(2002) Any 2002 babies?

chiken_little,
i hv been a broken recorder all this while but she still dont care. I also told her b4 that those meimei and didi dont use pacifier but she simple bochap and continue her own ways. Very headstrong hor?

ssm,
my ds1 just wean off pacifier last year, 3 months before ds2 pop out. :p guess i don't have the heart to see him cry....

My boy just started on Kumon Maths... now with Kumon English and Maths, I feel that there's too much to do... :) Hopefully he is fine.

Like what Caroline said, most tuition centres offer a range of tuition and enrichment programmes.

chicken little,

Thanks for your offer but i cant afford the time. My girl has ballet class every Saturday and i dont like to rush to get to places. Thanks

Hippo 2002,

Thank you for replying.

ssm,

I also have the same worries as you when my dd2 started her Playgroup in Jan this year. She is on the pacifier 70 percent of the time at home, only when she is playing and talking will she take it out.

However, when she was in playgroup, though i put it in her bag in case the teachers cant manage her during the first few days, she did not ask for it at all. When i was with her the first 3 days, i reminded her first thing when we step in the classroom that pacifier is not allowed in school and pointed out to her that all her classmates were without one. The teachers also did their part to change subject and diversify her attention when she requested for her pacifier. But once school's off and she hit our house door, the first thing she ask for is her pacifier!

<font color="ff6000">fz</font>
think the best is dont give pacifier to yr kid right from the start, that will solve the prob hor?

<font color="119911">2galswithlove</font>
HAHA! yr girl reminds me of my own too! Everytime she reaches home, pacifier will be her 1st priority!

ssm
I think we start them on pacifier when they cry non stop. If don't give, wind gets into stomach. That's why they start to get hook on it. The other case is suck finger. More hygenic to suck pacifier, right?

Last time, my son would find his pacifier in the middle of night. he would use his hands to search with his eyes closed. He had 2, one in his mouth, one in his hand, held tightly.

Hi ssm, like j0l said have to be firm. You can try substitute with another thing as security comfort. For my ds, I guide him to this tag at his bolster case. But of course I had to make sure his bolster cases all got a tag at the side. He weaned off pacifier at 1+. Now he tells me he wants his bolster tag until he's an adult! *faints*

ssm
he stopped quite late, around 4+. Just repeat many times no more pacifier coz spoilt, he said buy new one. Keep on repeating until he said okay.

tks for sharing abt wean off pacifier. will try the methods again and hopefully it will be successful this time round!

thanks caroline3sg.. juz find it confusing since all the centres claim 'to follow MOE syllabus'. very diff to choose one.

ssm,
yr gal so cute.. broken recorder! juz realised she's same age as my ds2. he's nv on the pacifier. his security blanket is hand towel. he would ask for it when he's tired n sleepy even when we are outside, esp during car rides.

jan,
for my ds1, its his pillow case. he would touch the corner of the pillow case when he wants to sleep. when we went US 2yr ago, i left his 'chou chou' behind in the hotel on our first stop! poor boy suffer during that 3wks and the 20hr flight back!

<font color="aa00aa">jOL</font>

I thought icreative has primary level too? just have to transfer to another teacher

Did you see positive result in your boy after attending icreative at pre-school level ?

<font color="aa00aa">ssm</font>

I threw away dd1 pacifier when she was 1 years old because she had the bad habit of waking up & cried every hour to look for her pacifier & disrupted my sleep. I let her cried for 5 days in a row & she gave up

dd2 had the priviledge to her pacifier for extra 1 year because she managed to find her pacifier at night, didn't disturb my sleep. At 2 years old, I told her she's a big girl & should not suck on her pacifier anymore & point to her sister as an example. So shameful to be seen with a pacifier. After repeating over & over again, she threw her pacifier into the dustbin & didn't ask for one again. She cannot tahan because she associate pacifier with 'shamefulness'

Shows at shopping centers

after watching 5 shows (Barney, Dora, Seasme street, Tweety bird, Barbie) in 2 weeks, I think the best is Barbie Island princess show at Raffles City.

The casts sang 'live' rather than simply danced to pre-recorded music. The show last a good half an hour with someone performing violin on stage. There's a change of background prop & with dry ice effect. The best singer goes to the peacock

till 16 Dec. 1pm, 4pm, 7pm daily except Monday

Hippo,
Is the Q for the Barbie long? Last yr I went and Q for 1 hour (faint!). Or maybe I should spend $$ eat ice cream upstairs to enjoy the view...

Iwg26

We started queuing at 3:35pm for the 4pm show yesterday. Weekdays less crowded. Barbie show is the only show we joined the q. The rest we usually went 1 level up to watch, I find the view better

hippo2002,
yes, there is. but there is only 1 teacher teaching P1 level in the west and her class is alrd full. those with vacancy are in yishun n pasir ris!

when ds1 join the class last dec, he could barely read. i would say he had improve though his reading is still not fluent. but the problem lies with us. academic wise, he's very lazy and i've not been spending enough time coaching him..
kao_embarrassed.gif

i find the icreative syllabus quite good. very comprehensive. nw i'm deliberating if shld let ds2 start on the programme nx yr. cos i hv no intention to start him on enrichment class so early. also financially very siong!

mommies, did you watch 'Shoot 3' on channel U last night? panel discussion whether school grades are important. There is a mommy who homeschooled her 3 kids on the show too

do you think school grades are important? Qualification is important to your child's future success?

hippo
I didn't watch the show. But it is definite yes that sch grades & qualification are important. They are the entry level to any organisation. Management would see you in different light. Also, more opportunities would be given. Climbing the corporate ladder would be faster when supported with good working attitudes.

I forget to add: those who are rich may not agree that sch grades do not matter because they have money to let their children start a business.

hippo,
ya..i watched the rerun until 1am last night!!! switched on the tv while waiting for hubby to brushteeth, and then hooked until the show ended. :p

i emphasize on grades a lot...need not be very good, but must be slightly better than average. at the same time, i also agreed with the speakers that if one path is too difficult to take, sometimes, it is more worthwhile to take another path. i couldn't cope with JC when i went for the 3 mths...sleeping at 4am in the morning to try to digest the darn F maths! then i gave up and enrolled in poly and did very well. after which joined my first company, and that the fact that i did very well in my poly gave me a good headstart and land me a spot in my bosses' books for a start. but then again, have to perform consistently, else they will just label us as 'only know how to study and don't know how to work'.

hippo,

I didn't watch the show.

I think qualification is important as it is like a passport / one of the mean for them to open the doors. Success depends on their perfomance and other factors as well. Qualification itself does not guarantee my child's future success.

I also believe school grades are important. May not guarantee success but definitely a headstart. My brother is a good example. He has a first class honour & his career path is probably 10x smoother compared to mine. His ex-co even sponsored him to pursue a Masters degree in UK

orange
yes, a good qualification opens many doors

fz
I am poly grad too

I am not too convinced by the mommy who homeschooled her kids. Don't quite see the benefits she mentioned. I believe homeschooling is only beneficial if the child is gifted since Singapore system doesn't allow a child to progress beyond his or her school level. Otherwise, mainstream school has its benefits

caroline
I think so too. My kids better study hard because I do not have spare cash to send them overseas or provide them capital to start a business. Must keep for my own retirement

Yep agree, school grades is not most impt but definitely impt enough to score better than average grades. Now is different from our parents generation when entrepreneurship will earn more $. If no qualification, how to even get an okay job? Unless the home damn well off then even dun study also nvr mind, can go overseas study. Medium income family like us no choice can only go local uni or hopefully good enough to get overseas scholarship.

hippo2002,
you..poly? if i recall correctly, i thought you did very well for O-level! :p

I think the main reason for her homeschooling her kids is that she want to spend more time with her kids (think she is a very hands on mummy) and that she worried that her kids might get into trouble with school cos she did admit that one of her boys is a handful.

ya...i told my husband too...if my boys can't get into JC, tell them go Poly...don't wanna spent my savings on Overseas studies. Distance learning is acceptable too. Anyway, there are a lot of options other than having to physically go overseas to study.

Talking about retirement funds....mummies, have you started on yours? I am a SAHM...so is quite concerned....

Actually how much do u think retirement fund is sufficient? When I was gog to stop working to be SAHM 3 years ago, my friends commented muz have cash savings of S$500,000 - $1 mil b4 can stop working. I told her even if I dun stop work, also can't achieve this amt in few yrs time. MAybe muz work another 10 years !!

$500k to $1mil before can be sahm??? lol...by the time i save that amount, my boys are probably already in their teens!
i think perhaps $1-2mil enough for retirement? not too sure...my FP has been wanting to do retirement planning for us, but i said i want to be able to sleep better...before being told the truth yet. :p

Iwg26, fz

I read somewhere each person needs about the $1mil to retire, in future value not present value, so not that scary lah. Just need to save & grow your money at a reasonable return. Nevertheless, I am still worried lor

I set aside at least 25% of hubbys income as our savings. Used to invest in shares but exited market long ago because I feel that it is overheated. Yet to find an alternative investment but bank FD rate is really pathetic. Waiting for re-entry to stock market when the timing is right

fz

my poly story...
I set my mind to purse Mass Communication in poly because it was my dream career. It was a newly launched course at that time. Didn't anticipated that preference were given to A level holders. Despites having good O level results, I was rejected. So faced with 2 choices, either wait till following year to go JC or choose another course in Poly. I chose another course in Poly in order not to waste one whole year

Can't exactly say Poly is a bad choice but my circumstances then, I had no money to pursue my 1st degree overseas right after Poly. Dad preferred to keep his money for his retirement (I can understand his decision now). So bo bian lor, I proceed to work & study part time a professional course. After passing the professional exam, I used all my savings to pursue a Masters degree full time overseas.

It was a very long & tedious path compared to my brother. My first pay cheque is only $950. No joke to work & study part time. The decision to go Poly totally altered my career path & I ended up in a totally different career I had in mind. I hope my girls will have an easier path since I can be there to offer them better advice compared to my parents generation.

i agree with u mummies that gd qualifications do give a good headstart but not better future. I have friends who had just norm degree but now are high flyers. I have told my kids that they must study smart and I'm not expecting great results but at least must score better than average. My son alrdy told me he wants to go Australia to pursue his degree. So now gotta save as much as I could! Retirement plan? Haven thought of that yet! :p

hippo2002,
wow...after the long road to achieve your masters...you gave it up to be a sahm. *applause* your dds better appreciate your effort.

ssm,
retirement planning...currently only had education policies for the dss. if they get scholarships, then i'll be a little rich woman then.

read yesterday's Sundays Times about education kids about finances. there was one segment that mentioned that if your kid wants an item exceeding their budget, the parents can either (1) ask the kid to save up longer or (2) loan the kid an amount and charge interest (work with the kid the amount of interest payable. personally, i think suggestion (2) is a bad idea...imagine next time the parents or siblings want to loan some emergency money from the kid and the kid start to charge interest instead.

fz

I think it is better to teach the kids to differentiate between 'wants' & 'needs'
if that item is not a necessity, then why must own it? They must learn not to succumb to peer pressure

hehe, it's ok lah, I enjoy my time at home very much. I am not very career minded lah. The only thing I missed is my pay cheque

Masters is a self-actualisation goal for me since I was 15 years old
Already achieved all my personal goals before 30 years old so quite satisfied liao. Nuturing my kids is my new goals

ssm

dd1 didn't think she will ever leave Singapore. She said she loves Singapore very much. I told her to aim higher lah, why do you want to live in Singapore forever?

mommies

anyone considering migration?

fz,
oh yes, i also hope they wl get scholarships, then I can keep the $$ for myself! :p
but then must hv good results to get a scholarship right?

hippo,
haha, yr dd1 very loyal hor?

Migrating....hmm....this has been in my mind for very long but dont have the resouces to do so yet. My gf is in the midst of planning to migrate to Aussie. Another church mate of mine also just migrated to Aussie too. To be honest, if i were to migrate, I wl also choose Aussie.

ssm

what are your friends' plans in Australia? are they going to look for employment or start their own business?

I like Melbourne

hippo,
my churchmate is a housewife while her hubby works. As for my friend, both herself and hubby are lawyers and currently her husband owns a small law firm, so i guess not difficult to make a living there?

I like melbourne too. Actually brisbane not too bad but i dont like sydney cos too city alrdy.

Hippo,
You're absolutely right about teaching kids about needs and wants. Sometimes my kids will ask me why some of her friends have this (toy). I told them in life, we do not have everything all the time. I've a friend whose child (also 5yo) will kick up a big fuss when she sees that someone has something (e.g. toy) that she does not have. And her mum will pacify her by going out to buy. It may be a toy today. But it could be other things in life later on - maybe branded goods or luxury items. I feel if the child can't control her 'wants', won't she feel unhappy all her life? Just my thinking.

fz/gin/hippo,
i will tell my kids to save longer if their desired item is out of budget. Just like Hippo mentioned that we have to teach them to differiate their "wants" and "needs". I think kids nowadays are generally very pampered? Esp those parents who cant spend quality time and feeling guilty, so to satisfy their child's wants in terms of material stuff?

mommies
people who are migrating or have migrated to Australia, are the young and mobile professionals. If we don't have money to retire here, how can we migrate when Australia is more expensive?

Quite a number of hubby's colleagues are migrating to Canada & New Zealand. They already obtained PRs & are house hunting. None is going to Australia though, don't know why.

According to them, not expensive leh. Lifestyle is different, less of a rat race, slower pace & much more relaxed
My consideration is income source. How to find employment?

Tax is also a consideration. Taxation very high overseas. Even can find employment, 1/3 of the pay goes towards tax. Maybe the best scenario is save more $$ here, go there to stay whenever possible after retirement.

hippo2002

I sincerely salute you! I believe we can all learn alot from you. And esp for your kids, they are so very fortunate to have a mummy like you to be there for them. You go mummy!!

hippo
other countries accept foreigners based on what we can offer to the economy, not to find jobs there. If want to retire there, must have lots of money.

mommies

have you joined a toastmaster club before?
Attended a briefing recently, still considering but quite tempted. Please share your experience

caroline

there is a category for skilled workers. The country accept you based on skills set & working experience
I doubt it is that easier to find a job in a foreign country. Ideal situation is to relocate due to work, then decide whether to live there on a more permanent basis

However, my parents are unwilling to move overseas. I think it's not fillial to leave without them so no action taken lor

Hippo,
Heard toastmaster club before. Have been around for many many years but more and more popular recently. Thinking the kids need it more than me as nowadays schools need to do presentation. I'm not into public speaking. Have stage fright la.

Hi hippo, know someone who migrated to australia in mid 30s, stay big house with pool, but becoz of tax and subsidised education for kids, work 2 or 3 days week. Sounds good for a semi-retirement!
My hubby is risk averse so never considered migration.

mommies

what will be your child's weekly activities for 2008?

hehe, I told dd1 she will be very free.
Mon-Fri kindergarten
Sat/Sun Arts &amp; gymnastic

When dd2 comes home from nursery in the afternoon, both of them can spend the rest of the day playing

merry christmas, mummies.

hippo2002,
sorry...no comments on organic food. the only organic food we bought are the bottled pureed food from heinz and it is burning a big hole in our pockets. :p

weekly activities for 2008...
Mon-Fri kindergarten afternoon session
Thur phonics evening
Sat abacus chinese enrichment and swimming

pretty much the same as before. ds1 still prefers me to do math assessment with him rather than send him to enrichment/tuition centres. he even said he don't mind my hot temper. :p

Good morning mummies,
I was so busying partying over the past few days, dont feel like coming bk to work!

hippo, I have no comments on organic food cos me not into it.

as for weekly activities for 2008....
mon to fri - kindergarten am session
sat - mandarin, swimming and drum

i believe the sch will arrange for some enrichment classes, i.e. speech n drama, phonics, science, etc during the weekdays after sch. So most likely i will sign up the phonic class for both my kids. For those weekdays where they are very free, they will have to do one page english or chinese writing and assessment books.