(2004/04) April Mummy

Angel, Aloe,
Hows the birthday celebration?

Any comments on combi shoes?

If all of u have no objection, well have the next gathering at my place on 21 May, afternoon.

Confirmed
Angel
Aloe
Ann
Cutecute
Toony ???

Did I left anybody out?

Ann,
Happy 1st Birthday to Valerie!

Aloe,
Any updates to Little Ryan's Blog?

Angel,
Yes, contribute your attendance!

Thanks for the Birthday wish..Poor Valerie is down with a cold and having fever on her 1st birthday..i think because i bring her swimming last sat & sun..

Angel,bought the jorubi aloe vera at unity..it's good.heal a few days ago..

Maple,no problem with me..
Are all hubby attending the gathering???

Hi Maple,

I'm ok with 21 May. Just let us know if want us to bring anything.

My hubby will be joining us most likely.

Hi Maple,

Ryan and hubby will be there too. Btw, you still want the nepia coupon? Let me know. Erm... maybe you can give me a call at home and I arrange to pass to you tm near your office coz' want to pass you something else too. I havent got my hp replace so can only reach me at home.

Happy Birthday to all the apr babies that I've missed!sorry,I've been staying at home for the past week taking care of Cherish while waiting rather impatiently for lao-er's arrival.I really hope to deliver real soon.Although I need not chase after Cherish since she've not started on walking yet but watching over her constantly and getting up after sitting on the floor can take a lot of effort and tires me alot.

By the way mummies,I've 2 Gain IQ $3 discount voucher for Abbott that's valid till 15/5,can use it at Giant,Shop n Save and Cold Storage.Any takers?Email me at [email protected] or sms @ 9790 3472 ur add and I'll send it over by mail.Cherish is taking Neslac 1+ pretty well,so most likely will stick to that.Very cheap leh-$23.50 for a 1.8kg tin.

Aloe,
Visited Ryan's blog. Good job done! Nice pics taken, like those pics of him ridding his pooh at daddy's office. And I like the narration too, especially abt his birthday. But cannot view the video clips leh.

Raindrops,
Saw from Seng Siong y'day Nestlac 1+ selling @ $11.80 for 1 kg.

My gal hasn't been eating and drinking well since Tue. Refused both solids & milk. Mil said she could be teething again. Wed night, woke up twice 4 her milk, @ 1+ am & 5+ am. Guess she must be hungry from "fasting" during daytime.

Any babies taking Dumex 1+? Saw from Seng Song the refill pack buy 2 get 1 free.

hi maple, thanks .. amm the video is stored at one of the taiwan web site. it could be that website have problem ....

hi raindrop . do let us know once mei mei arrived .. meantime do take care and rest more at home...

oh Ryan is still drinking Enfrapo step 2. but i mix that with PediaSure. Dunno which one shd i change to .. maybe when he is 18 mths then i will change to EnfraXXX.

Gathering on 21 May 2005.
Attendees:
1. Aloe, (hb ???) & bb
2. Angel, hb & bb
3. Ann, (hb ???) & bb
4. Cutecute, (hb ???) & bb
5. Toony, hb & bb

Will send out my address nearer to the date. Ann, can I have your email add?

Any bb has gone to mygym? How was it? Good? Thinking of bringing my gal there for a trial next weekend. Any mummies interested in joining us? Class is at 9.15 am

Aloe, cutecute,
Any idea that Ikea highchair can use until how bb old? Your boys still okay with it? Maybe will drop by Ikea this weekend to take a look.

Maple,

9.15am very early leh. Where is mygym anyway? Too many of these places till I blur. Is it at forum? The ikea highchair seems rather small to me, so think if baby a bit bigger (fleshy) might not be very comfy thats why that time I never get it though it look rather nice.

Angel,
Mygym is at Woodlands.

Raindrops has given birth. Celeste arrived on 3 May. Both mummy & bb are well.

Maple,

Think I'll pass... woodland is too far for me plus 9 plus in the morning........cfm cannot make it...

Raindrops,

Congrats! Can post lao er pics here for us to view?

Hi Mummies,thank you for your wellwishes.Lao er- Celeste Chong has arrived on 03/05,weighing 3.155kg,measuring 48cm.My 'jailterm' and graveyard shift just arrived.As much as I feared,Cherish will wake up in the middle of the night upon hearing meimei's cries and couldn't get back to sleep without her milk feed.Lets hope it's just a passing phrase.But something that comforts me is that Cherish seems to show affection to meimei,in a 'rough' way.Even sayang also quite 'chor lor'.
I'm afraid Cherish and I will not be able to attend the gathering this time.I may be throwing a full mth celebration for Celeste at the end of the mth,yet to finalise the date.Hope to invite all of you.Shall keep all of you informed.

I'm back to basics again leh,starting from handling a newborn and breastfeeding.I've been telling myself to be persisient to hang on to breastfeed,but I wonder how long I can tahan.Aloe,care to share tips on breastfeeding?Celeste has been taking my breasts as human pacifier since my supply has not been established yet.I hope I can have supply this time coz it wasn't successful for Cherish's case.

Maple,the ikea highchair quite small leh.Do consider getting something else.Cherish went for the trial some mths back.That was her 1st time,our 1st time as well.So can't compare to see if it's good.There's singing and exercise session,following by testing the gym equipments and through playing toys,interacting with other babies.Cherish somewaht enjoy herself but we did not sign up for the class coz it's expensive.$300 for 8 sessions of 45mins each,I think.If you sign up there,that trial becomes the 1st session leh,not fair.

Ann,visited Valerie's pics,glad that she's already walking.You looked very young.

Angel,I meant to sms you to infm u Celeste's arrival,but I dunno if you've changed ur hp no.

Toony,has Austin gained more weight?I remembered you last mentioned that he seems to take more milk at the infantcare.Otherwise,you can adopt Aloe's method of mixing Pediasure with his regular formula.

Cutecute,would u like to have the Gain IQ voucher since your boy is taking?I post to you by next week.

Raindrops,

Good to hear that Cherish sayang Celeste. Just teach her to be more gentler loh. Ryan also like that towards my younger niece but gradually learns to be gentler though at times still get carried away. Drink more fish and papaya soup to increase the milk production? My hp number remains the same. No change.

Happy Mother's day to all!

hi Rain_drops, good to see you login.
how's Celeste ??? she is 5 days old now. must be vy busy taking care of 2 little gals at home.

i guess i am quite lucky at my BM supply establish quite early. therefore i do not have the "human pacifier" problem. I guess what you can do now is drink LOTS of water/fish soup, have more rest and not too worry about the supply as stress will affect yr BF supply.

I guess is OK to let her suck frequently at this moment as latching on really help to increase yr supply.

my confinement lady (her mother told her that as her mother also a confinement lady) told me that one of the chinese herb cannot eat as this will really affect the milk supply (_X) is long long one with white colour.. Since she told me that, i did not take that at all. You might want to avoid this.

Ryan was sick for the past few days and now still a bit of running nose. I guess he got it from me .. but one thing i am quite happy is .. 3 weeks ago we went down to his PD for the 1yr check up .his weight was 8.02kg .. but on the 4May, i bring him to PD again as he got fever. his weight increase to 8.4 kg ...
i guess PediaSure really works .. will continue on that ..

Happy Mother's day !!!!

Just wanna share something with you girls. So happy ty. Ryan finally calls me mommy loud and clear ty. Further more, these few days when he sees me watching tv on the sofa, he will pick up my glasses and pass it to me, indicating for me to wear them to watch tv. I so touch and happy!

How's everyone's mother's day?

Hi Maple
My baby & I are coming but my hb not coming.
I have no idea whether the high chair can hold baby until how old. Now, he is comfortable with the chair.

Hi Rain_drops
Congrats for your new born baby girl, Celeste.
Can I have the Gain IQ Voucher? Many thanks.

Hi aloe
U mention the "the long long one with white colour" is it called Huai Shan?
Happy to know that Ryan is gaining weight.

Hi Angel
Wow.. Ryan so clever.
I heard my boi shouted "MA..." b4. Sometimes he disturbs me by pulling pulling my hair.

Sometimes when my boi eats half-way, he will vomit. Dun know why leh. Any mummies experience it b4?

Cutecute,

When you says vomit, you mean spitting out or really vomit like when newborm will throw up milk? Ryan so far never did that. Only if the meat is too big then he might spit out the meat. Could it be your boy is too full or the ingredient too chunky for his liking?

Wow, can see a lot of development in all the babies. Really excited to meet again.

Raindrop, congrats on the arrival of Celeste. Take a good rest and enjoy your confinement. Try not to be too stress out on the breastfeeding process. Like what aloe said, stress will affect milk supply. This happened to me during Austin's time. Relax and take plenty of good rest. I'm sure your milk supply will established very soon.

Angel, Ryan is really a good boy huh. So nice to mummy.

Aloe, Ryan is really gaining weight after taking Pediasure. I have not weight Austin yet leh. He has been taking Pediasure for nearly a month. No mixing of other milk powder, just Pediasure alone.Hopefully like Ryan, Austin is also gaining weight. Must weight him this weekend.

Hi Angel
I mean vomit out all the food he ate. See so heart pain that I spent time on cooking & feeding him. I dun think he was too full cos he ate only half bowl then vomited. I also used to cut the food ingredient into very small pieces.
However he likes to move around even when he sits highchair. Dun know it is because of this..

hi Angel, wow Ryan so clever and he can call you loud and clear.. I guess this will be the BEST mother's day present to you !!!

hi maple, same here, Ryan sit vy comfortable in his ikea high chair for his meal. but of coz sometime he will make noise.

hi cutecute, the long long white color .. oh i think not vy white but a bit yellow color. is call "bei qi" in chinese.

vomit ?? is it a lot ?? Ryan do vomit, if he is too full.. or he eat sometime that he dun like the taste. you need to monitor, if he always do that, you might want to bring him to PD and check ..

hi toony, i try to give PediaSure alone, but seems like he dun really like the taste yet... therefore i still mixing for him. I guess it really work ...but he is sick now, hope he won't lost weight because of this.

Aloe,

Yah loh. I think that is the best Mother's day gift he gave me. I was and still is very happy when I heard him call me that.

Angel,
*Envy* *Envy* Agreed that thats the best Mothers Day gift.

I was very disappointed with my gals behaviour yday. To cut the long story short, she was acting like a spoilt brat, throwing her tantrum with all the crying & screaming when we did not let her have her way.

Gave her a lecture when we were home, and I ended with Do u get me? Guess what she did? She shook her head in response to my question! *faint* That shows how notti she is.

I feel that Im a lousy mother, fail to teach/discipline her. Must tighten up discipline on her b4 she gets out of hand. Care to share how you discipline your DS/DD when they are notti?

Raindrops,
Oops, saw your posting too late. Went to Ikea last Sat, let her try the highchair. She seems quite comfy in it, so bought it lor.

Aloe,
Is Ryan better now?

Cutecute,
Vomit out all the food he ate? Does it happen only once or many times already? Like what Aloe said, best to monitor him and bring him to see PD if it persists.
Another thing, did he had a fall recently?

Ann,
Will take a look at Valeries webbys later GTG now.

Maple,

*sayang* Sometimes kids are just like that. Furthermore now they are at this stage where they wanna test our limits and see how much they can get away with it. Sometimes Ryan will behave like a spoilt brat too. Especially after a long stay with my inlaws or an outing with my parents coz' they will pamper him and give in to his whims and fancy. I've learn to ignore his tantrum and leave him alone if all else fails and he will stop soon after. Whats the fun there if there is no audience. Maybe you can try this if all else fails but of course make sure your girl is in a safe enviornment and check on her on and off. If you can't bear to do this, try the distraction methods. works most of the time.

Not trying to side with your girl but I think now our babies finds shaking their head amusing and shaking is easier than nodding. So maybe she wasn't really being "notti" but more of being cheeky or playing with you?

Noone is born to be a gifted mother and no one is a lousy mom too unless she abuses her kids. So don't be so hard on yourself. They are just going through a pharse. *hugz*

Thanks for the advice. Will monitor him.
So far, no fall.
Will stop feeding him when he shake his head non-stop to prevent vomiting also.

Hi Maple
I boi will cry very loud if he did not get what he want. If I ignore him, he will crawl & hold my leg tightly & cont crying. Sometimes I use toys to distract him to stop crying.

I asked cleaning auntie in my office regarding vomiting. She said his stomach got air. At his age still must con't to apply ru yu you.
I have stopped it many mths ago........
My poor ah baby.....

Cutecute,

Actually I kinda stop applying ru yi oil for Ryan a couple of months back also. Only applies when he seems a bit bloated, appetite not so good or weather a bit cold.

Think maybe you just carry on applying and monitor your boy and if no improvement you might wanna consider consulting a pd?

oh cutecute,

my mil still applying ru yi oil for Ryan but i did not apply during weekend. try apply again and monitor for few days. if he still vomit, then better bring him down to see PD ...

HI!

Any of you whose baby is not in infant care thought of sending your little one to playgroup or those enrishment claases anytime soon?

Aloe,

Thats why I say near future...coz' if I am not wrong, some need to register at least a few months before especially those that are more popular and in demand. Then there are those classes that are conducted a few times a week ones like growing up gifted. But kinda ex and dunno if its worth it loh.

Did not realise that we need to register few months ahead .. oh. i better look at all these and prepare for him.

U know any good one ??? i guess those good one will be quite expensive, i heard some playgroup charge abt S$500 (but not sure how many times per week) ...

Aloe,

You can buy the Young Parent mag, they have a list of infantcare, childcare, playgrp, enrichment classes listed out in different area. Quite useful. Think for those center that have vacancy maybe just need to register a few weeks to 1 month before enrolment. But I know some places actually have a long waiting list and can wait up till months to get a place.

Have not decided where to go yet coz' want to check out the fees and curriculum 1st.

Finally assembled the high chair last night. She was quite ok sitting on it. This morning, officially had her first meal breakfast on the high chair. She was very happy. Hope that from now onwards, she will guai guai sit in her high chair for her meals.

Mil gave her some bread for self-feed (using hands), told me that it is abt time to teach her self-feeding. When I told her that Ive already started her self-feeding (using fork) and that she could do it, she was quite stunned and surprised.
(come to think of it, I was also quite surprised that she could do it when I let her try for the 1st time last mth. Have not tried self-feeding on spoon yet, dun think she is ready for it yet.)

Angel,
No intention of going for enrichment class at the moment. But might consider enrolling her for neighbourhood playgroup when she is 18MO and above. Will probably look for one near mils place so that it is more convenient her.

Hi Maple
Me too.. Class near mil's place better. Mil can also rest or do her things when they r having classes.
May I know what food do you give her using fork?
He self-feed using hands with finger food fm 6 mths. I have not tried fork & spoon yet.
At first he will guai guai sit high chair for meals but now he eats few spoonful wan to carry liao.

Cutecute,
I gave her bread. I cut it into smaller pieces 1st (bite size). When I 1st started, I poked the bread for her and passed her the fork. She will then put the bread in her mouth and pull out the fork. After that I will quickly take away the fork to prevent any accident. Now, Im slowing guiding her to poke the bread herself. This part she still need more guidance and practice.

Wat food do u give your bbs for breakfast? Feel so sian to give her bread almost everyday.

BTW, are our babies still called babies? or have they been promoted to toddlers already? What is the definition of toddlers?

Mummies coming for the gathering, youve got mail! Have sent out my address. Let me know if u did not receive it.

Maple,

Our "babies" have offcially been promoted to toddler but I still make the mistake to refering them to babies.

I got the mail. Thanks.

hi Maple,

for weekend, his breakfast will start off with milk. then i will feed him with bread, cheese and biscuit.

for weekday, i am not sure what my mil feed him. i guess normally he will eat bread or cake .. most of the time, i won't ask as she might think i want to control everything.

got once my sil feed him Chicken Essence. i was SUPER angry with her ...

Ryan's got sleeping problem ..

Dunno what happen to him this few night ..
he keep waking up in the middle of the nite, he will just stand next to my bed and wait for me to wait up to carry him to my bed to sleep.
once he sleep on my bed, he keep turning till morning ...

What time your toddlers go to bed ??? i am not sure if he goes to bed too early and coz all these problem .....

Hi Maple,
normally i will give her bread or cakes or sometimes some baby biscuit or cereal(adult can take also type) mix with her milk until soft..

Recieved your mail..thanks
What time most mummies reaching??

Angel
not so sure to put her in any enrichment class now..but i may put her to halfday childcare in a few months time as i may need to go back to work.. so far seen one not bad with programs like baby gym,baby Rhythm,baby Fairytale...but hope by than she's nt so 'sticky'..

Cutecute
is your boy ok now??hope that he's ok now..
Val just now vomit out half a bowl of porridge i feed her..cause i feed her adult biscuit in a little too big piece for her. Heart pain to c that..all 'guai wo' lor..

Raindrops
yah i'm a young mummy..keke
yah val started walking but still not very steady..will fall anytime or when she 'gan chion'.
Do take gd rest of yourself during confinement..

aloe
Val this two night also waking up at around 4+ or 5+ am..she will stand up inside the cot..previous night was ok after i carry her to my bed and pat her she fall asleep..yesterday night she refuse to go back to sleep even after i feed her and pat her..so stay awake until 8+ morning than sleep..
Val go to bed around 10+ to 11pm..

Mummies does all baby still drooling??Val drool so much that must sometimes wash 10 over bits..anyway to stop or teach her to swallow saliva??

Hi aloe
My baby zzz very late. abt 11pm or even 12am

Hi Ann
Tks. I have not check with mil but will monitor weekend.
My baby no drooling.

Nowadays Ryan only sleeps ard 9 plus. Unless he really tired then maybe ard 7plus 8pm and will wake up next day 6+-7+am. When he at my MIL's place then he havoc. Sometimes 10+ or even 11pm.

His morning feed is usally milk followed by cheeses or bread depending. Thinking of introducing bfast cereal but dunno which brand to get coz' dun wan him to start eating sweet stuff too early.

Cutecute,

Which brand did you buy?