soon.

A webpage to share on childcare
http://www.ezyhealth.com/babycentre/babycentre_care.cfm

In my view when choosing child-care, the most important is the teacher. No matter how good the programme/brand/experience, but the teacher not good &amp; the child always unhappy inside the child-care, no point sending him there.
You can get some info from the other thead.

Angel, I also want to know which child-care leh, althought I cannot afford it. Just kpo kpo. :p

Oooops... forgot to tell mil abt the spanish mixed toufu..
Today mil &amp; husband bring baby to policyclinic. Hope they write down the weight &amp; height. Dunno the nurse will inject MMR or not. He ate so little eggs leh..

Aloe, cutecute,

I used to teach at kinderworld at Suntec. Their programmes and facilities are much better compared to the neighbourhood ones I taught in before. And the teacher better too (at least in my opinion). Coz' 2 of the not so branded ones I taught in, the English teacher either speak in broken English or sometimes Mandarin to the kids. In terms of teaching aids and toys got different too. But that was quite a few yrs back. Now I'm not so sure.

Honestly speaking, I won't send to the $800+ one too coz' cannot afford and out of the way. I think my main priorities will be the programmes, environment and the way the teachers carrys themselves. I agree with cutecute that teachers are very important coz' if they are not patient or nice to the kids, it won't work.

Angel,
sure no prob! or we can take turns to go each other's house

Aloe,
that time when En got running nose, the doc also suggested giving antibio, but we din wan to give. in the end 2 wks then recover. tat time was tough, running nose so bad that at time can hear him having breathing difficulties.

En quite ok with tongue. maybe i give him once in a long while only. so he enjoys it

Home,

No problem. Can arrange when my boy recovers from his cough. Btw, read somewhere that organ meat shldnt be given too often though its nutritious. Maybe once a fornight only. I running out of idea wat to cook again. Maybe will go and try get frog legs again and ask hubby get pig liver this wkend.

My husband called me just now that if we want to test Hep B, (whether his body absorb Hep B inject or not) must until 3-4 years old. Don't know why pte pd can give the tot this blood test.
My boi got injected MMR
He got cried loh..
Will post his weight &amp; height tomor cos husband forget it.

Cutecute
Remember last time i post Val PD send her for HepB test. The reason he told me that was because Val was TMC baby than i follow on with him which he also from TMC than he say he usually does all this procedure. But the blood test was not done at his clinic..is at a clinic tat does blood test at TMC. the report will fax to him

Really must wait until 3-4 years than can see got absorb anot.than how arh should i continue still got 2 more jab leh??i now scare and blur liao????

*sayang* ur boi..

Angel,
Hey, u appoint me as Membership Recruitment Officer har? Kekeke
Din noe that u were a childcare teacher b4, can we send our tots to u for lessons?

Home,
Will email u later to ask for your details.

Raindrops,
Happy belated birthday. That was indeed a very nice bd present.
My gal is better now, but mil said yday she still hv slight flu.
Me not well yet, still got flu.
Will probably meet up with u next wk, do not want to spread any flu virus to u.
Think one of my colleagues got the virus from me, me feel so paisey.

Aloe,
40 degrees is very high temp lah, no wonder u worry.

Angel, Aloe,
Re : childcare
$1K very expensive hor?
Last mth, I passed by the childcare centre downstairs my blk, so kaypo go check up the price. Abt $300+ after subsidy. Thot that was reasonable. But did not check on the curriculum, the teachers etc cos no intention of sending her there since mil is looking after her.

Cutecute,
Agree with u on your views on childcare.
Do monitor your boi for fever for the next few days cos nurse told me that MMR jab is likely to cause fever.

G : Cherish jie jie, I jealous leh! Why u only sayang the 2 Ryan didi but didnt sayang me? I was also sick leh!

my friend jus told me, same as what Angel said, can only feed tots liver once a wk, abt half a teaspoon. hope i got it correct, anyway, just a little bit of liver.

Maple,
thanx. hav to trouble u.

ya loh, we can all send our tots to Angel for lessons!!!

how many naps ur tot take nowadays? mine already reduce to 1 nap and it is 11am to 1pm. then the rest of the day i have to entertain him. wow... very tiring. read in the Today's parents that sometimes we have to let kids get bore so that they can be creative. but then, mine will still run to me leh... *scratch head*

Maple &amp; Home,

Dun make me paiseh leh. Like I said, I taught yrs ago. Now lost touch and rusty liao. If you still dare to send your tots over, no prob, but MUST PAY! kekeke.

Maple,

See, I see you so up. Appoint you as recruitment officer. Touched anot? Flattered anot? Kekeke. You better take care. Take more Vit C and fluid, will help you recover faster.

Home,

My boy still take 2 naps/day and if circumstances doesnt allow, he die die must take 1 long nap if not he will be ultra cranky. Ty's parents says must let our tots be bored? Sure anot? I tought boredom will breed irritation and crankiness? Maybe diff sch of thoughts from what I've read.

Oh yah, agree $1k is very ex. But the average income of those parents in that childcare is ard $10k/mth. Envy hor? I know one of my student's parents earn close to $20k/mth and both of them were in IT line. So Aloe, are you earning so much too? kekeke.

hi angel..

me far far far far from the 10k la .. haha how to afford then ... may be i shd skip all my lunch / dinner / walk to work and all others shopping then Ryan can go to "branded" school !!!

Aloe,

You still better off than me. Even if I skip all my meals and stop all my shopping and, I still cannot afford to send mine to those "branded" sch. At least you still got the possibility. :p

Just wondering if your girls carry some form of mini first aid kit with you when you bring your tots out to parks/playground or when you know you will be home late at night. Such as mosquitoes patch, anti-itch cream, aloe vera, nsal rub or anything? I'm trying to pack mini first aid kits that are relevant to different occassion. Abit kua zhang anot huh?

Aloe,

Your colleague says the learning vision $600 is after govt subsidies ah? Then its very ex. If its before, still ok. Our budget for 1/2 day is ard $220-350 loh.The cheapest childcare I can find near my place is 220 for half day n if I am not wrong b4 subsidies though I dun qualify too lah.
kao_sad2.gif

Hi Ann
I dunno leh. This is what my husband told me. I hoped the nurse &amp; him got the correct channel. I realised that polyclinic &amp; pte pd have diff views. Eg, polyclinic wants them to eat eggs but not pte pd. Pte pd got check blood test for hep B but not polyclinic. I think u have to double check with your pd. My frd's baby also visits TMC pd, also got blood test, awaiting for result. Prevention is better than cure.

Hi Angel
I never bring first aid kit out.

I'm so disappointed. The nurse did not write his weight &amp; height in his health book. She only chopped yesterday date on the chart.

Fyi, his next injection is on mid Oct05.

Angel,
Thank you for seeing me so up. I also see u very up. Can I appoint u as the teacher for our tots? Har? Must pay eh? Got free trial lesson or not?

Got another appointment for you. Chairwoman of our Gathering Organising Committee. See, I see u very very up.

No, I do not carry First Aid kit. Nvr thot of it.

Home,
On weekdays my gal naps twice a day, on weekends she naps only once.

Angel,
the one i check is 175 after sub for half day. the half day sub of $75 applies to all, whether u working or not.

Maple,

Chairwoman just sit on the chair and shake leg ah? Ok loh. Then I appoint you as my P.A.. Kekeke So your first task it to update the contact list and get your place ready in Aug and pick a auspicious date and time for our gathering. Wahahahah.

As for being teacher. Can no problem if you dun mind I use military style with corporal punishment. Still want free trial anot? Kekeke

Home,

Hmmnnn...$175 is ok. The one I check is at Tiong Bahru. Half day is $200 but dunno still got subsidy anot coz never ask. Wanted to try Safra Mt Faber but $300+ for half day n now plus the recent scare. Really having second and third thoughts liao

Angel,
Wah cannot outtalk you ah! U really see me so up hor? Appoint me as your P.A. Anyway Im turning down your offer. Please ning4 qing3 gao1 ren2

Hah? Aug gathering at my place? I thot u r offering ur place! Well, all of u are welcome to my humble home. Will go back, refer to tong shu and choose an auspicious date and time for the gathering. U all prefer Sat or Sun or no preference? Will revert next week on the date.

I very efficient one kekeke did my job as MRO (Membership Recruitment Officer) and had sent out the list to all mummies.

Maple,

SOme of you have been to my place liao mah and since the last gathering at your place has been cancelled, its only right then we go ransack your place this time. Hee. Why you turn me down? I will be very heart broken one leh .

Yah
you very efficent. Got the update liao.

Hi Maple
I anything with the date.
Will go together with home cos we live near. Can share taxi fare.
Thanks for the update.
My baby is very shy, afraid he will cry &amp; hope you all don't mind.

Cutecute,
how's ur boi after the injection? ok?

wanna check with u if u hav got anyone to check your windows if they r up to HDB standard? if u hav, can i have ur contractor's contact no? thax

Maple,
thx a lot for the update. sometimes so use to calling my husband's surname yeo that i forgot my own surname is chew!!!

Make yourselves free on 13 Aug (Sat)! Well have a gathering at my humble home that day, say ard 2.30 pm. Those confirmed joining plse add your nick in the following list.

1. Angel, hb &amp; Ryan
2. Aloe, hb??, &amp; Ryan
3. Cutecute, hb??, &amp; boi boi
4. ???

Cutecute,
You boi ok after the jab? Any fever?

Hi Maple
I'm ok on 13Aug, but can't cfm hb now.

My boi body quite warm during these days after the jab. His temp is 36.xx deg. Nurse said must monitor any reactions after 1 week of jab.

Think I going to peng san liao. Brought Ryan to Gleanagles to see PD this morning as his cough seems to be getting worst and he started wheezing. Pd says he have to be on nebulizer for 4 days, 4 times per day. Each time we try to use it on him machiam like slaughtering him like that. Hope he gets well soon if not he need to get a new mommy liao coz this mommy going to peng san from tiredness and stress liao.

Home,

Thks. Both Ryan and I are very tired. He can fall zzz while eating his porridge or when we wiping him down at night while I constantly feel tired and body aching coz at my inlaws place I sometimes have to take care of my other 2 nieces too and night time rush back to do chores. *yawn*

Will keep you girls update again.

Hi Angel,

Dun worry....after a while he will use to it. Nebuliser is very effective, after few days u will see the effect on him. Dun worry too much. Maybe u can try to remove the part where attached to the mouth. Without that thing, maybe he will not resist so much. When in hospital, that's how the nurse do it, they said the effect is the same and children dun feel so scare of it. Alternatively, only use it when he's sleeping. A bit noisy lah, but if he's in deep sleep, he won't feel it one.

Be strong and take more vitamins. I have been through, understand what you are going thru. V. difficult but trust me, in few days time everything will be over, Ryan will be a strong and healthy boy again.

Toony,

Thanks but Ryan will try to run away, scream n cry very loudly. He scream till his voice are hoarse now. I see liao very heartpain. SO tempted to stop the treatment but it seems to work though. Hubby and MIL told me must carry on, nochice but I very heartpain. I dun even have time to take proper meals where got time to go find vitamins and take. Now having gastric pain again. Wish I can be like bear, find some cave n hibernate for a period of time. Feel very burnt out lately.

Hi Angel

Ryan better now? U must oso take care of urself..if no time for meal maybe can try buy some 'dim sum' or bread put at home than whenever u free than can munch on..if not got gastric pain veri 'xin ku'..

Ryan will be fine k.*Hugs*

My gal finally weighs 9 kg! I was both happy &amp; surprised that she has reached the 9 kg mark. I was also puzzled how she managed to put on 300g within 2 weeks since she hasnt been eating well for the past few weeks. Fyi, b4 this she only put on 325g over 10 weeks.

Aloe, Toony,
I presume both Ryan &amp; Austin also ard 9 kg now? Cos I recalled that the 3 of them are ard the same size.

Angel,
Is Ryan better now?
You must take care of yourself too. As what Ann suggested, buy some bread or whatever food so that you can munch when youre hungy.

Feel nowsaday most mothers are very hardworking.
When the babies are born, the babies have to learn ABC, mandrain, 123, reading, play these &amp; that etc. If not the babies will left behind.
My boi might left behind cos I only teach a short while during weekend.
I also dun have many toys for him cos I can't afford it.
Can't imagine in the class very student knows everythings already except my boi. kekeke
For eg, my colleague have many diff kinds of ABC toys, english/mandrian flashcard, may diff kinds of toys, spent number of time teaching him...etc Now her son abt 2 years old, very clever liao.

Me feel so stress..