(2002) Any 2002 babies?

Jolene
Gong xi. Mine 2 more tml Chinese fri Maths

Ha ha my gal said she double checked her el paper today n even dozed off during exam. Dunno what to say

Chickenlittle,

I was feeling stress up teaching my maths till I read about your gal dozing off. Haha...she is cute. during exam parents stress but kids relaxed. Good also lah. If they get so stressed at young age, not v healthy.

Yawn,
I heard the rally on the current education system. I hope less emphasis on exams and more projects, presentations and group work. Current system is too academic focus. The slogan of Learn More Teach Less is for teachers cos means parents spend more on tuition and effort to teach!

maisy daisy,
with project work and presentation, i see that parents will need to put in more effort. who is to say that parents will not help extensively to produce a piece of project work? with academic exams, the children has to play a part to get the results that they desire.
additionally, children this small can hardly work well in a group. parents also need to find time to chauffeur them around if they have project work.
just my views.

Fz
Under the Italian Reggio methology, kids as young as preschool learn through group projects. These are implemented in some preschools such as Soka. I think parents just need to mellow our expectations on the types of group work. Actually under Stellar teaching for English, the kids get into groups brainstorming and write their own stories based on a topc. Then the teacher load the stories into their classblog. I hope similar concept can be extended to other subjects.
Most important, less emphasis on exams and ranking at a tender age.

Well but said easier than done. Cos most parents maybe including myself will feel insecure. Sigh...dillemma

i like my son's current sch system for math. they have unit review after every unit/chapter. i don't even revise with him on these because we don't know when is the test. then i can also see where are his weak areas.

Exams and tests are still good but I hope the system can move away from being too academic and stressful. More hands on activities and field trips would be good. More kids in Spore have myopia because most learning are indoor.

Myopia is also caused by spending too much time in front of computer, PSP etc...Guess we as a parent also in dilemma we do not to overstress our kids but at the same time we are worry that they cannot catch up in future ... Sigh!

Btw today is last paper (science) finally it's all over stress free Liao.... Those who are still having exam Jia you!

Very happy - exams over since Tuesday, and my dd and I had been shaking legs, doing absolutely nothing ever since! Really feel super good.

To the rest of the mummies with kids still having exams, good luck! And jiayou!

bebe75: Wow, it is good your #2 is now aiming to be an author - strong impetus for her to write well. Being able to write and communicate well will definitely help in future!

yawn yawn: Very interesting article via the petition. I think our current system is too exams and lessons based. What the current universities are using as approaches might be better. The 3 local universities are gradually moving towards a liberal arts type of approach, where lecturers are more facilitators, and the students are encouraged to take up more broad-based modules on top of their specialised courses. The students in the universities are also assessed more on project work, participation in class and consistent term papers, rather than one major exam. I welcome this change in the universities. However, my question to the MOE is: How can our kids suddenly adapt to such a welcomed change in the universities if all their lives in pri and sec schools, they are taught to listen quietly in class, with not much project work or class participation? So, I advocate the American system of junior and high school methodology - which is similar to the international baccalaureate approach...more project work (and NOT bringing these projects home to stress us up!), more frequent small tests and individual research papers (I had done research "projects" with my dds at home, and children can know how to do research from a young age), and more importantly, encouraging students to participate and speak out more in class.

Linette
keke finally I am joining you and I will start shaking legs till next week when we kan cheong over the result.

And mummies , sigh, my girl did it again for yday paper. Checked twice and dozed off.

Apparrently it is not uncommon now. But we told her off for not showing respect.

yoh! Linette... envy you. mine today 2nd last, still have last one next Monday, meaning this weekend cannot relax lah... worry for my ds' maths today, bec he tends to be complacent and write answers and assumption straight away without looking hard at the qn and think through and check through, resulting him in losing many YUAN WANG marks. I've reminded him many times liao. haiz....

Natellehcim
ha ha my girl same as yours. Today maths too. I did a little prayer for her in the morning. ha ha
Prayed for speed and accuracy. Read question properly and interpret correctly and the ability to apply her knowledge appropriately. ha ha but all is over liao. she should be enjoying her "recess party" to celebrate end of her agony

my boy took back 3 papers (excluding paper 1) as of yesterday. although drop in marks compared to last year, still within my expectations. first my heart pounded when i heard about his english marks which dropped the most. then later found out that he is only 2 marks away from highest in class, so not so bad as it means paper is more difficult this year than last. now is to see how well he fare for his paper 1.

have not got back science paper yet, but teacher revealed that highest is 95/100, breaking the record for the cohort's performance for the past few years. that very smart boy have only 1 mark deducted for section b! with so much emphasis over keywords on science, wonder how he did it....

FZ
That boy sure go into GEP.... My gal scored full for Chinese Maths 91/100 highest in class for Maths 100.. Eng she scored 51/58 as for science maybe will know by tomorrow.

My dd taking her last paper today too, chinese. I can finally read all my novels tonite .... results-wise, worry about it next week ....

jolene,
ya, that boy sure go GEP. confirm. so while the school happy for him, they will be disappointed to lose such students.
congrats! your girl did so well for chinese! i am also happy with my boy's paper 2 for chinese (considering he eat potato type). now is hope that his chinese compo can give him a reasonable overall score. seems like math is the only subject that can get 100. for math, although only 1 wrong, he is moody as he was confident of getting full marks after he did the paper. have not seen the paper yet, so cannot comment on difficulty level.
so relief now! has been bring my boys to my mum's place after school to chill out. they chill out, and me too! don't have to worry about dinner. :D

wow... Jolene, congrats for the good marks. my ds juz told me today's maths kind of difficult. Maths is his stronger subject but now say difficult
So i won't be holding high hope for it already. ya P2 to P3 is a high jump, so are his marks too.. give me super high JUMP. wahahah...

Jolene
wow your girl is really good leh. Happy for you.

Mine will not be able to see such good result and it is only in my dream. Yet to talk to her till later dunno if she could finish her math paper today

Jolene/FZ - congrats.. Happy that yr kids r getting flying colors in their exam. My gal hor, already pre-empts me that she might fail her Maths. She said the section c, the problem sum portion, she already failed, 6/24. Among her subjects, Maths is one of her least worries. Hiaz....

Ds finished exam but dd still has science paper on Mon.

Did your kids use the optical answer sheet for MCQ? The school started this year for p3 exam and she only tried once for a revision paper. She told me today a few students were summoned to the teacher and advised that due to improper shading, they lost up to 10 marks in Maths. And a boy is likely to fail a subject because he tick on the circles instead of shading the computer cannot identify his answers.

Immediately I got cold sweat and ask my dd whether she shaded properly. She told me she did. Whew.... And apparently really there are children falling asleep during exams, some without completing the paper! Gosh...

Linette,
Your ideas on the education system is good. U should put forward in the petition. I saw some of my gal's own self created projects she did at her leisure. To my surprise she is v creative and can do up a complex flow chart and mind map based on a topic that she likes. We could never under estimate children's creativity and ability.

maisy daisy,
i printed out some copies of OAS for my kid to practice closer to exams. my kid's teacher did tell my kid to change his pencils to a darker one and we immediately went to buy a box of more expensive 2B pencils for him.

as for kids falling asleep during exams, can it be that they burn midnight oil the day beforE?

Fz,
I ask my gal why her friends fell asleep. She told me it's too boring to sit there for hours without talking so some people fall asleep. I guess burning midnight oil or 'last minute hug buddha leg' could also be a factor. It's a big jump from P2 to P3 when the questions are more complex and need more thinking.

Optical ans sheet:
Where can we find samples? I found one in MOE's website but it's only question 1 to 15. The teacher didn't tell parents about using OAS for exam so no time to prep her.

yoho.... last paper today and i believe my ds should have completed bec the paper is fm 7.45-9am

Hi Maisy,
for the OAS my ds sch also did not mentioned anything to parent until i saw it with his returned papers during the CA1. lately i also noticed my dd (P2) also started using OAS during their topical class tests... seems like the teacher started training the P2 kids, not sure about the P1s.
if i remember correctly, I seem to have zapped a copy of her empty OAS sometimes back... let me hunt for it, if i can find, i can forward you a sample to let your child practice.

Chicken Little: Very shiok to relax and just shake legs, right? I had been shaking legs (and so had my dd!) since last Wednesday. Wondering if I should let her revise something mild this week or just let her relax till June holidays!

Natellehcim: Jiayou! Today is the last day of exams for your ds! The feeling tonight will be FANTASTIC! Hee hee.

Jolene: Congrats for your girl's flying colours! My girl got back her results in drips and drabs, as I think the teachers are still marking. But I was very disappointed in her Chinese oral, only 17/30, but she scored 26.5/30 for her Chinese compo. In the end, only 84 for Chinese, sigh. Looks like I need Chinese tuition soon! She scored 93 for Math, and 21/23 and 23/26 for the English exams...still waiting for compo and oral marks. I think today they may know most of the results.

Maisy Daisy: Thanks for your suggestion to put up the petition - not sure if the Minister will read it if it is indeed within the petition, haha. Yes, I do a bit of homelearning (out of school curriculum) to improve my girls' general knowledge, and it is evident that they know and enjoy doing projects. So the school should do more of such projects!

Congrats Jolene! Your gal did well.

I am keeping my fingers crossed for my son's results. Not sure if he will be getting any this week.

Now he has to prepare for his Microsoft Powerpoint Specialist exam in early June.

Jolene and FZ,
Congrats for the good results!

Linette,
Can share what kind of home learning did you do with your gal? Trying to brainstorm what to do with the kids during the june holiday ; ) Exam officially ends today. Tomorrow (Public hol) can shake leg and resume my HK serial schedule. Due to exams, have frozen the TV for 2 weeks.

my ds also juz gotten his eng P2, sigh... slip alot lah.. lost more than 10marks liao in 2 papers, have not counted in oral and compo... which is expect to be very low too.
i expect it to be like his CA marks again loh... 70plus. sad sad.....

But he did well for his maths.

Congratulations to all mummies whose kids did well for the examinations.

For my son,
He scored 65/85 for english(do not know the marks for oral yet).
Chinese 37.5/45 for paper2
Science 89.5/100
Maths 98/100

He sure has to buck up for english and chinese for second semester.

By the way, school holidays are round the corner.

Any plans to go anywhere?

Anyone had been to Auckland?

Any advice?

Jolene- yr gal did quite well for science leh..errrr my gal only got 66 out of 100, n I was already happy. But I m reserving my comments for her until I see the actual paper.
I did not set high expectation cos thesis her first time taking science, considering that the answering techniques n skills r very different from P2, n she had failed most of her topical tests, I only asked her to try n get at least 60 marks for this exam.
Having said that, I already told her she needs to step up her science revisions during the sch holiday.

My gal also used the optical sheets for her MCQ, she said it is like her ah gong's toto paper &&@^*+#%

sG education
I wish there is more breathing space for kids that r not so academically inclined. Current system is too skewed in getting grades, I wd prefer kids to b able to enjoy what they r learning, instead of rote learning. I think, the current system works better for my #2, for she is more competitive n likes to b challenged. I know she can do better if she stops being so complacent, for this exam I hardly need to coach her cos she already set to aim 80 marks n abv for all subjects. I know she is capable to get more than that if she puts in more effort. But I am thinking of letting her to stretch herself. Her class is very competitive n once she realizes that, she will initiate herself.
For my #1, she is a slow learner, but she is hardworking. Sometimes I feel sorry that she has to go thru the hard way, feel that the pace for her is a bit fast at her level. I told my hubby that I know if she continues like this, she will not get into local uni. A poly education may suit her better, she might do better n b happier with those vocational type of education.

Talking abt #1, I managed to book a free dyslexia screening test for her next week. I hv not told her yet. I dunno where the test will lead us, but I hope it can direct me to find ways to make her learning easier n more enjoying.

Hi bebe,
I totally agreed with you you said.
Kids have to enjoy what they are learning.

My kids are totally opposite from yours.
My son(#1) is very kiasu type. He is afraid that he cannot perform and stay in the same class.

My daughter is the opoosite. She likes to take things easy. I do not force her to study as I know her limits. If she don't have the interest, she can totally switch off. I just told her that as long as she can maintain or slightly better than the previous one, I will be very happy.

Linette,
my gal's Chinese oral's like yours ... only 18/30! must ask her teacher during coming parent-teacher session what went wrong? can't imagine how can score so low for oral!? so will pull down overall results ... paper 2 was 41/45 ...

her results so far:
Chinese 41/45 for paper2
Chinese oral 18/30
English 57.5/70 for paper2
Science 63.5/70 for theory, pratical still not out yet

considering i din push her cos like Chicken Little, wanna risk dis exam to let her do badly, quite satisfied with her results, esp science. cos din push her so she din do any sa1 papers fm other schs. din do much assessments too. will make her catch-up n do 1 paper daily during june hols, since she was disappointed wif her results n seemed to have 'woken up' liao

anyone interested in exchanging de sa1 papers?

someone was asking abt creative writing classes in cc. i've sent my gal to de one taught by Summerville in p1. de teachers kept changing so we stopped. since p3 had more writing assignments in sch, thot by sending her again, she can have additional practices once a wk. dis time, though de teacher was de same throughout, he was not v good n was always cancelling classes.

mommies

if your kid's results fall below expectation, would you express disappointment or still say 'good try'?

My dd's results slipped a lot compared to p2. I went through her papers and noticed a few of those mistakes she should know how to do leh, so I asked her what went wrong. She started crying said I'm scolding her. Alamak, where got scold her, I already watched my tone of voice, merely pointing out my observation, but she 先声夺人, started crying 1st

I wonder what would be the appropriate reaction in my case? Should I console her? Or should just sign her papers without making any comments?

Yawn,
I'm in the same situation as you for my boy, P2. During P-T meeting recently, my DS's form teacher already warned us that he didn't pay attention in class. She commented that he learns fast so he is always rushing through his work (and in the process make mistakes or simply write in horrible handwriting). I go through the exam papers with him prior to exams. True enough, many careless mistakes and I thought he will pay attention in actual SA. He got back the papers on Mon and the marks slipped a lot. Even his best subject, Maths, he made many careless mistakes on the easy questions. My blood pressure rose. I scolded him and ask him to please 反省 himself. He has been too complacent 自以为聪明and refuse to revise properly before exam. I told him he has to buck up and do more work during june holiday. This time, he dare not argue back. Sigh.....

Dd has become more hardworking or 开窍 after she did badly in last year's SA1. This SA her results are satisfactory. Her weakest subject, Maths - she got 89/100 so I'm quite pleased my hard work (late nights with her) didn't go down the drain. Science is her strongest subject but she hasn't got back the paper yet. Keep fingers crossed.

Yawn yawn
For me I will... For instance my gal scored 83 for science which didn't meet my expectation I told her straight to her face I was disappointed with her result as I knew based on her capability she can do better than this! Guess what she told me 83marks based on PSLE grading she still got A! I nearly vomit blood!

Jolene/Yawn,
I think it depends on whether we feel the child has tried her best or not. In my case, I feel ds has been lazing around too much. He should have the self motivation to do better and not rely on me to nag at him. So by scolding him, I hope this is a wake up call.

Jolene,
I believe your girl's science marks is independent of her 'capabilities'. it involves whether the kid knows how to answer. my son has a classmate that got 56/60 for MCQ, but only 9/40 for section B. my husband said that it is obviously answering technique and not foundation because the kid's MCQ marks are good.

Hi FZ

Her section B did quite well which she scored 25/30 whereas section A she made a lot of silly mistakes as she didn't read the questions properly which caused her to lose 12 marks and practical she scored full... As such I felt very wasted the marks just fly away like that!

mommies,
my son's grades slipped for all subjects, but we had adjusted our expectations this round and he falls within our expectations, so both of us are so far happy (have not got back oral and compo yet). he will be starting his twice weekly cca next semester and with 3 days late dismissal, we will be adjusting our expectations further. if really drop too drastically, then maybe have to reconsider whether to continue the CCA. so far can see that he is willing to put in effort to squeeze in time for study (ie will not whine when i tell him to do extra work). any mommies with kids having heavy CCA commitment? how to cope?

hi jolene,
25/30 is very good. at least no worries about foundation. i guess just have to get her to do more MCQs maybe?