(2004/04) April Mummy

Hi Ling,
I dun mind potluck, but we will need a place for it. Anyone willing to open their house for potluck?

Hi Raindrops,
U miss out cutecute and her 2 boys. Haven't seen her online for quite some time too.

Is there such things as terrible fours? G is getting more difficult to handle since her 4YO birthday. No longer as guai as b4, always testing our patience and limit. Any of your kids like that?

Haha... Maple i think as they grow older they have their own ways. Just like JJ, always disturbing me when I am watching tv. Then one day, I told him pls dun block me. He turns to deaf ear..then i told him i count to 3 if you still the same i will whack u.. then i count to 3 n then i use the cane n he said u serious one huh... maybe u should see what G is more into.. stern or need nice words... then u focus using tat aspect lor.

Maple, my Z is as bad. And I realise that whatever she do now, she will tell me her friend in school also doing this.
Last night make me so angry that pull her out of her bedroom and told her that no more school for her since she don't learn good in school. She start screaming and saying that she want to go school...don't know what to do to her.

I hv talked to her on sat, whether she want me to stay at home and look after both of them. U know what is her answer " No, pls..I think I go school better if not everyday I will get scolding from you and you will die faster...I don't want to be snowwhite.." Terrible right ??

1406441.jpg

Hi CutieZayn,
If it happens to me, I also dun noe whether to laugh or cry. :p

Hi Ling,
Think I was too naive to think that she can maintain her good behaviour. G used to be a very 'guai' and 'dong shi' girl.

We just received a feedback from her teacher. Her teacher commented that G was very 'guai' last year, but no longer 'guai' this year. 

Last but not least,
<font color="ff0000">HAPPY MOTHER'S DAY!</font>
to all the mummies.

Have a question, anyone intending to send your child to any holiday classes / programmes for those that are not in childcare center?

My boy at times is also testing my patience and driving me crazy but so far have yet been complained by school. Only constantly complained by my in laws.

Happy Mother's Day to all.

Hi Angel,

JJ does go to holiday programme but organise by his school so still not tat bad as u see JJ is very shy boy and will be scare when he sees new teacher. So whenever his school got holiday programme will put him to attend. This holiday he will be doing the bakery class for 2 days.

Happy Belated Mother's Day

Ling, my boy's school also has holiday programme but after looking through the curriculum, I told hubby that no point sending him there as most of the things can either be self-taught by us or non-essential, thus am looking for something more useful and practical.

I haven't been active in this thread.. I am having a deep concern for my son. He's 4 but he has difficulties in communication. Even his nursery principal highlighted his language barrier to me.

Do you have any recommendations for any school or what can I do to help improve his communication?

He can't tell me in simple way when i ask him how is school today, what did you do in school, etc?

feeling so desperate and helpless

I haven't been active in this thread.. I am having a deep concern for my son. He's 4 but he has difficulties in communication. Even his nursery principal highlighted his language barrier to me.

Do you have any recommendations for any school or what can I do to help improve his communication?

He can't tell me in simple way when i ask him how is school today, what did you do in school, etc?

feeling so desperate and helpless

Joy,

Why don't you highlight your concern to the nurse or doctor during the 4 yrs old assessment and see if they can recommend any speech therapist. ELse you can go to a GP or Pd and get them to refer you to one. HTH. TC.

hi angel,

Is there an assessment for 4 yrs old? The KKH did gave me a list of speech therapist, but it's a general one. They couldn't recommend one or two out of the lists. I am checking around for some recommendations and the fees.

Hi Joy_apr,

Yes. There is a 4 year old assessment whereby will test eye sight and some motor skills etc...

If you go polyclinic to do the assessment then u ask them to recommend u to the specialist.

Hi Joy, yes, there is a 4 yrs old assessment and if I am not wrong, this assessment is compulsory unlike the 3 years old one. If KKH is unable to recommend you one, I suggest you try doing some research online to see if anyone is able to recommend you one. Else you can trying calling up the private hospital and health promotion board. Maybe they will be able to assist you better. HTH. Tc.

hi ling &amp; angel,

thks for the info! i didn't know abt the 4 yrs old assessment. Better bring my son for it.. he's rather weak in his motor skills. i tried letting him play the beads threading, he wasn't very good with the small items.

My friend recommends me Kids Cove and Centre for Effecting Learning. Anyone heard of them before? Any comments. Thks!

I also dun know abt the 4 yrs old assessment. Just now call polyclinic to check &amp; they said have to go. Have booked tomor morning. JiaXu also slow is speech but lucky got improvment when he is in childcare.

Hi joy_apr
I never head of this centre b4 but private is very expensive. Recommand fm polyclinic will be much cheaper but longer waiting time.

i just happened to find this thread.
my ger is 4 this yr too.
just wondering if the 4 yr assessment is compulsory? anyone knows? Also, can anyone tell me the weight of your kids? my ger seems very skinny.

hi yoyo,
4 yo assessment not "compulsory" but encouraged to go if you call doc.

Actually as long as your kid is eating well, sleeping well, learning well, happy and active then, skinny abit never mind. One thing to note, kids who don't sleep on time, have ample rest and have a fix time for meals and eat balance food, they should put on some weight. that's wat i did for my #1. to regulate her meals and her rest time.

My Mil took care of my BIL's children, they are very very skinny cos they have no regularret times and meals. they can eat dinner at 6pm, one day and 9pm another day. and the children, 7yo and 12yo, can sleep at past 10pm. quite bad for the children, IMHO.

thanks coolmama..
actually my daughter eats and sleep around the same timing every day.. strange rite? but she luvs titbits and sweets. maybe sweet tooth ba..

Hi Yoyo,
If your daughter is eating and sleeping well, I think there is nothing much to worry abt. Probably she's just skinny cos of genes? Are both you and your hb skinny too? You can also compare her weight against the chart in her assessment booklet to see which percentile she falls in.

Actually, my gal is also very small size. But as long as she eats and sleep well and is active, I'm ok with it.

I agree with coolmama that that the 4YO assessment is not "compulsory" but encouraged to go cos the nurse said that this is the last assessment by the polyclinic. The nurse also mentioned to me that for 5 &amp; 6 YO, the sch will do the assessment, but to the best of my knowledge, my gal's sch dun have such assessment leh.

Hi Joyapr,
How's your son? Did you managed to find any specialist for him? Do keep us update of his progress.

Hi Ling,
Did JJ enjoy his baking class?

To all mummies,
How's your child(ren)'s holidays? G has been enjoying her holidays, going out gai-gai almost everyday since the sch holidays started.

thanks maple.. this info helps!
yeah in fact i m very worried because she takes very little for her meals. and until now she can still wears 18mths fox tshirt. worrying right?
yes she is apr bb.
do u know if private clinic do this kind of test too?

Hi Maple,

Think JJ do enjoy his baking class. And was so anxious to bring back for us to taste. Not too bad...

School holiday didnt do much..

Yoyo,

Private clinic and GP does offer assessment but its better to make an appointment or at least call up and check as if you happen to op by during their "peak hour" or near closing time, they will turn you away as it happened to us before. My boy has not gone for his assessment but intending to do so this weekend.

4th year assessment incl vision check-up, which I think its important.
JiaXu now 14kg, stands 1m. I haven't get him an ezylink card yet.. Does any mummies bought it for them already?

Cutecute, I got a easylink card for Ryan already as we do not wish to risk being fined. For kids above 95cm, if caught not paying for fare will be fined $50 for the first offense.

He have went for his 4 yrs old DA. Weight is 16.5kg if I did not remember wrongly and height is around 107cm. Doctor said everything is ok, no cause to worry.

Hi, mummies,
I did e amil SBS transit to ask whether my girl needs a ez link, their answer is if the kid travel alone, then they'll need a concess e z link card, but if they travel together with a fare paid adult, then they can travel free...

Hi Maple &amp; mummies,

Brought my son to polyclinic for 4yr old assessment. He has to go back 6 months later for 2nd testing of his eyesight..cos he was rather distracted when being tested. Doc advised to go back for 2nd test.

Maple,
I did sent my son for a trial with a private speech therapy. Was suppose to meet with the centre's founder..but she was held up with an earlier meeting..and i have to wait for almost 1/2hr. Then, another speech therapist came to do the assessment for my son instead. Towards the last 20mins, the founder came into the room for about 10mins, then left.

They recommended him to go for weekly therapy but when i discussed with hubby, he's not infavour cos' of the price..expensive.

Instead, we got a referral from Polyclinic, will try KKH first.

hi, all mummies, i think i hv given the wrong infor abt the e z link card..

pls refer to SBS e mail below:

Dear Ms Athena,

Please refer to your feedback which we received on 11 Jun 2008.

Allow us to explain that children between 0.9 and 1.2 metres in height have to pay the concessionary fare when travelling on public buses and trains. Children up to 0.9 metres in height and accompanied by a fare-paying passenger may travel free. Commuters who are 1.2m and above in height will need to product a valid student identification pass /concession pass to be eligible for travel concession on the basic public bus services and MRT.

I would also like to take this opportunity to explain that children above 0.9m in height are eligible for travel concession only when they pay with a child ez-link card (the card expires on 30 April of the year they turn seven) or School Smartcard (issued to students in government or government-aided schools). The child ez-link cards can be purchased from any TransitLink Ticket Office in MRT stations and bus interchanges. More information on Child ez-link cards can be found on the TransitLink website http://www.transitlink.com.sg.

sorry ya...

Long time no chat.

I'm thinking of organising the next gathering for the children. Anyone interested in a Children's Day (1 Oct) gathering? If yes, please indicate your name below. Fyi, 1 Oct is also Hari Raya Pussa, so its a public holiday.

Date : 1 Oct 08 (Children's Day)
Time : Morning
http://www.sbg.org.sg/bukittimahcore/ChildrenGarden.asp

Attendees:
1. Maple &amp; G

Hi Maple,

How?? Can your girl wear the clothes???

Sorry will not be able to make it on 1st Oct. My family will be going to US on 26 Sep - 9 Oct 2008.

You guys enjoy yourself and upload some pictures.

Hi CutiZayn,
I also dunno what time we'll end. I guess ard 12+ bah.
What children's day program is on at Espanade that day?

Hi Ling,
The pants is too long.

Enjoy your holidays!

Other Mummies,
Give some support leh. Do join us for the Children's Day gathering if you can.

Date : 1 Oct 08 (Children's Day)
Time : Morning
http://www.sbg.org.sg/bukittimahcore/ChildrenGarden.asp

Attendees:
1. Maple &amp; G
2. Angel, hubby and R

Btw, am wondering if any of you mommies have good and reliable maid for transfer or can refer me to one coz I have too many bad experience with maids so wanna get one that have been tried and proven reliable? Thanks.

Maple, Raindrops,

I might not be able to join as something crops up at home. If it get settled by then, I will join you girls, else I might not be able to , furthermore, my relative from Indoensia might fly in on that day. Sorry.

It has been a long time tat our thread is not moving....

How are u ladies and the kiddos????/

hi, I am mum of 3 kids, eldest, born on April 2004, #2 born on May, 2006 and #3 born on Feb 2008, nice to meet you ladies...

May I know what your 4 yrs old kids doing on this long holiday?? also, any mum can share how you educate or teach your kids on behaviour and education..my girl seems very bad behaviour and very lazy on learning, I am out of idea to teach her...headache!!